Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 August 2000
From beginning to end this CD never pretends to be anything but what it is - a relaxing head trip for all those who like to flow into their music. Listening to this album is an experience the likes of which you rarely come into contact with in modern music. Each song is a personal interpretation of previous music forms, combining layers of melodies to sometimes amazing effect. This album is recommended to anyone who appreciates or wants to know what the meaning of the words 'chilled out' really is.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
I purchased this album more on word of mouth rather than actually listening to it before I bought it which some might say was a little daft. But after a few listens I became very fond of the laid back collection with some clever deft touches added in. At first listen you may feel this isn't quite to your liking but if you leave it on and don't skip the tracks I can guarantee you will not be disappointed it is a great mix of all sorts of different sounds which blend so well together and leave you feeling relaxed but focused
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2000
If your'e like me and can't buy any old cd just on a whim this album has to be for you because its a solid peice of work, and it's consistant throughout the album. I've had it for ages, and I still listen to it simply because it's beautiful music, the whole album moves along at a stoned pace, strings laid on smooth beats.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
Can't really put my finger on the reason I love this album so much. You don't need to be a brain surgeon to realise this album is geared towards "Smokers, tokers and midnight jokers" but take the advice of a (relatively) smoke-free person and understand that no matter what the occasion or ones preferable vice of choice, this is essential listening. It's not a short album, running well past the 70 minute mark, but it never seems that long. You can easily have it as a piece of background music, or you could delve into it with an attentitive ear and pick apart each musical nuance and dymnamic on the album.

Highlights include the wonderful "Pipes Honour", "Groove Street", "The Journey" and the suprise Eastern tinged curveball closer "Gambia Via Vagatorbeach". I implore lovers of ALL types of music to give this a chance, hopefully you'll love it as much as I did.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2001
This album is certainly worth the buy - it's chilled with its smooth beats and rhythms. The very first track is particularly good, with some snippets bubbling through of Quincy Jones' 'Summer in the City'. Fantastic! Might I add the record I've just mentioned can be found on 'Mellow Mellow', a compilation album of 70's grooves and chilled breaks.. that's on 'Harmless Recordings'. On it, you'll find the original 'blueprints' used and mixed by many artists such as Nightmares on Wax, Massive Attack, Portishead and the Spanish collective 'Cafe del Mar'.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2000
Some absolutely superb tunes surrounded by others that are merely excellent. If you need something to chill out to then this is the one.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
what a wonderful trip-hop down memory lane with this fine example of chilled listening, if you've never caught the NOW before, and you are looking for a release from all the aches and stresses of the rat race, treat yourself to a bit of musical therapy :) this and car boot soul epitomise what NOW are all about ... groovy funky beats to relax and unwind too
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2000
This is a wonderful CD. It is different to their first album, not better or worse. NoW have produced some beautiful tunes on this eg. 'Pipes Honour' has me enthralled every time I hear it; I put this on at a party and a good 15 people asked me what it was because they wanted to buy it. Some have said that this is just average trip-hop, but I think there is something more to it than that. An enjoyable soundtrack to a smoke. DW
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
Then get this one. Along with Carboot Soul it is the best. A little more beats than Carboot Soul but equally chilled out. 'Groove St. and 'Wait a Minute/Prayin (For a Jeepbeat)' are the ones to look out for but the whole album is great. 'Nights Interlude' is good but not as good as 'Les Nuits' on Carboot Soul. If you're even looking here and reading this review you should probably own this CD.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2007
This album was recommended to me by a workmate years ago and ever since owning it whenever it comes on everyone is transported to another zone, this is a definite for your collection!! whether you're style is chilled/funky/urban/dance... go with the flow and let the music take you away!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.01
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)