Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!
I didn't really expect to enjoy this film as I thought it would be more one for blokes, but it was brilliant. The acting is wonderful, especially Sean Bean as the lead, and his presentation of Andy McNab's thoughts was very well done and did not detract from the action. The violence was moderate rather than gruesome, unlike that in many films (that completely puts me off...
Published on 2 Jan 2008 by H

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
After reading Andy McNab's fantastic book 'Bravo Two Zero', I couldn't wait to see this film. But the film was no where near as gripping as the book. The BBC budget really lets the story down. The whole story felt rushed, and the acting was pretty bad, I actually felt uncomfortable watching it.
The characters are not as strong as they are in the book, and I found...
Published on 11 Jan 2005


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!, 2 Jan 2008
By 
H (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't really expect to enjoy this film as I thought it would be more one for blokes, but it was brilliant. The acting is wonderful, especially Sean Bean as the lead, and his presentation of Andy McNab's thoughts was very well done and did not detract from the action. The violence was moderate rather than gruesome, unlike that in many films (that completely puts me off watching them) but the terror of the patrol's situation is clearly communicated. The interactions between the members of the patrol seemed extremely realistic. The film also made me think more about the situation of soldiers in this type of war, particularly relevant since we're still in there, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable. Not just for war & gore cohort., 9 Mar 2008
By 
M. Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
This film could be enjoyed by a much wider audience if they don't let the image of the film put them off. (Don't judge a film by it's cover). It's a terrific story. Close to the author's own version. A good reminder of the complications of war and the dangers individuals endure. The characters aren't very realistic, but the strength of the extraordinary story carries the film. Andy McNab and Chris Ryan have both written about the same events from their own perpective. See this film then read the book The One That Got Away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Two Zero, 20 Sep 2010
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
During the 1991 Gulf War a unit of the SAS is given the task of destroying communications between mobile Scud missile launchers and their control centre in Baghdad but their mission proves to be a failure when soon after they land by helicopter they are discovered by a shepherd boy who alerts Iraqui soldiers in the area and the unit is hunted down across the desert as they try to get to the Syrian border and safety. The unit creates havoc as they fight their way towards Syria, they kill many soldiers, they face dust storms, intense heat and dehydration in the day and intense cold and hypothermia at night and when most of them are caught the Irquis are not surprisingly pretty annoyed with them and they consequently suffer greatly at their hands.

The film is a thrilling, true, action-packed story of courage, comradeship and endurance laced with crude barrack room humour and Sean Bean is superb as Sergeant Andy McNab, the leader of the patrol. Luckily for the captive soldiers the war was a short one so they survived to tell the tale and write the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ..., 15 May 2000
Brilliant, having been with the RAF during the war, it was a timely reminder of why I left shortly after it. Very precise, and if your fed up with glammed-up American war "Hero" movies, you'll get a lot from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe goes to Iraq!, 24 Feb 2006
By 
Andy (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
The Amazon review does not do this drama service at all and it's a shame they couldn't be more forthright in other reviews. Saying the acting is wooden and then comparing it with Three Kings is quite contradictory given that the performances in that movie had enough wood in it to out-stock Ikea. *Drama* is the key word here because Bravo 2 Zero was shown as a two-parter on BBC1; it was *never* meant to be a movie and, of course, it cannot compete in the special effects department with your usual Hollywood war film. It is more like another one of Sean Bean's roles 'Sharpe': you never watched it for its rather low-budget battles but for the characters and plot, which Bravo 2 Zero has in abundance.
Bravo 2 Zero is telling a story about a group of SAS men trapped behind enemy lines and their eventual capture and torture. It's not about great panoramas filled with digital special effects and CGI battle scenes. If you want that you probably won't like this drama.
The characters in Bravo 2 Zero are done extremely well and the banter between the SAS men is very funny and you feel for them when they eventually get captured. It is close to the book (McNab's version) and the soldiers' torture at the hands of the Iraqi secret police is both harrowing and inhuman, a fact only touched on briefly by ITV's The One That Got Away. For example, one of the most stomach wrenching scenes in the drama is when Sean has to lick human faeces off his hands to satisfy the sadistic pleasure of his jailer. He also had to prove to his captors that he wasn't a Jew in the only way he knew how... We also see one of the group taking care to empty his bowels in a bag and stuffing it in his burgen because just doing it on the ground can give the Iraqis clues that Europeans are in the area and could give the game away. You don't get any of that in your typical Hollywood blockboster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
After reading Andy McNab's fantastic book 'Bravo Two Zero', I couldn't wait to see this film. But the film was no where near as gripping as the book. The BBC budget really lets the story down. The whole story felt rushed, and the acting was pretty bad, I actually felt uncomfortable watching it.
The characters are not as strong as they are in the book, and I found myself not caring whether or not they survived.
I would recommend the book to anyone who loves an unpredictable & gripping read, but this film does not do the story any justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good representation of military drills, 27 April 2000
By A Customer
For anyone with an understanding of military drills and 'fire and movement' techniques, this movie illustrates these very well. It is interesting to see them in use in real combat situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie (and one of the few) about the Gulf War...., 28 Jan 2006
By 
Tommy (Az United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film overall. Sean Bean is such an appealing actor that he truly elevates this tv production into theatrical territory. The action is hard and heavy as are the torture scenes later in the movie. In the states, this movie was released with a cover that makes it look like a mindless action film. That's ashame, as I almost passed over it at first. My only problem is with the insertion of the team into Iraq. It's painfully obvious that the actors are in a helicopter that is never off the ground. The "missile" that chases the chopper is also poorly done (stock footage?). Once the guys get on the ground, the movie takes off. It loses 1 star for the horrible helicopter scenes. The One That Got Away did a much better job showing the team's insertion. Overall, great movie about my favorite topic...Special Forces soldiers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great book by a marvellous man who has come through a lot in life even from childhood, a remarkable man and a remarkable book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film shameabout bean, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
great product very hard wearing and simple to use sylish and easy to usetime and again. would buy it again if needs be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD]
Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] by Tom Clegg (DVD - 2006)
£5.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews