Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't help but pull for these guys!
I brought Overcoming after reading the other review on here. It does start off a little confusing but if you give it your time and attention you will be rewarded, it offers a unique and at times compelling insight into the world of pro cycling and the characters go towards making up a pro team.

The documentary follows CSC team in 2004 as they attempt to end...
Published on 23 Mar 2007 by M. Cartwright

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incoherent and (mostly) dull
What is the point of this film? It seems to be a load of cobbled-together and apparently randomly edited clips of the CSC cycle-racing team throughout the season - in winter training and during the 2004 Tour de France. There is little or nothing to hold them together, and no proper storyline to make the viewer feel as if the film is going anywhere.

The...
Published on 18 July 2008 by E. P. Reeves


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can't help but pull for these guys!, 23 Mar 2007
By 
M. Cartwright (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
I brought Overcoming after reading the other review on here. It does start off a little confusing but if you give it your time and attention you will be rewarded, it offers a unique and at times compelling insight into the world of pro cycling and the characters go towards making up a pro team.

The documentary follows CSC team in 2004 as they attempt to end Lance Armstrong's stranglehold on Le Tour. To say it's a roller coaster ride is putting it lightly, what these guys go through is almost super-human; you can not help but admire them. If you didn't appreciate what a team sport cycling is you will after seeing the exploits of true pro's like Jens Voight.

It's also a real eye opener for just what a pro tour manager has to go through, the pressure on Riis is unbelievable, the organisation and strategy along with the constant man management of a team of riders would be draining on even the most motivated of people. But just like the rider he was Riis keeps moving forward.

Highly recommended for people new to pro cycling along with those who have loved it for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful veiw of a unique team, 7 May 2006
By 
J. Wagstaff "psychiatricblues" (Cardiff, South Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
The story of CSC's season, focusing mostly on last year's Tour. Although it got of to a confusing start, cutting early season training with later footage messily, overall it was a fantastic film. You get a real sense of the workings of one of the most interestingly run cycle teams. There are many highlights, from Carlos Sastre's reluctance to abandon his traditional training methods for Riis' "scientific" training, to the real emotion of Basso hearing the news of his mother's cancer diagnosis. You also see the inside story of Jens Voight being labeled a traitor by German fans for chasing down Ullrich.

A real tour de force for cycling fans - I was glad I'd thrown a sickie the day this popped through my letterbox.

The Extras are worth seeing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
A DVD about the way to the top, pain and accidents, training and teamwork. This is "the" DVD in the collection. If you don't have it, I recommend you buy it. Personally I've seen it several times all ready. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Incoherent and (mostly) dull, 18 July 2008
By 
E. P. Reeves (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
What is the point of this film? It seems to be a load of cobbled-together and apparently randomly edited clips of the CSC cycle-racing team throughout the season - in winter training and during the 2004 Tour de France. There is little or nothing to hold them together, and no proper storyline to make the viewer feel as if the film is going anywhere.

The situation is made worse by the fact that most of the characters involved are really, really boring people. Bjarne Riis is the most uninspiring speaker you could imagine, and the soigneur is just a bit wierd. Jens Voigt is good value, but he does not feature very much.

This film is OK if you're really into cycling, as there is some good footage of the race. Some of the extras are all right as well, but to be honest the main feature looks like a DVD extras segment. If it's cycling action you want, though, you may as well buy a Tour de France highlights video. And if you want to get under the skin of the Tour De France - experience some of the atmosphere, the suffering and the whole carnival behind the race, you would be much better off buying "Hell on Wheels", which has both coherent editing and interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique documentary., 13 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. G. Scott "Graham Scott" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
This is more than a cycling documentary which simply recounts historical events. Here we are also presented with the Riis management gestalt in a well filmed and edited piece which shows a sports team and all that goes with that through a Fresh lens. The ways in which the team management/staff & riders communicate and operate is bizarrely compelling and impressive. I loved the film, have learned from it, and heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disturbing, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Jamie A. Beckford "thejamie" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
I found the film to be very unstructured, the use of inappropriate typographic styling makes the film even more confusing. There is no obvious point to the film, it just seems to be a series of random clips edited together and making little sense as a whole. I agree with another reviewer in that the CSC team soigneur is wierd, his behavior is quite disturbing and slightly on the creepy side. There seems to be an unhealthy obsession with Lance Armstrong, members of the CSC team telephone him for advice and behaving as if he were a god. I thought that this film would be a film very much in the style of Road To Paris following a professional cycling team on a day to day basis, instead we are treated to bjarne Riis being given a hug by the soigneur and being told to open up and ask for help. Before I saw this film I had heard that Riis had a fearsome reputation as a directeur Sportiff, it seems that this is a myth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is good some lance and basso action, 1 Mar 2009
By 
Garry Russell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
This is more of a documentary than a film it is some times hard to grasp what is going on but if you watch it carefully and pay attention and with out giving to much away this film is about Ivan Basso trying to concur the tour and beat Lance mean wile Ivan mum is suffering from cancer this is a good film and I wish thy made more about cycling. It is a bit annoying having sub titles but as cycling is manly a European sport you just have to put up with it I am afraid if you cant your into the wrong sport. Buy this film and you want be disappointed I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming; brilliant!, 5 Jun 2010
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant insider view of a TDF team, very contemporary editing style makes compelling watching, and no turbid 'staged' interviews to sit through.
A 'must see' for all roadies of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overcoming, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
I am not in to road cycling race I bought it for my son because he is an amire of Bjarne Riis. But I sat down and watched it with my son and I must admit it is a great film so down to earth about the real cycling world and full of warm humor etc. I really will recommend it for any one who want to see how a cycling team from the inside operates with the riders, coaches and the rest of the team members in their everyday life and problems etc. In the end they are just human beings like the rest of us and the film brilliantly portraies this.
I will call it more a docomentary than a film....and people with no cycling interest or knowledge can easily watch it...like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, if a bit "arty", 28 May 2009
By 
Grayden Husband (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD - full of fascinating info when put into context of the TdF race. Shows the importance of team work and morale whilst completing in the TdF.

A must-have if you are interested in Tour de France, pro cycling, the career of Lance Armstrong, the CSC Team, Bjarne Riis, Carlos Sastre or Ivan Basso!!

My only criticism is that there is a lot information flashed up on the screen whilst people are talking (not subtitles, just other bits of information) - takes a couple of views to get it all. Looks a bit like it was made by a music video director. (Hence the "arty" comment) But this is only a minor criticism - for the money, this is worth every cent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overcoming [DVD]
Overcoming [DVD] by Tomas Gislason (DVD - 2006)
£8.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews