Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shayne ward debut album
i am delighted to say that, unlike other albums, there is not one track that i dislike on this debut album.

each song has clear emotions, beautifully produced and great to sing along to.

you can hear every word, which in today's pop culture is a refreshing change. a must for everyones collection, BUY IT NOW!!

i simply can't wait to...
Published on 17 Nov 2006 by molly

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine debut, but lacking that "X factor"
So, here it is. The debut from last years brightest new 'reality' star.

That's My Goal & No Promises you've heard already I assume. Following the step up that was No Promises, I thought the album would be our own UK "Justin" - after all, we heard so much that this is what Shayne wanted with his career.

Unfortunately, & probably thanks to Louis'...
Published on 14 April 2006 by Simon


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shayne ward debut album, 17 Nov 2006
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
i am delighted to say that, unlike other albums, there is not one track that i dislike on this debut album.

each song has clear emotions, beautifully produced and great to sing along to.

you can hear every word, which in today's pop culture is a refreshing change. a must for everyones collection, BUY IT NOW!!

i simply can't wait to purchase album number 2. nice one shayne!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine debut, but lacking that "X factor", 14 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
So, here it is. The debut from last years brightest new 'reality' star.

That's My Goal & No Promises you've heard already I assume. Following the step up that was No Promises, I thought the album would be our own UK "Justin" - after all, we heard so much that this is what Shayne wanted with his career.

Unfortunately, & probably thanks to Louis' approach, we have on our hands another Westlife album.

There are a few nice songs featured, for example I Cry & What About Me. Plus the very "unchained-melody" Stand By Me which is very heavy on the strings, and oldschool. But generally, that's what the album is - nice.

There's nothing brave about this album, and even the token (& only) up-tempo track "Next To Me" isn't as up-tempo as it should have been.

Saving grace is the great idea of adding the amazing version of Over The Rainbow from the Live final, such a great version.

No denying that Shayne was the deserving winner on the night, and they have played it safe on this album. It would have been better to mix the styles up and give Shanye a taste of what he might want to do with, what I hope will be, a fantastic 2nd album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not great but not bad for starters, 22 April 2006
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
The thing about Shayne is that he IS a good singer and he does know how to interpret a song to get the best from it. The problem is this Westlife wannabe CD is a little to repetitive and lifeless to be as good as it might have been

Dont get me wrong..all the ballads (and the CD is all ballads bar one track) are nice safe, well produced songs with Shayne's talented soaring vocals making them shine...but they are all a bit the same.

Shayne was often at his best on X Factor doing quirky things like Take your Mama by the Scissor Sisters...but no such risks have been taken here.

The lead singles are tight pop productions, hitting all the right heart-twitching chords...and there are other stand outs...Back At One is a really very impressive cover of a former Brian McKnight classic and Shayne sounds very at ease here

His Somewhere over the Rainbow is a true testament to his talent...

Shayne has what it takes to be a long lasting star...I hope Loius Walsh thinks just a little further outside the box than this safe opening shot as his career develops..but as long as Westlife continue to shift bucket loads..Shayne might be both the beneficiary and victim of that tried and tested formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Promises Here, 26 April 2006
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
Before I get right into the review, let me just clarify that I like Shayne Ward. I shamelessly watched the programme that promoted him, and believed he had potential. He can sing, and that means the high notes. He can dance. He's attractive on oh so many levels. It looked like the UK had finally found the Justin Timberlake of its dreams (particularly important since J.T. has currently left the building). "That's My Goal" was forgivable because it was designed for two other acts, both specialising in ballads.

However, "That's My Goal" is basically not the appetizer for Shayne Ward's album, but the main course. Instead of giving a talented young singer a variety of songs to suit his vocal talent and young age, instead he is lumbered with Westlife styled tunes that are instantly forgetable. "No Promises," the second track and also his second single, is vaguely memorable but is a blatant rip-off from Danial Bedingfield's "If You're Not the One," a song he sung well on the X Factor. Therefore, we are talking about 11 out of 13 songs that sound too much alike, tackling same tempo, same theme. Track 12 is the only upbeat une that took my interest, but sadly its positioning on the album suggests that the record label ranks this genre low on their marketing scale.

Sadly, Shayne Ward's live performance of "Over the Rainbow" is included as a bonus track. This is the biggest mistake of the entire album, not because its bad, but because it showed so much promise for the young star, and blatantly highlights the determination of SyCo to box Shayne and manufacture him for the 10-15 year market.

Shayne Ward certainly has the talent to make it far, but this album has done him no favours. It would be interesting to see how a second album would play out; that is, if his record label has time for after the the third series of X Factor emerges. But if Cowell and Walsh really can't promise him more than this, then maybe he should start looking elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Disappointing Start, 19 April 2006
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
Unfortunately this album is mostly just another Pop Idol CD. Despite 2 great singles this album struggles to deliver anything new and exciting. With a Westlife sound, don't expect to be dancing along to any of these tracks. Ballad after ballad, including a Westlife cover (I Cry from World of Our Own). Includes a decent cover of All My Life and a live version of Over the Rainbow from the show. Lets hope this album is not an indication of Shayne's future direction as he appears to have enough talent to succeed but will need more original and upbeat material to achieve future chart success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Album Westlife Didn't Make, 21 April 2006
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
I was genuinely hoping that Shayne Ward, who has a great voice, would make an album that breaks the mould of typical Pop Idol/X-Factor winners, but alas, we are treated to what feels like Westlife rejects, for what that's worth.

"That's My Goal" was average at best, but since that was to be a compulsory first release anyway, it didn't seem fair to judge him at that point. Unfortunately, the second single "No Promises" was bland, dull and filled with contrived and cliched lyrics.

None of the other ten tracks seem to stand out at all, again with very bland lyrics that not even Ward's vocals can save. A special mention must go to "Back at One", which has some of the most cringe-worthy lyrics I've heard in years.

One minor saving grace is the final bonus track, a live rendition of "Over the Rainbow", performed on the X-Factor show.

I once heard a comment by another artist who said people seem to hold more value in having a good singing voice, rather than playing an instrument and writing your own lyrics aswell.

This is a classic case of that problem. Shayne Ward may have good looks and a good singing voice, but without the ability to write and play music, it's unlikely he can rise above any of his other manufactured comrades and be taken seriously as a professional performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good singer - shame about the songs, 4 May 2006
By 
chipfat (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
I think that this guy might be quiet a good singer - but most of the songs on this album are really below average

I think he deserves better material than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Material is somewhat dissapointing, 19 April 2006
By 
A. Churchill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
Shayne won the X-factor for a reason, because he was good. Having listened to this unfortunately some of the material on his debut album isn't up to scratch.

There are enough singles for him to build on his first two releases, but there are at least two songs here that have been poached from the Westlife back catalogue (Back at one was a duet they did with Lulu, and they did it better, and I Cry is on one of their albums. I think "World of Our Own", which is incidently where they pinched Will Young's debut single "Evergreen" from on pop idol.)

In my opinion his voice, and indeed anyone who wins such a competition, is worth more than boy band cast off material, so I look forward to a second album, where hopefully as with Will Young, the songs will match the talent this artist has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of potential, 19 April 2006
By 
Ms. R. Robertson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
A fantstic album, however would have liked to see more diversity. What about me and that's my goal i personally believe are two fantasic tracks. Over the rainbow has to be the best cover i have heard for years, it is inspiring. The only disappointing point to the album is a lot of the songs are very similar, great to listen to in the background but they dont jump out as great tunes. He sounds like every other good artist singing those songs. I think he is a great artist but i would have liked to see more covers, such as scissor sisters to broaden the album. He has a unique voice with a great range, and thats what spoke out to every-one on x factor and that is what people would love to hear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing..., 25 April 2006
This review is from: Shayne Ward (Audio CD)
This album is very dissapointing. The songs are on the whole bland, uninteresting and instantly forgettable.

This is meant to be a pop album, and pop should be catchy music for the masses. This album fails to deliver just that.

The only tracks that I can remember after listening to the whole album 4 times are "that's my goal" and "all my life" which is a cover.

I don't have anything againt talent shows or their products, in fact I had high hopes for this album and Shayne Ward. Having listened to this though I can only feel saddened that Mr Ward's looks set to drop off the radar even faster than most talent show winners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shayne Ward
Shayne Ward by Shayne Ward (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews