Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2010
Can't really fault this kettle, except it is a little noisy. Boils water quickly and pours nicely as others have said. No gimmicky lights or beeps, just plain and simple.

Our last 3 kettles have been beautiful (brushed steel that weighed a ton when full and I kept burning my arm on and it leaked from the viewing window) or too basic (budget model that stopped working at 13 months) or badly made (contact between base and very light kettle was poor and stopped intermittently).

This one is sturdy, nice to handle and just the right weight. A good buy.

EDIT:
This kettle still going strong in March 2013. Just thought I'd let you know!

EDIT:
This kettle stopped working around January or Feb. 2014. Make your own mind up whether it's good value or not! I suppose 4 years(ish) is pretty good for a cheap modern kettle.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
This kettle does what is meant to. I was a little disapointed with its actual appearance whenn I opened he package. It did not look as high spec as on the website. The kettle is light weight, which is fine, but there is no light on the kettle to tell you that you have turned it on, just a orange tab which appears when the switch is in the on position. This is 'ok'! I suppose, but not quite what you would expect from a modern kettle of that price range. It is working and it ended the emergency of a broken kettle and no cups of tea in the winter.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2009
This kettle works very well. It boils water very quickly if a bit noisily which is no bad thing because the noise alerts one to the thing being on! The lid is a mixed bag though. The design of the lid is a bit too clever having a tendency to want to close while filling. Overall I can really recommend this kettle, it boils water fast, looks good, pours well, doesn't cost too much and is well made.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
Good value for money, does what it is supposed to. I have spent ages reading through reviews trying to find a kettle that doesn't leak and this seems to be the only one at a decent price! I've only had it a month but so far so good. Some people said the only problem was that there isn't a light to let you know when its on but you can hear that its on after about a minute so its not a problem.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
A good kettle and it feels comfortable and balanced. No fanny gimmicks to go wrong. I like the filter, which stops bits of limescale being poured into drinks and saucepans. I'm not bothered by a lack of an indicator light - less to go wrong and I know when it's boiled anyway, by looking at the switch position. Made in Poland, not China. Get it while you can.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2010
I've had the kettle for 3 months and have no complaints... However, it would be nice if there was a light to indicate when the kettle was on...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
Nice solid product. Boils quick and you can even touch it without burning your hand unlike the metal kettles
Would be perfect if it had an indicator light.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
If your after a kettle with lights, thermometer and other such gadgets then move on. If however you want a simple, easy to fill quiet kettle that just does the job of boiling water then this fits the bill very well - and without giving you a big bill.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2010
Good replacement for my previous,discontinued,Philips kettle - which incidentally started to leak from bottom of handle( a common problem?) after several years. Replacement very similar,works well,and has identical base to previous kettle.Unlikely to need it as a spare,tho'!A little more expensive than many common brands on the High Street,but seems good quality.
After one month still no problems - but then,there shouldn't be!
Happy so far.......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Very good balance and nice big spout for filling and pouring. I drink a lot of tea so I want a decent kettle. Note that this is the 2.4kw version. A 3kw version, the HD4646/75 can be had at Amazon Philips HD4646/75 Daily Collection Kettle, White Plastic/ Blue accents As it uses 20% more power, it should boil 20% more quickly!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)