Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars46
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2007
If you know the Storyteller series it's probably the famous nine programmes made with John Hurt as the tale-teller. There is no way to adequately describe the brilliance of the films and special effects .... save to say these are definitely NOT bedevilled with CGI but are based upon the superb Henson creature workshop and advanced puppetry and animatronics.

The second DVD of Greek myths featuring Michael Gambon (and the shaggy dog) is no less excellent - but there are only 4 stories and absolutely no extras. Surely there was room for some behind-the-scenes films about the Creature Workshop? This is a totally cheapskate and unforgivable oversight - hence the loss of a star.

But all 13 films are beyond criticism and if you are reading this review because you half-remember the original series on TV and wondered if they were as good as you remember them to be .... THEY ARE.

No child should grow up without seeing these.

No adult should pass over the chance to remember what it was like to be a child.
11 comment|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2004
Though the Storyteller series is now out in the UK over two disks, I wouldhighly recommend purchasing this American, all-inclusive release. It isan absolute treasure.
The mix of Germanic, Celtic and Russian tale bring you right back. Notonly to childhood if you watched this series then, but into theimagination and the hint of a forgotten heritage. Stories were made fordark days, rainy days and the communal nighttime, whilst sunny days werefor work and activity. Having such an imaginative restbite is still soimportant to us, and being able to watch such a well-made series such asthis goes a long way to reminding me at least, that such dark, damp daysof a holiday when I might otherwise be incapacitated, has its place.
These are dark stories, but touched with such light and warmth, and alsotruth, that you cannot help but be entranced. A real landmark oftelevision, and something that works beautifully well over a DvDformat.
Highly Recommended.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2005
These are my favourite programmes ever, I grew up watching them and still get as much pleasure from them today as I ever did. The five stories are full of magic and beautifully designed, with just enough darkness and scary bits to balance it out. It's amazing to see so many huge stars right back when they started acting! Can't wait for volume two which should have the outstanding Sapsorrow, The Three Ravens and The True Bride on it!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2004
for over 10 years ive had a video of the storyteller episodes that were taped off the tv when i was little and ever since then ive watched them over and over again. compared to some childhood programmes, that become silly when you watch them again in adulthood, jim hensons storyteller has never let me down.infact they get better with age.

hensons creatures never look tired or fake and john hurt and his dog are fantstic. the casting for each episode is also extremly well matched. having got the dvd it means i can flip back and forward to whichever one i want and as i was missing two episodes from my old tape i was a very happy bunny when i got them all! they have the power to transport me to a far off place and forget any problems in my life. pure escapism and fantasy you wish was real.
for anyone who doesnot remember what this is or has never seen it, shame on you, it is brilliant and not to be missed by anyone, young or old. even if you buy it under the pretence of giving it to a small child i promise, one viewing and you will be hooked forever. i even had to get a dvd player that plays region one dvds just so i could watch it!
get this and i swear that it will become the most treasured and watched dvd in any collection, with the only negative point being that it is such a same they stoped at only nine episodes.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Note that the image displayed represents the US cover with English text -
The version being sold is the German release, There is English audio however the text on the case is in German.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2006
I had no idea that this series existed until recently. This series was completed shortly before Henson passed away, and you can tell that he was intimately involved in the series' creation. Henson was a genius. I recommend this for both adults and children. However, some of the tales, as are many fairy tales, have a "darker" character to them, so I would caution against showing this series to too young an audience. Each story is told in only ~20 minutes.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2014
A great watch. I recommend this to people of any age especially if like me you grew up with jim Henson characters. The stories all have a good casting of famous faces including Sean bean who plays a character who doesn't get killed off, and Miranda Richardson who plays an evil witch! If like me you like both those things and inventive puppet characters then you should get this DVD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
I loved this Dvd. Great memories! The story lines haven't aged, they are strong as ever. I could clearly remember watching it as a child, and being terrified!!Recommend to all nostalgic people and people who love to see/hear great stories. It still has the power to chill!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Scarier than I remember. Shame they couldn't touch it up digitally as the picture is a bit fuzzy.
But lovely to watch by the fire. It scares my kids so I have to watch it on my own.
The packaging is all in German but plays in English
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
Utterly charming, and absolutely captivating.

The first nine stories are European folk tales, told by the masterful John Hurt.
The stories are brought to life with a handful of stars all early in their careers. Sean Bean, Miranda Richardson, Jennifer Saunders, Brenda Blethyn and Jonathan Pryce, to name but a few.

All this interwoven with the brilliance of Jim Henson. Puppets, animatronics and charming special effects.

Get this for those dark winter nights, if you have children, or even if you don't have children. You need no excuse!

Winner of 1 Emmy and 2 BAFTA's

1 complaint though...Nine stories are simply not enough!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse