Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Psychological Horror.....
THE OTHER is a cracking, and really rather scary early 70's horror film, one that concentrates on the cerebral rather than the visceral, and is all the better for it. The story of strange goings on around a Connecticut farm in the 1930's, this film makes full use of its twin stars the Udvarnoky brothers to build up the tension throughout its 96 minute length...
Published on 5 May 2006 by Mr. P. Birtwistle

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not 5 stars, not even close
I decided to give this film a go after reading the very positive reviews on here. Personally I found it quite disappointing. The big "twist" in the middle was so clearly telegraphed right from the start of the film that it came as no surprise. However there's no doubt that the boy Niles is a character capable of some quite surprising acts and I admit I was a quite taken...
Published on 9 April 2012 by R. Murphy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Psychological Horror....., 5 May 2006
By 
This review is from: The Other [DVD] (DVD)
THE OTHER is a cracking, and really rather scary early 70's horror film, one that concentrates on the cerebral rather than the visceral, and is all the better for it. The story of strange goings on around a Connecticut farm in the 1930's, this film makes full use of its twin stars the Udvarnoky brothers to build up the tension throughout its 96 minute length.

German actress Uta Hagen is superb as their Grandmother, teaching them to play a very spooky supernatural game of possession, and trying to make things right when necessary. I'd heard of the film, but never seen it, and I can only say it scared the whatsits out of me big time. If the film was made now it would probably have a king size special effects budget, lashings of guts and gore, and nowhere near the tension that palpably oozes off the screen.

Short on extras, but this film comes from an age when every cinema entry WASN'T covered by a host of documentary film crews, so one must make do with what is around, and the shooting script and music cue sheets are fascinating in themselves.

The only criticism I can make is the low certification given to the film. When originally released it was an X, and I now feel it should be a 15, not the 12 handed out. That of course is a personal opinion, but I would vet the film before showing it to a 12 year old personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chill down the spine, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Other [DVD] (DVD)
!!!Warning. May contain spoilers!!!

Twin brothers Holland and Niles Perry(played by Chris and Martin Udvarnoky) are enjoying the summer holidays, playing tricks on family and neighbours and getting into trouble like boys of their age usually do. However, Holland is only happy skulking in the shadows and also shows a malicious streak. Niles ia almost scared of him, and what he is capable of. People who cross Holland in any way start to end up dead, and Niles is getting the blame. Niles does have one strong ally in his Grandmother, who plays supernatural games with him, encouraging him to think outside his body, and to maximise the potential of his mind. Holland likes these games too, but to what ends.....
This is a film I read a lot about when I was younger, generally reviews praising it to the hilt. Well, after finally getting to watch it, I can honestly say, as a jaded and seasoned watcher of horror films, that this film is up there with the very best of them. The film plays a clever, cruel trick with the viewer, raising the supernatural aspect of the story, seemingly dismissing it halfway through, only to chill the viewer with an final image that can only be described as bloodcurdling. This film has been compared to 'The Exorcist','The Omen' and 'The Shining'. In my opinion, it surpasses all of them, for using such a seemingly calm, normal situation and injecting such tension and horror into it. The young actors are excellent, but it is German actress Uta Hagen who delivers the best performance as Ada, the Grandmother. The direction is superb, gradually building up the subtle scares until jolting the viewer with that aforementioned killer ending.
A wonderful film, dont miss a chance to buy it, and judge for yourselves. 5 out of 5.(the extras are okay, but some are only available to view on a PC, as they are in PDF format)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very underrated horror film., 27 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Other [DVD] (DVD)
Set in idyllic 1935 Connecticut, The Other follows young twins Niles and Holland as they run about their small farm, fishing, playing in the apple cellar, harassing the old lady down the lane and caring for their heartsick mother. Niles is the "good son." He reads to his mother and spends time with his grandmother and is always hesitant to become involved in Holland's schemes. Holland, on the other hand sneaks around and enjoys playing tricks on people...tricks that soon turn deadly. When a series of accidents befall those that have irked Holland, Niles becomes suspicious of his twin. Is there something even more sinister going on, though? Niles carries around an old tin that holds an old ring and a severed finger. Who do these belong to? Is Niles really the evil one?

The story, with its many sub-plots and different relationships between characters, is very well-developed. I loved the time and location - the 1930s in rural Connecticut - that make the film a visual treat to watch. There is even a nifty carnival scene that features a freak show! The main thing that drives the film is the story, though, and it is a disturbing one, especially towards the end which I'm not going to ruin. I really enjoyed this movie, even though it starts off pretty slow. Once it gets going though, it sweeps you up into the mystery. I for one, couldn't look away once the film got going. The film was made in 1972 and was directed by Robert Mulligan, it had some great acting especially from the twins and their Russian grandmother who plays a sort of creepy psychic game with Niles. The Other still stands today as an entertaining and creepy psychological thriller and is one of the most effective horror movies of the Seventies, which is why I find it odd that it's not mentioned very often these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of its Genre, 21 Aug 2011
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This film, which I first saw on the large screen in the 'seventies, is one of a rash of tales of the bizarre that emerged, it seems to me, with "Rosemary's Baby" (1968) and was followed by "The Omen," "Harvest Home," and the "The Exorcist," among others (They were perhaps intended to take the public's minds off of the madness of the 'sixties, including several nasty wars, student protests, and the energy crunch). To me, "The Other" surpasses its contemporary fright-flicks, for two principal reasons: acting and cinematography.

The acting honours go primarily to Uta Hagen, the phenomenal actress of the Broadway theatre, who plays the grandmother of the twins with sincerity and grace. Her performance, which is truly moving, lifts what might have been a good but run-of-the-mill horror film into the realm of the extraordinary. Similarly, the casting of the twins (Chris and Martin Udvarnoky) was inspired. These were no smart-alec Hollywood brats; instead, they were natural, believable boys, who are consequently convincing in their roles. Their personas of normality, in fact, contribute immensely to the eerie atmosphere of the film.

The cinematography is especially to be commended. The apparent normalcy of the setting initially reassures the viewer, who becomes gradually unsettled and--almost unawares--chilled, as the tale of horror unfolds. The pastoral setting of New England of the 1930s exudes tranquility--fields of alfalfa, whitewashed fences, sunflowers tilting against an old red barn--a feeling of comfort that is increasingly disturbed by nightmarish visions: birds of ill-omen, dark root-cellars, and upturned pitchforks. The old-fashioned iron rooster weathervane, which at first conveyed a sense of rural wellbeing, whirls violently in the hurricane that ravages the landscape.

"The Other," the script of which was written by the author of the novel, Thomas Tryon, accomplishes most of the horror offstage, as it were; the film was produced in an era when it was thought unnecessary to drench the audience in blood and guts. Therefore, it will probably not be appreciated by viewers who enjoy the in-your-face genre of horror films. But for those who appreciate the subtleties of suggestion, "The Other" represents a rich--if macabre--feast for the imagination.

P.S. Do not read the blurb on the back of the DVD or watch the trailers before you watch the film. They give the entire show away. Do, however, read Mr Tryon's novel afterwards, if the book is available. It was, as I recall, riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 12 Jun 2010
This review is from: The Other [DVD] (DVD)
A bizarre mix of Little House on the Prairie meets The Omen but don't be deceived - this is a really enjoyable, clever thriller/horror that shifts gear just over halfway through and takes you by surprise.
Thank god there are buried little gems like this film still coming out on dvd.
Definitely worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting and Unsettling..., 6 Feb 2010
By 
M. Green (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Other [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this film for the first time and am compelled to write a review recommending this to any fans of psychological horror. Chilling with a horrific ending, this film will be in my mind for days afterwards, truly haunting. Definitely one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not 5 stars, not even close, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to give this film a go after reading the very positive reviews on here. Personally I found it quite disappointing. The big "twist" in the middle was so clearly telegraphed right from the start of the film that it came as no surprise. However there's no doubt that the boy Niles is a character capable of some quite surprising acts and I admit I was a quite taken aback by the penultimate death!

But I can't say that I was chilled or thrilled. In summary, worth a watch but this is not a film I will revisit or recommend. Looking again at the other reviews, I'm frankly surprised that others enjoyed it quite as much as they did!

But one good thing did come out of my viewing experience: the trailer for the Omen prompted me to buy that film! There's one I will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Other [DVD]
The Other [DVD] by Robert Mulligan (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: 13.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews