Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You want more out of life? Join the queue, kid,"
Another sit-com type, light-hearted, and feel good movie that got ravaged by the critics when it was released in the theatres. Rumor Has It isn't all bad, in fact, largely due to the performances of the A-list cast members, it's a pleasant little screwball comedy occasionally peppered with some clever dialogue. Although the movie's denouement doesn't really live up to the...
Published on 10 May 2006

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the blurb
From the back of the box i was expecting a bridget jones type of movie with emphasis on the tarts and vicars scene but i was sadly disappointed and felt like i had been ripped off with my purchase.
The plot was pathetic and i was amazed that such good actors would stoop to such low scripts.
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by Ms. H. V. Armstrong


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant film, 15 Oct 2008
This review is from: Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm going through a Jennifer Aniston phase at the moment and have never actually seen this film so I thought why not! This is a very sweet and funny film where Aniston plays a woman who hears a rumour about her own conception and decides to hunt down her mother's 'other lover'. Very funny, not too much thought has to go into watching this and its genuinely touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, 23 Sep 2008
By 
Shivari (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I thought the premise of the film was a great idea: the story of a woman who discovers that the story of The Graduate was true - and it was her family who were the Robinsons...

But the film never really clicks into gear. Shirley MacLaine is great as the feisty grandmother, but Kevin Costner simply plods through it all. But the biggest mistake was Jennifer Aniston. Yes, she's very easy on the eye; but all she does is 'happy-pouty' or 'sad-pouty' - and that's about the limit of her emotional range. Quite simply she isn't a very good actress. And this film needed a really good female lead to pull it up to the mark.

If you like romantic comedies, this fills a wet Sunday afternoon when you have nothing better to do. Otherwise, don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 31 July 2008
I had very low expectations as the reviews were very negative when it was released. I also think I heard that it had a troubled production as the original director was fired after the first day of filming, and I think Jennifer Aniston disowned the film. I only bought it because I found a Blu-Ray copy on sale for 1. I took a chance on it and I was surprised that it was a perfectly competent if unremarkable light weight drama with a little hint of comedy. The Graduate connection is a bit of a red herring as it's really just used as a set up to an unconnected story.

It's not a great film, and it has a few longueurs during its second half as it starts to run out of story (the film would probably be better at 60 minutes in length). It's a bit pointless in the end and you do wonder why it was even made, but it's a pleasant enough viewing experience. The incest sub-plot is a bit odd, and as it's an expensive glossy Hollywood movie, they don't get much mileage out of it as they keep everything as tasteful as possible.

The Blu-Ray disc looks good though I doubt it's a significant improvement upon the DVD version. If anything high definition might work against it as it makes the film look more like it was shot on video tape instead of warm vibrant film.
I find that all movement (actors walking, cars driving or the camera moving) has a strange floating, bobbing feel to it. I assume this is because everything stays in focus much better than it does on VHS and DVD, and it is just something you will quickly get used to. Also background scenery is clearer than DVD, but this is hardly something to get excited about.

I think I can maybe spot the joins between 1st unit (the actors) and the 2nd unit (long shots of buildings, shots of cars on roads, action scenes etc). The shots not involving the actors look like archive footage that has been inserted into the film (there is a long shot in the middle of the Casablanca Ball scene without the actors that looks particularly unconnected to the rest of the sequence).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good premise, great actors, mediocre presentation, 2 Jun 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Sarah Huttinger (Jennifer Aniston) suspects that her granny, Katharine Richelieu (Shirley MacLaine) is Mrs. Robinson; Coo coo ca-choo. To make things worse this leads her to believe she may be the offspring of a different union (the timing was right).

The film is about Sarah's search for the truth and the people she encounters.

People watched this for different treasons some watched for Jennifer Aniston of "Office Space" fame. Others said "who is Jennifer I am watching for Shirley MacLaine. Still others were intrigued with where the story was going. They used ancient phone technology to give the film a period piece feel.

In the end the presentation was trite and forced with little chemistry or surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 13 Sep 2009
By 
GratuitousViolets "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
"Rumour Has It" makes a promise to bring you some somewhat lighthearted comedy about a young woman (Jennifer Aniston) still struggling to find herself in a family whom she really feels she has absolutely nothing in common with.

Despite Sarah Huttinger's success as a journalist, her engagement to a cute lawyer, and everything else that seems to be relatively going fine in her life, she feels oddly dettached from her fiance and family - especially from her father and her sister.

At her sister Annie's wedding, Sarah's Grandmother makes a somewhat fatal error of revealing that Sarah's mother had an affair the week before she was married.

On further investigation Sarah realises not only that her father may not be her true biological father, but also that the man her mother had the brief affair with had also slept with her Grandmother...following this comes the complete shock of discovering that the famous film and book "The Graduate" was based on the story of her mother, grandmother, and the elusive Beau Burroughs.

With all this in mind, Sarah heads off in search of the truth, meeting the handsome, charming and incredibly rich Beau who may or may not be her father.

At first, I thought the story had something of potential, but sadly Jennifer Aniston's performance in this was very bland and boring; her tears were noteably fake...in fact I would have to say, her performances in "Friends" were all the much stronger and all the more gripping than her portrayal of this character. Watching this you can really feel that Jennifer Aniston has no real feel or understanding of this character at all.

If you're a fan of romantic comedies, you might be tempted to give it a go, if you're a fan of Jennifer Aniston, look towards movies such as "Picture Perfect" and "The Object of My Affection" and shy away from this one, it'll just leave you very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Graduate revisited, 1 May 2007
By 
David Turner "David Turner" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Having watched Rumour has it - I find myself at odds with the majority of reviews...........The film, albeit light and frothy, is easy on the eye and combines a refreshing humour with the dead pan lunacy of the plot...The cast are relaxed and the zany thread running through the film are just good escapist fun. Kostner and Mclaine steal the picture with their excellent timing and delivery of the script.....A criticsm? Yes. An overblown sequence of shouting and domestic mayhem when the cast come together in Pasadena should have been cut.........It spoils an otherwise cool and stylish presentation.

David Turner (Ealing London UK)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watchable with some great moments, 16 Jan 2007
This review is from: Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I watched this with no pre-conceptions as I'd not really read anything about it before. I was pleased to find it really enjoyable. Gentle, light-hearted and very easy to watch. I'd definitely recommend it as a chick flick.

I probably wouldn't bother to watch it more than once unless I'd forgotten what happened the first time though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As if Rachel was acting in it, 13 Jun 2007
It's so hard for me to see her as anyone else other than Jennifer Aniston but at least she can carry a film, which she does very well here. She plays a young woman struggling to make her life come full circle as she contemplates accepting her long time boyfriend's (played by the alluring Mark Ruffalo) marriage proposal as they head to Pasedena from NYC for her young sister's (played by a bimbo Mena Suvari) wedding. Aniston's character keeps her marriage proposal under wraps because she doesn't want to steal her sister's thunder but her boyfriend is peeved by this because he feels she has cold feet. This is all made worse by the fact that he cannot share a room with her when the arrive at her father's house. A reunion with her granny at the wedding rehearsal sparks some questions in Aniston's character as she slowly begins to piece together the reasons why she has felt so ill at ease around her family members. Her granny and her mother both had an affair with the same man years ago and Aniston believes that the man (played by Kevin Costner) could be her father. She pieces most of this together with the help of an old friend of her mother's (played by Kathy Bates). When time comes to return to NYC, she pleads with her boyfriend to let her go to San Francisco to meet with her mother's former lover and he reluctantly agrees. When she gets to him she grills him and finds out more than she hoped to learn. One thing leads to another, and she ends up sleeping with him as well and is forced to bare the consequences after wards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only ok, 16 July 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Jennifer Aniston plays Sarah Huttinger a woman who feels ill every time her fiancé (Mark Ruffalo) mentions marriage. En route to attending her younger sisters wedding panic sets in as her feelings of being an outsider to her family return. Sarah feels she has nothing in common with her sister or father and as her mother died when she was younger she feels no connection to her family whatsoever. She's sure there's a bigger and more exciting life out there for her.....she just hasn't found it yet. Then her grandmother (Shirley MacLaine) mentions that her mother disappeared for a week before she got married and Sarah embarks on a quest to find out if her mothers last fling is the reason she's nothing in common with her family. En route she discovers that the famous book and movie, The Graduate, was in fact written about her family!

To be honest I expected more from this movie. The story itself was pretty good but I felt it was rushed and some scenes were pointless......for instance the part where Sarah ends up with Jeff's phone and its made out to be a big deal......nothing comes of it so what was the point?!? I also found the inconsistencies in the film annoying. When Sarah is having a heart-to-heart with her sister in her bedroom her hair alternates between being behind her ear in one shot, loose in the next, flicked over one shoulder and in the next shot flicked over the other. They were blatant boo-boos and I can never understand when movies are released with such obvious whoppers in them.

Jennifer Aniston and Shirley MacLaine are the obvious stars and the quick wit of Shirley MacLaine is what kept me watching. Kevin Costner's part in this movie was pretty anonymous and not one of his best performances. Stood in his white tux he reminded me of his part in the Bodyguard all those many years ago.

All in all it was an enjoyable film but not one I'd rush out to watch a second time or one I'd necessarily recommend to others as a `must see'. Without Jennifer Aniston and Shirley MacLaines chemistry and comic performances I would have given this movie no stars (if that was possible). Purely for them I give it 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
just love Jennifer Aniston!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005]
Rumour Has It [DVD] [2005] by Rob Reiner (DVD - 2006)
2.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews