Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamlike, surreal, amazing, unique....
...are probably the words that could best describe Mirrormask. It's an astonishing looking film, probably a little too bizarre for some people but if you like anything that's a bit strange, unusual and fantastical than you should find plenty to like here. The visuals are amazing, and the film achieves the rare feat of capturing the look and feel of a particularly strange...
Published on 25 Nov. 2008 by M Evans

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much eye candy could rot your eyes!
Mirrormask presents a unique opportunity to experience the brilliant talents of Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean via the amazing Jim Henson company. The designs and visuals are really spectacular, combining sets, CGI and make-up to create a unique fantasy world completely detached from anything resembling reality. If only all fantasy movies deployed such originality instead of...
Published on 19 Oct. 2009 by I. R. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamlike, surreal, amazing, unique...., 25 Nov. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
...are probably the words that could best describe Mirrormask. It's an astonishing looking film, probably a little too bizarre for some people but if you like anything that's a bit strange, unusual and fantastical than you should find plenty to like here. The visuals are amazing, and the film achieves the rare feat of capturing the look and feel of a particularly strange dream you might have had. It's perhaps a little slow in places and the storyline might be a bit too simplistic, but it's the atmosphere and look of the film that is it's main strength and I can honestly say I've not seen another film that even remotley resembles Mirrormask - it's unique and unique films are a rarity to be treasured. Highly recommended, but it's a film that viewers will either love or hate. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mirrormask, 18 April 2012
By 
R. J. Chippendale (Nottinghamshire.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those films you come across only now and again.
It is surreal, fascinating, indulgent and wonderful to watch.
Neil Gaiman has put his 'comic creating' ability and talent into this film and the very talented director Dave McKean has transformed the script into a wonderful journey of exploration.
At first it appears a bit wierd, but as the film goes along it really does make sense.
It is basicaly CGI, but one of the best you will see.
I would have liked to have viewed it at the cinema to get its full sensual affect.
Stepane Leonidas and Gina McKee are superb, infact all the actors add their own talents to this film. It is a well picked and placed cast.
This is a film buff collectors must have.
Buy the film and enjoy the journey.RJC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS FANTASTIC !, 12 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] (DVD)
OK, not so surprising, perhaps- it's a work of fantasy after all, but it is astonishing to find in such a little known and overlooked film one of the very finest fantasy movies ever made.

We often complain we can't give real rubbish zero stars (ET, Oz the Great and whatever, anything with Will Ferrel, Ben Stiller or Seth Rogen, most Jim Carrey movies and so on) or even negative stars. By the same token, the imagination in this movie could get it ten stars.

The rebellious child and sick mother story is a perfectly familiar form, as is the quest in a fantasy land, but the way this is done is just astonishing. The principal players are brilliant, and the dreamlike nature of the film is at a level which has rarely been approached. The Sphinx straight out of the still to be made "Monty Python and the Curse of the Pharaohs".

There is very little with which this can be compared. Perhaps the best analogy I could offer is that it's rather like a live action Ghibli animation- say in the "Spirited Away" mould. Maybe another comparison is "The Imaginarium of Dr Parnassus".

Absolutely glorious. I hope I never tire of wonders like this; it restores your faith in film to find something this satisfying and imaginative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If I apologize, 25 April 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"You can't run away from home without destroying somebody's world"

Helena (Stephanie Leonidas) is unhappy with her lot in life as a circuses entertainer and expresses this to her mother (Gina McKee.) Later her mother has a medical problem and Helena is not sure that she did not contribute.

The story starts with a wall of drawings and drawing on a door. We assume that this is an ongoing nightmare. It makes you wonder if German expressionism film had survived how it would have morphed. Even though much of the movie was filmed at Embassy Court in Brighton Beach, the dilapidated building even has an expressionist look.

As we watch the dream, we wonder where the dream starts and reality ends. Maybe there is more to this than meets the eye. There is an eerie part when Helena looked through a window to see her doppelgänger. However it is not the what, but the why that really makes the story.

Now watch as we try to discover the secret of the MirrorMask.

For people interested in media, I only saw this in Blu-ray and con not contrast. However the voice over commentary is worth the time to watch.

Oedipus Rex ~ Douglas Campbell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much eye candy could rot your eyes!, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
I. R. Barnes "*technobabble*" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Mirrormask presents a unique opportunity to experience the brilliant talents of Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean via the amazing Jim Henson company. The designs and visuals are really spectacular, combining sets, CGI and make-up to create a unique fantasy world completely detached from anything resembling reality. If only all fantasy movies deployed such originality instead of resorting to talking animals and 'magic' all the time. However viewers expecting clever Jim Henson puppetry (a la Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal) will be in for a big disappointment. Also, unfortunately, the story isn't all that great or very original and the whole thing plays like some kind of weird pantomime but it is worth seeing for the sheer outlandishness of the designs, creatures, characters and visuals even if by the end of it your eyes are suffereing from too much green screen CG-itis! 3.5/5

Can you imagine what Gaiman and McKean could come up with if given an even bigger budget and a darker storyline! As it is Mirrormask is sufficient enough to satisfy their fans until somebody out there realises the potential of a Sandman movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surreal, 16 Sept. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Waterlooville, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Quirky and innovative dialogue--I would not label this as a film for children--not that children wouldn't enjoy it--but this a film written for those with a love or quirk and surrealism. Q. T film fans will eat this up, the film starts out fairly labyrinth ish--but then switches to Being John Malkovich ish towards the end--best way to describe it really.

The film is about young British girl Helena, a wonderful artist trapped at her family's off the wall circus that they run. She wants to 'run away to real life' which happens sooner then she expects as her mother is rushed to hospital and she is sent to stay with her nan in the grey streets of Brighton. However, againts her own will she is whisked to a strange surreal and dali-ish world where Spinx's stroll the streets looking for books, the queen of light lays sleeping in her temple and people wear masks to hdie their faces.

When I first watched it--I was drawn in by the quirky dialogue--don't let the the films 'surreal' aspects put you off--your be wanting to watch it again--the more you watch it the more you find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars welcome addition to fantasy film making, 20 Jan. 2013
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] (DVD)
Once you get past the decent but rather downbeat opener, this is a welcome addition to the myriad of films where a lead character is caught in a fantasy world of the imagination, Alice In Wonderland, Wizard of Oz, Yellow Submarine, or Taxandria spring to mind.

The script is by Neil Gaiman, offering a decent plot and some characteristically sharp pieces of dialogue. David McKean is however the key creative force, supplying the direction and the copious 'art' that sets the tone of the film. A collaged expressionist update on surrealism which gives us a dark world that stops just short of disturbing.

The cast acquit themselves well, the lead, Stephanie Leonidas does well as a spiky but ultimately sympathetic daughter, disturbed by her mother's hospitalisation. Rob Brydon can be hit or miss, but he is an asset to this, as are Andy Hamilton and Stephen Fry. Particular praise to Gina McKee who provides a nuanced performance in a dual role.

Of course if you have no patience for an excess of 'art school' style creativeness, then you will find this a slog, but it is well plotted, charming and evocative. The replay value is likely to depend on just how highly you rate David McKean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Are you a deep thinkers, do you love art ....then read this, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
(THE FILM):.

From the pen of acclaimed author Neil Gaiman, comes Mirrormask, a movie in the tradition of Jim Henson's fantasy films of the '80s.

Mirrormask is the story of Helena, a fifteen-year old girl working for her family circus, who wishes - quite ironically - that she could run away and join the real world. However, she soon finds herself on a strange journey into the Dark Lands, a fantastic landscape filled with giants, Monkeybirds and dangerous sphinxes. Helena searches for the Mirrormask, an object of enormous power that is her only hope of escaping the Dark Lands, waking the Queen of Light so she can return home.
WHAT CAN I SAY?

The film is also very funny and a beautifully its like a mad creation really that captures teenage emotion and expresses in a quite beautiful way with Great visual effects,and lots of great characters,
Like Nothing You've Ever Seen before??
this film is great for deep thinkers, people who love art and anyone willing to explore their minds a little..
.if you have that?
did you say yes !!!...
then ((Mirrormask)) are inviting you to
to Enter A World Where Dreams Are Real
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is a film you either love or hate; and I loved it. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the plot is somewhat predictable (but then what plot isn't). I suppose what made it different for me was the way that the animation was handled making it very different indeed. One or two of Neil Gaiman's works have disappointed me but not this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MirrorMask, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
RL HANNAH "Can't stop the signal..." (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Very strange and eerie, if not a little creepy and disturbing in parts, this film is very interesting, intriguing and highly entertaining!
Perfect if you are after something a bit different, and a great example of Neil Gaiman's work, beautifully brought to life.

A wonderful fantasy for all ages, I thoroughly enjoyed this film and highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mirrormask [DVD] [2006]
Mirrormask [DVD] [2006] by Dave McKean (DVD - 2006)
£3.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews