Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And the nomination for best supporting actress is...
Having been hopelessly addicted to Buffy since Season 1, and having religiously watched every episode in sequence (which to date has cost me a fortune in videos and yet which has been worth every penny), I absolutely couldn't wait for Season 7. Having viewed it, I can sympathise with those viewers who found it less gripping or appealing than Seasons 2 or 3. By Season 6,...
Published on 4 Feb 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent season to end the series
Season 7 is a good end to the series.

It's main problem was that it came after the absolutely awful Season 6, meaning that it's impact was always going to be diminished no matter how good it was.

In the end, Season 7 did at least live up to expectations. The story-arc was engaging, the villain was convincing, the ending was sufficiently epic and the...
Published on 29 Jan 2012 by Moray Greig


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars And the nomination for best supporting actress is..., 4 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Having been hopelessly addicted to Buffy since Season 1, and having religiously watched every episode in sequence (which to date has cost me a fortune in videos and yet which has been worth every penny), I absolutely couldn't wait for Season 7. Having viewed it, I can sympathise with those viewers who found it less gripping or appealing than Seasons 2 or 3. By Season 6, Buffy is no longer a teenager and with maturity has come self-doubt, depression and a bleak view of her future - this theme continues in the early episodes of Season 7. However, as the season progresses Buffy's view on her purpose in life becomes clear once more, and she emerges as a true leader - no longer the lone warrior, who fights alongside her friends but without ever really trusting them to take control - but a leader who has the presence and abilities to bring out the very best in those around her. This is particularly evident in the character of Willow. While Sarah Michelle Gellar does a great job as Buffy, Alyson Hannigan is a truly exceptional actress who knocks the socks off her fellow cast members - no mean feat among so many talented actors. There is one particular scene which illustrates this to perfection. After Xander is injured, Willow goes to comfort him in the hospital, at first by chatting lightheartedly about his condition. She then gradually comes to a full realisation of the seriousness of the situation and begins to break down.. until finally, when Xander can bear it no more,she chokes back the tears. Alyson's reactions here are pretty damn perfect and she was not the only one crying when I watched it! I can honestly say that for true Buffy fans, this little scene alone, which lasts no more than a couple of minutes, and which does not move the plot forward particularly, is comparable to the very best of Buffy ... and that is probably the best compliment I can pay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goes out on a high, 10 May 2004
After the shockingly poor quality of most of season six, I was expecting season seven to be an equally huge disappointment. Season six had convinced me that the show should have died a graceful death at the end of season five, and I wasn't expecting to have my perception changed during its last season.
Season seven starts slowly, perhaps a little too slowly - but it builds to a fantastic and very satisfying climax. The progression from 'Sunnydale as normal' to the apocolyptic tenseness of the last few episodes is excellently paced for the most part. Really for the first time, we get to see the effect of the world-shattering importance of Buffy's work on the rest of the population. The stark emptiness of Sunnydale at the end is very effective, which contrasts sharply with the limited impact previous apocolypses have had on the 'ordinaries' of the town.
Seasons that followed the third have sometimes suffered from a lack of focus - in the first three seasons the High School was the center of the whole thing and the series concentrated on the high school experienced as viewed through the lense of supernatural phenomena. Other seasons have lacked this solid base of experience. Season seven deals with this by providing Buffy's house as a claustrophobic nexus - the hustle of the household acting as a counterpoint to the desolation of the town.
While the season has some weak moments - particularly relating to glaring plotholes and dangling storylines - it mostly serves as an excellent ending to Buffy's story on our screens. Episodes like 'Conversations with Dead People' and 'Storyteller' manage to transcend the plot and provide genuine insight into the characters involved. Spike's progression from demon with a chip to Angel-Lite has a cathartic conclusion, and the finale, while vaguely unsatisfying in certain respects, provides the closure that a series of this nature desperately needed after season six.
An excellent effort, and a fine way for Buffy to find her much needed rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, simply the best TV ever made., 11 Nov 2009
Buffy is not the sort of programming that would normally interest me. I like nice English girl-next-door types, so my intitial sight of Ms Gellar did not attract me.

However, surfing the TV channels one night I came across Buffy and lingered a while. I was hooked by the end of the episode.

I now own all seven series on DVD and I cannot wait for the (inevitable?) Bluray release. If I confess to watching all seven series five times it may give you some idea of the strength of my admiration for this production. And I am not easily pleased.

Ms Gellar is not just a pretty face. She can act big time. And the same goes for the entire cast. Yes, some of the characters are irritating in the extreme (I could have happily done without Jonathan...) but that's all part of the charm. The humour is razor sharp and the scriptwriting impeccable.

This isn't just a TV series, it's a gigantic milestone in TV and I have yet to see anything to equal it. The entire production team and cast should feel really proud of making something really special.

Anyway, I haven't time to sit here writing this. I'm overdue for another 'Buffython'.

PS: Hopelessly in love with 'Willow' by the way, and I'm far too old for that sort of thing......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy the Vampire Slayer : The show that Changed the World !, 26 Feb 2004
For years, Buffy the Vampire Slayer has become a show that devoted fans could take comfort in and love the whole year through. And, trust me, THIS YEAR IS NOT AN EXCEPTION!!!
The season starts quite slow, focusing on a different story per episode with momentous episodes such as :
SELFLESS (Roll on Anya!)
HIM (Up there with the funniest eps of all!)
and the magnificent CONVERSATIONS WITH DEAD PEOPLE
Episodes that do the shows acclaimed status proud!
There is an undertone throughout the first few eps of the season : An mysterious evil that cannot be beaten
This "all consuming" evil brings a number of it's henchmen to try to bring down our heroin including the Ubervamp,Caleb and Ashanti!!!
This season has many loved actors returning:
Faith, Giles, angel, Amy, Clem, Andrew, Jonathen, Warren, Glory, Adam, Drusilla, the mayor and the Master - the list is endless.
The plot twists continue to keep the watchers at the edge of their seats, and the humor in "Storyteller" can break even the hardest of souls.
Buffy the Vampire Slayer is played out in true JUSTICE. People that say that this season was pathetic obviously aren't as "great a Buffy fan" as they think. In the finale, Buffy finally finds peace with who she is, accepts that she's the slayer and Willow helps lift a burden off her shoulders that no one could expect
The last EVER epsiode is "Chosen", probably THE BEST way in which this show could end, Joss Whedon has made fans everywhere proud! There are deaths, twists, tears and joy
- But I'm not gonna break it 2 u how it ends,
your just gonna have to buy the DVD 2 find out!
Plus there's always bonus stuff
This much so far :
Featurettes :
Season 7 Overview – Buffy : Full Circle (36 minutes)
The Last Sundown (8 minutes, 43 seconds)
It’s always been about the Fans. (4 minutes, 23 seconds)
Buffy Wraps (5 minutes)
Generation S (8 minutes, 22 seconds)
Buffy 101 – Studying The Slayer (13 minutes, 55 seconds)
Easter Egg :
The Gift – montage (34 seconds)
Outakes :
Outtakes Reel (3 minutes, 17 seconds)
Commentaries :
“Lessons”
“Selfless”
“Conversations with Dead people” by Jane Espenson, Drew Goddard, Nick Marck, Tom Lenk and Danny Strong.
“The Killer In Me”
“Lies my Parents Told me” by Drew Goddard, David Fury, James Marsters and D.B. Woodside.
“Dirty Girls”
“Chosen” by Joss Whedon.
and hopefully more on the way
Slayers, ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mostly fabulous last season!!!, 22 July 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Unlike Season 6, which at times was a bit up and down and didn't seem to have any clear master plan; Season 7 had some real direction right from the first few episodes. All the potential slayers staying with Buffy, Willow dealing with her magic problems, the loss of Tara and moving on, Spike having a soul, Anya and Xander still ruffling each others feathers, Giles being more forceful and serious than ever, Faith back on the right side but still with her classic attitude, the addition of the son of a former slayer....the list goes on.

The "big bad" really is something to behold. "The First" offered so many fascinating story twists, appearing to people in various guises and allowing the viewer to see what was really going on inside the characters, and at the same time not exactly knowing how on earth Buffy and the gang could do anything about it.

Nathan Fillon as the creepy preacher guy Caleb, vessel of the First, was superb....he so provoked the viewer to hate him!!

The inclusion of Andrew as the only "trio" member left was obviously the comic relief character for the series, and although very irritating in the beginning, he becomes quite watchable.

When first viewing this series on TV, some of the episodes seemed to be just fill-ins until the storyline could move on, so it felt like it wasn't going anywhere. But watching the episodes close together as a whole on DVD, it all made sense and doesn't feel so frustrating.

The final episode is pure joy....and sadness. Amazing action and an excellent music score to express it. Every character played their part. Ultimately it's very sad....this is really the end of Buffy. What a way to go out though!

This DVD set has the usual good special features. Interesting commentaries, a couple of featurettes on the fandom of Buffy, and some outtakes...although again the outtakes only last 3 minutes and are a bit disappointing.

All in all, a superb and fitting finale season to Buffy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bring us Buffy: The Movie!!, 10 April 2004
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If your not familar with the story arc of this final series of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, it basically delves into the story of the slayer with Buffy's latest nemesis, the origins of evil, 'The First', hoping to eliminate the legacy of the slayer. With potential Slayers being killed the world over, they begin showing up at Buffy's where their only hope is to form an army against 'The First' and its minions.
As usual, Buffy never looked so good on DVD, with superior picture quality and sound, and in the usual letterbox format not seen on the US versions of Buffy.
The extras include the usual commentaries but this time four of Buffy's star contribute to some of them. These are Danny Strong (Jonathan) and Tom Lenk (Andrew) for 'Conversations with Dead People', James Marsters (Spike) for 'Lies My Parents Told Me' and Nicholas Brendon (Xander) for 'Dirty Girls'. I thought it was great to get these actors' insight into the making of these episodes.
The featurettes are a lengthy overview of Season 7 which is normal to a Buffy DVD boxset, interviews with some of the potentials, Joss Whedons' 10 favourite episodes, a featurette on the study of Buffy at University, a featurette entitle 'It's always been about the fans', an outtakes reel and an easter egg which is the 'previously on Buffy' montage seen in Season 5's 'The Gift' altho I was sure clips from ALL seasons have been integrated into it. I thought this was a really nice idea and addition to the set.
You really can't go wrong with this DVD set. The episodes were great, fair price and the extras are fantastic (and keep you entertained that little bit longer). For me, the much needed reappearance of Eliza Dushku as Faith made this season that little bit more likeable :-)
And so we salute Buffy, but hope that before long we might see a Sarah Michelle Gellar Buffy Movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans, 25 Oct 2004
By A Customer
The DVD set of Buffy Season Seven is beautifully presented (as are the previous 6 sets) and rounds off the series nicely.
While I love the series dearly, I do have to agree with a previous reviewer who said things had got a little tired by this point. While there were glimpses of the old magic (the episode 'Selfless', which showed Anya prior to her becoming a vengeance demon, was a particular highlight, and 'Chosen', the finale, was a very worthy ending), some of the episodes in the middle of the season dragged rather badly. However, it is our solemn duty as Buffy fans to overlook this ;-)
The featurettes are good and there are seven commentaries (some of which featured cast members, which I believe is a first for these sets). There is an Easter Egg of the montage from 'The Gift' which I'm sure is absolutely lovely (not that I've been able to find it - can anyone help? Please??).
Overall, while the season is not as good as the earlier ones, it is still better than the majority of TV shows these days, and I would not hesitate to recommend this DVD, especially now it has dropped in price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ~ THE END ~, 18 July 2008
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
we have had a fantastic ride through the years and now we come to a dramatic conclusion to the best television show ever created and it is on an epic scale!!!

Lessons-5/5
Beneath-4.5/5
Same Time,Same Place*-5/5-Willow returns!!!
Help-4/5
Selfless*-5/5-Anya...killer?!?
H!M-3/5-fun and very silly.
Conversations...*-5/5
Sleeper-5/5
Never Leave Me-5/5
Bring On The Night/Showtime*-5/5-on an epic scale,the Turok-Han is terrifying and a horrific creation.
Potential-4.5/5
The Killer In Me*-5/5-Willow turns into a killer!!!
First Date-5/5-loads of fun.
Get It Done-5/5-Buffy turns into a warrior.
Storyteller*-5/5-from Andrews perspective(yay).
Lies My Parents Told Me*-5/5-Fool for love for season 7.
Dirty Girls*-5/5-Faith makes a return...this time on the good side.
Empty Places-4/5-Calebs plans come to the fore.
Touched-4.5/5
End of Days-5/5-Angel makes a return.
CHOSEN**-5+/5-the big and epic end to the season which wraps everything up and leaves it open for more to come(read the season 8 comic books)or possibly a movie?!?it is an epic episode and it is classic.

its a drastic end to the show and it is a very strong and stable season to finish on with a great run of episodes...i love it as will you.

become a fan and buy all the seasons...NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

and bring it back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bouquets and brickbats, 13 Jun 2004
By A Customer
I really wanted to give 4 and a half stars for the DVD boxset itself. Mainly because the commentaries available on these discs cleared up a lot of questions regarding the final season and also for finally involving cast members on them.
I agree with the people who were most impressed with the early episodes. There are plenty of good pieces of acting/writing and action through 1-9 such as 'Help', wonderful performances and a great piece of writing in the character of Cassie. 'Selfless', a real joy for any Anya fan, 'Conversations with Dead People' again wonderful performances and strong writing, and later episodes such as 'Storyteller' with Andrew being his self-deluded best until the reality of having killed Jonathon finally comes home and "Lies My Parents Told Me" which has some very good emotional acting from D.B Woodside and James Marsters.
The later episodes that were based around the Potential Slayers and their importance in the story arc were definitely not the best. The two main problems seem to be that no-one could write any element of sympathetic characteristics for them and the actresses playing them seemed to be very inexperienced and some of them really are just bad character actors. All of which is a terrible shame because in the build up to the finale I just wanted them to die and get off the screen. Whether it was because of all the additional hassle of fitting in the Potential Slayers the plot and character consistency in later episodes seems very patchy, things like Willow's new relationship with Kennedy, The First's motives and behaviour and the series mythology all have elements of being messed around or tacked on with little logic.
Again with the last episode 'Chosen' I am in agreement with some other reviewers, it looked great with the sets and CGI and the core cast seemed to be doing their best but it didn't have nearly enough fully rounded emotional scenes going on and it made me wonder if there had been some heavy handed editing done.
Which is why the commentaries prove to be as interesting as they are, the ones including cast members tend towards a jokey and casual style with various little bits of anecdotes thrown in, which is true for the commentaries featuring Nicholas Brendon, Danny Strong and Tom Lenk. The one for 'Lies My Parents Told Me' with D.B Woodside and James Marsters does seem a bit more of an all-round group hug and praise session for various actors, which I guess is fair enough.
The most interesting two come from Joss Wheedon. Usually my favourite commentaries on any season disc come from him, he has a great relaxed and humourous style. Oh my though, whatever did happen to the poor fellow this time around. His comments this time lack his usual sarcastic flashes and just come out sounding really rather grumpy and sometimes bad tempered. It is worse on 'Chosen'. He sounds mortally tired and particularly defensive as he explains how very little time he had to shoot or use some actors, how much he had to cut from the episode and in a couple of really classic moments explains why Willow and Kennedy got to be a couple and admits that consistant characterisation was no longer a concern. All of which is very unconvincing indeed and leaves what was a pretty flat ending to the series as a bitter one instead. Definitely a case here of listen and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buffy goes out on TOP, 28 Sep 2004
By 
I don't know where all this rubbish is coming from but Buffy's seventh season was the best thing on during the 2002-03 season! Sure, maybe it wasn't quite the strongest season but it still managed to remember everything that was so great about the show. I've noticed a lot of people complaining about Buffy becoming becoming a horrible person - it happens. People become hardened by war, and I think that Joss and the writers showed that brilliantly. Spike's torment was understandable, and yes he did try to rape Buffy. But him trying to be good goes back to one of the core factors in the show: people might screw up and kill and stuff, but it's never too late, if you work together. We saw this in (i believe) the season highlight 'Selfless', when Anya was suffering as a vengeance demon. Her death in 'Chosen' was a sign that we can always make amends. Because, let's face it, what was Buffy always about? Fighting! Be it physically or emotionally, that's what it always was. It was about a woman who refused to be beaten by ANYONE, and the normal people who proved we all make a difference. Season 7 ended the show in a beautiful and sophisticated manner. Buffy ended with an excellent fight. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buffy the Vampire Slayer - Season 7 [DVD]
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews