Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars119
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 August 2006
I recall watching these wonderful episodes during their first transmission and have come to the conclusion that along with Waking The Dead, and Silent Witness, they are some of the best drama series produced by BBC Television for many years. Martin Shaw's portrayal as the Maverick Judge John Deed is amazing to watch. Moreover, ably supported by a wonderful cast, Jenny Seagrove, Caroline Langrishe and the veteran actors Donald Sinden and Simon Ward. Each episode is a story on its own, none of them seem padded out, watchable for the dramatic court room scenes which never fail to amaze. I am sure fans will buy this anyway, if you have not seen them yet, give them a try, you wont be disappointed.
0Comment|79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2007
Everytime you see Martin Shaw you cannot take away the memories of Ray Doyle in the Professionals but he has matured into a really fine actor and alongside the heavyweights of Simon Ward and Donald sinden he has made the character of John Deed very believable.

The scripts and storylines are right up there with some of the BBCs finest dramas and with impressive acting this series will stand the test of time.
I have seen recent repeats of various episodes on Sky and normal television and enjoy watching them again and again for the pleasure of top quality drama.

Take the recent new episodes of Touch of Frost,the storylines were disappointing and the acting in my opinion not up to the best of the original episodes.Thankfully the series of Judge John Deed finished on a high with possibly not a weak episode among them.Each courtroom drama was unique and none used the same storylines to make a further episode.

John Deed will remain the finest courtroom drama alongside Crown Court and in years to come we will recognise the series as a landmark in BBc drama.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2008
Well what can say - this show has me addicted! I found myself amazed that I would get this into a courtroom drama series as, I admit, the concept is slightly cheesy, but this is fantastic. Give it a go and you will not be disappointed.

The character of Judge John Deed is excellently portrayed by Martin Shaw and who backed up by a fabulous cast. The series mixes court events with the personal lives of the characters which makes it all the more spicy. The judge himself is a bit of a rebel - going professionally where others would fear to tread. In addition to this he still finds the time to go after his former lover Mrs Mills, have the odd random snog with his ex-wife (George Channing) and get it on with lady Francesca (the home secretary's wife I think) - sometimes all in one episode - what a man! There is also a sad side to the judge regarding his casual exploits and one gets the feeling that he really would like to make a go of it with Mrs Mills who is unimpressed by his womanising and won't have him. That said, it still doen't stop the old man from having a crack at the ladies surrounding him - hilarious and strangely charming!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2006
It's taken a while but finally Judge John Deed is on DVD!

All the episodes, including the pilot are top-class and the seperate plots run smoothly along the continuing swtorylines; including the intoxicating relationship between Deed and Mrs Mills.

A brilliant series, well worth the money.

Bring on the next series'!
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2006
After 6 letters to various people at the BBC i thought I would never see the day this amazing series was released. I love JJD it is the best drama on tv and treats the audience with some respect and never dumbs down its content. The DVD is well worth buying, the first series was excellent! I am now simply dying to get my hands on series 2-6!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2007
Brilliant! I cannot praise this series highly enough - this is the very cream of legal drama. Superbly written and acted like the actors were those characters in real life. I cannot wait to watch Series 2!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2006
For anyone who enjoys well acted drama with some humour and real themes this is a must.
Martin Shaw has come a long way from curly-haired Ray Doyle of Professionals' fame.
I loved him then, I still do now.
Way to go!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2007
The BBC, beleaguered as they are from time to time, rarely fail when it comes to either documentary making or drama and with Judge John Deed, yet again they reinforce their stranglehold on this genre.

This program is a huge step up from the long running but dated 'Crown Court' from the 70's and early 80's. Gripping, riveting, call it what you like, from intial broadcast in late 2001, each episode had me glued as few others have.

Some of the storylines are very thought provoking indeed, which is not a bad thing, and the cast is superb, particularly the haughty yet divine Caroline Langrishe and the quietly delectable Jenny Seagrove. Martin Shaw, in the title role as the somewhat unconventional High Court Judge, is excellent

My only moan ( well more of a niggle, really ) is that the constant efforts by the upper echelons to either keep this maverick in check or engineer his removal as he repeatedly crosses swords with the establishment are a tad overdone. That said, it really is program making of the absolute highest calibre.

I cannot believe anyone would be disappointed with this release - let's just hope the rest of the series is imminent.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2010
In this nail biting and highly entertaining TV drama Martin Shaw surpasses himself as the principled and self-assured, if emotionally unstable, Judge John Deed (ASIDE; all the prominent female characters in this drama have male sounding first names, but one gets used to this quirk after an episode or two).

Renowned for his stoic determination that each defendant be convicted or acquitted based on evidence and evidence alone, Deed frequently sets himself on a collision course with the powerful political forces arrayed against him. Barristers, fellow judges, the Police, the CPS and even the Home Secretary will exert untold influence to have Deed re-assigned to a more trivial case for fear that the "wrong" verdict be returned in a juicy murder. Deed has made it to the top on his own terms and knows it will take all of his sharp intellect and rakish charm to keep himself there!

But the mask of stolidity drops spectacularly the moment he adjourns his court. An infatuation with conscientious Barrister Jo Mills (Jenny Seagrove), his complex love/hate relationship with his estranged wife Barrister George Channing (Caroline Langrishe) and his unconditional devotion to their daughter Law Student Charlie Deed (Louisa Clein) together threaten to compromise the judge's professional integrity. Meanwhile the peerless Donald Sinden excels as Deed's former father-in-law Chief Justice Sir Joseph Channing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
Each episode can be enjoyed as a finely made single film concerning a judge who reflects upon the human frailties we all share and upon the way his interpretation of the law effects the outcomes. Martin Shaw is a compelling actor, one of many fine British personalities inhabiting each episode. The legal community of which he is a part is examined in fine detail. His enemies plot to bring him down through political manipulation, surveillance, family pressures and use of the Old Boys networks. The way he evades the pitfalls and fights back defiantly within the legal limitations is suspenseful and satisfying. As each episode comes to an end, I look forward to the next. It's the same feeling one gets when looking at the Sopranos, Breaking Bad, The Wire, Deadwood, Dexter, Justified or the Game of Thrones except that in Judge John Deed it's done without violence.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)