Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic gags!
From the days before 'alternative' comedy, comes this classic tv show where a host of comedians (from mainly the working men's club background) tell joke after joke. Simple. But funny.

For those of us that remember the original show, there will be a sense of nostalgia about watching this and for those that have been raised on punchline free studenty comedy, it...
Published on 26 Aug 2006 by Freddie Valentine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars comics
Jokes sound tame now, and some performers use the same ones.
Published 20 days ago by phil6079


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic gags!, 26 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
From the days before 'alternative' comedy, comes this classic tv show where a host of comedians (from mainly the working men's club background) tell joke after joke. Simple. But funny.

For those of us that remember the original show, there will be a sense of nostalgia about watching this and for those that have been raised on punchline free studenty comedy, it will be a eye (and mind opener).

This is the 'best of' series one and is an 80 minute compilation rather than the whole series. There is also a documentary about Ken Goodwin as an extra.

For the price, it's great value and there are loads of jokes on here. The sort of jokes you can remember and repeat.

Proper comedy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic stuff, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
This is good stuff that does exactly what it says on the tin. If you are a fan of old fashioned punchy gags then this is the DVD for you. This was back in the day when comedy meant telling jokes, an art form that is dying out. Over the past 20 years the trend has been more "look at life / humorous observation" type comedy, especially as the PC brigade came along and spoilt all the fun.

This is a good example of the noble art of delivering a joke, something we all try and do down the pub or at work etc etc. If you are not particularly good at it then buy this as an educational tool. This could easily be used to help you write a best mans speech, just adapt the gags.

I hope they release all the subsequent series and give us some dvd extras of both the late George Roper and Charlie Williams. It is worth the money just to see Charlie Williams telling jokes, an absolute master at work and one of the funniest men Britain has ever produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Comedians, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
This review follows my other review of the Comedians series 2. good DVD for the money , some of the jokes are still funny after all this time. I wish that there were more jokes content as this one had a lengthy documentry ( allbeit and extra item )at the end from Ken Goodwin about his early years in the clubs in the midlands which was interesting, but I would have preferred more jokes. However for nostalgia addicts this is a great DVD and will bring a smile to your face
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Comedians - The Best of the Comedians (DVD) 1971, 15 Jun 2010
By 
John Brattle "Bluey" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
I'd forgotten how funny some of the guys were. There are a couple that I don't find particularly funny, but Frank Carson, Ken Goodwin and Charlie Williams in particular are brilliant. Excellent feel-good DVD - do yourself a favour and buy it and have a real good laugh. It brought back many happy memories for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the comedians- best of, 13 May 2009
By 
Mr. K. J. Tully "kevin" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
still funny after all these years you could tell the jokes over and over and they are still funny. worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 13 April 2010
By 
John T. (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
A timeless collection of a programme i enjoyed on tv for many years.Good to have on dvd, now i can watch it over and over again as the jokes come thick and fast.Well before the dreaded PC brigade ruined life as we knew it,people smoking on TV ,never!I would recommend it to anyone,funny yes but nothing too strong that would upset gran.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the comedians volume 2, 5 Mar 2010
By 
Charles Blackburn (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
It was great to see again those comedians who were a household name way back then,they still can raise a good laugh as they all have their own unique style. I already have series 1 and hope to pick up others in the series to appreciate all those great comics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars comics, 6 July 2014
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Jokes sound tame now, and some performers use the same ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy memories, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
We watched the Comedians many years ago and loved them. They are every bit as funny today. It's a great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If You Want A Laugh Buy This, 17 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971] (DVD)
Unfortunately all too many of these great comedians are no longer with us, But for all that this DVD is excellent if you want to get some quick fired humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Comedians - The Best Of The Comedians [DVD] [1971]
7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews