Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scores 10 of of 10 on the wired rector scale
After seeing this film advertised I knew I had to see it, and unlike some other reviews suggest I personally did really enjoy this film. Like most horror film attempts this is sheer comedy with a laugh every second at the ridiculous full on over theatrical redneck cannibals that will have you rolling in your seat with laughter. There are some really gory but funny deaths...
Published on 16 Jan 2007 by Mr. K. Fairholm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but fun.
Saw this DVD in my local store and thought it looked like the sort of thing i'd enjoy (i like my horror!) and got it out. I really liked it. Story centres around, bunch of good-looking college kids on their way to spring break take a 'detour' and end up in the ironically named southern town of 'Pleasent Valley'. After initially welcoming the strangers into their small...
Published on 10 Aug 2008 by Mr. Matthew R. Meyrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but fun., 10 Aug 2008
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this DVD in my local store and thought it looked like the sort of thing i'd enjoy (i like my horror!) and got it out. I really liked it. Story centres around, bunch of good-looking college kids on their way to spring break take a 'detour' and end up in the ironically named southern town of 'Pleasent Valley'. After initially welcoming the strangers into their small town by the seemingly hospitable if slightly strange inhabitants, who persuade them to stay and take part in their 'GUTS AND GLORY' festival, the group soon begin to suspect something is wrong as members of their party start to get separated from the rest and go missing. The best thing i liked about this film is that it doesn't take itself too seriously. Sure, the gore is fairly graphic and the blood flows copiously but the tongue is always firmly in cheek. It knows its a pop-corner film for horror fans and doesn't try to be anything else. It won't win any major awards but that doen't mean to say its terrible. You may need a strong stomach as the gore is fairly explicit but if you like fun, undemanding horror films, check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scores 10 of of 10 on the wired rector scale, 16 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing this film advertised I knew I had to see it, and unlike some other reviews suggest I personally did really enjoy this film. Like most horror film attempts this is sheer comedy with a laugh every second at the ridiculous full on over theatrical redneck cannibals that will have you rolling in your seat with laughter. There are some really gory but funny deaths as well which sparked a conversation with my mates at the end about which would you choose if you had no other options than to be killed via A) been skewed up the ass and out thought the mouth, or B) having all your limbs pulled off by horses.

This film may fail on the scare factor but its is quality entertainment which is what a good film is all about and has to be one of the strangest and most unique films I have ever seen. Watch this film its BRILLIANT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
great product, fast delivery, very happy with my DVD and such a great film, great film for the money i paid for!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A potent blend of comedy and mean spirited harsh gore, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
In this nicely stylised remake, a group of northern-states students get waylaid on their route to a Spring Break beach paradise by a detour and find themselves in Pleasant Valley - a peculiar pre-civil war southern town where the locals are holding a jamboree and want them to stay as honoured guests. Taken in by curiosity and the charm ladled on them, the group decide to hang around. But it's not long before the charm turns gruesomely murderous...
The film is produced by Eli Roth (who has a funny cameo near the start with his Cabin Fever character, accompanied by 'Dr Mambo'), and as a result it blends mischievous dark comedy with malicious gore. At times it's tonally uncertain, throwing in bizarro comedy - one running gag with a sheep seems particularly out of place - as the rest of the film is enacted with sly charm and menace as the southen townsfolk draw the northerners deeper into their web, waiting to strike. Also the acting is a little patchy here and there - especially the first victim's reaction to what is clearly a lethal situation, to which they react with mild nervousness.
However by and large it's acted with great gusto and Robert Englund brings panto joy to his evil Mayor Buckman. Lin Shaye is graceful and tough as 'Granny', and Ryan Fleming is amusingly bizarre as child-like teenager Hucklebilly, able to turn hokey innocence into menace on a dime. The northerners are likeable and varied, and the deaths are largely spectacular, going for 'tasteless and extreme' in style rather than completely believable.
It's a fun comedy horror that's not meant to be taken seriously, and is unusual enough to be fascinating. It does however leave a slightly nasty taste in the mouth with it's malicious edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars predicable...yet entertaining..., 12 May 2008
By 
Terry Bright (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
a friend at work let me borrow the DVD...and I thought " here we go, another cheesey tacky comedy/horror..and that was what it was ! but robert Englund make the film really good...Id recommend this film for sure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars awful, 14 Jan 2008
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
this is really an awful film. the plot is a joke, the characters are stupid and oversexed and the deaths, well the deaths maybe the only funny thing about the whole film!don't bother watching it unless your into soft porn, cos this film is just like that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The South is Gonna Rise Again, 11 Nov 2007
By 
David P. "A Reviewer" (West Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this film almost a month ago now, and this film in my opninion is one excellent film. I don't see how anyone could hate this film. It has an interesting storyline and the deaths are good too, although rather horrible. For instance there's a scene when a woman has her limbs ripped off. Ouch!

I'm not familiar with the cast, although I recognized Robert Englund right away, who we all know as Freddy Kreuger from the "Nightmare on Elm Street" films. The film has some good characters, such as Hucklebilly yet some annoying characters such as Peaches (that's the really irritating and ugly short blonde haired woman). God she annoyed me.

This film is basically about three college students who are failing history. They haven't even tried at all. It's spring break for them and their history teacher has told them to catch up otherwise they'll be expelled.

They plan to go to a beach for spring break, yet find themselves in a town called Pleasent Valley, in which the citizens live a western like life style. Having just arrived, three more college students arrive, followed by a young couple. They are all treated as guests of honour and are invited to a barbecue which will happen the following evening.

Although the citizens of Pleasent Valley are really kind towards them, it's clear from the start that there's something not right. The citizens of Pleasent Valley start killing off the college students one by one in horrible ways. It's not long until the last few become aware of this and decide to escape, but escaping is not going to be easy, especially when they're in a town with a population of 2001 maniacs...

All in all this is a great film, and there are some funny moments such as when the bloke who arrives by motor bike is trying to find his girlfriend and he has to put up with two of the citizens following him and singing something like "a man without his b*tch, a man without his b*tch". Hucklebilly is great, especially near towards the begginning when he says "this killy's been bad, real baaaad" with that cool American accent.

Robert Englund was brilliant as the mayor (Buckman I think his name was. I can't quite remember) and the film had a great, yet shocking ending, though it does explain a few things. The way the film ends was also unexpected, yet it was good. I just wish I could get hold of the song that's played during the credits. Great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a let down, 2 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
Most films show promise if Freddy's alter ego is involved, but sadly this was not one of them. 'Kids' drive into weird scenario involving whooping anachronistic hillbillies which leads into set pieces involving tried and trusted ways of luring and then killing said kids one by one. No real surprises or shocks.

You could see the end coming without a sign-post required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Appalling - and not in a good way, 30 Oct 2006
By 
ravenheart (Rayleigh, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
I personally find it incredibly upsetting when one of the greatest horror actors of all time (Robert Englund) turns up in something so generic and downright terrible as this. Robert is still great, playing his part of the mad and totally over-the-top American Civil War-era town mayor to perfection. Unfortunately, he's the only one that can honestly hold his head up as having put in a decent performance. Pretty much everyone else is truly awful, particularly every single one of the teenagers on Spring Break who are the (rather obvious and contrived) victims of this monstrosity.

Of course, the horrible script doesn't help. Some of the lines are so obvious you can see them coming three scenes early. The only possibly salvation is the death scenes. And to be honest, they needed to be awesomly gruesome to bring this film back onto an even keel. Unfortunately they were completely ridiculous. Seeing the name Eli Roth on the credits as producer didn't fill me with immense confidence, having seen the almost equally terrible Hostel earlier this year, but at least he wasn't the director, so there was still a chance. Unfortunately it was a chance wasted. And in true bad horror movie style, the inadequacies and failings of the movie are poorly covered up with naked girls and over-use of pointless sex scenes.

Stupid teen-slasher deaths, terrible acting (apart from Englund), even worse script and a storyline that blew it's load far too early make this one of the worst horrors I've seen all year. Truly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as i expected but stil a decent slasher flick., 30 Dec 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 2001 Maniacs [DVD] (DVD)
First thing im gonna obviously say is this isnt a totaly grosss and disgusting film that has loads of gore, i must admit there are some good and pretty creative death scenes but thats all this film really has.

Now most gore films have lots of gore and that is genually all they have whivh makes them good, but this films death scenes arent THAT frequent and even if they were there are some boring scenes imbetween.

Robert Englund plays a great part in this film as the leader, it seems, of the cannibalistic psychotic bunch of maniacs, although they dont realy do the killing, there are just a few certain main characters and a bunch of girls with big breasts who like to show people the colour of their nipples. Which is probably the factor in this film that makes up for the slow paced 'inbetween death scene' parts. But i wasnt expecting a porno to be honest, i was expectong a blood bath and alli got were some half decent death scenes.

Yet on a better note this is, when you think about it, more of a comedy horror. And in that genre it does pretty well. As there seems to be a bit of a craze for the comedy horrors at the moment and this has blatantly had alot of humor added. This is usually good and i must admit there are a few funny scenes in this but they are sometimes just another slow paced scene that doesnt make way for any gore to come in.

So overall id say this is a slasher film as its mainly about a bunvh of poeple who are killing whilst bieng seducted by a bunch of cannibalistic babes. If your a fan of gore films and honestly dont care about the slow pace or annoying characters or anything else-as long as therse some gore, then you will probably enjoy his film to a certain degree but for an all round horror fan this will provide no scares and not much entertainment because of its pretty long lasting but simple story with too many breaks between the creative killing and a tone that focuses more on sex than death.

I actually liked this film but i reviewed this in the most open discussion kinda way i could. Yet i believe from many other peoples opinions that this is a film like "Alien vs. Predator" or "Slither". You either Hate it or Love it-no matter what genre of horror you like this film may just be one of those that go on the "pot-luck" way of choosing who to entertain.

So my advice is to try and rent this film or buy it cheap so if you dont like it you can pas it in, give it away or take it back to the corner shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad965870)

This product

2001 Maniacs [DVD]
2001 Maniacs [DVD] by Tim Sullivan (DVD - 2006)
2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews