Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dinosaur's purple patch, 2 Mar 2007
By 
N. J. Burbidge (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
I must admit that when this album came out back in '92 or '93, I was less than impressed. Grunge had exploded and all its fun and punkish, edgy extremity was being sucked out of it by the majors and MTV at breakneck speed. Grunge/alternative rock was fast becoming another rock/pop cliche of boys with guitars. I wanted DJ to go back to the fuzzy, fritzy, lo-fi Lou Barlow days but Where You Been couldn't have been more different from You're Living All Over Me. It was big, grand Neil Youngish rock. Still, it wasn't bad: Hide and On the Way rocked and screeched very nicely and Start Choppin' had a very nice, crunchy riff.

Only some years later did I put the pre-recorded cassette (remember those?) into my tape player again and realise this album is pretty much a classic. J's solos are astonishing (even more than usual perhaps) and the forays into acoustic and strings are thrilling yet fragile (at the time I thought they were uninspired!). Yes, the Neil Young influence is very evident (no bad thing) but, on further listens, Where You Been shares a lot with its more indie predecessors - it's just a lot bolder.

Like most DJ lps, Where You Been contains one duff track (Drawerings in this case) but there's so much that's great here that it's essential - as much as Bug - for anyone interested in the last 20 years of punk rock ... 'n'roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you haven't got it, where you been?, 22 Dec 2007
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
This was Dinosaur's crowning achievement in my view. The album is not without its breezier moments but overall the mood is dark. This album was made about the time Mascis lost his father (see the poignant single 'where you been') and the set has the feel not so much of despair but of powerful catharsis and also joy in getting through it all.

The solos on this LP (commented on by another reviewer) are undoubtedly a collection of J Mascis' greatest moments, the perfect marriage of virtuosity, fragility and emotional, visceral force. There is as much, if not sometimes more expression of feeling in Mascis' solos as in his words.

This reissue is welcome as it contains some hard to find b-sides from the time which are real gems (especially 'keeblin'') and serves to remind us of what is a highlight among the 'grunge' era albums and a milestone in the career of a great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sit back and slack, 15 Jan 2001
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
Dinosaur Jr reside with Husker Du and Throwing Muses as truly seminal to the american alternative rock scene. With bands such as Nirvana citing Dinosaur as influences it isn't hard to see that a great deal of american alternative rock owes a great deal to this band. Where You Been is seen by many to be the quintessential Jr album blending folk, rock and ironic content to produce a brilliant album. The lazy drawl of leading light J Mascis is perfectly set off against guitar work that is both technically impressive and aurally astounding.
It is hard to believe that a band whose whole premise is slacking and making rock to slack to could bring forth classics like Out There and Start Choppin, few bands can ever sound as majestic as Dinosaur Jr at the peak of a guitar solo.
The only unfortunate aspect is that their stuff is so hard to get, Where You Been is a good starting point, but Bug, Green Mind and You're Living All Over Me should not be overlooked, or indeed J Mascis' solo album with The Fog (more light).
To summarise, I'd like to give you a track by track review, but I can't its all good, yes all of it. Buy it, play it, sit back and order pizza.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grungetastic, 25 Nov 2003
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
Truly, J Mascis is the spiritual heir to Neil Young. After a few OK-ish albums around the turn of the 90's (Bug, Green Mind et al), this one plays to Dinosaur Jr's main strength: Mascis' astounding guitar-playing. The fact that it's employed in the service of some decent songs helps as well.
Out There sets the scene from the start: a crunching overdriven guitar riff, some squealy soloing, and then Mascis' half-asleep drawl surfing over the top of a vast wave of noise. Start Choppin follows - hard to imagine this, with its weird falsetto bits and staccato-guitar-riff-as-chorus structure, being a top 20 single today (as it was in 1993). Most of the album continues in similar vein, with the exception of Not The Same with its queasy falsetto vocal and strange chiming gothic rumble. The guitar solo which concludes Get Me qualifies as my personal album highlight.
The follow-up album (Without A Sound) dabbled with some country-rock stylings (not entirely convincingly); since then Mascis seems to have joined My Bloody Valentine's Kevin Shields in the Great Lost Guitar Heroes Of The 1990's file. Maybe they should collaborate on a comeback album. Now that'd give The Strokes something to think about.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Find, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
I took a risk with this album after reading positive reviews. I'm glad I did, however, as it is excellent. I think I expected something a lot heavier from this album; beneath the crunch of guitars is a pop album really. This is in no way intended as a negative comment! Where You Been is a great introduction to the music of Dinosaur Jr; I have since purchased Bug, which, if I'd bought first, would have slightly put me off buying any more of their back catalogue due to its harsher, less melodious sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still cool, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a good intro to Dinosaur Jr if you've not heard much, one complaint- it added itself onto iTunes out of order; oddly appears across 2 albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Attenborough found J's strings, 4 Nov 2012
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
I've the utmost respect for the reviews of this album. Without reading too much into the lyrics and the meanings of the songs, to me, J remains one of the greatest guitarists of my lifetime. If you think bass and low slung vocals are a downer, then try listening again when your headphones are plugged in. Grunge was a term we used 20 years ago before 'Indie' was even invented. This remains a warm stroke classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ...Out there., 20 July 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
A close contender for favourite DJ album. This encompasses all that the band is and was to become. The blueprint for the sound that Mascis has adopted to this day is set down here. And it's also got possibly the most consistently great collection of tracks on any DJ album, with the exception of possibly Bug and Green Mind.

Highlights are 'Out There' and the unstoppable force of 'Start Choppin', 'What Else is New'... actually they are all good. There really is not a dud track on the whole album. 10 songs of pure grungey country gold.

Possibly their greatest album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most rockin' records with tunes ever, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
Basically if you like American music that's not commercial but has great tunes and great rockin' riffs, then this is it. 'Start choppin' is one rock beast from beginning to end. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great stuff, 1 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where You Been (Audio CD)
this is a very good record. best described as "squeely american alt rock" this album is a hiding place for some cracking pop rock nuggets. ok it does contain one or two long, drawn out bore fests, but heck most albums do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where You Been
Where You Been by Dinosaur Jr. (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews