Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPOILER IN A REVIEW BELOW
Mr DeRiemer below offers a lengthy review which will ruin any chance of enjoying the ending by revealing the plot. I haven't seen the film so this is hardly a review but I might save others from this man's musings. I have asked Amazon to consider removing it.
Published on 23 Sep 2007 by Mike Greene

versus
85 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, indifferent DVD
They say you get what you pay for. This is a superior crime thriller notable for the intricacy of its plot, the acid wit of the script and above all the superb moonlit black and white cinematography.

Potential buyers of this cheap Network DVD version should note that the picture, though acceptable, is not as sharp as it might be and the sound is generally...
Published on 23 Jan 2007 by Dr Mabuse


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 90 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, indifferent DVD, 23 Jan 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
They say you get what you pay for. This is a superior crime thriller notable for the intricacy of its plot, the acid wit of the script and above all the superb moonlit black and white cinematography.

Potential buyers of this cheap Network DVD version should note that the picture, though acceptable, is not as sharp as it might be and the sound is generally poor. There appears to have have been minimal, if any, effort at restoration. Happily, there is at the time of writing a Criterion version soon to be released. I for one will upgrade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPOILER IN A REVIEW BELOW, 23 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
Mr DeRiemer below offers a lengthy review which will ruin any chance of enjoying the ending by revealing the plot. I haven't seen the film so this is hardly a review but I might save others from this man's musings. I have asked Amazon to consider removing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sim-ply marvellous!, 2 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
Another tour-de-force from the wonderful Alistair Sim and an object lesson in comic timing and delivery of a terrific script from a master. I hesitate to call it his finest hour as he had so many! The plot is splendid and the supporting cast - a who's who of British 1940s cinema - is first rate. I do agree that the quality of the DVD could have been better though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 14 Aug 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
Green for Danger, is a super1947 Frank Launder/Sidney Gilliat murder film set in England at a small hospital during world war 2. A patient dies and only six people -- two doctors and four nurses -- could have done it.

Great story and really funny at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film, 8 Oct 2009
By 
G. Lynch "Greggytime" (Glossop, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this film a hundred times and I've never found a fault in it, direction, photography, script, and of course the wonderful acting. Its all there, romance, murder, suspence, humour. I found the DVD quality fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic in need od restoration, still shines, 9 July 2012
By 
Mr. Colin J. Todd (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
A very stylish and atmospheric film. Mr Sim is at his hight here making a good film a classic. However it's about time it got the TLC it needs and deserves. I'm sure with the VHS, many DVD versions and TV showings it has paid it's due to those companies so now it might be nice of them to get the digital arts busy on it so we can see it as it was new. Then they could do a bluray too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie but a Goodie, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
Green For Danger is one of those rare finds - a really good thriller without any bad language or sex(might have something to do with it being made in the forties). I dare say it may seem very dated to those addicted to the fast-paced action-packed movies we are more used to, but don't knock it till you try it. Incidentally, while I love films from the forties, I am not of that era myself, being a mere youngster of 53, not even born when this was made. But seriously it's a real little gem, and Alastair Sim(possibly better known from the(original) Ladykillers is superb as the inspector trying to crack the case.
For any fans of a good thriller I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film...but appalling quality, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this film with great fondness but couldn't manage to watch as much as half of this terrible transfer before switching off. Some of the shots (particularly the exteriors) are so murky that it's almost impossible to see what's going on. One reviewer suggested that the poor quality added to the period charm. Not for me I'm afraid. I've sent off the (expensive) Criterion Collection version which is supposed to be restored and I'll keep my fingers crossed.

I struggle to see how anyone could imagine putting out a release of this quality was acceptable.

What a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green for Danger, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
A classic Alistair Sim film, made in 1946 in black and white, so the film and sound quality are far below what would be acceptable today, but this for me this adds to the period charm. The story is a whodunit mystery, concerning deaths at a south London hospital in late 1944, played out to the background of V1s flying over-head. Sim is the investigating inspector, and his mobile face and droll delivery, make this an entertaining film, especially as the murderers identity is not revealed until the last 5 minutes, with a couple of 'red herrings' thrown in for good measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterclass, 15 May 2012
By 
GOG "Grumpy" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Green For Danger [DVD] (DVD)
Alistair Sim once again acting everyone else off the screen giving a brilliant performance as a cynical, unorthodox policeman long before they became a cliche. An absolute masterclass in understated comedy/thriller acting. Fine support from the likes of Trevor Howard, Leo Genn and Megs Jenkins. Superbly witty script with a neat twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Green For Danger [DVD]
Green For Danger [DVD] by Sidney Gilliat (DVD - 2006)
£5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews