Customer Reviews


335 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (59)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


167 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
This is a great idea. A tripod with segmented legs that you can just bend into the position you want.

It has some major advantages over a normal mini tripod.

The main one for me is that it copes effortlessly with uneven surfaces that would make another tripod unstable. And you can squeeze it easily into awkward shaped places.

It will, to...
Published on 6 Feb 2007 by Androo

versus
88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps a bit too clever?
At first glance gorillapod tripods seem like a genius idea - and in truth it's a smart design, but not without problems.

The basic gorillapod concept is simple a tripod, but with bendy, segmented legs which grip independently. This allows the tripod to be formed into just about any shape the photographer desires, wrapped round objects such as posts, trees or...
Published on 1 Feb 2010 by T. Stainer


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

167 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Feb 2007
By 
Androo (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
This is a great idea. A tripod with segmented legs that you can just bend into the position you want.

It has some major advantages over a normal mini tripod.

The main one for me is that it copes effortlessly with uneven surfaces that would make another tripod unstable. And you can squeeze it easily into awkward shaped places.

It will, to some extent, cling to branches and things if you wrap the legs around them. But while slightly rubbery, there isn't enough grip to hold it steady on, say, a vertical post.

There's a tiny adapter that you can screw onto your camera and leave there. Then your camera slots onto the tripod in a second. Very slick.

The gorillapod weighs almost nothing and it's tiny, so you can put it in your shirt pocket.

There aren't really any downsides,except that you should know this version is only for really small cameras like the Canon Ixus. Anything bigger will be too heavy (there are bigger gorillapods for bigger cameras).

I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joby Gorillapod, 2 Jan 2007
By 
Angela R (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
I bought the Joby Gorillapod for my husband for Christmas; he was thrilled and had never seen one before. It is an amazing 'bit of kit' and so flexible you can more or less attach it to anything. We've had hours of fun taking pictures of all the family; normally one of us gets left out, but now we can all be together in more family shots.

This is bound to become a design icon of the future and really "does what it says on the tin". And a real bonus is that it's small enough to put in you coat pocket and weighs about 2oz. Just fantastic, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant - love it!, 9 Nov 2007
By 
K. Black (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
Got this for my boyfriend's birthday earlier in the year and it has become an indispensible bit of kit on our hillwalking days. It lives in a little pocket of the rucksack and comes out at every summit - wraps round a rock no problem and so quick to set up. Lightweight, takes up hardly any space, cool, funky and fab. We recommend it to everyone - love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique and very good, but a couple of niggles prevent a five star product..., 6 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. N. J. Henderson (Bude, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
I brought this to go with my Kodak ZI8, and for the most part it works very well.
Ideal if your hand isn't all that steady, it does pretty much wrap around anything allowing a perfect photo or video opportunity.
That said however, for me the two niggles are that the legs need to be just a little bit longer, and the product feels just a little too flimsy, especially after you've removed the legs repeatedly.
You almost feel like you need to buy the product twice, that way you can extend the legs so it feels secure, I've had it wrapped around tree branches, park benches etc and everytime I get that never quite secure enough feel, but just about good enough to get the job done.
Overall, Joby Gorillapod, recommended, not essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps a bit too clever?, 1 Feb 2010
By 
T. Stainer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
At first glance gorillapod tripods seem like a genius idea - and in truth it's a smart design, but not without problems.

The basic gorillapod concept is simple a tripod, but with bendy, segmented legs which grip independently. This allows the tripod to be formed into just about any shape the photographer desires, wrapped round objects such as posts, trees or benches, or just placed on a flat surface as you would any tripod.

Construction wise, the gorillapod is well built, and feels like it will last. It certainly feels better put together than a lot of cheap "mini" sized table tripods. The light plastic finish is, in my opinion, a mistake. It marks quickly and easily and makes the gorillapod look shabby very fast.

In use, it's a mixed bag. As a small tabletop tripod it certainly does the job as well as any small tabletop tripod. Lacking a ball head and relying on an articulated "neck" section means the camera mount itself has less flexibility in movement, although the fact you can shape the legs to just about any shape (that will balance!) makes up for this.

It can be tricky to use the camera in portrait orientation particularly (in some cases impossible) which could be a real problem for many. The stiffness of the articulated neck and mount also means you'll often shift the quick release plate on the bottom of the camera, rather than adjust the tripod itself.

Endless adjustment can also be a curse. Traditional tripods give you a solid, set starting point which you'll know will keep the camera close to "level" as long as the tripod is on a level surface. You'll not have this reassurance with the gorillapod which leaves it totally up to the photographer to try and level the camera mount.

The articulated legs also are far less solid than simple one or two piece legs and therefore the tripod is likely to "bounce" or creep far more in use.

Using the gorillapod's much advertised and unique "wrap round anything" capabilities is again a mixed bag and perhaps not quite as genius as you'd hope. The limited length of legs does severely limit what you can wrap it round - lampposts for example are generally too wide. The gripping segments do work once enough of them are in contact, but it often takes a few minutes of fiddling and rebending to get the tripod into a position where you're confident it will hold. And again, the mount position is not adjustable enough and sometimes you simply can't get the camera pointing in the direction you want, in the orientation you want.

As you'll realise, you'll also need to have a handily placed solid object more or exactly where you want to take the photo from - or you'll be faced with placing the tripod directly on the ground and with it being so short, you'll need to lie down to operate the camera!

If you view the gorillapod as a lightweight, very pocket sized and "carry anywhere" camera support you'll be pleased with it. Its ability to bend round other objects has limited use and you'll soon discover those limitations. It's clever, but not that clever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 10 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
These are great especially if you are travelling. Just make sure that;

1. Your camera isn't to heavy
2. The tripod hole is in the centre of the camera

Works well with my canon ixus (light and hole in middle of camera) but not so good with panasonic TZ5 (heavier and holw to one side of camera) which makes it fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Check your tripod mounting before you buy., 7 Jan 2009
By 
M. Burgess (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
This doesn't really work unless your camera has its a tripod mounting in the centre. Using it with a Panasonic DMC-TZ3, which is well within the specified maximum weight, tends to topple over because the mounting in the left hand corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorillapod Original, 5 Jun 2009
By 
M. Thompson (Tewkesbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
Joby Gorillapod Original - Black
I think this is an excellent product, it is very light to the extent that its hard to believe that its strong enough to hold a camera but it is. Some people have said its only good for light compacts but I use it with my Leica Dlux3 which is no lightweight and the mounting is over to the left with no problems at all, you just adjust the legs accordingly. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just the Joby, 17 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
I would say firstly that this is probably not aimed at professionals but at us happy snappers who are just on a day out; if you're serious about photography you'll no doubt have a DSLR and proper tripod, so might not find much use for this.

OK here's the low-down, the compact Gorillapod is about 16cm long which means you can't wrap it round lamposts, the DSLR Gorillapod however is 26cm long so should have no problem. It has a quick release plate which you can leave attached to your camera then just clip it into the Gorillapod when you need to, there's a locking ring to stop the QR plate detaching. It's amazingly flexible, you can tilt it, twist it and bend it into all shapes and attach to many things and the feet and along each leg are silicon coated to help prevent slipping.

As it's small and lightweight it fits in my pocket whilst out. I usually go hill walking alone and I've found this to be useful when I'm out as I can set my camera up on a fencepost, rock or tree stump and be in the photo for a change. I've used it with a Lumix TZ6 and Kodak Zi6 with no problem. Some people have experienced instability because the camera mounting point is offset, the TZ6 mounting point is offset however you just need to adjust the Centre of Gravity by bending the legs to correct this, simple physics really.

Overall I think this is a useful gadget for us happy snappers and worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This tripod will enhance your social life, 18 Jan 2009
This review is from: Joby Gorillapod Original - Black (Electronics)
For those of you reluctant to buy a camera tripod because it will mean that no longer will you have the excuse of striking up conversations whilst travelling alone by asking members of the opposite sex to take a quick photo, FEAR NOT. The Gorilla Tripod is so unbelievably addictive to handle and use that on more than one occasion i have been on dates with girls who have first spoken to me to compliment my tripod.

It grips onto enough stuff to get a photo anywhere - and if it doesn't it stands firm as a simple tripod.

I travel alone a great deal and such is the pleasure of using this that i am now far more imaginative about the phtoographs i try and take and the benefit is you end up with far more with people in which makes them far more intersting to family and friends.

If you travel alone. Buy one. It will enhance your photography and revolutionise your social life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joby Gorillapod Original - Black
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews