Customer Reviews


450 Reviews
5 star:
 (356)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letsa Go!
The Mario franchise is one of the most beloved and respected within the gaming world with it's bright,camp,colourful and totally addictive game play with more prequels,sequels and spin-offs you can shake a stick at. Super Mario Bros. DS is a great game when I first got my DS this came with it. I was slightly disappointed I gotta say I actually thought this was just a...
Published on 5 Jun. 2007 by Phill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A review of "New Super Mario Bros." in 2012
A review of "New Super Mario Bros." in 2012, by necessary, cannot be the same as a review of the same game in 2006. Too much has changed, and the Mario series has entered into some strange times.

First off, part of the impact of "New Super Mario Bros." is it was the first 2D Mario game in fourteen years, which was so much of the appeal of this game. Fourteen...
Published on 30 Nov. 2012 by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

96 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Letsa Go!, 5 Jun. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
The Mario franchise is one of the most beloved and respected within the gaming world with it's bright,camp,colourful and totally addictive game play with more prequels,sequels and spin-offs you can shake a stick at. Super Mario Bros. DS is a great game when I first got my DS this came with it. I was slightly disappointed I gotta say I actually thought this was just a remake but I got more and more into the game and totally fell in love with it I loved the genius of using the generic 2D formula with the 3d twist which is utterly gorgeous. As always moving further into the game is gains increasingly difficult once i got to world 8 and defeated Bowser for the umpteenth time over the last 15 years I realized I missed two of the stages worlds 4 & 7 I grew increasing frustrated with not knowing how to unlock them cut a long story short and managed to get them up and was satisfied.

After the I had completely finished the game with all gold star coins acquired I checked out the mini games not really expecting much and found myself playing them for hours on end totally unlike me the one that got me addicted was the poker game which a card game I love one night i found myself glancing at the clock one night and seeing 4:21am I kinda knew it was time to stop.

Kids won't just love this I'm 21 and I got my mum into this, my brother and a few of my cousins who all have DS' and occasionally play against each other in the Vs. mode.

I recommend this to anyone who loves Mario, new people to the wonderful DS and anyone else who want's to give it a go.

Graphics: 10/10

Story: 5/10

Gameplay: 10/10

Extras: 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Super Mario Bros, 16 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I think that the majority of gamers, whether old or new, are aware of the classic masterpiece, Mario Bros. But whilst the original Mario bros series was one of the most addictive, memorable selection of games in history, is it really necessary to meddle by releasing a new, updated one?
Turns out yes... yes it is.

When playing new Mario bros, it's apparent that whilst tons of new little features have been added, it's essentially a 3D homage to the original games. The new features are great fun however, with plenty of new items (the massive mushroom rules!), some new enemies, wireless multiplayer and a decent amount of mini-games to play around with (both in single and multiplayer).
Story-wise, they've definitely kept it old school: Peach gets kidnapped, you go after her. That's it. That's all it needs to be.

So essentially, the gameplay is exactly the same as older games. It's a side scrolling platformer where you've got to fight your way through worlds by completing a number of stages. The stages range from 30 seconds to around two minutes, and whilst that may not sound like much, there are over 50 stages, each one different in their own little way.

The graphics are great, mixing the original 2D visuals with 3D characters. Also, Mario's movements have changed a little. Various little animations, such as the triple jump from Mario 64, and jumping up walls from Super Mario Sunshine have been integrated, which adds just that little extra depth to levels, allowing for a variety of new platforming possibilities.

So is it worth getting? Yup. There's no reason not to really. It's a fun, addictive game. A retro remake done correctly! Which is a rare and wonderful thing!
The single player's lengthy, and there's definitely replay value... whether it's because you want to unlock the different routes through the worlds by collecting Star Coins, or play the mini-games, or cause you're bored, there are plenty of reasons why you'll be playing this game for quite awhile.

The Good: Addictive and fun - Doesn't stray from the Mario formula, but adds lots of new features - Plenty to do!

The Bad: If you don't like the original games, then you wouldn't like this.

VERDICT: The Mario Bro's return with an essential DS game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mario's new adventure, 20 Dec. 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is amazing. Believe me. It is original Mario for the ds. Single player is ace and you wouldn't believe it but multi player works very well. The new power-ups are good, graphics are a combo of 2d and 3d and overall is better than anything you've played. Get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a super game, 19 April 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Despite the sort of weird title, New Super Mario Bros. is exactly what it sounds like. It's a new Super Mario Bros. game that pulls off the series' classic 2D, side-scrolling gameplay without feeling contrived or like a needless nostalgia trip. While there's plenty of old memories referenced in this game, it is most definitely new. You rarely see 2D platformers at all these days, and it's even rarer when it's done right. While experienced players might blow through the game quickly, New Super Mario Bros. is still completely awesome and absolutely necessary.

Mario's got more than enough moves to deal with his enemies.
The story is simple, provides just enough to get you going, then gets out of the way. Bowser Jr. kidnaps the princess, and Mario needs to save her by running to the right and jumping on the heads of his enemies. You'll cruise through up to eight worlds in the game, though the occasional use of Super Mario World-like secret exits and a few alternate paths mean that you'll only really have to play through six of those worlds. Of course, the quality of the levels means that you'll probably want to go back and see everything there is to see, but if you're bent on blazing through the game, you could burn up the minimum number of levels in a day or two.

You'll get a full SMB-like variety in the game's levels and worlds, including underground and undersea levels, as well as an ice world, a desert, a few forced-scrolling levels that may make you lose it, and so on. The visuals are fantastic, simultaneously reminding you of the older games while using polygonal graphics and effects very well, making the levels and characters all look really, really impressive.

The level design in the game is great, taking advantage of Mario's moves in a few key spots. Mario's move list isn't terribly deep, but he's got more than enough to get by. The game reverts all the way back to the NES games' two-button control scheme. One button jumps, while the other runs when you hold it down and shoots fireballs when you're equipped with that ability. The game includes some of Mario's 3D platforming acrobatics from Super Mario 64, too. You can cling to walls and slide down them or use them for wall jumps, which really comes in handy. Many of the game's secrets seem to be built on knowing exactly when and where to wall jump up to some otherwise-unreachable spot. You can push down on the D pad to execute a butt stomp, too, which is handy for busting through columns of blocks. The game's power-ups are roughly the same, too, though there are a few new options. The mega mushroom makes Mario grow to fill the screen, making him invincible for a short time and letting you just run right through obstacles. The mini mushroom makes you really small, letting you fit in a few tiny pipes. And the blue turtle shell lets you crouch and slide along like an empty shell, taking out enemies as you move. The new power-ups are interesting, but they don't really pop up very often, so you're usually just rolling with fireball power. Overall, the level of control you're given and the moves and power-ups at your disposal are put together very well and help make the game fun.

Fun, definitely, but not especially challenging. There are a few levels here and there that can get frustrating because they demand that you take your time, but for the most part, the individual levels feel a bit short, though there are plenty of them to go around. You'll get into several boss fights along the way, but some well-placed fireballs make quick work of your foe--and you keep facing the same foe over and over again in boss fights that feel like they were lifted directly from Super Mario Bros. 3, with some occasional twists that attempt to make the battles feel different. But you're really just trying to beat Bowser Jr. over and over again, usually by jumping on him unless you have fire power, making the boss fights pretty underwhelming. Though they're so short that they don't have much impact on the game one way or the other.

The initial single-player quest is the main chunk of the game, and it's the best part of the game, as well. But there are additional modes. There's a two-player Mario versus Luigi mode that puts you up against another player in a short level that wraps around. Big stars appear in the world, and you attempt to collect more than the other guy. If you can hit your opponent with fireballs, jump on his head, and so on, he'll drop stars. It's a fun little diversion. Also, the game has a mess of touch-screen minigames, just like the ones found in the DS remake of Super Mario 64. Some of these games are OK, but for the most part, they're a little tired.

Mario's main adventure is the real action here. The other stuff isn't quite as exciting.
The game really rides the nostalgia line very well. There's just enough old or remixed Mario music and sound effects in there to remind you of the older games, and there's just enough newer-sounding stuff to prevent the whole thing from feeling shameless. In short, the audio is another one of the game's many high points, containing plenty of great sound effects (both old and new) and the standard array of speech you've come to expect from Mario.

With its ability to recall the older games without leaning too heavily on its famous name, New Super Mario Bros. is an essential new classic that lives up to the legacy of the series quite well. If you're looking for a quality DS game, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NEW SUPER MARIO BROS RULE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 April 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
New super Mario bros is the best game ever,but it is REALLY fustrating when you die, but apart from that it's exellent.The story to it is Mario and Princess Peach go for a walk and then lightning strikes the castle so Mario rushes to put it out. When he turns round the Princess is gone [Kidnapped by Browser J.R ] so Mario has to find the Princess but he has to travel through many worlds to rescue her.

P.S once you get the hang of it it is REALLY easy
PP.S GOOD LUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A RETURN TO FORM, 27 Aug. 2006
By 
Alan Eccles (Wolverhampton, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
With all the emphasis on 3D immersive gaming I've been finding most modern video games lack the sense of fun of yesteryear. Now all that has changed with the release of New Super Mario Bros for DS.

Quite simply if you own a DS it is your right to buy this game. Some people will tell you it is too short - well yes it can be finished quickly - but that misses the whole point of the game. With many items to find and extra worlds to unlock not to mention the replayability of it all this game just won't disappoint.

Know someone who owns a DS? Know someone who loves video games? Or do you match this description yourself? If so just please buy it. This game deserves to be recognised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2 hours in and I still can't stop!, 27 Jun. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
What a great, retro way to start off your DS collection. The game itself is a great time-waster, the storyline being almost non-existent and all the gameplay being what you would full well expect, this game lives up to that! But, surprisingly, I could not care less! The graphics are surprisingly good for a 2006 DS game, and it still lives up to expectations 4 years on! The corny music is perfect and the characters and monsters are classic reminders of days spent on my old Gameboy colour yonks ago! What really made it great value for money though, was the 20+ mini-games! Me and my sister love these, and now she oh-so wishes her old DS didn't break on her a few months back! What I think in a nutshell: £20?! Bargain! Get this game! Although, try to buy it from the Amazon direct dealer and not one of the cheaper suppliers like I did. Either he sold me a damaged item, or the Royal Mail screwed up badly on delivery, tearing case and cover terribly. Not to fret though! I was sent a new case for my troubles with a photo-copied gameguide and cover! ;P Besides from that hiccup! 20+ Mini-games, a non-existent story line and superb, childish, comic gameplay for hours and hours of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb DS Game!, 12 July 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Graphics: Probably the best-looking DS game. The levels are bright, colourful and aren't blury like most DS games.
9/10

Sound: Nice bubbly music with basic Mario sound-effects.
8/10

Gameplay:So simple and easy to play
10/10

Long-Lasting: 9 Worlds packed with levels, loads of mini-games and lots of re-playability.
9/10

OVERALL:
9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps the little ones quiet!, 4 Nov. 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
We've bought several games for our son who owns a DS. He's only 6 and the youngest, but he has managed to play this game without any problems. He has advanced quite far into the game and it's one of his favourite DS games, in fact it's one of two that he takes on every long car journey. We will definitely be buying more Mario games, to go with Mario Kart (his other fave) and this one. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miss F A, 2 Oct. 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a really good game. I'd heard fab reviews on it so I bought it myself. It arrived quite slowly but I'd not picked express so nevermind.
At first, you watch a little video, explaining what's going on. Then you pick the first part of world one and carry on going. You can't change charactor, you have to be Mario, but then it makes sense. The games are mixed difficulty; some are easy and some are hard. It does get annoying because if you get stuck on a part of a world, you have to complete it before getting onto the next part. There are 8 worlds all together. In each world there is about 10 levels. Each world is set in a different place including, Desert, Space and a more homey setting. I wouldn't get this game if you get easily irritated with not being able to complete things easily. It's a good game to get you threw long journeys in the car, or just wanting to do something fun. You can also get games where you can play with another nintendo. In this, you can play minigames or Mario vs Luigi. Minigames are simply minigames where you play rounds with another person on another nintendo ds. You can play up to 3 other people on this (4 including yourself). I enjoy this as it is a laugh and a great amount of fun. Mario vs luigi is where you pick a setting (out of 5 different 1's) and you play against another nintendo by collecting stars, and making them lose. It's a competitive game and you easily get annoyed with the other person for getting something or making your person die, and go back to the begining. There's a short area for them to do what you aim for. In Mario vs Luigi you can only do 2 player. The good thing about multiplayer games is that you can connect to another nintendo person who doesn't have New Super Mario Bros. Overall this game is very good and I definately reccommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS)
New Super Mario Bros. (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
£22.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews