Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars18
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2009
For those of us old enough to remember seeing "Cheyenne" on our black-and-white TV screens way back in the late 1950s/early 60s, this DVD set is pure nostalgia. It is also a snapshot of the best American character actors at work as the "guest baddies". Some really good stories, like "Rendezvous at Red Rock", guest starring the great Gerald Mohr. And, of course, there's the song! Unforgettable. Highly recommended for any TV Western addicts!
11 comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
Ithink the cheyenne western series with clint walker is fantastic,i can remember it on the box when i was a nipper.Ithink many people would like to be able to purchase the entire series (108)episodes made between 1955/1962.Ihave signed up for the second series,lets hope it become savailable soon along with rest.There were many westerns on the tv in the 50s,but for anyone who has not seen these,and like the old westerns ,this is an absolutely must have!Cheyenne: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
This takes me back to when westerns were one of the most popular tv genres, before the detective "boom" of the 70s

Although many of the storylines are stereotypical by today's standards, these are well crafted and acted, even if occasionally some little cliche makes an unintended comic moment

Lots of familiar faces in the "guest" spots, including James Garner. Trivia fans will note the appearance of the "governor" from Hawaii 5-0 as a troubled cavalry captain in one episode.

They really don't make 'em like these anymore.....but watching these really brings back all kinds of childhood memories to me.

Check out a very different role for Clint Walker, in "Send Me No Flowers" - the Rock Hudson/Doris Day classic - where Rock Hudson plays a hypochondriac convinced he's dying, who selects Clint W, an old boyfriend of his wife, Doris D, as his successor so she won't be lonely. Some hilarious sight gags in there, making the most of the towering Walker, compared to the not-usually puny Hudson!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
Remember with season 1 they were just starting to develop Cheyenne, so don't expect the famous theme tune or a run time longer than around 40 minutes - but do expect good audio and video (at least for the age). LQ Jones plays 'smitty' in a few of these season 1 episodes and the only special feature is an interview with Clint Walker on disc seven - subtitles are only in French and Spanish, but the good news is that this set is region free and not locked into region 1 as described on the back of the box, so they will play anywhere.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Cheyenne was my favourite western tv series growing up in the fifties and sixties, i purchased the dvds purely on nostalgia i was not disappointed, they have still got a good feel about them, Clint Walker is perfectly cast in the title role, you could not imagine anyone else as cheyenne. i would recommend anyone who saw them on tv the first time around like me to go ahead and buy you wont be disappointed
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Have waited a long time to see this series, watched right through all 5 discs, however, disc 5 started to stop/start a lot which was very annoying, I took the disc out, cleaned it but it still stuttered, wonder if it was the disc or my player? Have always been a Clint Walker fan and this Western Series really brings back memories of waiting for it to start on a Saturday night on the old b & w goggle box MANY MANY MOONS AGO. With the size of "goggle-boxes" these days "Cheyenne" looks twice the size! Wonder why L.Q.Jones ("Smitty") only appeared on the first 2 or 3 episodes? Well worth watching is the Clint Walker interview (love the guy's accent!) Am waiting for delivery of Complete Season 2, and with all 7 seasons now released am determined to have all 7! HAPPY VIEWING.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Probably the best of the 'grown-ups' westerns, starring the great Clint Walker. The quality of the picture is superb and they cram a lot into the 'hour' long episodes. Some of the later 'hour' long western series sometimes looked as if they were half-hours padded out to fill the time slot. Cheyenne though never disappoints, fast paced, good writing and great guest stars as the baddies. They had to employ some big fellas to go up against the giant-sized Cheyenne, so it didn't look like he was picking on little guys. Clint Walker was no Olivier, but he was a very good and underrated actor and it's impossible to imagine anyone else in the role. He's still alive and has his own web-site. If you are another Baby boomer western fan, have a look on a well-known video-clips website, where he tells some amusing tales about making Cheyenne, the funniest story is about Jack Elam.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
reminds me of my happy childhood.what a hoot best value i have had in film for years.These films have a narrative very well crafted.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Nostalgia for westerns of my youth! I might think about ordering another old TV western series now - perhaps Maverick!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Wonderful to watch and see Clint Walker at some of his best
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)