Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (296)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Super Mario Bros
I think that the majority of gamers, whether old or new, are aware of the classic masterpiece, Mario Bros. But whilst the original Mario bros series was one of the most addictive, memorable selection of games in history, is it really necessary to meddle by releasing a new, updated one?
Turns out yes... yes it is.

When playing new Mario bros, it's apparent...
Published on 16 May 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Great!
As the foundation for the New Super Mario Bros. series, this didn't set a flawless example for a new series of Platformers, it's good overall, but there are a few things that sit entirely right with me, for one, the level design does seem very odd, it seems to be sluggish & clunkey, the same with the controls, the collectables (i.e, star coins) are really badly hidden,...
Published 16 months ago by TM Bysouth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 19 April 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
New super mario bros is one of those games that you need to complete your games collection. Now, I have never played the original mario games (except for the first two super mario games on the old GameBoy) and this game relit my Nintendo fire.

After they stopped GameBoy, I turned to PlayStation but came but heard of the DS and got one in '06. Now my collection is over half mario and I'm waiting for 'Galaxy on the Wii.

This game mixes a great side-scrolling platformer with the superb capabilities of the DS. The main story takes about two weeks with two hours a day of playing. The mini games are what make it full though. Great mini games help make for a great game in my opinion.

Do multiplayer and you can have even more of the fun!

A must have for any gamer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a look but don't get your hopes up too high., 29 April 2007
By 
Alastair Mitchell (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
16 years ago Nintendo released Super Mario Brothers and it was a fun simple game, 16 years later they release New Super Marios Brothers which doesn't change much. It took over a major graphically change and a few minor gameplay changes.

The story stay mainly the same, Bowser has kidnapped the Princess and it's up to you to get her back again. The levels in New Super Mario Brothers have many references to the previous game. There are 8 worlds with different geographical settings - e.g. Snow land, Cloud land - each with around 10 levels and 2 bosses. You could finish this game in under 5 hours. Nintendo have failed to put any good reply value in this game as you can play the game hundreds of times and you will still play it the very same each time. The closest thing they did was to collect 3 coins from each level, these coins can be spent on new path ways and background images. There are no unlockable mini-games or characters leaving the player very unrewarded. Don't get me wrong however I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with New Super Mario Brothers.

The colourful detailed graphics brought Super Mario Brothers to modern day gaming beautifully and could easily be on of the best looking DS game around at the moment. Though close up you can see that Mario uses only a few pixels and leave it very weird squarey look too it. It has very Mario styled music and sound effects and has the original 'end of level' sound effect if you complete a level with a certain amount of time left. The sound effects do not get too repetitive and i ended up not noticing them.

Once you have completed this game you will expect there to be more mini-games to be played etc. but almost all of the mini-games came straight from Super Mario 64 DS and was kinda lame when i found i'd played these already and my high scores were on the other game. You will most likely decide to trade in or sell this game once your finished with it because of the lack of end of game features. There is a very fun fast paced multi player, this is off line and for 2 players only. One of the mini-game features there are is that they can be played up to 4 player.

New Super Mario Brother has it's problems but when you get down to it, it's a fun adaptation of the original Super Mario Brothers and well worth a look but don't get your expectations up too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New super Mario bros. /Mario Returns?!, 15 Sep 2006
By 
.. (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Ive played the old super Mario Bros. and its really good i love the music that classic du du du i will never forget that.But this new Mario bros is not quite as good as the original but still as good this offers a lot more gameplay thou with hundreds of coins to collect its quite an easy game to play as i 100% completed with all spent at the bottom of my screen and new backgrounds to unlock,but then im a technical genius in computing and gaming.Still if you are new to the DS this is a great little game for new gamers with loads of cool new things to offer like mini Mario with his massive jump that wonders and MEGA Mario that mostly destroys alot of the screen,Shell Mario is good if you run fast enough you actually turn into a shell and slide all over the places hitting everything in your path.Id advise Mega Mario in the open air mini Mario underground and Shell Mario in the water.And obviously Fire Mario is still there not as good at swimming thou.Also if you want at the begining you can play as Luigi throughout the whole game. And Finally when you have completed the game you can rack up some high scores on the Mini games which are really quite good. Another cool thing is when you shut the lid in mid game he goes byebye in his mario italian voice and when you lift the lid up he says its a me Mario, how cool is that fo Mario to talk like that. Overall this is a really good cool game with spruced up graphics and funky music but not much replay value once completed still good though so get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant all round (age 11), 12 July 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
it is really fun.I definitely recommend this to all ages.
it has quick multi for two -4 players

mario and luigi go to lots of different backgrounds and terrains.
Classic mario game all the usualls plus more.Very well made.

Boy Age 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
good game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario beats any game out there!!, 24 Aug 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Me and my boyfriend bought a nintendo ds just for mario! Its such a good game, never a dull moment.
I recommend it to anyone, its not just the main game that is great its also the mini-games too.
GO AND BUY IT NOW!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun game with some very good mini games., 14 Feb 2007
By 
Florencium - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got this game a few weeks ago. It is very good with some very good minigames such as a game where moles and Luighs appear from the ground. You have to hit the moles while avoiding hitting the luighs. The only downside is that a lot of the minigames are also on 'Super Mario 64 Ds'.

The main game is really fun as well. It's not to hard and not to easy. Overall a good mario game as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant for ages about 3 to 12!!, 13 April 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The super mario bros game is great. It has eight worlds and lots of levels and if you want a break it has mini games to play it has single and multi card download. To be honest it starts pretty easy but some levels are hard. Just because it may look slightly babyish it still is quite fun for ages 3 to 12. Over all i think the super mario bros game is the best game I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario lovers game, 11 April 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a great game if you are a mario fan! This never loses it's style. I found this quite easy to complete but the mini games are fantastic and you will want to play it again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS)
New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£26.17
Usually dispatched within 4 to 5 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews