Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too!
This is a most welcome issue. Disc One kicks off with a couple of live tracks by the Johnny Dankworth Quartet from 1949, and Disc Two ends with another seven live tracks recorded by the Johnny Dankworth Seven for the BBC in 1955. The other forty three tracks are studio recordings made by the Orchestra, the Seven and Keith Christie's Quintet between 1953 and 1955. Cleo...
Published on 29 April 2006 by Mr.J.R.Gaylor

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not entirely to my taste
I am not as keen on John Dankworth's jazz --- I prefer trad.jazz--- Chris Barber,etc and have plenty of that type. Do like Cleo and th e numbers she does on the discs. Again I have number of dics. Trying to find her version of Three Blind Mice which was on Jazz Divas Gold. BBC4. I think that the disc was made up of a collection of guest performances on some TV...
Published 8 months ago by patricia mary bell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time too!, 29 April 2006
By 
Mr.J.R.Gaylor "John Gaylor" (Tooting, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spread a Little Happiness (Audio CD)
This is a most welcome issue. Disc One kicks off with a couple of live tracks by the Johnny Dankworth Quartet from 1949, and Disc Two ends with another seven live tracks recorded by the Johnny Dankworth Seven for the BBC in 1955. The other forty three tracks are studio recordings made by the Orchestra, the Seven and Keith Christie's Quintet between 1953 and 1955. Cleo Laine is featured on twenty tracks. Most of these are on CD for the first time, and those that have been issued before are mainly out of print. Excellent re-mastering, great sleeve notes by Brian Priestley and full recording date and personnel information This was always my favourite British band, and it got even better. So let's now have the late 1950s Parlophone material, and Johnny and Cleo's fine albums recorded for Fontana in the early 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue, 12 Mar 2008
By 
J. M. Pease "peasej36" (Ashford, Kent. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spread a Little Happiness (Audio CD)
Have to agree with the comments of previous reviewer. Having bought and enjoyed "The best of Johnny Dankworth|" it seemed only sensible to buy this collection. Of the 51 music tracks that appear here 15 are on the "Best of " collection but don't let that put you off. I was particularly pleased to get, at long last, the original Seven recordings of "Two Ticks" and "Moon Flowers" as a very good friend of mine had, and probrably still has, the original 78 rpm. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scatting and Tootling, 5 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spread a Little Happiness (Audio CD)
Early tracks from the late, great John and lots of them in a variety of different line-ups - from the early small group recordings to the first of the big band arrangements, many brilliant, all worth listening to. Plenty of stunning Cleo. Her first recordings are really interesting - a very light touch - before her voice became rich and lustrous. And many splendid and rare live performances chucked in for good measure - with an uncredited announcer of Steve Race ilk - probably wearing a 'hett'. Perhaps John suffered from the "tootling and scatting" reputation earned from TV appearances with the lady wife. He's a lovely player with a unique, precise, flowing style. And his arrangements have a lyrical, classical feel, often highly original, and always reflecting his total understanding of music in all forms. I've always thought he was Bach to Ted Heath's Beethoven. Didn't care much for the voice of Frank Holder. But he's only on two or three tracks.

So well done, Avid. Some of the recordings are a little boxy - of course they are. The originals were often not great. Sows and pigs and purses come to mind. But you've done a brilliant job on them. A 'must have' for fans of underrated British jazz and those who have not yet discovered it.

And EMI? You should be ashamed. Where's the boxed set of all the fabulous concept albums of the sixties? Where are the CDs of numerous virtuoso recordings from the seventies and eighties? The film music? It's down to Avid and a few minor labels to put together odds and sods. Perhaps you'll wake up now he's gone? But I doubt it. When my other British idol, Harold Pinter died recently it passed virtually unnoticed on the box, overshadowed by the death of a soap actress. John's fared little better. A documentary. Assorted bits and pieces. Tis the times we live in.

An amazing bargain at the price I paid. FIFTY TWO TRACKS! And worth the money for just six of 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tribute to John, 6 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spread a Little Happiness (Audio CD)
A double CD (two discs) with a total of 52 tracks and offering something for everyone. Lovely and exotic vocals by Cleo and renderings from The John Dankworth Quartet, John Dankworth Seven and John Dankworth Orchestra provide a lasting tribute to this Gentleman of Jazz who will be sadly missed. Some of the tracks are re-mastered. Disc 1 has a playing time of 77 minutes and disc 2 fractionally under 77 minutes. Well worth the cost - and you will find most of your favourite songs/tunes somewhere on these recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birth of the Brit-Jazz, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Alfie Cooke (Between the Thames and the Medway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spread a Little Happiness (Audio CD)
Firstly, I have to say that I'm only reviewing the instrumental tracks - not that theose with Cleo Laine aren't good, its just that having never got on with vocal jazz anything I write would be doing her a dis-service.

So, taking just the instrumental tracks, what you have is about a CD-worth of very early Johnny Dankworth, none of which seems to be on the Avid "three early albums" release. The units range from quartets, the Seven and his orchestra with recording date from 1949-1955. There are many quality sidemen in these units - Don Rendell, Bill Le Sage, Alan Ganley, Tony Kinsey among others - but what stands out above all is Dankworth, both in his playing and in the quality of his writing. The arrangements are high quality and show that he was more than able to match what was coming out of America. Likewise his playing is incredibly fluid with a tone to match.

The recording is also good quality with only the first two tracks (from 1949) sounding scratchy (like they'd been taken straight from the original 78s).

I've avoided Johnny Dankworth for too many years and am now beginning to regret it. This is a superb album, even if, like me, you're only listening to half of it. For under a [] its excellent value and if you like Cleo Laine as well it has to rank as being a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not entirely to my taste, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spread a Little Happiness (Audio CD)
I am not as keen on John Dankworth's jazz --- I prefer trad.jazz--- Chris Barber,etc and have plenty of that type. Do like Cleo and th e numbers she does on the discs. Again I have number of dics. Trying to find her version of Three Blind Mice which was on Jazz Divas Gold. BBC4. I think that the disc was made up of a collection of guest performances on some TV programme. Cannot find it tho I did see it. The only other version is the Two Ronnies miming to it, good ---- but would like to see Cleo. Also her singing Feeling Good, and Dudley Moore with Marian McDonald number Close your eyes. Any suggestions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spread a Little Happiness
Spread a Little Happiness by John Dankworth (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews