Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
141
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2009
Bought kettle to co-ordinate with my kitchen which is chilli red, pleased with fast delivery and quality of finish of the the kettle. The kettle is a nice weight and non stick inside to inhibit limescale. A 1 excelent product and supplier
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
I decided i needed a new kettle for my gas hob and Rayburn and this caught my eye. I wanted a "whistler" and liked the look of this one.The colour is great( there are a few others to choose from) and the design is different and eye-catching. Enamelled inside and out, which i hope to find long lasting ,as i live in a very hard water area. The handle makes it easy to grip and pour,
and not heavy ,even when full. Boils fairly quickly and a good pourer. Overall very pleased with this product. If you want a good well made "whistling " kettle that does the job and won't cost the earth go for this one.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
I was about to buy a le Creuset kettle until I read about the rusting problem. For the price of one le Creuset I bought two of these. They are light to handle and easy to fill. The lids are initially quite a tight fit but they ease with use. Tip - if you find this a problem lightly grease the rim of the lid with some vaseline.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Having been disappointed with the performance of previous electric kettles, and not always the cheaper ones, we wanted one that would last longer. This is brilliant. The whole family likes having a proper, solidly made kettle with a good capacity. It boils quickly and has a good clear whistle. Very efficient on my induction hob Would recommend to others.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
This is a well designed kettle even if it lacks the ravishing looks of the Le Creuset Kone Kettlee. The wide base means that it heats well, but unlike the Le Creuset Kone the spout is far from the base which means it does not overheat and thus does not spit when pouring. The whistle flips us which is much more convenient than a removable whistle. Inside it is non stick which will inhibit limescale, although I wonder what it might mean for the kettle's life.

Unlike another reviewer I don't think it's particularly heavy when empty. This kettle works very well and is good value for money - if it just attracted my eye a little more I'd give it five stars
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
I received my Le'Xpress kettle in quick time from Amazon, so thanks for that. I am very pleased with the kettle. The wide base means that it boils quickly and is what it states in the title - 'coloured' and 'whistling'! My only comment is that the handle flexes slightly on lifting (obviously this depends on the amount of water) and is a little awkward in pouring, but if you like the speed, whistling and the colour, this one is for you.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2010
Love this kettle, it is not too heavy, lovely bright cheery red, brightens up my kitchen. Boils fast and nice loud whistle so you can hear it from another room. Great price too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
Lovely brilliant red colour. The red coloured cooking utensils seem to match, generally, for all kitchen types, be they modern, or Victorian conversion properties. Hereunder we describe the positive factors. There is no negative factors in this device.
1.Stable shape, there is little danger that the kettle slip, or turn over.
2. Stable, very well made handle, with non-slip grip that prevents heat transferring to the handle. Therefore, you do not feel hot-heat on your hand.
3. Lid (where a black sphere for handling) is also anti-heat transferring material. So you do not feel heat. Very well made. What is fantastic about is the lid not thin, but have thick structure, thus the water inside does not get cold so soon.
4, Lid shut firmly. There is little danger of the lid popping up or slipping, thereby causing hot-water spilling.
5. Whistle part also has a small half-sphere to prevent heat transfer, so that you do not feel heat on your finger. Very well made.
6. Internally, there is a dark-coloured coating so that the rusting and sediment can be prevented.
7. Internal shape at the bottom is slightly shaped as round (half-moon like), and this makes cleaning the hard-to reach area easy. Very well made.
8. Whistle part also shuts firmly, so there is little danger of hot-water rushing out unexpectedly. Very well made.
9. Outside of the pouring part (where the whistle is located), there is 'Max Fill' sign so that you can see the correct water level when filling the cold water.
10. Bottom also painted beautifully, so you can hang this kettle from ceiling, just like some cafeteria or bars do in order to crete visual effect of vibrant kitchen. Very well made.
11. Inside of the kettle, there is an instruction for care and handling. Be sure to take it out and preserve it for reference.
12. 10 year guarantee comes with this.
Provided you take care of this well, this kettle is sure to last years, and provide joyous time for tea, coffee, or chai, or any occasion. SImply so lovely we literally hugged this kettle. If you want this kettle or any kettle to last longer, be sure to use filtered-water only ( tap-water has chemicals in it and cause damage to utensils ), and keep the kettle dry when not using. Where children and seniors or vulnerable adults lives, handling hot water needs to be cautious, and this kettle is very well made to prevent accidents. There is nothing but the praise for this kettle and the desinger who conceived it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Le'Xpress Coloured Whistling kettle 2 litre Chilli RedI bought this to replace a kettle double the price, which was working well, until I forgot about it and did not hear the whistle.

The plastic bits on the lid and forming the whistle went into melt down (unsurprisingly as it was on a gas ring dry for an hour or two!), though that kettle is still usable. The bearing this story of an overly hot kettle has on the present purchase, is that, should the accident recur, I doubt the replacement would survive due to the thinness of the material used in manufacturing - though it looks nice, matches our Rayburn, and works reasonably well on most cooking tops (induction, IR, gas and log stove. I am not against iron or even mild steel. On the down side this is definitely nether stainless steel not cast iron 9better for a range, and is relatively light weight for it's size (which could be classed a positive).

It is described accurately by the seller, and delivery was fast. It does the job reasonably well, though as the bottom is not flat but is slightly concave, and is part of a one piece pressing (with no "sandwiches" in the core to aid heat dispersion), this will not be suitable for every range top. It is also described on the packaging as stainless steel - which it is not (using common sense, judicious tapping, and a magnet test). Only utensils with either an iron core base or which are iron will work on an induction - which this does, so at the price this could also be viewed as a positive. Given the manufacturing materials, I am a bit doubtful of the ten year warranty claim in such a hot market. If the kettle survives the heat, the manufacturer may not. Once the enamel chips (as it will), or the inside non-stick fails as is likely -it be on the way out.

As it is nice to look at, works, was a reasonable price and was not mis-described by the seller, I will not be returning this unless a fault appears from daily use. However, for hot plate and gas use, and for outright inefficiency on an induction due to only part surface contact from the concave base. I would not rate this above a three for the design defects (none flat bottom and screws holding the handle which are not properly set or countersunk) - and will definitely pay more next time for a more "high tech" finish (my melt down case did at least survive - and is stainless steel beneath the burnt off paint, so some manufacturer's do manage to be accurate in their description!).

I had to think hard before giving a partly negative review, as this is a reasonable price and was delivered very quickly - ans is accurately described by the seller. Unfortunately utensils that get hot daily need to be more robust, and potential buyers deserve all the information. As a good all purpose kettle (including for induction) could cost three times he price and still not survive accidental overheating, this may well be considered a judicious buy, but is definitely not a hot deal.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Quite honestly the best on Hob kettle we have ever owned and we have been married for over 50 years.
The kettle is thoroughly practical and well made. The handle is easy to get hold of and is a safe design and doesn't burn your hand when you lift it off the stove(Many kettles suffer from this too hot handle problem) and also as I am getting a bit deaf!!! we can actually hear the very strong whistle easily.
All in all delighted with the product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)