Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars33
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2006
I was a little disappointed with this disc as there are no extras- just the film, and it's the Americanised dubbed version.However, what you get is an often hilarious romp with the large, badly costumed Kong and the always lovable Godzilla, doing a spot of toe-to-toe wrestling, trashing half of Tokyo as they go.

Th transfer is very good and the ratio is letterbox 1x2.35, not 1x1.78 as it states on the box and at 87 mins good fun.

My 3 year old daughter loved it so much, we're watching it again tonight! Thank her for the review title.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
Based on the title, you can tell I am a dedicated Godzilla Fan. I have watched this movie countless times and even today I still get a kick out of it. It was this movie that I started to take a liking to King Kong (I am one who didnt really enjoy the 1933 oringal King Kong movie) and I must say the scenes with Kong is so hilarious.

Those who watch monster movies in terms of plot may want to look elsewhere as true monster fans know that the reasons we watch this is because of the monster battles (what else?). The first meeting between Godzilla and King Kong is brief but I'm happy with the outcome!!

The second battle which lasts much longer is the best scene of the entire movie with both monsters at it, and for me its better than watching wrestling!! There are many questions that will get to you, such as Kong's Origin, Godzilla disliking electricity (thats weird considering Godzilla is meant to fuse with electricity), Kong being attracted to electricity (even weirder), but these can all be forgiven for, as the film was made back in 1963.

Overall, an excellent Godzilla movie with King Kong.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
By 1962 Godzilla's career had hit the rocks: he hadn't worked since 1955's Godzilla Raids Again had failed to set the box-office on fire, so it was a lucky break when King Kong animator Willis O'Brien's pitch for King Kong Vs. Frankenstein got picked up by Toho, who decided to give the local boy one more chance. Not only would King Kong Vs. Godzilla be the first time in color and CinemaScope for both beasts, but its popularity would propel a Godzilla revival as he worked his way back up through the ranks of monster mashes to stake his claim as Japan's favorite monster. Sadly, while it may have revived their careers, it's not an especially worthy vehicle for either star. Even in its original Japanese version this was played largely for easy laughs - one character has obviously spent a lot of time studying Edgar Kennedy's mannerisms while another sounds like he's dubbed by Ritzik from Sergeant Bilko ("Ooh! Oooh!"), and that's not mentioning dialogue like "You can't start shooting at Kong now - he's holding my sister in his hand!" or "King Kong can't make a monkey out of us."

The plot is nothing to write home about. After Godzilla breaks free of the ice he was trapped in back in 1955, the head of a pharmaceutical company hoping to market a giant berry with narcotic effects declares "I'm sick of Godzilla. I want my own monster! Find me a monster fast!" Luckily the same remote island the berries come from is the home of King Kong, who is worshipped by a tribe of Japanese actors in blackface speaking pigeon-English. After winning over the natives by giving them cigarettes (even the children), our comical capitalists capture Kong - but not until after he's battled a giant octopus - and plan to ship him back to Japan, which at least means that Kong aficionados finally get to see Kong being towed on the giant raft. Naturally things don't go well: Kong escapes and the two monsters find themselves on a collision course, with Tokyo the initial battleground before moving on to the countryside and a grand finale pepped up (in the US version at least) with earthquake footage from The Mysterians. The fight itself doesn't exactly live up to expectations or its billing as `The Battle of the Century!', but at least it got the big feller back in the game.

There were plans at one point to incorporate stop-motion effects into the film before time and money ruled that out, though judging by the couple of brief and ineffective moments of stop-motion animation in the film that's not a bad thing. Still, there's no hiding the fact that the Kong suit isn't one of Toho's finest achievements - aware that more suspension of disbelief was needed than normal, they used photos of the 1933 Kong to promote the movie. There's also some very clumsy integration of the human characters and the battling monsters, the clumsy color separation and superimposition constantly turning foreground figures into blue silhouettes. The optical printing is reportedly slightly better in the Japanese version but unfortunately the only version available on DVD to non-Japanese audiences is the heavily Americanized version, which not only deletes large chunks of the original and replaces Akiro Ifukube's score with selections from The Creature From The Black Lagoon and other 50s Universal monster movies but also stops the action dead for long stretches with wildly overlong newly shot and very static sequences with Michael Keith's UN reporter and Gig Young impersonator commenting on the action from the studio while Harry Holcombe's dinosaur expert describes Godzilla as a cross between a Tyrannosaurus Rex (which he demonstrates by holding up a picture of an Allosaurus) and a Stegasaurus with a brain the size of a berry. Even the actors can't get up much enthusiasm: when Keith asks "How does that sound in Tokyo?" a deeply unimpressed Japanese newsreader replies "Not very good."

Universal's region-free US Blu-ray release offers a for the most part improved widescreen transfer, though there's a bit of noticeable haloing die to edge enhancement in some shots and some stock footage shots look particularly shoddy when compared to the clarity of the scenes on the island. As with the DVD, it's only the American version with no extras. (The uncut Japanese version has recently been released on DVD in Germany, but does not have English subtitles.)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
This classic movie now comes to blu-ray is it worth an upgrade if you have the dvd well yes and no.If you have a projector and need a nice in focus picture due to your larger picture the answer is yes but if you are watching on tv i would say no.Now about the disc itself the sound is very good as is the picture the col is nice and rich the trouble with this disc is the movie is shown in the wrong format what you get here is a movie that was shot in full scope but on the disc we get a widescreen format which makes it just a little better than pan and scan.The second thing is there is no extras on this disc at all not even a trailer which is a great shame as i have it on 16mm and its a classic.As i have said many times we are not getting the best of blu-ray with these movie only discs but we seem to be getting more and more of them from the so called big companys like UNIVERSAL etc yet a small company like ARROW are showing the big boys how it should be done.One last thing UNIVERSAL have also brought out the follow up on blu-ray KING KONG ESCAPES which also is a movie only disc with good col and sound but also in the wrong format and no extras come on UNIVERSAL you can do better than this
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2009
I remember seeing this as a kid.Now all those years later it seems slightly different. How on earth did RKO let this version of Kong reach the screen.
I began to worry when I first set eyes on the space station. Gerry Anderson should be so proud of his achievments. This stuff is amateur towards his offerings. The giant octopus is another awe inspiring moment. I get the feeling the special effects involved a projection screen and some matchsticks. But the greatest scene is the recreation of the empire state building moment from the original kong move. All in all, the badness of this movie makes it an essential buy. Do it NOW!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 March 2016
Just beefing out my classic-monster movie collection and had to get this. Two creature titans of cinema battling it out among themselves and still managing some healthy city-destruction with a so-bad-it's-good backdrop of Blue Peter style 'special effects' and set-pieces? Yes please. Throw in some insane dubbing and the hilarious magic of Godzilla doing his cheap-toy arm freak out each time he's angry or about to kick off while a sometimes terrifyingly bad King Kong suit stumbles around throwing rocks clumsily and you have a real winner here which really did have me in stitches more often than it should have done.

This is the simple story of Godzilla being released accidentally from his iceberg prison at the same time that King Kong has been uncovered on a remote island where a pharmaceutical rep has discovered some very magic berries with some very magical properties that encourage super growth. A plot is then developed that the two can be used to destroy each other,rather than risk having either destroy humanity and so the battle begins.

Some of the classic, corny dialogue is just perfect, hilarious and can only work in a classic setting like this with some brilliant one-liners which are hard to remove from your brain afterwards and the plot and story most definitely become secondary to this and the very poor but classic creature-feature effects. This is the Americanised version of the Japanese original with some wild dubbing throughout and all the more terrible/better for it.

The sound is good, the picture is good and it's a rare occurrence where you are putting a DVD in and just playing it - no trailers, no extras, nothing, which didn't bother me in the slightest as this was all about seeing the big guys in their early incarnations battling it out and anyone who's seen the recent remake of Godzilla will spot one or two scenes which have very clearly been an inspiration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
King Kong and Godzilla are quite possibly the 2 most famous and iconic monsters ever in the history of Kaiju movies, so well done to Toho for coming up with this idea. despite the fact I have watched this many times, I still rooted for Godzilla, even though I knew that Kong wins, although that is subjective, because we hear Godzillas roar at the end, even if we don,t see him.

there is a mistaken believe that there are 2 separate endings to this movie, with Kong winning in the American dubbed version and Godzilla winning in the original Japanese version, but this is wrong, Kong wins in both, which is a strange decision by Toho if you ask me. Kong and Zilla square off twice, although the first round is very short and goes to Godzilla, with Kong retreating in shame. the second fight is longer and better with Godzilla once again having the upper hand, until a convenient lightning storm hits Kong and makes him stronger, apparently electricity makes Kong stronger!!! who would have guessed?

from then, its pretty much even between the 2, until they wrestle each other into the ocean, with Kong emerging, and swimming back home to his island. classic movie which hasn,t lost its charm even in this age of cinematic blockbusters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the US cut of the film where the stale mate at the end swings King Kong's way. Interpret it how you like however - I don't see King Kong's roar as a victorious roar - more of a defeated whimper (I'm more of a Godzilla fan than a KK fan!).

This was reviewed as part of my "Godzilla 28 Movie Challenge" on CultKingdom.net. It’s the 60s now – gone are the grainy black white Kaiju movies, we finally get to see Godzilla in glorious colour - the best way to see a giant grey monster!

A shift to full colour isn’t the only noticeable change here, the film kicks off in a lighthearted way as a Pharmaceutical exec expresses frustration at the dull programmes they are sponsoring on television, there’s even classic physical humour when he picks up the phone and holds it the wrong way round. It might not be laugh-out-loud slapstick comedy, but it’s obvious within the first few moments that the more serious anti-nuclear message of the first two films have now given way to light family entertainment.

Two separate storylines lead us to two separate monsters, a convergence of plots gives us the chance to see them do battle. King Kong is ‘found’ by an expedition funded by Pacific Pharmaceuticals in an attempt to find something exciting to film so that they can advertise the red fruit which grows on the remote Pharaoh Island. The island is populated by natives which are depicted as simplistic folk succumbing to the usual racial stereotyping (primitive technology, chanting and ‘blacking up’ to look a bit ‘tribal’) – but this was the 1960s and you simply have to accept that times are now thankfully more enlightened. The camera does tend to linger longer on one lady more than any other tribe member, clearly her jiggling ‘assets’ were deemed to be perfect for the big screen!

Kong may be massive, but thankfully the red berry juice on the Island sends him to sleep, and during peaceful slumber he is transported to a huge raft and towed away for the purposes of creating marketing material.

We’re back to more familiar ground (or should that be water?) pretty quickly though as an American Submarine investigates a “warm current running in the Arctic sea” and observes a glowing glacier. There’s some slow dialogue and thoughtful nodding of heads as the crew watch the phenomena on screen. True to the hastily-accepted-and-never-questioned science we’ve already enjoyed in Godzilla films, the sub dives after stating the light must be generated by some kind of nuclear reactor, though to be fair – there is a Geiger response too to support the nuclear theory. It’s not long before we hear a familiar roar.

Ishiro Honda is back as director (making this his second Godzilla film after the original Gojira) and although the film doesn’t take itself too seriously, the actual monster action is not done in a silly way. Honda would later express regret that Godzilla and his monster peers became almost like live-action cartoons and believed they should be intimidating and able to cause a scare. While the Pharmaceutical Industry executive (Mr. Tako) is pratfalling, gurning funny expressions and over-reacting in hilarious ways, the monsters are treated with respect and although Godzilla has adopted an excitable hand clap – it’s probably more to do with the limited movement of the suit ensuring that it’s the only real way to physically react rather than a method to inject humour.

There are some regrettably poor King Kong moments (more about those in a moment) but by enabling the two stars to exist as destructive forces rather than comedy buffoons, the film is saved from being a cheap parody of the genre. The fighting is different to what we saw between Godzilla and Angilas in ‘Raids Again, with 2 bi-pedal creatures we get fighting more akin to wrestling as the two titans grapple and throw each other. Godzilla is bigger and has atomic breath, in order to level the playing field – Kong gains energy from electricity, and thankfully for him there’s a convenient thunderstorm during their showdown. It has to be noted that King Kong uprooting a tree and forcibly ramming into Godzilla’s mouth is one of my favourite moments in this film!

As well as traditional suitmation we see some puppet work and a brief moment of stop motion as Godzilla jumps and kicks King King. That moment of stop motion looks a bit dodgy, mainly because it looks so different and the sudden change in style is jarring. I love stop-motion and the stills below show that the models are very detailed (I'd love to have them on display), but the aesthetic shift is too obvious in the film.

There is a scene late on in the film where we see what looks like 2 handheld static models being held to depict them fighting in the distance, and it does look like someone playing with 2 action figures!

As the Godzilla suit changes through the films, I’d like to look at some of the changes in this film. Due to the nature of the picture difference (this was Godzilla’s first colour movie), the suit detail is much more obvious. The softness of the first two films along with the black & white masking some flaws gives a genuine charm and a unique look to Godzilla. In the last film we saw Godzilla slim down a tad, in King Kong Vs Godzilla the most obvious differences are the bulking out of Godzilla’s lower half which makes him look more balanced, larger more emotive eyes, and the loss of those massive teeth which stuck out at strange angles. His ears have been removed and the eyes are more side facing than before.

It’s a great suit which seems to allow for good movement. The spikes are well pronounced and walking doesn’t look like a lumbering chore. The tail is more animated too and we see it hovering above the ground rather than being dragged behind him.

As for Kong, well…

…I’m not a fan of the King Kong suit. However the close ups of the head during the giant octopus face hugging scene (which would have given Ridley Scott a run for his money) look pretty good. The face is a little lumpy and bumpy but the lips and teeth look menacing and the moving eyes give personality.

The rest of the suit is poor though, the nipples are quite high up and in wide shots the head is generally non-expressive with milky eyes. My main issue is with the arms though. Depending on the scene, there are different arms and it’s really obvious. Regular length arms are used when Kong has to use his hands to pick things up, but in most shots he has longer more gorilla-like arms which just swing about like useless extensions. They look really awkward and pretty cheap. Some of the images below show how unwieldy they are at times, they distract from everything else because they look so uselessly cumbersome.

The fact is that King Kong was the star of the film, he was much better known internationally and bigger (pardon the pun) in Japan than Godzilla was at the time. This was his first colour movie too. Godzilla was still seen as a ‘baddie’ at the time with Kong possessing some humanlike qualities and is effectively a victim in the film who was simply reacting to being displaced. Given Kong’s celebrity status (he’d been a famous figure for 30 years) it’s surprising to see such a shabby suit which looks pathetic compared to the stop motion effects of the 1933 movie. It was nice to see some nods to the original King Kong film though, at one stage he holds a girl in his arm while climbing a building – it’s not quite Fay Wray and the Empire State Building, but the parallels are obvious. Speaking of nods to the previous films – Godzilla is discovered trapped in an iceberg, this ties in nicely with Godzilla Raids Again when he was buried in Ice. Always great to see continuity!

Tsuburaya is able to continue his usual high standards of visual effects. Model work impresses (as usual) with some buildings looking intricately detailed. There are scenes involving a military base which look particularly good.

Some of the camera angles really help to make the model scenes look realistic and the building site is the most authentic looking model set-up of the film and one of the best of this era.

Most of the monster action takes place away from the metropolis though and so we see more rolling on sandy earth than crashing through buildings! Ifukube’s music (which was missing from the second film) is back and it really adds to the tension. I watched both American and Japanese edits of this film, although the American version doctors the film it actually does an impressive job of marrying together new and existing footage – but the main thing it lacks is the original score. After watching both variations of the same scenes, the Japanese original has a better ‘feel’ to it, more suspense and atmosphere thanks to the incredible soundtrack, especially Godzilla’s theme.

This is a much more fun film than the previous two. Whereas the first two films were born from the shade of war, nuclear warfare casts little shadow here. As I mentioned previously, the human cast provide comedic moments throughout (who has the bigger steak?!!) and Mr. Tako is a walking caricature. There does seem to be a drop in quality but this feels like a very different film belonging to a different genre, it’s not horror, it’s family entertainment and it succeeds in that arena. This is the turning point for Godzilla, it finds a new audience here and whether it’s the change in tone or the draw of King Kong, this was a very successful film financially and a game-changer for Toho. Inspired by the cinema takings, it was decided to build on the success and create a series of films, although a direct sequel was dropped, a range of new monsters were created and from 1964 – 1975 there would be a dozen more Godzilla films. Toy action figures and a progressively more child-focused approach tapped into new demographics for Godzilla.

_________________________________________________________________

Cult Kingdom rating: 3/5

Considering this is King Kong’s first outing in full colour, he’d never looked so poor. As a Godzilla fan though, the Big G looks pretty awesome and this is the film which established the idea of a Godzilla film franchise. I liked the serious nature of the first film, it wasn’t as strong in the second. Seven years later in the third installment, the political references and post-war cultural impact has been replaced with sheer entertainment. There is an element of corporate satire here, but essentially it’s a fun film where a giant gorilla fights a giant, atomic reptile. It’s time to surrender to spectacle and silliness, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
This DVD only features the dubbed English version of the film featuring alternative footage and re-cycled music from The Wolf Man and Creature from the Black Lagoon which doesn't really fit the film. There are no special features either, this wouldn't really bother me if the Original Japanese version was included or even if it was the only one included. As far as I know the Japanese version has not been released on DVD yet so they need to get it done.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 June 2008
King Kong vs Godzilla - the title says it all. Godzilla (the bad guy in this film) takes on King Kong. I won't go into plot details and ruin it for you. The film is presented in 2.35 ratio and the print is excellent. This dvd contains the American version. It would have been nice to see the Japanese version too. I have never seen that version but apparantly the ending is slightly different with a different victor - I won't say who. Some extras would have been nice. Still, for less than £5 you can't complain too much. It would be nice to see some more classic Godzilla films released over here. But for now you will have to make do with the American or Australian releases.
22 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.