Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain On The Pretty Ones.
I first got into Ed when I saw him support KT Tunstall on her tour. But the two couldn't be more different, Ed has deeper lyrics and a much more sophisticated sound.

I loved this album immediately but I agree that it may take some people who are more unfamilar with Ed, a few more listens to really appreciate him. This and 'Here Be Monsters' are proably the best...
Published on 11 July 2006 by Mr. K. Lund

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SAME AS, SAME AS
If you read my previous Mr Harcourts "Best Of" album, I have little else to add to this for this album.
Published 18 months ago by goatsrant


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain On The Pretty Ones., 11 July 2006
By 
Mr. K. Lund (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
I first got into Ed when I saw him support KT Tunstall on her tour. But the two couldn't be more different, Ed has deeper lyrics and a much more sophisticated sound.

I loved this album immediately but I agree that it may take some people who are more unfamilar with Ed, a few more listens to really appreciate him. This and 'Here Be Monsters' are proably the best for new fans to purchase.

I'd get this solely for 'Rain On The Pretty Ones' and 'Whirlwind in D Minor'. Great tracks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen with the lights out, 17 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
Another beautiful album from one of the most consistent musicians this country has to offer.

Every time a new Ed Harcourt album comes along, I find myself excited but quietly resigned to the fact that it will be difficult to live up to the expectation of his last. Thankfully, this is yet to happen, far from it in fact, and long may it continue!

'The Last Cigarette' is a beautifully haunting acoustic number that grabbed my attention immediately, leaving me in a state of silence until the very last note. 'Rain on The Pretty Ones' is simply as good as anything he's written previously and 'Good Friends are Hard To Find' is a perfect album closer. A strange song that despite it's sad melody and lyrics, left me smiling throughout.

Another stunning album to rival 'Here Be Monsters' and 'Strangers' (my two personal favourites).

Buy this album, wait till dark, turn out the lights and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A British Genius, 5 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
Another magical piece of work from this British genius. This guy constantly produces album after album and deserves recognition.

Don't buy what NME and Radio One tell you too and maybe your discover something a little different and that you can listen too in 10 years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 27 Jun 2006
By 
Dave T (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
What a gem... I discovered Ed two years ago - his album Strangers (2004) floored me, and I'm forever grateful to the friend that introduced me to his music. His songs are melodic, the lyrics thoughtful, and his raw vocals are a joy to listen to.

For me, one of the most rewarding aspects of being a music fan is developing an intimate understanding of another human being through the music that he or she makes. Listen to "The Beautiful Lie" and you will feel that you are getting to know Ed Harcourt - his passion, his humour, his arrogance, his self-loathing... and after a few listens you may feel as though you've made a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His best so far, 12 Jun 2006
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
The Beautiful Lie is, in my humble opinion, Harcourt's best work to date. The lukewarm reception it got from review writers is unfair. The lyrics and orchestration on the album are of a very high quality. If you are a fan Here Be Monsters then you will also like this album. Particular highlights include The Last Cigarette, Late Night Partner, Rain on the Pretty Ones and Good Friends Are Hard To Find. Buy this album and you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Until Tomorrow, Then..., 5 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
When a new Ed Harcourt album comes along, the word "predictable" can never be used to describe it. Each collection of beautifully-crafted songs fluctuates between light-hearted joyousness, cracked heartbreakers and epic soundscapes that take the listener's breath away.

The Beautiful Lie is as glorious as Harcourt's small army of devoted fans hoped it would be. Standout tracks include the jawdroppingly beautiful "Rain on the Pretty Ones" and "Braille", a charmingly shambolic "I Am the Drug" and the sumptuous "Revolution in the Heart".

Harcourt's talent positively pours from this album, which captures the energy and atmosphere of his wonderful live show better than any of its predecessors. Buy this album. Dim the lights, sit back, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of those instantly classic albums, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
Mr Harcourt has made some darn fine music over the last decade or so, but this has to be his masterpiece. 14 songs, no duffers, unflagging inspiration from start to finish, too many highlights to mention, and only 'Strangers' before it could even come close to boasting this much great melody all crammed into one set. It just feels like a classic.
If you are about to 'discover' Ed Harcourt, this is the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SAME AS, SAME AS, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beautiful Lie (Audio CD)
If you read my previous Mr Harcourts "Best Of" album, I have little else to add to this for this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beautiful Lie
The Beautiful Lie by Ed Harcourt (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews