Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme Is Back!
After a two year break the muscles from Brussels returns to play an official who's just been appointed as Second in Command to the U.S. Ambassador at an Embassy in a small, turbulent Eastern European nation. When local insurgents attempt a coup d'etat, the nation's President takes refuge inside the embassy. The embassy is then besieged by the well-armed insurgents and...
Published on 31 Mar 2006 by Boudreaux

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars probably the worst van damme yet
i havent seen every van damme film, ive seen alot, but i cant imagine theres any worse than this. the direction makes you feel like your in a nightmare, the horrible colours that have been imposed onto everything look revolting, sepia i think its called. some of the actors and actresses are guilty of not doing their job very well, but some are ok as is van damme. but...
Published on 11 July 2007 by CJ Howdle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme Is Back!, 31 Mar 2006
By 
Boudreaux (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
After a two year break the muscles from Brussels returns to play an official who's just been appointed as Second in Command to the U.S. Ambassador at an Embassy in a small, turbulent Eastern European nation. When local insurgents attempt a coup d'etat, the nation's President takes refuge inside the embassy. The embassy is then besieged by the well-armed insurgents and it's up to Jean Claude and the embassy's small detachment of U.S. Marines to fend off the attackers. With Luc Besson style finesse director Simon Fellows sends Van Damme into territory far beyond Bloodsport in this polished action romp. With echo's of John Carpenters 1976 film Assault on Precinct 13 this film is worthy or a place in anyone's DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars NOT SECOND RATE, 1 Jun 2014
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Sam Keenan (Jean Claude Van Damme) is appointed as Second in Command at an American Embassy in a fictional Eastern European nation undergoing a rebellion. When the rebels attempt a coup, the President finds sanctuary in the US embassy which is promptly surrounded by the rebels. The Ambassador is killed by an RPG and now Keenan and a small detachment of US Marines have to fight for their lives and everyone else sheltering in the Embassy.

Having watched this film recently I thought I would check out the reviews here on Amazon. I was shocked to see so many negative views. For my money, this is one of the best Van Damme films I have seen. True, there aren't the usual quota of opportunities for the star to show off his martial arts skills, but it isn't meant to be a 'typical' JCVD film.

If your looking for an intelligent, well-directed action film then I would recommend Second In Command. If, on the other hand, you're looking for an over-the-top, unrealistic romp, I'd suggest Double Team or Knock Off. In truth, most Van Damme films don't comply to the latter examples, but they are, admittedly, what he is best known for.

Please ignore the negative reviews and give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I like that , that's exactly what i was looking for , Thank you very much , have a nice time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars probably the worst van damme yet, 11 July 2007
By 
CJ Howdle "Howds" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
i havent seen every van damme film, ive seen alot, but i cant imagine theres any worse than this. the direction makes you feel like your in a nightmare, the horrible colours that have been imposed onto everything look revolting, sepia i think its called. some of the actors and actresses are guilty of not doing their job very well, but some are ok as is van damme. but there is a serious void of van damme footage, fighting and even dialog in this film, hes hardly in it and when he is hes not doing anything. the fake eastern european state where the whole film takes place, at first, looks tempting, but soons it turms into nothing but a shabby set. for a van damme fan like myself, take my word for it, this is nothing but a last resort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S TIME TO TAKE CHARGE, 30 Jan 2007
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is one of the recent Van Damme films I have watched, I liked it but it wasn't one of his best. But I think his glory days are well past him.

In in he is more of an actor then fighter as there are a few fight scenes in this as in most of his other films (he can act!!).

The story is: Van Damme is a former Navy S.E.A.L. with the combat experience to protect U.S. interests anywhere. But the day he arrives at his new post in a turbulent Eastern European nation, Commander Sam Keenan is thrust into a bloody and chaotic scene: heavily - armed rebels have ransacked the capital city, killed the U.S. Ambassador and are threatening to overthrow a new President and his fragile democracy. Keenan quickly secures the U.S. Embassy and gives the President Shelter. But with help from U.S. forces hours away and violent insurgents closing in, Keenan must find a way to crush the rebellion... before the Embassy goes down in flames.

The dvd came out before THE HARD CORPS - which I am also going to buy so SECOND IN COMMAND is the most recent Van Damme film I have.

The dvd extras arn't that exciting - they are three trailers for different films (THE HUNT FOR EAGLE ONE, THE NET 2.0 & STEALTH) and thats your lot for the extras. Van Damme is one of my best actors so I have most of his films - All I need is Cyborg, Replicant, The Hard Corps & Death Warrant then I have his whole filmography.

All in all a good army/action film but don't expect the greatest army film ever as you will be let down, as I say it's good but not great.

I bought this the first day it came out and I only got round to watching it last night in bed. Thank you for reading my review.

Stuart Vernon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damme Good!!!, 6 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This film is one of the best films of Van Dammes awesome career!

With all the action he is so famous for, the high kicking king is back with attitude!

A MUST BUY DVD!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another boring Van Damme film, 2 Aug 2007
By 
PeterL (UK - London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
At the end of the day is doesnt matter if the storyline is poor - if the action / fighting is good - then wells its a good van damme film.

Van damme hardly fights - and when he does the camera is to close up - making the fight look very poor.

He fights like 3 times during the film
the rest is him trying to act .... just very boring.

It is a low budget film, and tbh you can tell ... very B movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 29 Jun 2007
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The premise of the movie is an interesting one. A hated politician is hidden away in an embassey, protected by the US army and Van Damme. With rebels threatening to break the walls down, will Van Damme give the politician to the rebels to save the lives of the innocent people in the building, or repel the rebellion? But the intrigue ends there. I love Van Damme, he's one of my faveourite "actors", depite the fact he really CANNOT act. Other fans say he can, but seriously, he only knows one emotions, and even then we have no idea what he's feeling. His kicks take more of a back seat in this flick, leaving his poor acting and the dreadful cast to bore us to death with rubbish dialogue and no sense of suspense. The action is naff and extremely dated too, with rubbish "special" effects (more like special-needs) and a sign that Van Damme hasn't got as much kick left as we hoped he did.

All in all, truely dreadful, boring, monotonous movie. About as fun as ripping your eyes out and spraying vinegar in your face. I'm not joking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 31 July 2008
By 
David Addison (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this Van Damme film.He certainly takes care of the bad guys in his own style.He ends up in the US embassy in some Eastern European country.The bad guys start up a revolution,and force the democratically elected President to seek help from Van Damme and his gang.Naturally,there's a seige.The bad guys are pretty nasty.They also manage to grab Van Damme's girl as hostage.Needless to say,Van Damme and the good guys won't stand for that!Its a good action film.I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars satisfying but not good, 12 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Second In Command [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
i wanna criticize Jean-claude van damme altough he is my best actor.he is a very talented martial art guy,And the aim of every fan of him is to see these talents not shoting niether sex;van damme's new movies doesn't concentrate on the talent of the Jean-claude,we will be happy to see a work like Blood sport,the quest,kickboxer...i hope van damme will realise this point.
good luck van damme...go on we are with u.
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Second In Command [DVD] [2006]
Second In Command [DVD] [2006] by Simon Fellows (DVD - 2006)
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews