Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How's It Going To End?
I must admit I find it rather odd that Peter Weir's 1998 film (written by New Zealander Andrew Niccol) has been criticised for not being 'funny enough' since, as far as I can deduce, that was one of its 'least' objectives. Indeed, the current Wiki entry for the film describes it (in typical 'mish-mash' fashion) as a `satirical social science-fiction comedy drama' (oh,...
Published 8 months ago by Keith M

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paramount should have done less & more !
Bought it recently, i were confident when looking at other members review.. but when watching it i feel it was very strange.

The master hasn't been cleaned, there is lots of "black/white debris" that pop up in the movie (too many for 1998 movie !)
Paramount abused DNR & Edge enhancement. There is no grain at all except on all white colors and it's a bad...
Published on 25 Feb. 2011 by Cinematico Love


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
One of my fave movies, can never get tired of watching it. I got this for my brother who is a Carrey fan but has never seen this movie, being more into his sillier stuff I wandered if he would like it, but he says it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very refreshing, 13 Jan. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Watching 'The Truman show' is quite a refreshing experience after you have got used to reality tv-shows. It made me realise how much I seem to tolerate them. Director Peter Weir tells the story of Truman Burbank, the first child to be adopted by a company. His whole life is a live tv show - 'real' faction - but he is the only one who doesn't know that.
Weir cleverly merges the movie you are seeing with the actual Truman Show itself, often working with spycam angles. He consequently develops this idea in every aspect of the movie: the colours are just that bit too beautiful, friends slightly too nice, Trumans hometown just too perfect. It makes you realise how layered and balanced the actors' performances are: they were supposed to act that they are 'really acting.'
What makes this approach work, is that you are a viewer of 'The Truman Show' as well and it forces you to ask the ultimate question about what is real and what not in our mass media society, in which fact, fiction and faction seem te blend without any problem.
If you were not yet convinced by Jim Carrey's wonderful acting in 'The Majestic' or 'Man on the Moon', this should draw you over the line. He convincingly plays Truman and shows, in the end, how much we need real love, real feelings and a real life and how important they are.
'The Truman Show' is a necessary work of art and a critical comment on our faction society. I think it will never cease to be relevant. Don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Truman Show: better than Big Brother?, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
Philoctetes (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
If The Truman Show was real, would you tune in, day after day, to stare at Jim Carrey gurning his way through the same monotonous routine? The clown always warrants sympathy, even if you do occasionally want to kick him in the pants, so I guess it's not surprising he landed the role of the eponymous star of a TV show where everyone is performing except him; allegedly, because in fact his life is being controlled so he does lapse into saying and doing the same things again and again.

One isn't meant to focus on the implausibility of this diabolical conceit, but instead go away and question our own attitudes to television, advertising, political control, emotional manipulation, and just simply how we pass the time of day; and in that it succeeds admirably. In a way, the best thing would be to watch it, throw it away, run out the door and embrace real life, and not just because Truman/Carrey is kind of irritating.

What does bug me is that my copy of the Rough Guide To Film includes The Truman Show (1998), but not Pleasantville Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] which I would say is the better film about people living or rather wanting to live in an nostalgic contrivance (Truman's island is also reminiscent of the 1950s). There, two teens are magically zapped into the world of a b/w TV show called Pleasantville, and quickly they start to liberate the occupants from the stifling niceness of their daily smiley hellhole. Pleasantville doesn't submerge the essential nastinesses of the scenario as readily as The Truman Show.

Anyway, a clever satire on TV, Hollywood and the myths they perpetrate. It's a very thought-provoking film but maybe just a little too sugary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Carrey's Finest Hour, 8 Mar. 2003
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Truman Burbank is your average American. He's an insurance salesman happily married to his college sweetheart. What he doesn't realize, however, is that his world is fake. Every minute of his life has been filmed and broadcast to the rest of the world, and everyone he knows are really actors hired to fill his life. But when his carefully constructed world begins to fall apart, will he discover the truth and escape to the real world?
I am not a big Jim Carrey fan. Here, however, he gives an outstanding performance as the happy Truman who begins to realize something's not right. The story itself is part funny, part touching drama that draws you in and makes you root for Truman to learn the truth. I've watched the movie many times, and I always feel like cheering at the end. Along the way, it makes you think about our entertainment-obsessed culture in a different way.
The DVD is a bare bones offering. Beside the movie, it only offers the trailers. Still, the picture quality and sound are good.
Jim Carrey proves he can do drama quite well in this moving film. Anyone looking for a movie to entertain and lift their spirits should definitely check this one out. It's one of the best movies of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly memorable and moving film, 2 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
"The Truman Show" is a great film about a man brought up in an artificial world created specifically for a TV audience. Everyone around him is an extra or a character on the set, including his wife and his best friend. The story has echoes of the tale of Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden, created by a vengeful God. Ok, it might be stretching a metaphor too far, but Truman is initially given the truth about his state by a disgruntled female extra whom he subsequently falls in love with. The process of disillusionment is gradual. The final denoument is brilliant, with Truman asking a disembodied voice the penultimate and ultimate questions of life," Who are you?" "I am the Creator...of a TV show" answers Christof (Ed Harris at his best); "Then, who am I?" "You are the Star". Given the choice between the uncertainty of the outside and the security of his controlled environment, Truman chooses life as a human being. The film also manages to encapsulate the dilemma faced by parents and their growing children, particularly in strongly hierarchical families. This one should have won Oscars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 2 Mar. 2014
By 
Anon (Durham, England. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
Carrey's role in this film really struck me and made me think.

You laugh, you cry. It's generally one of his best. Loved it!

A must see and a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie! Truman at his best!, 11 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
Jim Carrey is fantastic in this film. The philosophical laced social commentary story make this film something that should be seen by everyone. Cannot recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars £2.70 to make two young boys happy - bargain, 7 Nov. 2011
By 
Sam (Lamerton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
My youngest son and his friend had been down for the weekend and we'd got talking about 'The Truman Show' which they'd never seen. To my surprise, they were really interested in the plot and I ended up telling them pretty much the whole story all the way up the M5! I bought this 2nd hand for them on the back of that conversation. He and his mate watched it together this weekend and I got a text saying how much they enjoyed it.

That's a long-winded way of saying "How bloody great that you can go online, find the film, order it and have it delivered and make two kids happy - all for £2.70". Absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ground breaking movie, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
Years ahead of it's time, this movie shows the extreme of reality TV. Fantastic acting. Entertainment for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not a fan of Jim Carrey but..., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Truman Show [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film. Even if you find him annoying in other things then give this one a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Truman Show - Sce [DVD]
Truman Show - Sce [DVD] by Peter Weir (DVD - 2006)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews