Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over Paid, Over Sexed - Over Here!
WW2 as seen through the eyes of a small English town which become home to a US air base 3 years into the second world war.

Into the lives of the villagers come the glamorous young airmen - dashing and daring - with no comprehension of rationing, blackouts, food shortages and all the conditions with which the English residents have been coping for years...
Published on 3 Jun 2007 by Scots Lass

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars We'll Meet Again
Sorry I can not submit any reviews of this film, as I had to send it back would not play
Published 10 months ago by Christine Prentice


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

143 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over Paid, Over Sexed - Over Here!, 3 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
WW2 as seen through the eyes of a small English town which become home to a US air base 3 years into the second world war.

Into the lives of the villagers come the glamorous young airmen - dashing and daring - with no comprehension of rationing, blackouts, food shortages and all the conditions with which the English residents have been coping for years.

Dr Helen (Susannah York) sees her Marjor husband posted to North Africa while her daughter Pat opts to leave university in the hope of doing war work. Helen soon gets to know the US troops as she treats the wounded at the local hospital - and before long she finds herself drawn to Major Jim Kiley. When her husband is invalided out of the army, where will the loyalties of the doctor lie - and can her own daughter forgive her for falling for the man she also desires?

Publican Jack Blair, a widower, has two daughters. Land Girl Vi falls for kindly airman Chuck - but when he goes missing following a flight over Germany she waits anxiously for news. Sister Rosie, meantime, has plenty boys to choose from and delights in teasing Hymie and Elmer in particular.

Stern father Bert Munday keeps wife Vera and children Peter and Letty on a tight rein - but his daughter is soon the cause of false accusations in the town before finding herself in real trouble after the death of her airman boyfriend. Brother Peter moves out to avoid his bullying dad whilst he awaits the call up - but Bert finds his own morals tested when his 'Spiv' brother in law, Stan, turns up with plans to stock his shop with under the counter items.

Sally (Carolyn Pickles) has two young children and a husband reported killed. Her blossoming friendship with mechanic Joe is put to the test when an unexpected visitor knocks on the door one night, turning her life upside down.

Beautifully made and paced, the 12 episodes look at the cultural differences that the locals and troops had to adapt to and as the barriers are gradually broken down, the resentment of the villagers to these 'movie star' boys fades as they come to realise the very real dangers they face as they fly mission after mission over Germany.

So, dig out your ration book, find your best stockings and settle down for a truly moving programme as the lives of Chuck, Red, Elmer, Mario, Joe and Major Jim change for ever the inhabitants of one English town in the summer of 1943.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic drama, 3 Aug 2004
By 
G. Basford (Abriachan, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was over the moon when this classic series was released on DVD. Having an edited version version on VHS wasn't quite the same. At times this series will have you reaching for the hankies and at other times will have you laughing with the antics of some of the characters (elmer and hymie, to name but two). All I can say is a BIG thanks to Cinema Club for having the brains to release it. No extras but still a wonderful buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once upon a time in Suffolk, 6 Oct 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Future historians may place this alongside The World At War as the best 1st/2nd hand evidence of WW2 which can never be repeated or bettered.

The licence given to fiction allows it to deal, albeit speculatively, with the twin themes of aggression and sexuality, and the very simplicity of the plot lines leaves space for our imagination to relive the crazy dilemmas of the time. The exquisite device of interleaving contemporary footage, a disaster in clumsier hands, is perfectly accomplished, and provides a poignancy to the occasionally stilted characters.

Praise be to the inventors of DVD who allow us to re-sample life in 1981/1943, you won't see the like of this made again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We'll Meet Again, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Thank you, Amazon, for sending this DVD so promptly.
I love the series, and watched it on T.V. when it was first broadcast in Melbourne in February, 1983.
It is a finely acted piece, with the lovely Susannah York in the lead role as Doctor Dereham.
She was only forty at this time, and was perfect for the part. The American actor, Michael J. Shannon is also marvellous as Major Kiley - pity we do not see more of this fine actor.
The quality of the DVDs is excellent, and I have been very happy to play it again.
I would recommend it to anyone interested in the history of the American involvement in the British effort to win against the Germans in World War ll, as the attention to detail is wonderfully accurate, even the hair styles.
As usual, the English village is a very photogenic subject, and the whole 13 episodes were loved by me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the series, read the book, 19 Feb 2010
By 
D. Cocking "Pasty Pixie" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this 20 odd years ago and loving it and being disappointed when it ended. I was given the DVDs for Christmas and after trawling around on Amazon, i found the follow up book written by the same person who wrote the tv series. The book carries on where the TV series left off and carries on for another 30 years. To watch the DVDs and then to read the book was brilliant. If you fancy the book heres a link, [[ASIN:0708822886 We'll Meet Again: The End of an Era]. Hope you enjoy it as much as i did, I may have to go now and start it again!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wing & a Prayer, 2 July 2009
By 
G. D. Matthews "DVD/Bookwom" (Piraeus - Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
A delightful movie about the Flying Fortress bombers and how the people in the last war (World War II) managed with rationing books, barrage balloons, identity cards and waiting for their "boys in Blue " to come home safely. It is a very informative romantic story and one worth keeping for ones own grand children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy rememories, 8 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this series on a friday night as a teenager. I loved it so much that I bought the video box set when it came out almost ten years later. I played it over and over again until one day all the tapes were worn out. I have now got this in DVD format and hope that this will see me through many more years to come. My Nan said that it was very true to life as her sister fell in love with an American airman and when her husband came back from north africa caught them. but she wasn't as lucky as mrs Bilton she ended up dying from a broken heart because she couldn't be with her US airman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We'll meet again, again, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyable second time around or maybe even our third or fourth. Good to see again and good value for money. Had the usual sad and happy parts and the inevitable "Happy Ending" for some of the characters, but not all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely series, 28 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
Filmed in 1981 and broadcast early the following year, "We'll Meet Again" follows the lives of the people of Market Wetherby, a (fictional) small town in Suffolk, in 1943 as the war rages and the Americans arrive on British soil. The main driving plot of the series is the love story between the married Dr. Helen Dereham (played superbly by the late Susannah York) and Major Jim Kiley (Michael J. Shannon). It's not your usual "illicit affair" kind of storyline, and there are some surprising twists and turns along the way. Dr. Helen is torn between her love for Jim and her duties as a wife to her injured husband Ronnie, mother to Cambridge University student Pat, and general pillar of the community.

Within this main story there are some great subplots - the lovely romance between the unassuming war widow Sally and American Mac, and the ensuing troubles with Sally's cantankerous mother-in-law Ruby; shop owner Albert Mundy having to deal with his prejudices against the Americans as his son and daughter navigate their way in the world; shy Vi's blossoming as she falls for Chuck; and the humorous bickering and jostling between the American boys for the affections of landlord's daughter Rosie. Footage of the planes are interwoven too, so amid the drama and romance you get a sense of the realities of the war too. It's certainly not all plain sailing in this series, and there are some shocking surprises along the way.

Initially I thought the series was going to be quite slow-moving and unengaging, but a couple of episodes in I was hooked and these characters really get inside your heart. The writing and acting are all of impressive quality, and the pacing really picks up; the thirteen episodes, around an hour in length, fly by and at the end you get the feeling that it could certainly have continued for another series. But for what it is, "We'll Meet Again" is lovely - funny and sad all at once, and it has aged well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series when it was on tv, 1 Jan 2009
By 
Scott Leslie (Newcastle-upon-Tyne,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD] (DVD)
I use to watch this series every friday night thought it was great then and i still think it is great now you really can see what was happening when the Yanks were over here good acting highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We'll Meet Again : The Complete Series (4 Disc Box Set) [DVD]
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews