Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply superb, 26 Oct 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
There cannot be many people who have not seen at least one episode from this classic series. It is - in my opinion- almost the best television ever made. The series starts off with the characters being re-introduced,

we catch up with Bob and Thelma by way of their slideshow.

Bob heads to London for the day, only to get on the same train home that a returning Terry is on. They meet in the famous scene as the compartment lights fail and come on again. Even tho it's watched a thousand times and we know what is about to happen, it always raises a laugh.

From then on, we follow the pair, essentially the lead up to Bob's wedding to Thelma. Bolam and Bewes are excellent, with their characters bouncing off each other (and Thelma) brilliantly.

Some of the most hilarious scenes ever seen on TV are in this series,

from Thelma finding terry in bed with her, to the 'surprise' for terry's birthday to the 'stag night' run in with the law.

I cannot recommend this series enough. Even with satellite today, TV can be monotonous and uninteresting. buy this and you have a guaranteed laugh every single time. I am not sure if canned laughter was used, but either way, some of Clement and La Frenais' subtle humour misses the audience, or the producer, and you can miss these gems time after time, before suddenly seeing or hearing something to bring yet another laugh.

Ive rated it 5 stars only because that is the maximum - it should be more!

Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy at the very top of its game, 1 Jun 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It never ceases to amaze me how completely neglected this series has been through the years. Apart from being repeated in around the mid-nineties the series has scarcely been shown in full since the 70s.

Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads? is the perfect example of how great a sitcom series can potentially be particuarly in light of what's been on offer in more recent years.

Maybe it hasn't aged quite as well as a number of comedies from that era (mainly due to the fact it is very socially aware (with the class system being a prime talking point)) but this isn't actually a criticism - Whatever Happens To The Likely Lads? has almost become a time capsule which highlights the hopes, aspirations and attitudes that were prevalent in the time it was set.It's a very enlightening series particuarly for the younger viewers who were not around at that time.

I'd have to say if you only intend to buy one Likely Lads DVD this is the one to get. The story (which picks up from Terry's return from the army to Bob's wedding day) flows particuarly well where each episode's storyline leads neatly to the next.

I'm sure there may be a few younger viewers who may find the Likely Lads subtle gestures and intricate dialogue a little hard to swallow particuarly after watching the more shallow, gag a second type comedy of today but if you're looking for an intelligently written dose of reality Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads? is simply impossible to beat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a gem ..., 9 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. I. Stephen "dj_dadrock" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
'Whatever happened to Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads on DVD' I kept asking myself before these came out, as I trawled in vain on Amazon, watching out for it's appearance. Here they are in all their glory at long last. Any doubts after not having seen the lot for so many years that it might not tickle the ribs so hard, or that it might be no more than a gentle nostalgia trip that now felt a bit dated, were swiftly dispelled as one superbly written, superbly cast episode after another rolled out. If you're a fan of any quality comedy from the '70's then you can't give this a miss. Genuinely vintage stuff !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Gold, 14 Nov 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 (and its Series 2 companion) of Whatever Happened To The Likely Lads represent arguably the greatest British sitcom ever made. This is Dick Clement and Ian La Frenais at their absolute peak, and whilst they also achieved great things with Porridge and even Auf Wiedersehn Pet, they did not reach the heights of WHTTLL. I have been watching these series for nearly 40 years, first on initial TV showing, then on videotape and now DVD, and I never tire of it. What's more this is comedy that is truly timeless, it simply has not dated in its appeal.

What is absolutely amazing about this series is that, unlike other great comedy sitcoms such as Fawlty Towers, Only Fools and Horses, Dad's Army, Porridge, The Office, The Thick Of It, etc, WHTTLL is nearly totally sustained by the two central acting performances. Now before I provoke too much complaint I do recognise that Bridget Forsyth as Thelma is only slightly in the shadows of Messrs. Bolam and Bewes, and that one must not forget the other 'stars' appearing in smaller roles throughout the series, such as Bill Owen, Alan Armstrong, Tony Haygarth and Brian Glover, but really we are witnessing comic acting at its peak in the roles of Terry Collier (as in pit) and Bob Ferris.

Terry Collier is one of the greatest comic characters ever (if not the greatest) - a put-upon downtrodden loser, but one with his dignity fully intact, in many ways a natural (but, I feel, more authentic) successor to Tony Hancock. James Bolam was notoriously reluctant to ever speak about his performance as Terry, and I still feel that this is very sad, given the true stature of his acting achievement. At the same time, however, it is all too easy to overlook the great character that is Bob Ferris - indeed on repeat viewings of the series, it is Bob's character that seems to impress more and more. The supposed 'straight man' foil to Bolam's Terry, Bob Ferris is totally hilarious in his own right.

Quite simply the greatest comedy pairing ever, in arguably the greatest sitcom ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great bit of nostalgia, 18 Mar 2007
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you remember this from its first showing then indulge yourself with a bit of nostalgia. In this we find Terry returning from his time in the army, he joined because he thought Bob was joining him but actually Bob was rejected because of his flat feet leaving Terry to go it alone. So after a stint in Germany he has now been discharged from the army and accidentally bumps into Bob picking up where he left off getting Bob into scrapes and into trouble with Thelma, Bobs soon-to-be wife. A good comedy revisited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Gems, 8 Mar 2008
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this as a kid , the theme tune is very nostalgic.
The episode are fantastic with a continouous story line foirm Episode 1 .Bo comes home and Bobs getting married.You can watch over and over.Pure magic.
The non stag night show is superb with the very sarcastic policeman making a pleasing return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money!, 30 Oct 2008
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Both series 1 and 2 are great value at £6.98. Both contain 2 discs with 13 episodes in total for series 1 and 14 for series 2. The 14th is the 1974 Christmas special. Series 2 is just as good as series 1 and, to be honest, you've got to have both. I would think that most people thinking of buying this would be at least vaguely familiar with it. Brilliant conversational script by Dick Clement and Ian la Frenais, with plenty of slapstick thrown in. Don't buy this if you're trying to give up beer or fags.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A superior follow up to the original series, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
After the success of The Likely Lads, Terry and Bob return in the surprisingly superior follow up Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads?

Usually when a sequel is made to a sitcom it never lives up to the original, but this is one of the few exceptions. It follows Terry returning to his home town after five years in the army only to find everything's changed including his friend Bob who is now engaged. This first series follows Terry as he attempt to sabotage Bob's engagement and tries to deal with all the changes taken place in his absence.

There are many classic episodes in this series including Boys Night In which follows Bob and Terry trying to get through the night before Bob's wedding . The main standout episode however is No Hiding Place where Bob and Terry try avoid hearing about the results of an important football match before it airs on the television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This has English subtitles for the hard of hearing, 15 May 2007
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My partner is deaf, so this sort of information is useful when considering a purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy with extra bite, 3 April 2010
By 
AndyC (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was very young when this was first shown so i only really understood the more knock-about jokes at the time. Everyone remembers the episode where they're trying to avoid hearing the result of a football match but that is not really representative of the series as a whole.

Watching it again now I was really surprised at the level of intelligence and social comment contained within this series. At times it is more like watching a social documentary than a comedy series - Terry is the 'old Labour' one, happy to stay in touch with his working class roots, while Bob is much more aspirational, keen to get on in life, and hooked on status symbols like his car and tennis-club membership (the sort of rising middle class person who voted for Thatcher in 1979). A lot of the humour comes from the way that the two guys have drifted apart into different social circles since they were close friends from similar background in the original 1960s series. Some of the class-conscious comedy is reminiscent of Captain Mainwaring / Sgt Wilson in Dad's Army or Harold and his father in Steptoe and Son.

Many of the more poignant moments come from the two of them travelling around the north east and seeing how things have changed - old terraced houses replaced by high-rise flats and so on. Bob of course sees this as 'progress' whereas Terry yearns for the old days of working class culture. The clip in the opening titles of children playing in the remaining window of a demolished row of terraces, with the new tower blocks framed in the shot behind them, is a piece of art in itself.

Some of the original Likely Lads episodes from the 1960s are also available on dvd, as is the second series of 'Whatever Happened To...', and there is also a feature film version. However this first series of 'Whatever Happened To...' is the funniest and cleverest of them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads - Series 1 [DVD]
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews