Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transparent Things - Its clearly brilliant!!, 10 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
It may take a couple of listens but then you'll be hooked. Infectious basslines, beautiful, memorable melodies and some of the best lyrics heard alongside electronica ("Like pixalated scraps of jazz mags in your head lights", anyone?) You've gotta love bands who make electronic music but mix it up with live guitars and bass, it works so well and its like nothing else you've heard. Oh, and catch them live - Essential stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sleek & funky, 25 May 2007
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
Saw them live about a year ago as a support act I'd never heard of and kept on thinking, "they're bound to do a boring song sooner or later" but they maintained the quality throughout their set. So rather belatedly, I bought this album and ... it's very fine.

They wear several influences quite prominently on their sleeve: the two instrumentals especially sound like a modern version of kings of motorik Neu and their most slavish disciples Stereolab; the minimal, restrained guitar, bass, keys & beatbox format recalls Young Marble Giants and the breathy, half-spoken vocals recall Can both with Damo Suzuki and after - Can's sole UK hit I Want More is another obvious touchstone. And there are hints of Kraftwerk in there etc. etc.

But everyone's got influences and if F&M's are fairly obvious that's not a criticism - they've not only got considerable taste, but they use those influences to make something damn fine that is all their own - it's sleek, funky, clever, witty, consistent. If you like any of the artists mentioned above you'll enjoy this excellent album and wish it was longer than 36 minutes. Buy it and see them live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see though transparent things and I feel OK!, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
Muso (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
This is the best album of the year so far. OK so it was originally released in 2006, but I blame poor promotion because the album is as good as Hot Chip, Tom Vek, !!!, The Go! Team, LCD Soundsystem and other such noteworthies of the past few years. Am looking forward to seeing them at the Lumiere in June, an excellent closknit venue. What does it mean, what does it sound like? Everyone is saying it's disco krautrock which is true, but for the unitiated, it's a bit electronic, experimental, funky and very cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this now!, 20 April 2007
By 
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
If you are serious at all about liking inovative electro-pop then you have to buy this. They have been compared to The Happy Mondays, Air, Neu, Hot Chip etc, and it's not just the sound - F&M are really that good. I'd probably put them in a similar category to the likes of that other overlooked indie electro-pop outfit, Superthriller, or the more famous Hot Chip, but I have to say that good as these two bands are, this is even better. It's a crime that F&M haven't had more press coverage, and bands as poor as Sh*t Disco do. It's just the luck of the draw I guess.

The two obvious singles, if there is any, are probably Collarbone and In One Ear & Out The Other. It's these two tracks that bear most relation the the Happy Mondays - it's not just the laid back, effortless funky beat, but the lyrics are sharp too. They even slip effortlessly into a bit of French on Photocopier.

I think this is the best thing I have heard since CSS, at least as smart and funky, but it being three blokes from Brighton, probably less sexy. Expect to hear it soon on television advertisment near you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't knock a sucker a paunch, 25 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
Being a fan of '70's Krautrock and the current output by musicians who cut their creative teeth in that time/place I sometimes buy albums out of curiosity to hear what new bands/artists have done with the "krautrock influences" mentioned in album reviews. This was one such disc ( Mojo magazine gave it a full page review some months ago ) but the album could just as easily be called "Transcendent Things" because the music here transcends it's influences.
A wonderful album. Apparently a collection of the bands early/only recordings that were released in various forms but have now been gathered together and released as this album: which may account for the short length of the disc. But it's only their first album! If you enjoy Neu!, especially Can, or simply enjoy witty and well made electronic music this is for you. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublime slow burning classic, 27 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
Transparent Things is full of tunes that seem unassuming at first play but will seep their way into your brain without noticing it. The looping bass lines, Neu! beats and laid back lyrics all make for a brief but perfectly formed LP. Buy it now.

Just to correct a statement made in an earlier review, Transparent Things is F&M's second LP of original material. Their first LP, Electro Karaoke in the Negative Style, was released on Massive Advance in 2002. An LP and 12" of remixes was released in 2003. Fans of Transparent Things will find much to enjoy in the earlier material although sadly it is currently out of print, a situation that ought to be rectified.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern prog rock, 5 May 2008
By 
Ian Shine (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
I picked this up somehow by chance while looking for Japanes music on the internet. However, despite the name, this is not Japanese music (as we are told on the album), although it is a rollickingly good album.
It's heavily influenced by the likes of Can, and despite it's very tongue-in-cheek almost nursery rhyme lyrics, it feels like quite a mature album. I'm not sure how much durability it will have, but I've had it on heavy rotation for about three months now and have not grown tired of it.
It's also reminiscent on Pavement melodically and vocally, although in terms of instruments it's a long way away.
In many ways it's the perfect pop record for people who don't like pop, much like Pavement and Sonic Youth were pop bands for people who don't like pop. Definitely worth a purchase for £5 off marketplace, if not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cassettequintuple, 9 Nov. 2007
By 
Peter Bonnar (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
Well, for starters, I was always and still am confused by the names of musical styles. Krautrock - I have no idea what this means, its origins, what it sounds like, who did it, who's doing it now. What I am trying to say is that there would be probably as much chance of overhearing my dad (or one of my goldfish) saying "hey, that's krautrock influenced!" as hearing me say it.
Anyway, I am hoping now, to convey my intense liking for this album. It said something on the album sticker like "If you like Hot chip you'll love F&M." Well, I never really got my head around Hot Chip - I did like 1 or 2 of their songs but didn't really see what all the fuss was about. But when I listened to this album, very quickly it started to seep into my head like Lyon's Golden Syrup would pour - slowly but surely. Actually, quicker than that.
But, what hit me initially with this album was the effortless coolness of the music - Bass driven and particularly funky, with smooth as silk, smart vocals, delivered on a silver platter along with exquisite guitar riffs, punctured by intelligent drumming.
But what really got me hooked is the way these tracks unfold, each one is pretty much a masterpiece - there are no filler tracks, they all seem to make sense. It's the perceived laziness and laid back kind of sound that is so attractive.
Fujiya & Miyagi sound like they have been in a deep sleep and you wake them up at 3am and chuck them on stage. Sleepy, but in time. Amazing. Really.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smart, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Cole "Coleser" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transparent Things (Audio CD)
There is something charming about three English lads from Brighton giving themselves Japanese names and banging out driving Krautrockesque rock gems with considerable aplomb, wit and energy. The band's lyrical content is packed with clever lines and smart imagery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transparent Things
Transparent Things by Fujiya & Miyagi (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews