Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can We Do All Of It NOW
We tried this kit out over the holidays, and we were both impressed with it!

The booklet that comes along with this kit is so informative, with well produced pictures and lots of interesting topics from fashion, animals to leisure time.

On opening the kit Hugo decided to do the bookmark (well door hanger to be precise) but has taken it upon himself...
Published on 29 Oct 2008 by Alessi Lover

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but mainly one use...
I saw the picture on the box and thought this looked quite good. This set will make:

1) a bracelet with blue stones and gold beads, it was easy to make up but seems more appropriate for a younger girl (pre-teen)

2) a Pharaoh's mask ... this was made from cardboard rather than plaster of paris as I assumed from seeing the box meaning you only get one...
Published on 23 Oct 2008 by Clare


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can We Do All Of It NOW, 29 Oct 2008
By 
Alessi Lover "C.A.D." (Knightley UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We tried this kit out over the holidays, and we were both impressed with it!

The booklet that comes along with this kit is so informative, with well produced pictures and lots of interesting topics from fashion, animals to leisure time.

On opening the kit Hugo decided to do the bookmark (well door hanger to be precise) but has taken it upon himself to call it his bookmark and I for one am not arguing the point. He stencilled it (these can be reused on other items) and coloured it in (colours are not supplied with the kit) but no hardship as I think that most homes have colours of some sort. We even did our names in the Egyptian alphabet, including the dog's! There is a lovely coloured alphabet sheet which comes with it, you can cut the squares up and use them to stick onto the scroll or bookmark, but personally I think it would be a shame to do that.

I think we were both surprised as to how much was in the box to do! Plus you don't have to do everything in one go, well we didn't anyway. Spaced the activities out over a few days.

A highly educational kit which I think would help any child at school doing the Egyptians as a school topic in history. Hugo is only seven but I think he will keep the knowledge from what he has gained from this kit until next year, and probably have a head start. Also a treat to get him doing something creative without moaning about not playing on the Wii.

Also a bracelet is to be made, well little fingers found it a little difficult to do, so I stepped in and helped, so am now the proud owner of an egyptian style bracelet. (Beads and quite good quality ones along with thread are included).

The mask well that hasn't been made as of yet, but Hugo has already decided what colour it is going to be and on what wall it will hang. (Paints, brush etc included for this).

The scroll was duly decorated and we had quite an indepth discussion as to how the egyptians lived and the way in which we live today.

This is a kit that gets the creative juices flowing and young ones learning without them actually realizing it!

Also is a set of plaster moulds, display steps and a latex mould to make a mummy statue.

The outside of the box does tell you what is included in the kit and what isn't, but basically the extra little things you tend to have in your home anyway. I think putting this on the outside of the box is a plus, as how many times do you purchase something only to find xxx and x needs to be bought separately, but only after opening it and looking at the leaflet inside.

Yes, this is a well made and well thought out kit. Only wish that this kit was out when I was younger then maybe I would have been more interested in the Egyptians.

One I think that any grandparents or other could safely buy as a present for a child aged 7/8 knowing that it would be of great benefit when it comes to their school work but also fun to do!

There is also a customer services telephone number given if there are any problems which is reassuring.

Well worth the money, would make an ideal present and easy instructions to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but mainly one use..., 23 Oct 2008
By 
Clare "clare030182" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I saw the picture on the box and thought this looked quite good. This set will make:

1) a bracelet with blue stones and gold beads, it was easy to make up but seems more appropriate for a younger girl (pre-teen)

2) a Pharaoh's mask ... this was made from cardboard rather than plaster of paris as I assumed from seeing the box meaning you only get one and don't have a mould for a second one. Also it was slightly tricky to make as the gold inlay was made from corrogated card which you had to cut to the right sizes to fit...it would have been easier to just buy gold paint.

3)plaster of paris scarab, cow god hathor and Quebehsenuef with display steps- the plaster of paris was easy to make and pour in but the mould was actually the plastic inlay tray everything came in which made it slightly hard to get out and not very versatile for keeping for re-usage. Paints were included for painting these afterwards.

4)Cartouche door hanger - this comes as a piece of card with a stencil for putting Egyptian pictures on the back (the stencil was a little flimsy and bent easily.) It also comes with a sheet of heiroglyphs for you to cut out so you can stick your name on the front. This was my favourite activity from the set.

5)Shabti figure - this comes as a plastic mould that you fill with plaster of paris (only proper reuseable part of the kit) it was a little tricky to highlight the hieroglyphs with paint, I'd recommend using a fibre tip pen instead.

6)Stencilled scroll - This is just a piece of paper that you can use the stencil from earlier to decorate

The instruction booklet that comes with this is very comprehensive and also contains a lovely introduction to the time period. I was really impressed with this.

If you have an interest in Egypt this is definately a fun and interesting pack but don't buy it if you're looking for something to keep and reuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kit for all the family, 21 Oct 2008
By 
SlayerKat "Desperate Housewife" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We have had tremendous fun with this Egyptian kit. It's been a stimulating and educational experience for all the family. The kit contains several fun to do and make projects including thread your own Egyptian-style bracelet, door hanger with personalised hieroglyphics spelling your name, Egyptian scroll, paint your own mask and plaster of paris 'mummy' figure and moulds for steps and creatures. All the contents are included to have fun with the kit straight out of the box. My kids are younger than the age on the box (suggested 8+) but they have still had the most enjoyment out of it sharing the projects out between themselves and I didn't get a look in really. But I enjoyed doing the projects together. My son has an avid interest in the Egyptians so this kit was perfect to head start discussion and dialogue about the Egyptians. The instruction booklet that also comes with the kit has some interesting facts too. Definitely a thumbs up in this house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and educational!, 25 Nov 2008
By 
K. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a teacher, I got this kit to use with primary school aged children. Although it is very well presented with an informative booklet, it would be quite difficult to make anything in it more than once and thus once the kit has been used, it is not much use. However if you have a child with an interest in the Egyptians then it would be a fantastic set to keep them busy during a holiday. Amongst the items you can make are a bracelet, plaster of paris artefacts, door hanger and mask. The instructions are clear and easy to follow and only require basic household items to complement the contents provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic set!, 19 Nov 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
you really cant fault this set, it has just about everything to do, painting, plaster cast, jewelery, colouring - excellent value for money - and quality being 'national geographic'

Easy to follow instructions, depending on the age of the child you may need to help with it, especially the plaster and maybe the bracelets, but its a really nice set to keep the children amused, educational and even more perfect if it links in with what they are learning at school, my son is now fascinated with the the egyptians!!

so much to do, it took us about a week to finish it, so will keep the children amused for ages! The box tells you what is not included, but is all things you would generally have!

my children enjoyed making the plaster pharoah best and painted it all and are rather proud of it! I personally enjoyed the bracelet and think it is actually rather nice!

all in all a great set, educational without the children even realising, so much to do, great value for money - a perfect treat for something unusual and fun to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the Ancient Egyptian Enthusiast!, 8 Nov 2008
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is perfect for a child interested in Ancient Egypt or who is studying this as a topic in school. By bringing history to children in a practical and fun way like this, they will learn more and become enthusiastic in a way that they have never before.

The artefacts that you can make with this are varied and require a little effort - but not so much that it would put you off. Whilst the pack doesn't come with everything you need (e.g. old spoons etc) you can't expect all these extraneous items to be included. What Nat Geo does give you in the pack are all the things that you wouldn't have just lying around, therefore the things which are essential for making your Ancient Egyptian artefacts (e.g. moulds).

I would recommend this for children who are already interested in this area or who perhaps need something more engaging to ignite their curiosity about history. It's certainly worth the money. And if the kids don't get some fun out of it then I'm sure the adults will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So. much. fun!, 25 Oct 2008
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I spent much of the morning and early afternoon moulding plaster of Paris figurines and making things be gold and re-discovering the art of hieroglyphics and it. has. been. awesome. It's taken me back to the days of making stuff they put together on Blue Peter - in fact, the only thing this set lacks is sticky back plastic.

So for anyone between 8 years and about 13, I think this set will be mesmerising. All kids learn about ancient Egypt in school, and this is a wonderful way of whetting their interest and giving them a head start. The instruction manual is comprehensive (with some lovely information about the time period) and the end results are fab!

The packaging has a list of everything you'll need that isn't included, but it's all stuff you'll have laying around the house, such as a measuring jug, and glue, pens and old newspaper.

This is a wonderful bit of kit - it'll keep kids entertained, it'll give them something productive and creative to do and it'll teach them while they play. Recommended bigly much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Little Kit, 22 Oct 2008
By 
M. R. Jones (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What fun I.....I mean my nephew....had with this little set. Ok so I had fun with it too, after all it needs adult supervision.

This set is jammed packed with things to do. Little statues to make, masks to paint, door handles to design and bracelets to thread (albeit fiddly that one).

It comes with enough plaster for all the figurines, and plenty of paint. It even comes with a sponge to create an "aged effect" on the models when painting.

There will be mess, so if you are not prepared for set plaster on your carpet and paint on the table then maybe you should give this a wide berth.

Great fun otherwise, will keep the nippers happy for a few days at least!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Egyptian fun for the kids!, 18 Oct 2008
By 
P. A. Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a creative kit that lets you make(amongst other things) plaster cast moulds of a Pharoahs mask, bracelet, shabti, amulet and scarab using plaster of paris, pre-made moulds, stensils and some paints.
It is recommended for children aged 8 and over.
If your child or children at at that stage when they want to make stuff and paint then this is a fascinating little set to mess around with.
One down side to it is that although there are plenty of items included to let you create everything it says you should be able to there is also a long list of other items you need that are not included. They are all household items like paper towels, spoons, a saucer, scissors and glue but it is a shame that you have to provide these items yourself.
Other than that it's great fun for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Educational and Fun, 23 Jan 2009
By 
K. Wilson "mishka97" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: National Geographic Egyptian Kit (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a great product to give as a gift to any young person interested in art and history. It is both creative and educational, allowing young people to creatively learn about the history of the pyramids and pharohs. Of course it helps that the mummy movies are so popular! My 12 year old nephew loves this kit, reading about the past while having fun. Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Geographic Egyptian Kit
Used & New from: 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews