Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and entertaining film.
Aeon Flux is a film that was released last year starring Academy Award winning actress Charlize Theron.

A virus kills 99% of the world's population and a scientist called Trevor Goodchild develops a cure. 400 years later, the survivors live in the city of Bregna which lies inside large walls that nobody crosses. Some call Bregna the perfect society, pollution...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Andy

versus
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually amazing.
Aeon Flux is pretty well crafted. It's visually amazing with its stylised set design and Berlin locations and any movie that runs under 90 minutes gets my vote regardless. Unfortunately, as visually impressive as it is, Aeon Flux is also utterly cold. The characters are like ice, their motivations well plotted but unbelievable. There's not a single character you care...
Published on 2 Mar 2007 by Ian Armer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and entertaining film., 20 July 2006
By 
Andy "^_^" (Wirral, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Aeon Flux is a film that was released last year starring Academy Award winning actress Charlize Theron.

A virus kills 99% of the world's population and a scientist called Trevor Goodchild develops a cure. 400 years later, the survivors live in the city of Bregna which lies inside large walls that nobody crosses. Some call Bregna the perfect society, pollution is very low and the people seem to be very healthy and happy. But others notice things that others ignore, people go missing without explanation and people turn their back on it because they have total faith in their government, but others no better. A group of rebels emerge called the Monachans, as they attempt to overthrow the government, Aeon Flux (Charlize Theron) is their best hope of success.

The plot is surprisingly stronger than what I expected. It isn't anything original; everything has all been done before, it ticks all the boxes for what you would expect from a sci-fi movie, but this doesn't make it bad at all. Along the way there are some genuinely surprising twists in the storyline that keep you interested, and the settings are all fantastic so you really do feel linked to the world they are living in. Again the story has its down sides, it is vaguely told and it often tails off on itself making you fill in the blanks.

The characters in Aeon Flux are great. The costumes range from being eccentric to the truly bizarre. Character development is quite weak even Aeon is a little wooden, although Charlize puts up another great performance. I have already mentioned that the setting are very good, they actually remind me a lot of the locations in the Star Wars prequel trilogy. The action scenes are where this film shines, Charlize worked incredibly hard to achieve her athletic state in the film. 95% of the stunts are all her and after watching the extras on this DVD I now appreciate the action stunts even more. You have gun fights and the brilliant feminine, all acrobatic fighting style that Aeon Flux portrays, and the whole thing looks spectacular on camera. Backed up by a pretty slick soundtrack the action scenes are great fun.

The extras on the DVD contain so surprises but they are interesting if you enjoyed the film. 5 documentaries go into detail about how the film was put together in terms of location, the world they created and other things. The best of all is the stunts documentary because the wire work is amazing and Charlize is great at doing them!

As a whole Aeon Flux is very entertaining. A half-baked but fairly decent plot helps along the great action sequences. I do recommend this DVD because it's a very fun film and the extras are enjoyable as they add a layer of depth to the film. One more thing the DVD has a cool shiny case ^_^
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying but forgettable sci fi, 29 July 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
It's puzzling why this film was so derided on its original release. Clearly, it is not a classic, but it is enjoyable enough - one can only think that the media were out to get Charlize Theron after her recent Oscar win.

It is the future - a short time from now a disease wipes out 99% of the population, until Trevor Goodchild finds a cure. Now as the movie starts it is 400 years later and mankind is reduced to living in one walled city. However, there is unrest in this Eutopia and resistance has sprung up, of which Aeon is one. However, events unfold which lead her to question not just her orders but the truth of her very existence. It's a neat set up, and the story is not as trite as you might expect - it has some genuine unexpected directions and a satisfying conclusion.

If the movie has a flaw, it's that it fails to find much heart - the Eutopia is by its nature pristine and cool, but the acting seems to fall into the same trap so that we don't find much humanity to relate to. This future is not just cool but sexy too - almost like an updated version of the future seen in 'Logans Run'. If you have seen the trailer you might be tempted to see this as a special effects movie, but in fact the effects serve the story well.

All in all a satisfying tale, which is crisply photographed and has a cast and art direction which are very easy on the eye. I recommend it for an undemanding evenings entertainment where action is desired, but not at the expense of story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Visually amazing., 2 Mar 2007
By 
Ian Armer (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Aeon Flux is pretty well crafted. It's visually amazing with its stylised set design and Berlin locations and any movie that runs under 90 minutes gets my vote regardless. Unfortunately, as visually impressive as it is, Aeon Flux is also utterly cold. The characters are like ice, their motivations well plotted but unbelievable. There's not a single character you care about in the entire film. And all the slick design and action sequences in the world cannot lift it above the 'seen it all before' school of Hollywood filmmaking. A real shame, because some of the themes touched upon regarding mortality (literally 'touched upon' in about 30 seconds) would have made this a more interesting and involving tale.

On the plus side, it is exceptionally well made, abounding with visual ideas and possibly worth seeing if you are a filmmaker looking to pick up a few hints and tips.

An undemanding time waster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had a family once, 18 Jun 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I had a life.

Now all I have is a mission

The year is 2415; it has been seven generations since the industrial plague whipped out 99% of the people. The few remaining survivors are all huddled into one city with walls protecting them from what ever is outside. It is an ideal city of Bregna ran by Trevor Goodchild (Marton Csokas) and a council. And as with any such city there will always be rebels that thinks something is wrong with lack of freedom and mysterious disappearances. Aeon Flux (Charlize Theron) belongs to such an organization. Her mission as the most ept agent is to dispatch the so called benevolent ruler. Can she do this or will circumstances and chance encounters change the situation?

The film does not boast of any thing really extraordinary except maybe an exceptionally rich architectural back drop. Shot mostly in Berlin we see many popular places that for some reason they though would not be that familiar to the audience. Evidently they must not know how popular Berlin is, especially key locations. The original location on their wish list was Brasilia because of its 1050's futuristic look; however that proved to be economically unfeasible. See if you recognize Sans Souci, Potsdam built in 1745 by Frederick the Great, one of the world best know orangeries.

Although this movie had nothing extraordinary it is a perfect example of the genre and will hold your attention as you anticipate where they are going with the story. Only someone that anticipates that it will stick to the animated series may be disappointed.

The DVD rendering adds some background commentaries that make rewatching the film more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but not without flaws., 9 Jan 2009
By 
S. Varga "Darkwalker88" (caerleon, wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Aeon flux. It is a good film, but not without some flaws. The plot has been touched in many other reviews so I am not going to describe what the film is about.
The flaws are simple, you cannot connect emotionally with the characters, they are like ice. Having said that, there is a reason as to why this is. The studio cut a whole 30 mins of footage from this film, which according to the director destroyed the heart and soul of the film. It amazes me, the whole reason the studio hires directors is to make the film according to their vision, not for the studio to say it is too long and re-cut the film and make it worse and spoil the vision of the director.

I guarantee that if this film was restored to its original state in a directors cut, it would be getting much higher ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Why do I know you? Why?", 15 Oct 2007
By 
Sebastian Fernandez (Tampa, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
What a surprise this movie was! I never intended to watch this film, but when a friend lent me the DVD I decided to go ahead and try it out, expecting an action flick with a simple plot, and not much else. Instead I found a superb story with enough intrigue and suspense to keep our interest intact throughout its duration, and some nice action to boot.

The action takes place in the twenty-fifth century, 400 years after civilization was almost wiped out by a virus and only some survived thanks to a discovery by Trevor Goodchild. The survivors live in a fortified city called Bregna and are monitored at all times from a central command. There is a group, called Monicans, that believes that something is not right in this society, and they have sent Aeon to murder chairman Goodchild. Up to this point, it all looks like straightforward science fiction, but when Aeon and Goodchild meet, things will get complicated, and a rich and enthralling storyline surfaces.

There are several things I liked about this movie apart from its outstanding plot. The futuristic city presented in the film was craftily created, and I could not help feeling as if I was looking at a modern version of Ancient Rome. I also enjoyed the action scenes, which involve a considerable degree of acrobatic skill. In this sense, I would say that there were some similarities with "The Matrix", and even the story line can be thought of as comparable to this masterpiece. Finally, I think that Charlize Theron delivered a very good performance, which should put her in the short-list of successful female action figures, such as Lara Croft.

It is always great when I start watching a movie without any expectations of it being very good and I end up having one hell of a time. People that enjoy science fiction with a good amount of action and complex plots will definitely have a similar experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, but that doesn't mean it's a bad movie, 9 July 2006
By 
J. A. Van Garde (The Hague - Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
You will have to pay attention, but the story is actualy very good. So are the effects, acting and the way they filmed the movie. I admit, it's not for everyone. Meaning that it is not the average action/sf movie (although there is a lot of action here, and they captured it great). But we already have a lot of those. I found this movie very refreshing. It reminded me a little bit of the Matrix movies, but the feel is different. I don't agree with the bad reviews here, and the movie doesn't deserve this. Just because some people here don't understand the story, or are too lazy to think while watching a movie, doesn't mean it's bad. The scenery is great, and you can tell that they worked very hard to make the future tech in this movie something different than the average you see in films. If you are a sf reader and like sf movies, this one will make you very happy. And that is a promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SCI-FI action film worth watching once, 15 Oct 2006
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This is a clever adaptation of the MTV animated series.

I actually found it more plausible than the original, which is not saying much. In its favour, the action sequences are stunning, the film is visually very beautiful (this refers to both the sets and the lead star, Charlize Theron in the title role). The characters are also much more understandable and less morally ambiguous than the original, and the actors brought them to life quite well.

Against this film, the story is still pretty implausible and sometimes also hard to follow.

The story is set 500 years from now, after humanity was almost entirely wiped out by a virus in the early 21st century. We are told at the beginning that a Dr Goodchild found the cure which saved the human race from annihilation, and that 500 years later "the Goodchild regime" is still in power. After all that time there are still only 5 million people on earth, all in just one city. This may seem very strange but is one of those apparently unlikely things for which the plot does provide a reasonable, or at least internally consistent, explanation.

In the original MTV series there were two or more human nations and the "Monicans" were the inhabitants of a rival city: in this one there is only one city and "Monicans" like Aeon Flux are an underground resistance movement. In the original series, the head of state, Chairman Trevor Goodchild, had recently come to power by removing the elected leader, in the film he has been in office for a very long time - you'll have to watch it to find out just how long.

Aeon Flux is the principal Monican agent: shortly after the start of the film she gets orders to assassinate Chairman Goodchild. In the process of attempting this mission she finds that the regime holds secrets which are even stranger than she thought, and neither friends nor foe are who she thought they were.

Charlize Theron gets to wear some very strange outfits, although they are nothing like as indecent as the ones in the original series. She looks very good indeed in most of them but often the costumes just do not fit the missions she is carrying out.

For example, who in their right mind would send an agent on a secret mission wearing a bondage costume which will draw every male eye in a millisecond and looks like it belongs on a catwalk? And what kind of idiot would carry out a night-time infiltration mission to sabotage an ultra-high security installation wearing an all-white outfit ?

The movie also suffers in plausibility from the classic "Hollywood rules" of weapon accuracy and ammunition supply. Whenever the good guys fire a weapon they almost always hit what they are shooting at, but when either a bad guy or a computer controlled weapon system shoots at one of the heroes or heroines they almost always miss or hit a non-vital spot. And none of the good guys ever runs out of ammunition until a suitable point in the plot to show them changing a cartridge during a piece of dialogue.

Despite all these implausibilities the film can carry you along and I did enjoy watching it once. But it is probably a film to rent rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sci-fi action movies, 24 Jan 2013
By 
S. Wilme (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
The lovely Charlize Theron as a sci-fi action assassin. Such an under rated actress. Please compare to Monster. Now that's versatile! If you liked Elektra you'll love this too! I loved it and so did everyone who watched it with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Set, 8 Feb 2010
By 
J. Anderson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Aeon Flux is a very stylish film , underrated in my opinion. Charlize Theron acts amazingly and the special affects are vissually stunning. i would recommened this film if you liked the original series or ultraviolet as it is equally stylish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD]
Aeon Flux The Movie [DVD] by Charlize Theron (DVD - 2006)
2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews