Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sticking to their guns
"Bring on the backlash!" demands front Monkey Alex Turner in the comeback single from a band that never went away in the first place. Their recent world-conquering success would cause most other young bands to vanish in a cloud of tantrums and intoxicants, but these whippersnappers seem determined to prove they've got staying power.

Smack bang in the middle of...
Published on 20 April 2006 by Alex Scoppie

versus
11 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
How can this rubbish pupport to be the best British music has to offer?Not a hook or melody in sight.This group have been hyped out of all proportion by the stupid english music press.The most over-rated band in history,apart from Nirvana
Published on 31 Aug 2006 by Mr. A. B. Jordan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sticking to their guns, 20 April 2006
By 
Alex Scoppie "scoppied" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
"Bring on the backlash!" demands front Monkey Alex Turner in the comeback single from a band that never went away in the first place. Their recent world-conquering success would cause most other young bands to vanish in a cloud of tantrums and intoxicants, but these whippersnappers seem determined to prove they've got staying power.

Smack bang in the middle of their U.S. tour Arctic Monkeys drop their most chest-thumping EP yet, featuring the raucous opener from their LP, a thorough reworking of an old song and three new slabs of simian succulence.

The View From The Afternoon is getting all the radioplay, and though it's always been a bit confused it's still the best thing on the airwaves at the moment. Cigarette Smoker Fiona drops all the strippers and lyrics from its earlier version and focuses on yet another night of debauchery. If anything it's a slight improvement on the unreleased original - and not just because it rhymes ghetto with stilettoes.

Two of the remaining tracks are slower and more sober: Despair In The Departure Lounge sees a sad soul watching sitcoms on a plane to keep his mind off his lonely heart, while the chirpier No Buses investigates infidelity and the lunacy of chasing what you can't have. "And just 'cos everybody's doing it / Does that mean that I can too?" asks Alex wistfully, before the song shrugs its shoulders and turns into a George Formby cover (almost).

And then to finish, there's the obscene, self-referencing title track. Taking a snarling stand against the short-lived nature of success and celebrity - as well as the willingness of their contemporaries to conform - the Arctic Monkeys don't just throw down the gauntlet with this track, they nail it to the floor. "Just 'cos we're having our say-so / Not lining up to be Playdough / Oh in five years time will it be / Who the ****'s Arctic Monkeys?" wonders Alex. On the strength of this, I doubt it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 Stars !!!!!, 17 May 2006
By 
Mr. J. Buck "Julian 'Jules' Buck" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
I agree with an earlier reviewer, the album is the best debut since Oasis. This EP follows up with a punch to the rest of the music industry - it's as if the Monkeys have really challenged everything and taken music into a completely new direction. Sure they have their influences but these guys stand alone in their use of lyrics, guitar and sheer passion.

This EP just whets the appetite for the next album. Its one of those CD's that you play, play and then play again. And then you get on the Mardy Bum's nerves for humming it around the house.

Tops. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just classic arctic monkeys, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
Very good album every tracks a good one. Although sayin that theres only somthing like 5 songs on the album. But there all good. So if you like rock or soft rock then give it a buzz. I enjoy it as its abit more of a unique sound to other general bands. But yeaa a good album, only problem is that there are only 5 songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
One of the best EP's I have ever heard, especially the title song. Great songs, great lyrics, AM at their best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEW SONGS ARE WICKED!, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
We all know the hype behind the Arctic Monkeys debut album, which in my opinion is the most exciting LP iv ever heard since Oasis' debut in the early 90s.

Now, we have 4 brand new songs on the 'Who The Fuck Are The Arctic Monkeys?' EP, as well as previous album track 'The View From The Afternoon'

This is one of the best EPs I'v heard in a very long time. The new songs are great material expected from the group, and they all take on a more lighter approach to the previous albums tunes.

The style of music we are fimilar with is still there, but packaged in a much gentler tone.

Cigarette Smoker could be an exception, but the albums 3rd track, Despair In The Departure Lounge, is definately a great example of a mellow but beautiful Arctic Monkeys song, with great lyrics invoolving the usual depressing theme of heartbreak.

Onwards from here, we hear No Buses, another mellowish track. The final self-titled-album track is my personal favourite, as it adds a touch of enthusiasm and rock to the albums music - only a bit mind.

All in all, this is a great EP from a great band. I expected the best, and it was delivered. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it for 'dispair' alone, 10 May 2006
By 
me "me" (near glasgow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
excellent ep.got the 10" vinyl(just to be different) and oh my god its an excellent ep. without any question my favourite song is 'despair in the departure lounge', 'cos well it's a classic and on of the best things they have done since 'a certain romance' or 'bigger boys and stolen sweethearts'.

the biggest suprises in the ep where

1.this is not the original 'cigarette smoker'(not as good asoriginal still ok)

2.why is this ep named after the worse songs in the ep.

the only thing that confuses me is why didn't the release this as a 'view for the afternoon' single and b-sides which would get them a 3rd no.1? but i quess we'll never know.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V Good, 15 Jan 2010
By 
Christian J. Millar "CJMbmx" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
Very good, quality music from the best band right now and for the past decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super duper, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
You will not be displeased. A great EP - bring on album number 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 31 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. A. B. Jordan "Andy Jordan" (Rugby, Warwickshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? (Audio CD)
How can this rubbish pupport to be the best British music has to offer?Not a hook or melody in sight.This group have been hyped out of all proportion by the stupid english music press.The most over-rated band in history,apart from Nirvana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys?
Who The Fuck Are Arctic Monkeys? by Arctic Monkeys (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews