Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A many layered piece.
Nothing happens. All of life happens. This is a wonderful adaptation of the James Joyce short story. It beautifully captures the atmosphere of the Epiphany party in turn of the 20th century Dublin. The whole cast are marvellous. I cringed with embarrassment for sad, drunken Freddie, felt great pity for the two elderly, party giving sisters and their niece as they see...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by Miss Fitz

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Dead
The DVD was unplayable as it was aUS import which could not be used on my DVD player.
This possibility should ,I feel, have been pointed out to me before I bought it.
Published 8 months ago by vincent burke


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A many layered piece., 17 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing happens. All of life happens. This is a wonderful adaptation of the James Joyce short story. It beautifully captures the atmosphere of the Epiphany party in turn of the 20th century Dublin. The whole cast are marvellous. I cringed with embarrassment for sad, drunken Freddie, felt great pity for the two elderly, party giving sisters and their niece as they see their way of life begin to fade and held my breath as Gabriel's self image dips as he realises there are things about his wife he has never known. The scene where Greta (Anjelica Huston) comes down the stairs at the end of the party and pauses to listen to a singer in another room is simply haunting.
If you like action movies, give this a miss. If you want to be transported to another time, another life, here's your film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most beautiful films ever made that will haunt you forever..., 31 July 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Certainly one of the greatest and most beautiful films ever made, and this is also one of the most outstanding films of modern movie making - and quite remarkable in that it was made as recent as 1987!

This gem opens like a Christmas Card, and has the appearance and style of a movie that could have been made many years ago! I remember seeing this for the first time when the only way to get to see a new movie was to rent it from a Video Store (before you could buy them) My mother and I had selected this title - not knowing why. We watched it together and you could hear a pin drop! I couldn't wait to purchase it when it came on general release!

So many of the cast is outstanding that it is difficult to name who is the best here (the poignancy of course being that now, just twenty years on, so many of this wonderful cast are now gone...) but Helena Carroll in particular is outstanding - not to mention of course Anjelica Huston. I believed at the time (and still do) that only one other actress I know of could have played the role of 'Gretta' as well, and I had the sheer delight of being able to tell her so myself, and that is Meg Wynn Owen (Hazel Bellamy - Upstairs, Downstairs) There are so many close-ups in this, and these kind of shots are extremely hard to do, but Meg is an expert at this kind of thing.

This is one Party I would have loved to have attended - the simple welcoming of the 'three graces' (as 'Gabriel' went on to name them some time into the story in his speech) who are all so loveable, and the singing, dancing, drinking and eating - wonderful!! Freddy is by far one of the most entertaining characters - marvellously played by Donal Donnelly, who has some humorous dialogue with the handsome 'Mr. Browne' (played by Dan O'Herlihy)

There is much talent in this; the startling recital of 'Broken Vows' by Sean McClory, and the tremendously talented Tenor, the late Frank Patterson who sings: 'The Lass Of Aughrim' which is a pivotal point in the film.

This film will have you in bursts of light laughter, and the next minute sniffling with tears... The whole film and story is beautifully summed up with the words and thoughts of the character 'Gabriel' after he and is wife arrive home, and the revelation of her thoughts during the evening are disclosed. This sort of melancholia so often accompanies us after such gatherings and celebrations.

Some great cinematography, beautifully filmed and shot with some golden scenes where John Huston gets the most out of such simple frames. A perfect example being the scene where 'Gretta' slips on her dainty shoes after arriving at her aunt's Party out of the snow.

This is definitely one of those great movies that would be a mistake to re-make - this will never be topped...

A million stars for this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful adaptation of Joyce's short story, 13 May 2006
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
The Dead was John Huston's final film, shot in California as he directed with the aid of oxygen. It's a film very much in minor key, which is suited to its source- the final short story in James Joyce's masterful collection, Dubliners.

It's wonderfully shot, sort of the missing link between Kubrick's Barry Lyndon (1975) and Scorsese's The Age of Innocence (1993) in terms of lighting and the way it captures the sisters party on twelth night in Dublin, 1904. The cast are excellent, from leads Donal McCann (as Gabriel) and Anjelica Huston (as Greta) & such actors as Colm Meaney, Rachel Dowling & Donal Donnelly. The film itself is basically a meal set on Twelth night by hosts the Markham sisters and their niece- we cut between various characters, & the film moves from dancing to poetry to singing to the meal itself; there are also moments of great comedy, particularly centred around drunken Frank. The film, like its literary source, makes reference to Irish politics (eg West Briton, Republican union meetings, Irish traditions, Parnell) & art- notably opera, which features in a brilliant scene focused on Anjelica Huston. It's a minor key film, no major melodrama and just under 80 minutes in duration, but the end- where Greta tells Gabriel about her teenage paramour who died young (reminding me of the traditional Irish song 'I am Stretched On Your Grave')& how Gabriel didn't really know his wife. Dublin is wonderfully captured under a rain of snow & the final scenes, when Gabriel- on a night of celebration and union, notes that death is looming & we see images surrounding Dublin and snow, of graveyards, and of Aunt Julia's future death- moves into the poetic- the mise-en-scene offering an image for every one of Joyce's transcendental lines.

The Dead is an excellent adaptation of Joyce's short story- far from the travesty that was the film of Joyce's Ulysses; of course, it should lead you to the source short story (if unfamiliar). I had read Dubliners several times before seeing this & think this is a sterling adaptation of a great literary work, to rank alongside such films as Swann in Love, The Wings of the Dove, Tess, The Portrait of a Lady & A Room With a View. Sometimes work in a minor key can be just as profound as a 'big film' like Schindler's List or whatever. The Dead is just that & comes highly recommended- thanks to the nice person who bought it for me from my wish list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish Aunts and a deceptively simple tale, 22 Dec 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Like all great stories, and great films for that matter, THE DEAD is anything but simple. The layers are seemingly endless, like the skin of an onion. Filled with richly drawn and beautifully played characters, the late John Huston's last film is a fitting tribute both to Ireland and to James Joyce, whose story is translated to the screen with the kind of sensitivity that is not too often to be found in the cinema.

Taking as its central point an annual party given by Miss Kate and Miss Julia, two elderly Dubliners, this is a gentle drama of small folk, their lives and loves, their triumphs and tragedies.

No incident in the film changes the world, but the people in it are those who are for all time, and anyone viewing 'The Dead' cannot fail to be moved by it.

(A recent reviewer on the radio regretted that she had first seen the film before she was old enough fully to appreciate it. Older and wiser now, she was in raptures over the recent re-release.)

This minimalist classic, similar in many ways to my own personal favourite, 'Babette's Feast', must surely rank high in the list of movie greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top 10 films of all time, 9 Dec 2006
By 
Stephen Summers (England, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect antidote to shoot-em-ups and CGI. This film is seeped in atmosphere and the kind of gentle sadness that you associate with Ireland. And it could only have been made by a dying man of Huston's age and ability. It's slow and assured. Quite short at 80-something minutes, but a gem.

It's been a while since I saw it - but I'm buying it now for my collection.

Beautiful - and so poignant that his daughter, Angelica, stars in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing valedictory film, 25 Feb 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
It is not often you find a screen adaptation that matches the achievement of a great work of fiction, but that is what John Huston achieved in this film. Ideally it needs to be seen in the cinema, even though there are no big effects and most of it is shot inside a town house. The way the ensemble pieces are handled is so seamless, yet catches us up in the feeling of this Epiphany celebration at the house of two elderly sisters and their niece with a joy as complete as its lack of sentimentality. I don't know how he got the tone so exactly; much of it is Joyce whose writing so effortlessly conveys the surface of social interaction and the undercurrents. But the skill of the actors is little short of miraculous, beginning with their casting - it is as if they carry all before them ... What is so moving is the way the focus narrows from the large group to the intimacy of the couple, only to open out onto vistas of emotion and a vision that draws all of life into a fantastic final page and a half. It makes for a highly unusual shape, and also a surprising shift in tone, yet it feels so right. The detail is also wonderful in terms of the visuals. For instance Anjelica Huston's long monologue shows her head against a wonderfully textured wall which serves as a counterpoint to the Rembrandt-like intensity of her expression, which also mirrors her rapt look on the stairs, framed by stained glass, at the sound of the tenor. Who is a little bit pleased with himself, perhaps, but what a voice! The music is gentle, played on the harp when not actually part of the film, and rooting us very much in an Irish feel - or how I imagine that to be in the early 20th century. All life seems to be here; its generous impulses, its delusions, its transience. And Donal McCann is superb as the central consciousness of the film. There is also a lot of humour, but this would have to be so in a work that takes in everything. For me it is one of the great films whose beauty makes a lasting imprint on our emotions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful adaptation of Joyce's short story..., 13 Jan 2004
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dead [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The Dead was John Huston's final film, shot in California as he directed with the aid of oxygen. It's a film very much in minor key, which is suited to its source- the final short story in James Joyce's masterful collection, Dubliners.
It's wonderfully shot, sort of the missing link between Kubrick's Barry Lyndon (1975) and Scorsese's The Age of Innocence (1993) in terms of lighting and the way it captures the sisters party on twelth night in Dublin, 1904. The cast are excellent, from leads Donal McCann (as Gabriel) and Anjelica Huston (as Greta) & such actors as Colm Meaney, Rachel Dowling & Donal Donnelly. The film itself is basically a meal set on Twelth night by hosts the Markham sisters and their niece- we cut between various characters, & the film moves from dancing to poetry to singing to the meal itself; there are also moments of great comedy, particularly centred around drunken Frank. The film, like its literary source, makes reference to Irish politics (eg West Briton, Republican union meetings, Irish traditions, Parnell) & art- notably opera, which features in a brilliant scene focused on Anjelica Huston. It's a minor key film, no major melodrama and just under 80 minutes in duration, but the end- where Greta tells Gabriel about her teenage paramour who died young (reminding me of the traditional Irish song 'I am Stretched On Your Grave')& how Gabriel didn't really know his wife. Dublin is wonderfully captured under a rain of snow & the final scenes, when Gabriel- on a night of celebration and union, notes that death is looming & we see images surrounding Dublin and snow, of graveyards, and of Aunt Julia's future death- moves into the poetic- the mise-en-scene offering an image for every one of Joyce's transcendental lines.
The Dead is an excellent adaptation of Joyce's short story- far from the travesty that was the film of Joyce's Ulysses; of course, it should lead you to the source short story (if unfamiliar). I had read Dubliners several times before seeing this & think this is a sterling adaptation of a great literary work, to rank alongside such films as Swann in Love, The Wings of the Dove, Tess, The Portrait of a Lady & A Room With a View. Sometimes work in a minor key can be just as profound as a 'big film' like Schindler's List or whatever. The Dead is just that & comes highly recommended- thanks to the nice person who bought it for me from my wish list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dead, 23 April 2010
By 
M. J. Hunter - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
One of the few films to seamlessly integrate the musical soundtrack to the events within in the film. Shows how it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully understated picture of pre-1914 Dublin middle class society and what lies beneath, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing much seems to happen at this dinner for relatives and friends given by 2 maiden aunts in pre-1914 Dunblin but many stories can be glimpsed, not requiring further development: the drunken, scapegrace son of a disapproving mother on his road to an alcoholic death, the marriage gone stale of the principal characters, undertones of the Irish independence movement, the Gaelic cultural revival and much more. Emotions rise in the Anjelica Huston character, unexpectedly provoked by a guest's exquisite singing of an old Irish folk song. Her long-buried, painful memory of a young love, unsuspected by her husband, overwhelms her with sadness, causing her husband to question how well he really knows his wife, reacting jealously until he realises the object of her affections is long dead, when he softens. After his wife has cried herself to sleep his thoughts, stimulated by the events of the evening and the snowy, bleak cityscape, develop from her particular case to an appreciation of the inevitable approach of universal mortality.
The acting was perfect, the lighting brought out the period settings and the direction was hugely sympathetic, leaving an overwhelming impression of bitter-sweetness.
It's a film I will come back to time and again and a fine valedictory monument to John Huston's genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine version of Joyce, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Ga Rowe "Gerry Rowe" (Chepstow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dead [DVD] (DVD)
This is an interesting visual re-creation of the Dublin milieu of Joyce's short story. Like any filmed version it cannot capture all the nuances of the written word but, like any film, it brings a visual representation of things that you might not be able to imagine otherwise, for example, the interior and exterior of a Georgian Dublin town house, the dress and manners of early twentieth century Dubliners of the middle class, the sound of their voices etc. Both the story and the film should come with a warning. While the painstaking depiction of the strengths and weaknesses of the characters is proceeding you may be forgiven for wondering where, if anywhere, the story is going. Be patient, however, and everything falls into place with a startling revelation that is as moving as it is unexpected, and which takes the scope of the action from the enclosed interior into the lives, and deaths, of all mankind, no less. Be sure to read the story, either before or after you've seen the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dead [DVD]
The Dead [DVD] by John Huston (DVD - 2006)
£5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews