Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST COMPILATION OF EARLY STUFF
OK there have been plenty of compilations of early Rush material before, but none as good as this one, and at what a price! What you get is the two volumes 'Retrospective '1' and Retrospective '2', which were originally sold separately and expensive with one track change from vol 1, namely 'Working Man' instead of 'Something For Nothing'. This change alone makes it a...
Published on 28 Aug 2007 by James J. Porter

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the rock and Guitar Hero fans!
I have often thought about getting a Rush album but hadn't heard enough and wasn't sure what to get. Being a Manic Street Preachers fan and recently reading the band were fans I searched out what was available. This collection seemed a good starting point. A couple of songs I immediately recognised (The Spirit of Rock, Working Man) The first CD is the better of the two in...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by Marcellas


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST COMPILATION OF EARLY STUFF, 28 Aug 2007
By 
James J. Porter (North West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
OK there have been plenty of compilations of early Rush material before, but none as good as this one, and at what a price! What you get is the two volumes 'Retrospective '1' and Retrospective '2', which were originally sold separately and expensive with one track change from vol 1, namely 'Working Man' instead of 'Something For Nothing'. This change alone makes it a better compilation but when you know that all tracks have yet again been remastered brilliantly, what are you waiting for? The only way to beat this compilation is to buy all the original cds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb collection, 1 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Rush have been reintegrated and reevaluated at last due to exceptional live shows and performance DVD's in recent years. This double disc best of brings together the '70's and '80's studio highlights. All of the fan favourites are here in shiny new masters, and boy do they sound great. No live album takes or non-LP tracks. Let's the latecomers hear what all the fuss was about. These are the songs that made Rush great and kept the faithful warm at night before the new millenium rediscovery. This IS an excellent compilation in the superb "Gold" series, even if it is just two earlier best-of's cut and pasted together. The repackaging is minimal but the music does all of the talking. Get out your silk kimono and loon pants, fire up the lava lamp, and rock out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
If your are a die hard Rush fan then you don't need this. If ,like me you are looking to fill a gap in your music collection then you won't go far wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (MP3 Download)
This is the best Rush compilation I could find. I am mainly interested in their 1970s and 80s output which is all on here, although I like the more recent material I don't think it fits in with these classics. Anything shorter is not enough. Of course Rush fans will have all the original LPs but this is great as an introduction or if you just want to listen again to the very best tracks by this absolutely fantastic band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a crackin' compilation., 4 May 2013
By 
C. YOUNG - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Just wish I was a more avid Rush fan. Still, all my favourites are here, and I just skip the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RUSH GOLD, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Not a band I'd ever considered. Then one day listening to the radio the station was playing The Spirit of Radio. This is good I thought to myself. Who is it? A newcomer,better late than never I suppose, I bought this compilation. 29 tracks, 2 and a half hours music, 2 cd's of fine songs I found it an absolute delight. It may not be to everybody's taste but I for one am converted. Will be playing this many more times from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rush Gold, 1 July 2012
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
Rush are a hard rock group that seem to have been tagged as a Prog Rock group. The powerful drums, strong guitar work coupled with wild vocals make Rush a band that kick serious ass.
Its a 2 CD compilation with each CD containing a very generous track listing of the best of Rush especially the late 70s and 80s output.
I enjoyed these CDs and like to play this LOUD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rush Gold CD, 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Rush for over 5 years and there music is fantastic.

This CD has a great combination of there early stuff, but I think the best tracks are Subdivisions, Music Rhythms and Red Sector A.

There music is brilliant and I can highly recommend them to anyone.

Roll the Bones is another must have if you are a devoted fan like myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for the rock and Guitar Hero fans!, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
I have often thought about getting a Rush album but hadn't heard enough and wasn't sure what to get. Being a Manic Street Preachers fan and recently reading the band were fans I searched out what was available. This collection seemed a good starting point. A couple of songs I immediately recognised (The Spirit of Rock, Working Man) The first CD is the better of the two in my opinion and more rocky (Deep Purple, Led Zep) with the second CD being quite synth driven (Tears for Fears)

I would give the first CD 4/5 and the second CD 3/5.

Definately worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits, 31 May 2009
By 
Ian A. Ottaway (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gold (Audio CD)
For any fans who are new to Rush this is a good place to start with old favourites and new alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gold
Gold by Rush (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews