Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent- if u can actually use a computer
do not buy this game if u have no experience modding games, the bare game is as they say, but u can have an absolute tonne of fun with this if u know how to mod it
i dont think its fair to slam this game for being a terrible port when clearly the buyers havent tried any solutions at all, i play it in full hd widescreen, with my mouse and good controls ... with a...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by M. Collins

versus
55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you want to play this game, rent a GameCube
I wont go into the story/gameplay here but I will tell you that if you are interested you should look up the GameCube version of this game instead.

Here's what you should know about this PC version:

* Daylight is removed. Where the console version is lit up by yellowish daylight, the PC version is just grey dull textures.

* Fog is removed...
Published on 11 Feb 2007 by Bengtsson Staffan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you want to play this game, rent a GameCube, 11 Feb 2007
By 
Bengtsson Staffan (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I wont go into the story/gameplay here but I will tell you that if you are interested you should look up the GameCube version of this game instead.

Here's what you should know about this PC version:

* Daylight is removed. Where the console version is lit up by yellowish daylight, the PC version is just grey dull textures.

* Fog is removed. You can see at any distance and when opponents run into the supposed fog (that cannot be seen) they just vanish in thin air.

* Darkness at night is removed. Where the console version covers the game in eirie darkness, night is almost as bright as daytime in the PC version removing most of the feel.

* The PC version uses low quality models from the PS2 version rather than the higher quality GC models.

* There is no support for EAX, modern soundcards or surround sound.

* There is no mouse support. You are going to need a joypad with two sticks to play it.

* There is no support for Anisotropic Filthering or Antialiasing.

* Many keys on the keyboard, such as F1-F12, TAB, DEL, Insert etc cannot be bound at all.

* I have yet to find the "quit game" button. The only way I found to quit the game is to ALT+TAB to windows and kill the task with task manager.

* Despite the lack of effects/shaders the PC version still requires a graphiccard with Pixel Shaders 2 to play.

* Buttons in-game will be refered to 1-10 rather than "USE", "MENU", "SHOOT" etc. When you look at the in-game players manual it will describe how to do things by using the Playstation 2 controls with the Playstation 2 setup (which might not be the same as how you set up the joypad).

This is not only a sloppy port, by removing the fog, daylight, darkness they have removed most of the feel the original version had. When a consolefan tipped you about playing this game, they had never tried the PC version.

What's left is only a rather annoying and dull actiongame with graphics that was hot four-five years ago and frustrating gameplay both because the lack of quicksaves and the messed up controls.

You are better of renting/borrowing a GameCube or waiting for one of the GameCube emulators to be good enough.

Conspiracy theories include that either Capcom just want to make some extra money by providing PC gamers with a really sloppy port, not caring at all if it's as good as the original, or maybe they just want to convince PC gamers that PC is a bad machine, which might make them buy a console so they might end up buying their consolegames instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed Opportunity, 10 Feb 2007
By 
Dave (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is just a port of the PS2 game, when played at full resolution the characters look sharp however, the textures and backgrounds look shocking. Worse than the GC or PS2. Also while the GC cut scenes were actual in game cut scenes making it free flowing and beautiful to look at, the PC version has videos of these that cut in at a resolution of 536x600 which is ridiculous. There is no mouse support and trying to play this game without a game pad is impossible. No options to change sound level and no extra content make this a bad purchase. If you can avoid this version of the game at all cost as it is undoubtedly the worst of the 3. However it is still playable and if you can look passed the graphics the essence is still there.

P.S. Why did this take so long to bring out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent- if u can actually use a computer, 5 Mar 2012
By 
M. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
do not buy this game if u have no experience modding games, the bare game is as they say, but u can have an absolute tonne of fun with this if u know how to mod it
i dont think its fair to slam this game for being a terrible port when clearly the buyers havent tried any solutions at all, i play it in full hd widescreen, with my mouse and good controls ... with a moderately fast aim xD
you will enjoy this game if u can mod it . otherwise dont buy it
im a giant fan of the resident evil series and have moderate knowledge of pcs so im sorry if this seems a bit biased
thanks for reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but still a good game., 4 Jun 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
As alot of the other reviewers have noted the game does have some flaws and I don't need to repeat the things already listed here. However despite all this I still say this is a great game on any format. I have played it on both PS2 and GC as well and I would say that the PC version is still worth playing.
The storyline is interesting and it is a very large game taking upwards of 10 hours to complete on easy level. The hard level also adds a few extra areas to the game and so extends the gameplay a bit longer.
There are loads of weapons, all of which are upgradeable, plenty of varied enemies etc....
I would say that this game is well worth playing on the PC despite the flaws listed by other reviewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars long time coming, 4 Mar 2007
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
& not worth a minute of the months of waiting. No mouse support, exit game by getting killed or ctrl-alt-del, average graphics, complete anti climax, what a waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NO MOUSE SUPPORT - WTF !?!, 5 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. T. James "t james" (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I dont see how a huge games developer like Capcom couldnt stretch to adding a mouse option to this game, it astounds me ! Ive been playing games for 16 yrs + and ok when i had my first 086 8Mhz with 20mb of hard disk space then yes, i was happy to play a game purely on the keyboard, but in this day and age to bring out a version where you control the whole game and aim with WSAD keys is just bloody lazy. I've been a big fan of the Resident Evil series since my first PS1 and was looking foward to playing a modern version on the PC with a great storyline, but using this archaic control system has just made me frustrated, aiming and movement is very hit and miss and the camera angle means that your character is constantly in the way of your vision so you have to look around yourself in order to see whats coming. Great shame in my opinion, so my advice to anyone thinking of buying RE4 would be to avoid this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible PC Port of the PS2 Version, 6 Feb 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
No lighting, no shader effects, pixelated videos, no mouse support, etc.

When Capcom is fully capable of porting the full graphical glory of the Gamecube version and enhance it for PC, why do we get a piss poor imitation of the PS2 version?

Don't waste your money.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignor the other "No Mouse Support" Comments made by noobs, 20 Jun 2010
By 
Daniel Williams (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Firstly, this game DOES have mouse support, it may not come with the first version and you may need to downloaded it but I repeat it does have it, so please ignore any noob thats scored this game low because they believe otherwise. Secondly, I dont know what weak systems these guys have but I run this in 1080p and full visuals and for the year the game was released, it looks sweet, as for gameplay; absolutly brilliant: enemys, weapons, levels, boss's, puzzles are all vast, this certainly does not get repetative, finally I would like to add I just completed Resident evil 5 this week (also in full visuals and 1080p) and I can honestly say it doesnt even touch resident evil 4, if you have to chose between the two, without a shadow of a doubt 4 is the one to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lazy Developers, 11 Mar 2007
By 
D. Yadgar "KingsGambit" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
After playing another recent console game ported to the PC ("Jade Empire" by BioWare) I am sorely dissappointed by Capcoms apparent laziness in getting this fantastic game ported onto the PC. Where BioWare polished up their lower-res textures, reworked the controls to work smoothly on a PC, added a quicksave and so on, Capcom have given us none of these things.

As a massive fan of the GameCube version, I was excited at the prospect of playing this great game on the best gaming platform, with a few extras. In terms of graphics....while the characters and weapons have been sharpened up, the rest are simply their console lo-res counterparts. Even the cut scene movies are copied straight across and don't make the transition well. There is no mouse support (though there are some ropey 3rd party add ons that kinda/sorta work), and controlling it with the keyboard is sheer frustration. If you want to play this, use a gamepad, it's the only option!

As others have also mentioned, there is also no way to exit the game, short of ALT+TAB and end tasking it in Task Manager. The game itself was tremendous fun on the GameCube, I really wish Capcom had actually bothered to do what BioWare did with "Jade Empire" (both couple of year old console ports) and make this game work well with the PC. If you have a GC/Wii, buy that version. If you fancy this version, perhaps for the scant extras this does actually have over it's console brethren (extra weapons & costumes, bonus "Assignment Ada" missions"), get a gamepad and be prepared for some frustration.

One benefit though...it loads super fast of the PC hard disk and you can save as much as you like, unlike GC version where your memory card gets full so fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 4 PC, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Perhaps the best of the modern RE games. I originally played RE4 on the Gamecube and am now enjoying it all over again on the PC. The game has been ported to the PC well and any fears of camera angle problems have been quashed. This is not a game for the keyboard and mouse though. The standard PC controls are horrible. This is a game that is best played using a controller. I am using the XBOX 360 from Microsoft and it is proving to be perfect for RE4. It is "Plug and Play" and installed on my PC in literally seconds.

Ironically, it was Resident Evil 6 for the PC that reminded me of the great time I had playing RE4 on the Gamecube. I played RE6 which was great compared to the dreadful Raccoon City. I also played RE: Revelations on PC, which was OK, but a very ugly game and not as good as RE6.

I have Resident Evil 5 to play on PC still but for some reason that game just hasn't grabbed me, despite me starting to play it at least half a dozen times.

Overall, I think Resident Evil 4 is the best of the bunch. If you like Survival Horror games on the PC, then don't pass up the chance to play RE4. It may not be the best looking game due to its age, but the graphics are passable and the atmosphere and immersion that oozes from the game soon makes you forget about such trivial cosmetics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD)
Resident Evil 4 (PC DVD) by Ubisoft (Windows XP)
7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews