Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps one of the most relaxing journeys ever put on CD
From beginning to end this CD never pretends to be anything but what it is - a relaxing head trip for all those who like to flow into their music. Listening to this album is an experience the likes of which you rarely come into contact with in modern music. Each song is a personal interpretation of previous music forms, combining layers of melodies to sometimes amazing...
Published on 17 Aug 2000 by Mr AD Smith

versus
7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vastly overrated
While their third album "Carboot Soul" is much better, "Smoker's Delight" seems to have a cult mystique appeal, presumably held by those who haven't heard the album, because it's, well, just not very good.
The atmosphere is satisfactorily chilled, despite the stagnant production values that seems to afflict most albums on the Warp label, but it...
Published on 16 Jan 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps one of the most relaxing journeys ever put on CD, 17 Aug 2000
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
From beginning to end this CD never pretends to be anything but what it is - a relaxing head trip for all those who like to flow into their music. Listening to this album is an experience the likes of which you rarely come into contact with in modern music. Each song is a personal interpretation of previous music forms, combining layers of melodies to sometimes amazing effect. This album is recommended to anyone who appreciates or wants to know what the meaning of the words 'chilled out' really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appropriately named evening listening, 27 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful CD. It is different to their first album, not better or worse. NoW have produced some beautiful tunes on this eg. 'Pipes Honour' has me enthralled every time I hear it; I put this on at a party and a good 15 people asked me what it was because they wanted to buy it. Some have said that this is just average trip-hop, but I think there is something more to it than that. An enjoyable soundtrack to a smoke. DW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent album for the collection!!!!!, 2 Jun 2003
By 
C. Tustain (Warwick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
I purchased this album more on word of mouth rather than actually listening to it before I bought it which some might say was a little daft. But after a few listens I became very fond of the laid back collection with some clever deft touches added in. At first listen you may feel this isn't quite to your liking but if you leave it on and don't skip the tracks I can guarantee you will not be disappointed it is a great mix of all sorts of different sounds which blend so well together and leave you feeling relaxed but focused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shhmokin', 25 Sep 2000
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
If your'e like me and can't buy any old cd just on a whim this album has to be for you because its a solid peice of work, and it's consistant throughout the album. I've had it for ages, and I still listen to it simply because it's beautiful music, the whole album moves along at a stoned pace, strings laid on smooth beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice chilled beats, 2 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
This album is certainly worth the buy - it's chilled with its smooth beats and rhythms. The very first track is particularly good, with some snippets bubbling through of Quincy Jones' 'Summer in the City'. Fantastic! Might I add the record I've just mentioned can be found on 'Mellow Mellow', a compilation album of 70's grooves and chilled breaks.. that's on 'Harmless Recordings'. On it, you'll find the original 'blueprints' used and mixed by many artists such as Nightmares on Wax, Massive Attack, Portishead and the Spanish collective 'Cafe del Mar'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly Underrated, 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
Some absolutely superb tunes surrounded by others that are merely excellent. If you need something to chill out to then this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're wondering which Nightmares On Wax Album to get..., 14 Feb 2005
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
Then get this one. Along with Carboot Soul it is the best. A little more beats than Carboot Soul but equally chilled out. 'Groove St. and 'Wait a Minute/Prayin (For a Jeepbeat)' are the ones to look out for but the whole album is great. 'Nights Interlude' is good but not as good as 'Les Nuits' on Carboot Soul. If you're even looking here and reading this review you should probably own this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Easy Listening, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
A gem of an album with lots of cool tracks on. Don't buy many CD's these days but couldn't resist adding an old classic to the collection at a cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chill-out music extraodinaire, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
This is sublime album with a smooth, laid back beats - an essential addition to any trip-hop fans collection -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back? I'll give you laid back, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smokers Delight (Audio CD)
Can't really put my finger on the reason I love this album so much. You don't need to be a brain surgeon to realise this album is geared towards "Smokers, tokers and midnight jokers" but take the advice of a (relatively) smoke-free person and understand that no matter what the occasion or ones preferable vice of choice, this is essential listening. It's not a short album, running well past the 70 minute mark, but it never seems that long. You can easily have it as a piece of background music, or you could delve into it with an attentitive ear and pick apart each musical nuance and dymnamic on the album.

Highlights include the wonderful "Pipes Honour", "Groove Street", "The Journey" and the suprise Eastern tinged curveball closer "Gambia Via Vagatorbeach". I implore lovers of ALL types of music to give this a chance, hopefully you'll love it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smokers Delight
Smokers Delight by Nightmares on Wax (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews