Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bogarde: the essential film actor
There are lots of reasons why you should watch this film (and it repays repeated viewings)but Dirk Bogarde is possibly the best of them. Here he is in a role that few actors - at the time - would have dared attempt (the fact that Bogarde was himself a homosexual, albeit one who preferred to keep his private life to himself only emphasises how much he stood to lose in a...
Published on 25 Jun. 2009 by Wakefield, 2011

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray sad Victim (pardon me) of too much DNR!
No need to discuss the film itself here. It's fantastic, gripping, and well written with strong acting. It was also very needed at the time of its release. So five stars for the film. But only three stars for the Blu-ray. Another reviewer wrote: "It's sharp and clear, it could have been shot yesterday". Well, right, and there lies the problem. Network decided to "wash"...
Published 9 months ago by Lars Sandell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Transfer!, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent transfer! The best I've seen the film look too. The Network DVD was good but this BD takes the PQ up a notch. Same special features as on the DVD but with better PQ it's a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahead of its time., 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
A thought-provoking and compassionate film looking at a time when it was still illegal for homosexuals to have consensual relationships in England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars v. good show, 17 May 2008
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
i managed to squeeze this film into a couple of hours gap i had at university and how glad i was. At my uni there is a seperate dvd section for people to watch films in separate film booths with headphones on. This has been my sanctuary for three years and i have ploughed my way through many brilliant and absurd films assembled clumsily on the shelves that i would never normally look at. This film also came into this category. I stumbled across it by chance and was mesmerised by the clever plot that was being explained on the back of the box. an hour and a half later i was sitting speechless in my chair, amazed by what i had just seem. This film incorporates dark drama, social issues and is filmed in black and white with 2 brilliant, classic actors, what more could anyone want? Watch it. I guarantee you will be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Victim - Homophobia - laws, 23 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
What a truly brilliant film. It was SO brave of Dirk Bogarde to even consider acting in it; especially with the attitudes there were at the time ... could have meant the end of his career. The film is very "dated", but serves to remind us just how far we have come. Ironic (and sad) really, that Bogarde was himself so closeted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch film, 19 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
I had forgotten how good Dirk Bogarde was.

This is a brilliant film. It is hard to imagine that it was filmed in 1961.
The sin that dare not speak its name with a film all to itself! This must have been quick discomforting to a British audience back then, but even now one can imagine the victims of blackmail feeling vulnerable in quite the same way.
It'd definitely worth watching if only for the top drawer names in acting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Landmark film, 23 Mar. 2013
By 
J. Symon "JMS_5" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my mum and was pleased to find it on DVD as I thought it might have gone out of print. Landmark film and one everyone should try and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shame about the lack of subtitles, 4 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic film, revolutionary for the time, but it's a real shame the makers of the dvd didn't take the time to produce subtitles for it. I'd have liked to show it to some foreign students, and subtitles would have been very helpful. Naively I thought all films had them in Britain nowadays... especially with the hard-of-hearing in mind. But unfortunately the makers don't seem to care about them or foreign students. Apart from that though, the film is great. Well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray Review, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a review for the Blu Ray... The film itself is a 'gay' classic.
The picture quality for this black and white film is fantastic. It is very sharp and clear , it could have been shot yesterday.
The Soundtrack is Mono. Extras are the trailer and a 25 minute 1961 interview with Dirk Bogarde at home, discussing his film career to date, with various clips, these are unrestored, but are very interesting. Also included are a few hundred production and publicity photo's.

August 2014
In response to another reviewer - . I enjoyed the performances and in the past I have found it distracting when watching films with 'too much' grain. For example the film 'Nighthawks' which is available on Blu Ray also. That film is FULL of film grain. I enjoyed that film, but part of me was disappointed that the picture quality although lending atmosphere, took something away from the film, I wished it was clearer because I think film grain reminds you of the medium, it can get between you and the performers.

I'm sure there are numerous grainy versions of 'Victim' available on DVD, I'm sure prior to DVD it was also available on VHS which again would be in my view an inferior medium (but closer to the original medium onto which it was filmed).

Blu Ray is a digital format. The average viewer would I think want the most comfortable and least distracting viewing experience, and I think they get it with this release. You can see individual hairs in fine detail.

Grain is a FLAW. I don't think at the time it was seen as a positive. I guess it's like vinyl versus CD... You pay your money and you make your choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great actor, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
all good, great actor great film.sometimes you do not have to write a sermon on what you think of a film or book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and entertaining., 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Victim [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant preformances, especially Bogarde and tells the actual events of the 1960,s life for gay people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Victim [DVD]
Victim [DVD] by Basil Dearden (DVD - 2006)
£6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews