Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!
I didn't really expect to enjoy this film as I thought it would be more one for blokes, but it was brilliant. The acting is wonderful, especially Sean Bean as the lead, and his presentation of Andy McNab's thoughts was very well done and did not detract from the action. The violence was moderate rather than gruesome, unlike that in many films (that completely puts me off...
Published on 2 Jan. 2008 by H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True account of one soldiers involvement in Iraq War/Desert conflict.
Sean Bean was struggling to make this 'true story' believable, but not Bean's fault. Was it Mcnab as co- screenwriter or the film's Director or both - the screen version lacked something. Not overly impressed.
Published 9 months ago by Paul Marsh


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film!, 2 Jan. 2008
By 
H (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't really expect to enjoy this film as I thought it would be more one for blokes, but it was brilliant. The acting is wonderful, especially Sean Bean as the lead, and his presentation of Andy McNab's thoughts was very well done and did not detract from the action. The violence was moderate rather than gruesome, unlike that in many films (that completely puts me off watching them) but the terror of the patrol's situation is clearly communicated. The interactions between the members of the patrol seemed extremely realistic. The film also made me think more about the situation of soldiers in this type of war, particularly relevant since we're still in there, unfortunately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Two Zero, 20 Sept. 2010
By 
David Rowland - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
During the 1991 Gulf War a unit of the SAS is given the task of destroying communications between mobile Scud missile launchers and their control centre in Baghdad but their mission proves to be a failure when soon after they land by helicopter they are discovered by a shepherd boy who alerts Iraqui soldiers in the area and the unit is hunted down across the desert as they try to get to the Syrian border and safety. The unit creates havoc as they fight their way towards Syria, they kill many soldiers, they face dust storms, intense heat and dehydration in the day and intense cold and hypothermia at night and when most of them are caught the Irquis are not surprisingly pretty annoyed with them and they consequently suffer greatly at their hands.

The film is a thrilling, true, action-packed story of courage, comradeship and endurance laced with crude barrack room humour and Sean Bean is superb as Sergeant Andy McNab, the leader of the patrol. Luckily for the captive soldiers the war was a short one so they survived to tell the tale and write the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable. Not just for war & gore cohort., 9 Mar. 2008
By 
M. Richards (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
This film could be enjoyed by a much wider audience if they don't let the image of the film put them off. (Don't judge a film by it's cover). It's a terrific story. Close to the author's own version. A good reminder of the complications of war and the dangers individuals endure. The characters aren't very realistic, but the strength of the extraordinary story carries the film. Andy McNab and Chris Ryan have both written about the same events from their own perpective. See this film then read the book The One That Got Away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True account of one soldiers involvement in Iraq War/Desert conflict., 6 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
Sean Bean was struggling to make this 'true story' believable, but not Bean's fault. Was it Mcnab as co- screenwriter or the film's Director or both - the screen version lacked something. Not overly impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
After reading Andy McNab's fantastic book 'Bravo Two Zero', I couldn't wait to see this film. But the film was no where near as gripping as the book. The BBC budget really lets the story down. The whole story felt rushed, and the acting was pretty bad, I actually felt uncomfortable watching it.
The characters are not as strong as they are in the book, and I found myself not caring whether or not they survived.
I would recommend the book to anyone who loves an unpredictable & gripping read, but this film does not do the story any justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharpe goes to Iraq!, 24 Feb. 2006
By 
Andy (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
The Amazon review does not do this drama service at all and it's a shame they couldn't be more forthright in other reviews. Saying the acting is wooden and then comparing it with Three Kings is quite contradictory given that the performances in that movie had enough wood in it to out-stock Ikea. *Drama* is the key word here because Bravo 2 Zero was shown as a two-parter on BBC1; it was *never* meant to be a movie and, of course, it cannot compete in the special effects department with your usual Hollywood war film. It is more like another one of Sean Bean's roles 'Sharpe': you never watched it for its rather low-budget battles but for the characters and plot, which Bravo 2 Zero has in abundance.
Bravo 2 Zero is telling a story about a group of SAS men trapped behind enemy lines and their eventual capture and torture. It's not about great panoramas filled with digital special effects and CGI battle scenes. If you want that you probably won't like this drama.
The characters in Bravo 2 Zero are done extremely well and the banter between the SAS men is very funny and you feel for them when they eventually get captured. It is close to the book (McNab's version) and the soldiers' torture at the hands of the Iraqi secret police is both harrowing and inhuman, a fact only touched on briefly by ITV's The One That Got Away. For example, one of the most stomach wrenching scenes in the drama is when Sean has to lick human faeces off his hands to satisfy the sadistic pleasure of his jailer. He also had to prove to his captors that he wasn't a Jew in the only way he knew how... We also see one of the group taking care to empty his bowels in a bag and stuffing it in his burgen because just doing it on the ground can give the Iraqis clues that Europeans are in the area and could give the game away. You don't get any of that in your typical Hollywood blockboster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars he who dares sometimes fails, 28 April 2015
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
interesting reconstruction of events relating to the operation of sas team. after viewing this and the one who got away.

there is a difference of attitude towards each other.bravo two zero gives more of a comradeship. whereas one who got away
tends to be more aggresive towards each other. maybe the true attitude will never be known due to conflicting accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dated, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
have seen this before and know a bit of the process shown in this film but it all seems to tame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD version of Bravo Two Zero, 15 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
[[ASIN:0552141275 Bravo Two Zero: The true story of an SAS Patrol behind enemy lines in Iraq]
Having read the book I admit I was expecting more from the video which was silly as it was only loosely based on the the true story. The acting was good and it was enjoyable to watch but I would recommend wathing the DVD and then reading the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] (DVD)
Bravo Two Zero is an excellent war movie made on a low budget, witness throughout the movie a close look into the life of an SAS trooper. Loved this movie when I was young and still love it now. It's my favorite action movie to go to if I'm looking for something that will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD]
Andy McNab - Bravo Two Zero [DVD] by Tom Clegg (DVD - 2006)
£4.50
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews