Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!
That's the only word I can think of to describe the 3 episodes on this Dr Who DVD (Series 2 vol 2). First up, TOOTH & CLAW. Wow!! The Doctor faces off against a cool looking werewolf and meets Queen Victoria. I hope that Tennant's Doctor gets to meet Queen Victoria again given her departing warning. SCHOOL REUNION ... gotta admit I watched this one first as I couldn't...
Published on 23 Jun 2006 by Bob M. Paulson

versus
22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor value for money
Don't get me wrong I enjoyed the episode but the DVD as a whole is poor value. I'm a big fan of the vanilla releases as I'm not a huge admirer of extras on DVDs but this release was just a huge disappointment for me. One episode (albeit an hour long instead of the usual forty-five minutes) selling at the same price of a release with 3 is just daylight robbery and the...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Anth.P


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!, 23 Jun 2006
That's the only word I can think of to describe the 3 episodes on this Dr Who DVD (Series 2 vol 2). First up, TOOTH & CLAW. Wow!! The Doctor faces off against a cool looking werewolf and meets Queen Victoria. I hope that Tennant's Doctor gets to meet Queen Victoria again given her departing warning. SCHOOL REUNION ... gotta admit I watched this one first as I couldn't wait to see Lis Sladen's Sarah Jane again. Tennant & Sladen were great together making it disapponting she didn't leave with them. Of course I have to mention the humourous bits between Rose and Sarah. (I suspect that was genuine laughter between them.) Oh, I loved the bit where Mickey realises he's 'the tin dog'. Finally, THE GIRL IN THE FIEPLACE. Coming from Steven Moffat, I noticed the bit about the Doctor dancing following up from his WWII story last year. The theme of the loneliness of the Doctor continues to be played very well here and I hope this continues throughout the rest of the season. All said, three terrific episodes that not only prove Tennant and Piper are a great TARDIS team, but that DOCTOR WHO is still the best show on TV ... EVER! Roll on Volume 3!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow what a series, 2 Jun 2006
By 
Ms. C. E. R. Potts "Chris" (Upminster) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 2 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having been an avid fan of Doctor Who in the era of Tom Baker I was a little sceptical about a "new Doctor Who". I must say I shouldn't have worried wow this is great.

It has the feel of the original series without the Blue Peter type props. It has grown up and gone into the electronical age - sonic screwdrivers and all. If you have any hesitation in buying this as an old Doctor Who fan don't its new, original, fresh and well done Doctor - the only strange thing being that Doctor Who is actually good looking!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proven, 25 May 2006
The last series continually took me by surprise! I sat down expecting to lightly pass 45 minutes and became well engrossed, drawn in, amused and often moved. The new series and the new Doctor built brilliantly on the strength of series one, at the same time bringing a freshness and vitality to the show. These episodes are among the best so far, and show the imagination and inventiveness of the writers off well. Tenant is brilliant as the Doctor, compassionate to the oppressed, ruthless to the guilty, and always switiching effortlessly between playing it for laughs and serious drama. Piper shows herself to be far more than just a good actress too; her range is impressive, complimenting Tenants Doctor perfectly. All of the episodes on this disc are strong, my personal favourite being "The Girl in the Fireplace," when the doctor falls for Madame De Pompador in a plot that twists space and time while having some genuinely jumpy moments- check out the tick-tock robots face masks! "Tooth and Claw" is also fantastic, scary and atmospheric, with a memorably haunting performance from the boy who eventually becomes the beast. "School Reunion" sees the return of Sarah Jane Smith and the iconic K-9, and is lighter than the other two. That said it has it's brilliant moments of emotion as Rose finds she's not the only woman the Doctor has ever shared his adventures with. Tenants playimg of the "You'll age and I won't" scene is moving, and gives us insight his character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thedoctorwhoru, 26 Jun 2006
By 
D. S. Mackey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
5 Stars. fabulous.this dvd contains:
tooth and claw
school reunion
the girl in the fireplace
in the 1st episode on this dvd the tardis lands in 1897 were they meet queen victoria and a moonlight monster on the torchwood estate. a werewolf.this is quite scary for some children and this is why it is certificated 12.in the second episode the doctor and rose get jobs in a school as the doctor meets his old sidekick sarah-jane smith and her faithful dog K9 whilst an alien race called the krillitians disguised as teachers ,hatch a plot to crack the code of the gods using the children and chips.in the last episode the doctor finds an spaceship from the 51st century stalking madame de pompador, the mistress of an 18th century king of france. the spaceship which contains the clockwork droids has created many portholes through space into different periods in her life.but why?
this is fantastic so i suggest buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I'm in my wedding dress!" - Catherine Tate and a great giant alien spider for Christmas! What more can you ask for?!, 1 Nov 2013
`The Runaway Bride' is one of the most memorable, exciting and funny episodes of `Doctor Who' from the new series. The second proper Doctor Who Christmas special, it features Catherine Tate as Donna Noble, the return of the killer Robot Santas, has got a car chase and features Sarah Parish as the rather monstrous and deadly Empress of the Rachnoss (a gigantic spider).

Transmitted on the 25th December 2006, this story follows the tragic end of 'Doomsday' where the Doctor has just lost Rose Tyler to a parallel universe following the Dalek/Cybermen battle at Canary Wharf. With little time to grieve his loss, the Doctor suddenly finds a bride standing in the console room appearing out of nowhere. The Doctor wonders how she got there and the bride - Donna Noble - is convinced the Doctor's an idiot and has kidnapped her. Determined to get rid of her, the Doctor tries to get Donna back to her church in Chiswick in time for the wedding. But on the way, they find themselves delayed and cornered off by Robot Santas (last appeared in 'The Christmas Invasion') who want to capture Donna and it all leads to a car chase with the Doctor in the TARDIS chasing Donna with a Robot Santa in a taxi.

I really like Catherine Tate as Donna Noble in this story. Catherine is well known for her comedy sketch show `The Catherine Tate Show', and to have her appear as a Christmas companion in a Doctor Who special is a real treat. Here she plays someone who doesn't want to be in the TARDIS and just wants to get married (rather like Tegan who wanted to be an air hostess and eventually travelled with Peter Davison). Donna is a rather `ditsy and gobby' sort of character (according to Catherine Tate) who loves the endless trivia like watching the X-Factor and finding out the best top Pringle. Donna can be quite rough and common on the face of it and has the tendency to go `Oy!' a lot. But underneath Donna is a very compassionate and endearing character, to whom the Doctor likens to and eventually she to him. It's no surprise that Donna eventually came back as a proper companion in the 2008 series with David Tennant (especially as Catherine Tate enjoyed playing Donna so much that she wanted to come back).

I love Donna's scenes with the Doctor when they're running around London streets (filmed in Cardiff mind you) and they're trying to get back to the wedding. I love it when Donna ridicules the Doctor for assuming she's got a mobile as she doesn't have any `pockets' in her wedding dress. And the moment where Donna and the Doctor try to get a taxi and everyone thinks Donna is drunk for being in her wedding dress. And then when they eventually get into the taxi the two find they have no money and have to get out of the taxi again. Brilliantly funny stuff. Especially when Donna tells the Doctor to stop `bleeping' her with his sonic screwdriver.

I really like it when Donna shows concern for the Doctor in asking him about who it was he lost and the Doctor reluctant to tell her. Eventually he does tell her it was Rose he lost to Donna towards the end. I found the moment where the Doctor told Donna to trust her when jumping out of the taxi to get into the TARDIS and she asks if Rose trusted her and he says 'yes' to be very touching and endearing. I'm sure it helps for those who are missing Billie Piper as Rose to be reassured she's never forgotten.

David Tennant's brilliant in this as well. He's funny and he's clever. He's working things out as he usually does with his maniac enthusiasm. Love the moment when he uses the sonic screwdriver to boost the sound speakers to destroy the Robot Santas during the wedding reception. The moments where the Doctor gets slapped by Donna and he's shocked are really funny. He certainly gets on well with Catherine Tate and the scene where they watch the Earth being formed and him being so enthusatic and excited were very enjoyable to watch. The Doctor's sadness is explored over Rose and its truly shown and well-acted during the wedding reception as the song `Love Don't Roam' is performed in the background.

Another superb guest star in this story is Sarah Parish playing the Empress of the Rachnoss. Sarah really enjoys playing an evil giant spider and it's truly sounds frightening when she speaks and when she mocks Donna the bride and her would be husband. How they did the make-up and the special effects combined with the actress to make the Empress is very spectacular.

The rest of the cast includes Jacqueline King as Donna's mum Sylvia Noble; the late Howard Attfield as Donna's dad Geoff Noble; and Don Gillet (from `Eastenders') who plays Donna's fiancée Lance Bennett. Just to say about Lance, there's a certain shock story going on with his character in connection to Donna.

I have to say I really enjoyed that car chase scene with the Doctor and Donna, and to have the kids in the car before them calling out to them and with the thrilling music in the background was really exciting. They previewed this scenes for the `Children in Need' concert in Cardiff earlier that year (but more on that later).

The ending of this story had a scene with the Doctor and Donna saying goodbye to each other. The Doctor asks Donna to come with her and join him in his travels in the TARDIS. But Donna refuses. She's not ready for it yet and finds the whole idea of travelling scary at first. At the time, I thought it was a shame she said no. But it's only until recently she's had more adventures in the TARDIS and I certainly looked forward to those. So for now, here's the Doctor leaving Donna to be with her family and off to have his travels in the TARDIS.

On this disc there's also a very exciting `Doctor Who Confidential' Christmas Special called `Music and Monsters'. This hour-long documentary looks in on the making of the Doctor Who Celebration charity concert for Children-in-Need which took place at the Wales Millenium Centre in Cardiff in November 2006. I wasn't aware of this concert taking place when it happened, so I'm really gutted I missed out.

The episode looks in on the music composed by Murray Gold and features some of the items being featured during the concert with actors appearing as `entranced people'; `Clockwork droids'; `Cybermen' and even an appearance from a Dalek is seen during that concert. I'm sure the kids in the audience were thrilled. The music featured in the concert includes `Westminster Bridge'; `The Christmas Invasion'; `Rose's theme'; the Murray Gold Doctor Who theme; the Daleks; `The Girl in the Fireplace'; the Cybermen, Rose's farewell in `Doomsdsay' and that sneak preview with the car chase in `The Runaway Bride' that I was telling you about. Most of the music is featured on the Doctor Who albums by Murray Gold and is all from the first two seasons of Doctor Who (see 'Doctor Who Original Music from Series One & Two'). The concert is hosted by none other than David Tennant himself.

The `Doctor Who Confidential' episode also features interviews from David Tennant, Russell T. Davies, Julie Gardner, Murray Gold, conductor Ben Foster, Camile Coduri and Noel Clarke. There's a look in on some of the classic Doctor Who themes from the 60s, 70s and 80s with comments from Russell, David, Murray and Ben which for me was really exciting. There's also Nick Briggs and Barnaby Edwards being interviewed for the Dalek's appearance as well as Paul Kasey for the Cybermen's. There's also a look in on the making of `The Runaway Bride' with interviews from David, Catherine Tate and Phil Collinson (the producer) - preceding the sneak preview for the story during the concert.

So to sum up, `The Runaway Bride' is a funny, fast-paced and enjoyable Christmas special from `Doctor Who'. I certainly enjoyed it. You may criticise Catherine Tate for her being well-known for comedy, but for me she's truly wonderful in this story and a very good actress. She gets on well with David Tennant and he certainly shines all the way through this story and keeps it going following Rose's departure. I recommend this story to anyone with the yuletide spirit!

There's a `Coming Soon' trailer for Series 3 at the end with the Doctor and his new companion Martha Jones - so the next story to watch after this is 'Smith and Jones'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NEARLY A RUNAWAY SUCCESS, 1 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A little of CATHERINE TATE goes a long way. Her characters are renowned for having 'big personality' stamped all over them. And as the almost-wed DONNA NOBLE in the 2006 Christmas Special, her big personality gets to mix it with two more in the shape of THE DOCTOR and THE EMPRESS OF RACNOSS. Three required presences, a fair bit of scenery chewing - and just enough oxygen left to avoid suffocating.

Of course, Christmas is the season where - despite every effort to resist - one is less critically, and more forgivingly, inclined. THE RUNAWAY BRIDE, then, is a perfect example of that process in action so pass me another sherry.

Nothing in my book will quite match 2005's THE CHRISTMAS INVASION for sheer size and movie spectacle but there are enough outstanding moments here to fend off niggling worries about downsizing or budget cuts. The scenes of Earth's formation from gaseous stardust, trapping the Racnoss spacecraft, are magnificent, almost Hubble Telescope-like in depth and dimension; the taxi-Santa kidnap on the motorway is pure punching the air stuff and the destruction of the Empress's 'star' ship elegantly realised. The Empress of Racnoss herself is a wonderful non-CGI spider creation, but its lack of movement - when it should have been pit-pattering around to more dangerous effect - slightly hampers an otherwise commendably ambitious setup.

DAVID TENNANT and SARAH PARRISH bounce of each other very well and the denoument, as the emerging 'children' are flushed down the plughole, is powerful and more than appropriate for insects and arachnids, however big they might be (please note: if I eventually re-incarnate as a bluebottle, be kind and open a window).

References to the loss of ROSE TYLER in her parallel universe keep an emotional continuity necessary to the one-off nature of this story and lend Donna's last words to the Doctor genuine weight and poignance. As he leaves, we're left feeling for him and the new horizons to come. It's a lovely ending, reflective and softly low-key. Pass me a tissue, mansize. (...) Yes, yes, I know what 'please' means...sorry. (...) I don't know, maybe there's a high winter pollen count or something? Hmm.

In 'The Runaway Bride', RUSSELL T. DAVIES has begun ringing in some of the changes for the season to come. In consequence, Doctor Who continues to be a wonderful experience with a bona-fide creative genius at the helm, surrounded by talented colleagues in every department. Even the 'Confidential' extra is a worthy bonus. Buy it.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another trip in the TARDIS, 8 May 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 2 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This DVD contains the first two episodes of Series 2 of the revived television classic 'Doctor Who', starring David Tennant and Billie Piper. I confess that I was somewhat apprehensive about the new series, because Christopher Eccleston's portrayal of the Time Lord was quite simply sublime, so I was worried that Tennant would not be a worthy successor. I am glad to see that I was wrong, because the Tenth Doctor has charm, wit and can range from happy, to playful, to furious, etc. Although this first installment of 'vanilla' releaes contains no extra features, it is still well worth buying because both episodes are hugely enjoyable. However, there is a 6-disc boxset to be released in November, which is going to be crammed with special features.

The two episodes on this DVD are:

The Christmas Invasion

Written by Russell T Davies

Directed by James Hawes

Originally transmitted 25/12/05

'The Christmas Invasion' was the greatest piece of festive television ever, and David Tennant's first proper outing as the Doctor managed to capture an audience of almost 10 million people. This a very entertaining episode, filled with humour, action and excitment, and definitely contains something for everyone. An alien invasion by the evil Sycorax puts the whole world in danger because the monsters are using blood control to manipulate the planet, but with the Doctor still recovering from his regeneration process, Rose is left to defend Earth alone. This episode is notable for David Tennant's swashbuckiling debut as the Doctor, and his 'what kind of man am I?' speech is just perfect. A truly wonderful episode.

New Earth

Written by Eussell T Davies

Directed by James Hawes

Originally transmitted 15/4/06

The first episode of Series 2 received a mixed reaction from the fans, but personally I loved this episode, and thought that it was exciting, energetic and full of life and character. David Tennant and Billie Piper show how well they can interact together, and both put it very humurous performances (such as the bodyswap for example). In this episode the Doctor goes to the year five-billion-and-twenty-three where he is reunited with the Face of Boe who is ill, whilst Rose is re-introduced to the 'naughty' Cassandra (played by Zoe Wannamaker) who is obsessed with plastic surgery and has a score to settle with Rose. Add in some cat nuns and an army of diseased patients, and this episode is pure entertainment all the way. There are some great scenes throughout, and I don't think you'll be disappointed.

A great start to Series 2 then, and this DVD is definitely worthy buying. The new series of 'Doctor Who' has maintaned its hugely high callibre, and is still a great treat to settle down and watch on a Saturday night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Doctor faces the Cybermen..., 2 Jun 2006
This DVD continues the second series of the BBC's hit revival of 'Doctor Who' and contains three episodes. David Tennant's perormance as the Tenth Timelord remains strong, energetic and vibrant, whilst Billie Piper as Rose Tyler remains his equal in every way. This disc contains no special features, but there will be a 6-disc boxet released in November that comes crammed with bonus material and content. But if you're like me and can't wait that long, this DVD is definitely a must-buy when it is released. The three episodes on the disc are all of an extremely high calibre, and the standard set so far by the series is maintaned. So, where is the TARDIS taking us this time...?

The three episodes contained on this disc are:

The Rise of the Cybermen/The Age of Steel

Writer: Tom MacRae

Director: Graeme Harper

Originally broadcast 13/5/06 and 20/5/06

These two-episode make up this series' first double-length episode, and are special due to the fact that the metal monsters that are the infamous Cybermen are back, bigger, badder, and better than ever before. Last year, the Daleks made a triumphant and successful return to television, and this year it is very much the turn of the Cybermen, the emotionless steel giants, who haven't been seen on television since the Slyvestor McCoy era of the late 1980's. There is a wealth of the things to enjoy in this two episodes however, as the Doctor and Rose find themselves on a strange parallel version of Earth after the TARDIS crash lands. In this alternative Earth, things are very different, Rose's dad is still alive, Mickey is reunited with his grandmother and there are zepplins, strange blue-tooth like headsets, and bizarre factories of carnage all over London. The new design of the Cybermen is stunning; they look beautiful! Their return to this series was superb, and the 2006 spin on the monsters is very satisfactory, such as the scenes in the factory where Rose and Pete Tyler have to go undercover and when the Doctor realises that they have no emotions. This episode is also important because Mickey Smith, Rose's poor, long-suffering boyfriend is finally given a chance to prove himself, and the result is very memorable and exciting. There are some great moments in this two-part story but I won't spoil them. All I will say is that the Cybermen are back, and their absolutely brilliant!

The Idiot's Lantern

Writer: Mark Gatiss

Directed by: Euros Lynn

Originally broadcast 27/5/06

Mark Gatiss' (aside from being part of the dark and hilarious 'League of Gentlemen') coined last year's excellent episode 'The Unquiet Dead', but his offering for Series 2 is even better, and this episode drips with atmosphere and tension, as the Doctor and Rose travel back in time to 1953, the year of the Queen's Coronation. It is testimony to the skills of the team behind the show that it really feels like th viewer is in the period, an experience further enhanced by the terrific sets, props, clothing and realisitc dialogue and characterisation. The main plot of this episode is that people are vanishing as a result of televisions, and the Doctor must unlock the secret of 'The Wire' and find out how the television is taking over the world. Tennant and Piper are great throughout, and although The Doctor's homage to Elvis (the hairstyle) is a bit much, this episode is a lot of fun. Great stuff, with an electric climax (literally)...

There are a number of guest stars that make appearances in this series such as Roger Lloyd Pack (Trigger from 'Only Fools and Horses') as the evil brainchild of the Cybermen, John Lumic. Shaun Dingall reprise his role as Pete Tyler, Rose's father in the two Cybermen episodes, and Mauren Lipman is terrifying as 'The Wire' in 'The Idiot's Lantern'. The collection of episodes is brilliant, with superb performances, writing, direction, special effects, etc, and this DVD is one that I'd highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good start for the Tenth Doctor., 9 Sep 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who: Series 2 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
David Tennant gets off to a good start as the Doctor in these two episodes. In the Christmas Invasion he has to deal with the threat of the alien Sycorax and their attempts to invade earth. However, he must first recover from his recent regeneration.

Although Tennant only really comes to the fore during the last half of this adventure, he still manages to make a formidable impression. A superb debut story, with a nice twist at the end.

The second adventure, 'New Earth' acts as a sequel to previous season's 'The End of the World.' In it, the Doctor and Rose travel millions of years into the future and discover a hospital, which is run by a group of cat-like creatures. Behind the scenes there lies a dark and shocking secret, and to make matters worse, the Doctor is confronted with his old enemy Cassandra. This episode has received mixed reviews, but I found it a real creepy thriller, with good performances. The highlight has to be Billie Piper's wonderful turn as the 'possessed' Rose.

A very good start for the Tenth Doctor. Two very entertaining adventures, which are worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from Doctor Who, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. Carrie Smith (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
it is a rare thing that a series can bring together a whole family to enjoy a good piece of quality BBC drama/Sci fi. This is perfection and the scary bits are never too much for the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: Series 2 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005]
Doctor Who: Series 2 - Volume 1 [DVD] [2005] by David Tennant (DVD - 2006)
£6.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews