Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


755 of 769 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unquestionable brilliance
I have never in my life seen anything like this series. I had thought that the Blue Planet, also by the BBC, was the pinnacle of achievement of wildlife television. The deep sea episode had left me breathless, but that proved nothing compared to Planet Earth. The effort that went into this series is obvious. Only at the end of each show when we spend time with each of the...
Published on 23 Jun. 2006 by Rumpole of the Finchley

versus
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking one moment, disappointing the next
I bought this as one of my first Blu-Ray purchases, hoping to sample the best HD can offer.
And in places this set truly does soar, offering jaw-dropping imagery of our extraordinary planet in jaw-dropping HD. But the next moment this beauty is soured by grainy flickering or strange noise in the darker areas of the image. Just as I begin to suspect it's the TV or the...
Published on 12 April 2010 by Mr. M. Dale


‹ Previous | 1 2103 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

755 of 769 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unquestionable brilliance, 23 Jun. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth - Complete Series [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I have never in my life seen anything like this series. I had thought that the Blue Planet, also by the BBC, was the pinnacle of achievement of wildlife television. The deep sea episode had left me breathless, but that proved nothing compared to Planet Earth. The effort that went into this series is obvious. Only at the end of each show when we spend time with each of the crews do we really get a sense of what they had to do to bring such beauty before us. This is not self-serving "let's pat ourselves on the back" television. It only adds to the sense of wonder, and to the sense of how privileged we have been to see some of the rarest sights in nature. The camerawork is sensational. The killer whale rising out of the sea with the seal in its mouth, the diving hawks making their mid-air kill, the snow leopard bounding down sheer cliffs, the chandelier cave. All incredible. This is unlike most other "animal" tv shows, where the audience is patronised into listening to an ill-thought out anthropomorphic commentary which is little more than "ooohhh...isn't that cute" or "whoooah...isn't that dangerous". Attenborough is wonderful. He has the humility to understand that the show is not about him, and he is prepared to say nothing whilst our senses drink in "that shot" of Angel Falls or the intense colours of the Okavanga Delta. The behaviour of the Gobi desert camels left me speechless; you don't need some idiot telling you how amazing it is. I can recommend this serious without hesitation. This is public television at its best. It cannot be financially prudent to spend 40 days in the Gobi desert chasing Bactrian camels, but it takes real corporate bravery to say that natural beauty cannot be captured on the cheap. The camera techniques (remember the African dogs chase?) are priceless. You must watch this series. People at my office were discussing each episode for days afterward. Friends' children were having the same discussions - "oh my god - did you see that?" If 8 year old children and 60 year old lawyers have the same base sense of wonder, nobody will watch this and think, "it's just another documentary". This is nothing like you will have seen before. I thought I was a cynic, but this really has re-opened my eyes to the raw power of nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Update To A Natural History Modern Classic, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
Tom Antram (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I've recently purchased a Blu Ray player and as soon as I had handed over my cash for that I knew that I wanted to watch Planet Earth on it - the idea of seeing those amazing images in crystal clear high def just seemed to be perfectly suited for the world of HD home entertainment.

I'd already owned a copy of Planet Earth on DVD and thoroughly enjoyed it. It simply provided everything that the original broadcast on BBC provided with a couple of extra bonus features thrown in. Although very good I really wanted to upgrade to the Blu Ray edition to make the most of the increased image qualities.

I had a look at the product description for the standard original Blu Ray edition and although it certainly sounded like the increase in picture quality I was seeking would be well provided for I noticed that it said that the Planet Earth Diaries features, behind the scenes 10 minute shorts that accompanied each episode, were nowhere to be found and for some reason they weren't included with the Blu Ray release. This made me feel a little cheated that my several year old DVD set was more complete and definitive than the more expensive Blu Ray edition. As a result instead of charging into buying a product that I longed for I "umm"ed and "ahh"ed and ultimately put off buying it for a wee while. I was glad I did.

I ended up seeing the Special Edition Blu Ray listed on Amazon and after finding out it had everything the DVD version did and more I went and bought it straight away.

Firstly if you're unaware of the show in the first place it is truly awe inspiring. It is as if there is an Intergalactic Tourist Board and this is their advertisement for aliens to come and visit Earth. It shows off the most wondrous of things that exist on this hunk of rock, including plants, geology and most prominently animal life, many of which I had no idea even existed before seeing them up close in this example of perfect TV.

The picture and sound quality are superb throughout. The images were all filmed on the most cutting edge HD cameras of the time and look sensational on this transfer. They are sensationally complimented by the score of the BBC Symphony Orchestra and, of course, Sir David Attenborough's legendary narration. Sir David brings such gravitas to any production and the respect he clearly has for the topics being shown is infectious.

The Blu Ray contains all the Planet Earth Diaries for the entire series. They're not shown straight away after each relevant episode - as they were shown when first broadcasted and on the DVD - but must be accessed from the Special Features menu. This isn't a hassle at all though so it doesn't spoil anything and indeed it's nice to have the option of just watching them when the mood suits.

All in all this is a sensational release. I am racking my brains to think of a better example of what TV can be when dedicated people put their minds to it but I truly can't think of anything that surpasses Planet Earth in terms of quality and the impact it has on the viewer. On top of one of the greatest shows of our time the updated, and indeed greatly improved, release has now made this natural history essential even more essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


147 of 153 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the lot, 28 Nov. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planet Earth - Complete Series [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Of all the natural world style documentaries that have been done this is surely the best. Needless to say David Attenborough gives an excellent commentary, but it's the production values here that take the breath away. From the huge array of overhead views of all sorts of vista's from deserts to jungle to the minute and painstaking close up shots that pass in seconds but took months to shoot this simply oozes quality.

With so many other similar documentaries already done this needed something different and arresting to pull in the audiences and so we are presented with hour after hour of all manner of things most of us never even knew existed let alone have seen from creatures that can only be found in 2 of the worlds waterfalls to sandstorms hundreds of metres high charging across a desert . The programme is also unusual in that it rarely pauses for too long on any one subject, you are really getting as much as possible packed into every episode.

The whole planet gets a look in and by the end you want to go back and see it all again.

Well done to the BBC for such high production values in the DVD too. The picture is superb, no graininess, dark and light scenes are handled equally well and colour is vivid and yet still lifelike. Hi-def was made for this type of release.

Sound is also well mixed in subtle 5.1.

The extra look at how each episode was made is a nice bonus too.

If you feel you've probably seen it all before then think again as this really is a breath of fresh air. This is a great programme and is well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most definitely worth it, 2 Dec. 2011
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
It represents a double-dip but this upgrade from the first Planet Earth Blu-ray is worth it.

Being now a vintage BBC release in HD, the quality of the original does pale slightly when compared to other current product. For this Special Edition, all the episodes have been re-encoded in 1080i (apparently their intended format) and are augmented by new bonus features. All the 'making of' diaries that accompanied the broadcasts are now present, as well as informative commentaries that can replace the narration on selected episodes.

Also included are an isolated score, three Natural World documentaries (two of them in HD) and a 45-minute feature revealing the production team's most memorable moments during the mammoth shoot.

Where these Blu-rays come into their own though is in their faultless presentation. The glorious photography is enhanced by an immersive DTS-HD soundtrack that completely puts you in the moment. While David Attenborough's words remain anchored to the centre channel, George Fenton's symphonic music envelopes you and some heavy-duty effects put your subwoofer into occasional overdrive.

The initial production run of this set suffered some contrast faults, which have now been rectified and I certainly had no problems with mine. The six discs come in two digipacks within an outer slipcase (along with a photographic booklet) and there are English SDH subtitles.

If you've held off purchasing Planet Earth on Blu-ray then this is the edition to get. An awesome HD experience and wealth of extras that fully deserve five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening in more ways than one. BBC does it again ! Bravo!!, 21 Dec. 2006
By 
D. J. Winder "F1Racer" (Gibraltar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Earth - Complete Series [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Its quite clear with their track record that the BBC make the best natural history documentaries. Having Sir David Attenborough to present or narrate them just emphasises that dominance.

Planet Earth is simply stunning. You cannot overstate this series in any way.

The footage in each episode will literally leave you open mouthed and eyes glued to the screen in awe. As Life In The Undergrowth is, this is unique in many ways, the camera work, the angles, the ultra-slowmo shots, just boggle the mind.

Hats must be taken off to the tireless work from the cameramen and crew who spent days and weeks in some parts, waiting to grab just a few seconds of footage for us. These people are the heroes in this series. If it wasnt for their dedication and sometimes bravery (recalling the cameraman pulling his equipment on a sled in Antarctia with temps of -50 degrees while hurricane force winds brought him to his knees), we could not be witness to the maginificent splendour that nature still has to offer us.

How long it will continue to offer us this is up to us.

Thankfully for the most part, Planet Earth takes an optimistic approach and shows us what we still have while still slipping in the odd reminder about what climate change and our own interference is doing to the other species who WE share the planet with.

I would go so far as to say that this type of thing should be required viewing in all schools.

Do not miss out on this. If you are reading these reviews then you have enough interest already and not owning this superb series will be a sin in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great product for a great price, 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
probably the best nature series ever made, a great educational and entertaining experience.
alot of hard work as obviously gone into this and it really does show, some truly magnificent images and scenes,some of which seem out of this world and all topped off with the narration from david attenborough (who is the best).

this special edition version plays more smoothly than original blu-ray version, just as long as your player can play 1080i-50 which most uk players do, however, when you receive your copy check the serial numbers which circle the inner ring of the data side of disc 2 and 3, there is a faulty batch.

good batch is:
disc 2
outer: IFPI LY25 A0101728442-A926 1000
inner: IFPI LY24 A0101728442-B926 1000 or IFPI LY24 A0101728442-B926 1000 2A00

disc 3
outer: IFPI LY25 A0101728430-A936 1000
inner: IFPI LY24 A0101728430-B936 1000 or IFPI LY24 A0101728430-B936 1000 3A00

if you do not have these serial numbers you may need to exchange them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


184 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable achievement with minor limitations, 4 Feb. 2008
By 
T. Wei "Cantabrigian" (planet earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Documentary: 5/5, Picture: 3-5/5, Extras: 4/5

THE DOCUMENTARY
Planet Earth takes a rather different approach to Sir David Attenborough's previous Life series: instead of taking a species or phylum, it explores a particular habitat. This is not so much a geological study of the Earth but rather a broad survey of the rarely seen or visited habitats and their inhabitants, with an emphasis on how they adapt to the forces of nature. At times it looks more like showing off spectacular scenery than a systematic study. Coverage is by no means exhaustive but what is presented is truly remarkable. Episode one takes you from the South to the North Pole, passing the various forest ecosystems and desserts in between and is a preview of later episodes.

If you have watched the Life series and the BBC's Blue Planet you will notice some familiarity in Planet Earth. There are recurrent themes on survival and adaptive behaviour. I am constantly reminded of and impressed by the resilience of life.

Memorable shots are too many to mention but polar bear cubs exploring the snowy slopes, the great white shark leaping out of water (with footage slowed down 40 times) and snow covered mountains come to mind. I particularly like the aerial views.

PICTURE: VC-1 1080p 16:9
The main feature IS "1080/24p", as indicated by my Pioneer BD player. The production for broadcast is mastered in 25p from various framerates (details on bbcresources.com); the PAL DVD is in 50i (equivalent to 25p) and each episode runs for 48 minutes (excluding the extras) compared to 50 minutes on Blu-ray. So the Blu-ray runtime is in keeping with a 25p to 24p slowdown. The 1080i v. 1080p feud has been blown out of all proportions. For the material shot on video the HD cameras used in the early 2000s were mostly 720p; note it says on the back "some footage was not captured in full HD". While a lot of scenes are spectacular there are occasional artefacts. People who find Blu-ray to be softer than HD broadcast have incorrect set-up somewhere in the video signal chain: it is not the fault of the Blu-ray.

THE NARRATION AND SOUND TRACK (Dolby Digital 5.1)
The background narration is occasionally too soft. The script is very well written, full of interesting statistics and entirely appropriate without being verbose. The music when present adds to the serenity of the magnificent scenery or the drama of hunting scenes. Subtitles are in English only.

THE SUBSTITUTED EXTRAS (1080/60i)
Regrettably this release does not have the original DVD extras: the 10 minute "Diaries" at the end of each episode and the 'Planet Earth - The Future' feature (2h56') and people felt let down. The "Dairies" are interesting and the message on the state of the planet is of course important and the BBC underestimated the viewer's sentiment. But the extras included here, Dessert Lions and Snow Leopards (the subject of DVD episode 2 "Diaries") from the BBC's Natural World in HD are interesting programmes in their own right and more amenable to repeated viewing. The biologist who tagged collars on the snow leopards died recently so that makes it even more valuable to watch. But it would be better to give us the original extras and have Natural World on a separate release.

WHICH VERSION TO GET?
The US Discovery Channel version is truncated and has an American non-naturalist narrator so that is a non-starter. This UK version has the same encoding as the US BBC/Warner four-disc version (both region free) but has the extras on a fifth disc and hence the best value. If you cannot live without the original extras then borrow the DVD.

UPDATE
I would now recommend the Special Edition instead as it has the Diaries and more extra features at similar price, but note the main episodes are 1080i50 (the original broadcast frame-rate) and the Diaries are 576i50. There is an American SE version in 1080i60 over there.

A MUST-HAVE FOR EVERY BLU-RAY LIBRARY
Just marvel at the contents: once you understand the technical issues you will realise that whatever technical limitations there are they are really of no great significance here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jaw-droppingly beautiful, 22 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Planet Earth - Complete Series [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I have not much to add to all the reviews below but just want to add my 5-star rating as a token of my appreciation for this amazing production.

We own Life in the Freezer, Life of Birds, Life of Mammals and Blue Planet series on DVD but this really is better than anything that came before it, partially thanks to the eye-in-the-sky camera. But it's not just pretty pictures. This is educational without being condescending. Sir David Attenborough's commentary is peerless and the subjects are fascinating.

We've only watched the first two episodes but highlights so far are plenty: a great white in slow motion (high-speed camera) suspended several feet above the water during an attack on a seal, underwater close-ups of swimming elephant, a snow leopard barrelling down a mountainside in full hunting mode, the most bizarre birds of paradise I've ever seen. ..

What a beautiful planet it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful in every way., 9 May 2007
By 
R. Cole "Filterlab.co.uk" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How these images are captured with such staggering clarity is beyond me. There's so much beauty and rarity to so much of this series that it's almost impossible to take it in. As usual, the photography is beyond reproach and David Attenborough's narration is what completes this series to perfection.

The Blu-ray medium really is mind blowing, and one gets the impression that this is what high definition is really for. The passing shots of mountains, rivers and plains show so much crystal detail you'll want to play each episode again and again. There's simply hours of painstakingly captured footage showing places that few have ever seen before and some of the most weird and wonderful creatures to inhabit the planet.

Ostentatiously called 'Planet Earth', it doesn't take long to realise why. Superb in every way, beautiful to both eye and ear, informative and educational, and something worth watching time and time again.

Furthermore, the Blu-ray version has no region coding so any copy will work on any BD Player.

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Region Free - Works Fine On PS3, 11 Jun. 2007
By 
M. Strain (Newbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Bought from Amazon.com and had no region problems, it plays on my PS3. Why is this only available in the US?

Anyway picture and sound quality is superb. Even better than when broadcast on BBC HD.

If you only want to own one documentary series on DVD (Blu-Ray) This should be it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2103 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Earth - Complete Series [2006] [DVD]
Planet Earth - Complete Series [2006] [DVD] by Alastair Fothergill (DVD - 2006)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews