Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chessmaster rocks
I learnt how to play chess years ago as a child but in recent years I haven't found opponents to play. This game is perfect for people who haven't played for years and are rusty and for complete beginners and those who play very well. You can choose to play at any level to suit yourself. The game has many, many personalities with differing levels from complete novice to...
Published on 28 Sept. 2007 by C. Leppington

versus
59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major Problem...
I bought this software when I first started to play chess. It's good, it's very easy to use and has lots of help for people first starting out.

For example there are topics covering how the pieces move, simple tactics (forks, pins and skewers) and some opening and endgame theory. The amount of lessons you get for the price make this software a must for someone...
Published on 16 Feb. 2008 by SebEd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chessmaster rocks, 28 Sept. 2007
By 
C. Leppington (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
I learnt how to play chess years ago as a child but in recent years I haven't found opponents to play. This game is perfect for people who haven't played for years and are rusty and for complete beginners and those who play very well. You can choose to play at any level to suit yourself. The game has many, many personalities with differing levels from complete novice to world champions. The personalities of the great chess masters are included and Shakespeare, interestingly. The tutorials include voice overs from real Chess champions and have puzzles and exercises to solve. The tutorials greatly helped and improved my game, openings are explained, tactics and endgame. There's scope to play this game for years. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Major Problem..., 16 Feb. 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
I bought this software when I first started to play chess. It's good, it's very easy to use and has lots of help for people first starting out.

For example there are topics covering how the pieces move, simple tactics (forks, pins and skewers) and some opening and endgame theory. The amount of lessons you get for the price make this software a must for someone who wants to start out and if you are looking for sofware for children it is good for that too as the childrens corner is designed with children in mind (even the set's are quite funny to watch as they attack each other with magic and the like).

But there is a problem...
When you play against the computer it has various levels of strength from about 1 to about 3000. (This should pretty much cover most players!) This would be a great thing if they were realistic. I have found that while playing any opponent they will blunder. It seems that the computer will adjust its playing strength simply by blundering more or less often and more or less severly. Now this may seem like a good way of doing it, because in life the weaker the player the more often they blunder and the more significant the mistake but it doesn't seem to be very accurate. I have played reasonably strong opponents and it has played very strongly, as expected, and then make a huge, probably resignable, blunder. I think that it would be better in your development as a player, and more importantly your enjoyment of the game if the computer just played at a certain level. Yes blunders happen in games but people also win purely by outplaying their opponents, a feature which does not appear to happen in this software.

A few other things to note:
1. If you play friendlies and then rated games the strength of the opponent appears to change (they get stronger) again this may be more "human" but the amount of increase is quite significant I find.

2. If you blunder it appears to play much much stronger! I admit that if you blunder you are playing a worse position but I am convinced it plays significantly above its own level when you make a mistake. This may seem like a good thing, i.e. it will teach you not to make mistakes, but it also implies that if you blunder the game is over which in real life is not always the truth (in fact there are ways of playing after a blunder to catch your opponent out!).

So in summary:
The software is very good for beginners, it is easy to use and understand and has a lot of support material to back it up. If you are above about 70-80ECF or 1300 I would suggest you look elsewhere. I think you would notice the feature I have mentioned with the somewhat variable playing strength and may get frustrated with the software.

I have given Chessmaster 10th Edition 2/5 as the beginners tools are very good and I have not seen any software that matches up with this (Fritz is too strong and complicated for a complete novice in my opinion). I am afraid that I cannot give it any more because of the previously mentioned problems I have discovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids who've got the chess bug, 6 Sept. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
I run chess clubs at primary schools, and have seen numerous players progress on to County, National and even International standard.

One thing they all have in common is that they either play chess with someone at home ... or play on Chessmaster (or sometimes both). There's nothing more pleasing to my ears than a child saying something like "Oh, I've already done skewers on Chessmaster", when you introduce the concept to a group - then being able to do all the puzzles you give them as well! The teaching material in the 'learn' section is excellent and the puzzle positions are well thought out.

In contrast, the puzzles in the 'fun' section seem to be randomly generated and often unhelpful. In many cases the move it's looking for (e.g. when the objective is 'find a pin') isn't the best move as there's a free queen or a forced checkmate available. I would leave these well alone. (NB: These are the puzzles in the Fun->Puzzles menu option, not those incorporated into the Fun->Learn basics section, which are good.)

Another observation some have made is that it makes some very odd moves when you play against it on its lower levels (though, to be fair, the kinds of things a complete beginner making random moves might come up with). I think that this isn't a problem if the child is already picking up how to play good moves from the Chessmaster lessons or from knowledgable players at a well-run chess club, but it would be very difficult for a child to pick up how to play well from playing against the low levels on Chessmaster alone.

My tips would be to use the 2D->Expert chess set settings most of the time, and to play as much as possible with the good sections outlined above (i.e. playing using the 'Play' mode, doing the 'Learn' section and doing the Fun->Learn basics section). I like how it's self-directed, i.e. kids can choose what they want to do each particular time they play with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 25 Dec. 2007
By 
C. J. W. Brown "cameron jw brown" (glasgow scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
Had Not played chess in long. I recently got a lap top and wanted a light game to run on it as the lap top is not a gammer. Was Hugly impressed with the volume of teaching and reasorces that i received for ten pounds!!!!! Have had no trouble With It crashing Or such like! Although It does goble up ram so i would run the program on its own if you are asking it to anylise chess positions!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As long as you like chess......., 14 Feb. 2007
By 
Mr. D. J. Read (Alnwick, Northumberland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
This is the pinnacle of Chess programmes. Obviously, if you don't like chess you probably wont go for it, but then if you're reading this review it is probably your cup of tea. But if you are a complete novice looking to learn and develop your chess ability, this is perfect. Forget reading a book on the subject, buy this.

It is difficult to rate graphics in a chess game, and a little pointless so I wont bother. What you will find here are a group of computer generated opponents covering the spectrum of abilities. So, from the strictly amateur to Grnadmasters, a challenge will be found here.

It has hints and tips to help you along, blunder alerts for beginners and of course a detailed explanation of the game for the uninitiated. The boards and pieces are rather pleasant, and some of the lessons are very useful. This is also at a ragian price so just snap it up right away, this is the best chess simulator on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good - but annoying faults., 25 Aug. 2008
By 
Mark Jones "catstye" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
A very good program, which I love using - but there are issues.

Minor fault
Some of the lower ranked 'opponants' on the program make some very strange moves - for example, sacrificing the Queen for no reason at all - when they are winning. This turns the game around immediately.

Major fault ......
The program sometimes calls a stalemate - (thus ending the game) when it is clearly not a stalemate. Quite often, this happens just as I'm about to call an extremely obvious checkmate.

Having said that, I would still recommend this program.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chess Academy with Josh Waitzkin, 27 Jun. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
I play on the internet with some American friend who advised me to buy this. I was so pleased to discover Josh Waitzkin Academy. He takes you by the hand and gives a full explanation with exercises about tactics and strategy. He alo has his own annotated games and a marvellous brief description of endgames. Some say it's for kids. I am a 65 year old kid! And I thotoughly enjoy watching and listening to Josh Waitzkin enthusiastic voice. He makes clear descriptions of tactics and strategy. He puts his examples that you have to work through yourself with hints. The solution are fully explained.
When you finish this Academy, there's another Academy too on Attacking chess.
There are fun games to play, puzzles, different fun sets and "the expert" black pieces on grey and black chess board> If you think chess is boring, then listen and be led by Josh's voice through the intricacies of tactics and strategy and become a better player..
The programme has the advantage of the audio. That's a definite plus over other programme. It makes it easy to understand, and gets you ready to play with a good standard. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but niggles, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. H. Steele (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
For the price, this is excellent value and has given me hours of fun. One minor glitch, when you click to exit the programme, it takes forever to go away. No doubt there is a way round this, however, as one who has had his three score and ten plus a handfull, my computer competance is not in the expert class.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 12 Nov. 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
Chess ought to be great fun as well as challenging and this is just that, fun and challenging. I have progressed as a player in the short time I have been using it and it a wonderful pastime brought to your PC. Simple and pleasurable for a beginner but you won't outgrow it as you get better. Firmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More system problems., 2 Dec. 2007
By 
Ruthie_M (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) (Video Game)
Chessmaster frequently slows and/or freezes my computer, despite my system exceeding the requirements stated on the box. The program appears to be significantly more resource hungry than the manufacturers believe, which is a disappointment as otherwise it's good software for chess beginners and experts alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM)
Chessmaster 10th Edition (PC DVD-ROM) by Focus Multimedia Ltd (Windows 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews