Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rings my bell
The Salter Mechanical 60 minute timer is a robust device that any body can easily understand and work time after time no push buttons with graphics that rub off, digital read-outs that cant be seen in certain lights etc etc. Old fashioned it may be in its twist and go working method but it works and it's stainless steel livery looks stylish too. Can ask for more but don't...
Published on 21 Aug. 2012 by Pingman

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only lasts a while
It's a shame as I though the name and the simple design would be great... but then in the bin it went after a month of over cooking and scraping black bits off. All this after six months or maybe less.
Published on 17 Jan. 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rings my bell, 21 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
The Salter Mechanical 60 minute timer is a robust device that any body can easily understand and work time after time no push buttons with graphics that rub off, digital read-outs that cant be seen in certain lights etc etc. Old fashioned it may be in its twist and go working method but it works and it's stainless steel livery looks stylish too. Can ask for more but don't want any more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only lasts a while, 17 Jan. 2008
By 
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
It's a shame as I though the name and the simple design would be great... but then in the bin it went after a month of over cooking and scraping black bits off. All this after six months or maybe less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars timer with no time, 14 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
i bought the product because of its name. However after two weeks of use the numbers started to come of, I replaced these with nail polish. Now after 5months use it has stopped working completely. it was a total waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I agree..., 12 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I, too, purchased because of the name and the handsome retro look. Mine lasted 14 months and no longer works. Not exactly value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless - ringer volume incredibly low, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
Ants (London UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Got this to replace an IKEA kitchen mechanical timer as after serving me well for 4 years the mechanism started failing. I have seen this here and though to give it a try. It looks nice and appears rather sturdy when I removed it from the box. Then I set it off to hear the sound of the ringer and even though the ringer duration was probably twice that of my old IKEA timer, the volume was incredibly low and the sound coming out of this thing was quite muffled.

Sent this back and seeing the other reviews it appears that other people had quality issues with this item as well.

I would recommend to avoid this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing!, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
This basic, no nonsense design looks as though it would be quite the kitchen workhorse (which I suppose supports all the warnings of not judging a book by it's cover!).
Its impossible to time anything for less than 4 minutes accurately, the numbers wore off fairly quickly too.
Unfortunately I can't recommend this product at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broke after eight uses, 6 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Total rubbish.
Rickety wind from the off and then completely broken after just eight uses.
It's in the bin. Best place for it.
Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IVE HEARD A LOUDER WHISPER, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I dont think this is very good at all, if you are in another room you would be unable to hear it, if you put it in your pocket you cannot hear it , if the TV is on you cant hear it, what good is it . The manufacturer could easily have put in a louder ring tone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 11 Oct. 2014
By 
karalita (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
An excellent timer . Read the instructions properly and it works every time perfectly . As it says , for example . If you want it to time say 10 minutes , wind the dial all the way around to nearly the 60min point CAREFULLY not like a bull at a gate and the return the dial to the 10 minute mark and it will ring very loudly and for a long period . As I said READ THE INSTRUCTIONS. Any mechanical timer if you are just setting say 3 or 4 minutes will not be exactly correct because you are just guessing where the 3 or 4 minute point . Its not rocket science . If you need exactly to the second you can only use a digital timer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My husband needed this for work purposes, 13 July 2013
By 
JS "Jacqui" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Salter Mechanical 60-Minute Countdown Mechanical Timer, Stainless Steel (Kitchen & Home)
This is the second one I've bought - the first was probably a few years back from the high street so I was surprised to find it on Amazon. My husband likes it as it's so easy to use by just turning the dial and with the type of work he does (timing how long a task takes) it gets constant use all day and has proved to stand up to that sort of use. There are other types of timers on the market but he insisted I got another Salter. So thanks Salter don't change from this very simple but long lasting design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews