Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self Produced Masterpiece!
After the enormous come-back sucess of "Main Course", the Gibbs' followed with this album and the #1 'across the charts' hit "You Should Be Dancing". Arif Mardin could not produce for them again, due to record contractual conflicts. But, at the same time, Billboard magazine had just started a "dance" chart and this single topped it the summer of 1976. Followed closely to...
Published on 16 Dec 2002 by Martin A Hogan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Slight But Still Entertaining
Although the Bee Gees had included some R+B/soul into their sound on their previous albums 'Mr Natural' and especially 'Main Course', 'Children Of The World' is the first of their albums where they had decided to concentrate on that style exclusively. However, much of the R+B/soul found here tends to have a softer edge and particuarly with the uptempo tracks, seem...
Published on 27 Mar 2007 by Jervis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self Produced Masterpiece!, 16 Dec 2002
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
After the enormous come-back sucess of "Main Course", the Gibbs' followed with this album and the #1 'across the charts' hit "You Should Be Dancing". Arif Mardin could not produce for them again, due to record contractual conflicts. But, at the same time, Billboard magazine had just started a "dance" chart and this single topped it the summer of 1976. Followed closely to #3 was "Love So Right", a severe 'Stylistics' sound copy. "Boogie Child" surprised everyone with it's complex instrumental backing and the funkadelic vocals.
It was another step up for the Bee Gees. Again, with too many hits to release in a year, other artists like Melba Moore "You Stepped Into My Life" and an old Gibb friend Yvonne Elliman, "Love Me", snatched these songs up and made them their own giant hits. Radio Host Casey Kasem remarked during the showcasing of "Love So Right", that the Bee Gees have had more songs copied by any other artists, other than the Beatles! This was in 1976 before "Saturday Night Fever".!
The title track made a big hit in Europe and several other tracks became concert staples. Who knew that the next studio album would be the biggest selling soundtrack of all time?
"Children Of The World" is another amazing groundbreaker. History will probably never repeat itself like this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT remastered!!!!!, 4 July 2006
By 
Withnail (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
These reissues are NOT the remasters we've all been waiting for. These are just straight reissues with the Reprise logo slapped on them and sound exactly the same as the previous issues. According to Rhino the proper digital remasters will begin to be issued at the end of the year and these reissues will form part of this. This process will take a number of years and might not be in chronological order but will feature bonus tracks and improved packaging artwork. Still five stars for the album itself!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bee Gees, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
This group of people are totally amazing and they are the best band of all time. There will never be a band like these again.
Totally unbelievably talented people. There music will be around for as long as we play music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say - perfection., 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
The bee Gees are wonderful. For some reason I have only just bought this CD after loving them for years. This album is one of their finest. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recent Product purchase, 8 Feb 2013
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
the presention and quality of product was excellent but the level of postal charge was exspensive look into this matter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Slight But Still Entertaining, 27 Mar 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
Although the Bee Gees had included some R+B/soul into their sound on their previous albums 'Mr Natural' and especially 'Main Course', 'Children Of The World' is the first of their albums where they had decided to concentrate on that style exclusively. However, much of the R+B/soul found here tends to have a softer edge and particuarly with the uptempo tracks, seem decidedly slight. 'Subway' and 'Boogie Child' are disco inspired songs but they are also rather shallow and facile.

However, the popular single 'You Should Be Dancing' shows the Bee Gees at their very best. The other songs which prove most effective tend to be the ballads. 'Love So Right', the much covered 'Love Me' and 'The Way It Was' are perhaps the album's highlights along with the title track, although if anything 'Children Of The World' itself is a little lightweight.

The Bee Gees were wise i believe to concentrate exclusively on their R+B/soul/disco sound as this enabled them to reach a more contemporary audience, however on this occasion their music falls a little short with 'Children Of The World' being the weakest album of their R+B/soul output from the 1975-79 period. However, if you're a fan of the Bee Gees from this period there should still be plenty to keep you entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It arrived in great condition., 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
It has good songs. And great harmonies that we expect from the Bee Gees. A very good album. Bee Gees fans will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars children of the world bee gees, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
An excellent cd to listen to. I mainly bought it as part of my LP replacement project but since it arrived I have played it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars <i love the music, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children of the World (Audio CD)
I have a Hifi from Holfi which cost two cheap cars and a cat. The Cd hags and jumps. No worth of listening to.The Warner Music made a bad Cd (NO schratch).The sound is behind the LP from 1976 - which I listened to as a young child. The only bad thing I can say about the Bee Gees is: the quality the Music companies produced and produces their music. Have You listened to Deutsche Grammophon or EMI? I Would like to have heard The Bee Gees produced from them. What a sound it would be! A waist of fine music history.
Best regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children of the World
Children of the World by Bee Gees (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews