Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Violation!
Sixteen years on and this is still the landmark Depeche Mode Album. Since receiving Speak & Spell for Christmas back in 1981, Violator at last gave me the album my peers could not argue with.
I count myself fortunate to have observed the Modes stately rise in stature as it happened. I often wonder what anyone would make of them now if they just received all...
Published on 24 Jan 2006 by Stephen Milsom

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great album but cheap edition
One of the best album by Depeche Mode but this new edition is cheapest than previous collector's edition.
The first cd is a normal cd audio but not the hybrid SACD/Cd audio included in collector's edition.
So pay attention if you are searching for the 5.1 or stereo super audio cd tracks.
Here is included only the 5.1 DTS version on the second disc, a Dvd...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Marco Fullone


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moody, dark, surreal, powerful ..... classic Depeche Mode, 14 May 2000
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
A masterful work of art - dark and yet intensely beautiful. This is one of those rare albums with no fillers; every song is superbly crafted - a mix of commercial electronic pop that is synonymous with Depeche Mode, hand in hand with the deeper material that the more hardened fan is familiar with. In fact this album merits a 6 star rating - its been in my CD player through all the high and low points of my earthly existence so far!. By far the best track on the album is the final song - Clean - a song that still blows me away even after all these years. Other goodies include Policy of Truth, the mega hit, Enjoy the Silence and Halo with the lyrics, "You wear guilt, lke shackles on your feet, like a halo in reverse".
If you like your electronic music deep with a dark slant - you won't be disappointed - Buy it ! - it will become your "Personal Jesus" !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever, getting better every listen, 6 Sep 2007
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
I was surprised to see the sheer amount of mixed reviews from buyers on other versions of this album (such as the DVD, and original one) and therfore felt inclined to write a non-biased review, seeming as some people feel need to slate an album if the '5.1 Dolby sound' blah blah isn't totally perfect for them.
The fact is, no matter what the quality of the mastering, its the music that counts, and Violator was perhaps a peak for Mode. It shows their transition from poppy, synthy, young lads, to more mature and quality focused musicians. Indeed, during their early years, they were pumping out songs like 'Meaning of Love' all over the place, but by this time, 1990, they had realised they had to move with the times.
Maybe it was the success of Black Celebration that moved them to make an album like this with such character. Violator is, however, a move to 'dancefloor' side things. Such songs as 'Enjoy the Silence' perhaps made this album, and was in no time the most requested song on Radio 1 for weeks running, not to mention being a club hit. It's simplicity perhaps reflects why it's so good - they haven't tried too hard, the lyrics make sense, and the rhythm is incredibly powerful. Whats more, this is an album exclusive release, making it 6:13 minutes long.
'World in my eyes' kick starts the album however, and is quite a nice track, though I would have thought more of an ending track. 'Policy of Truth' is yet another memorable song, which funnily enough, was released just after Enjoy the Silence. Again, Gore works up some brilliant lyrics to accompany a simple, yet effective rhythm. Mode's objective (as stated in an interview) was to experiment with sound, to create new outcomes. I'll still be damned if I can figure out how they produced that famous rhyth in the chorus!
'Personal Jesus' has also had a makeover, extending it that little bit more to make it more interesting. For me, the lustful part of this album comes in the songs 'Sweetest Perfection', 'Waiting for the night' and the beautiful 'Blue Dress'. We know just how composed Black Celebration sounds, but this is without a doubt a more mature album, that sounds just that little bit more perfect. I think it might be Gore's solo efforts, especially on Blue Dress, but their is definitely something there..
And of course, that main issue these days when mastering old albums, what's the output like? Well firstly, yes, it has been remastered (though I had to research this before buying!) and can confirm after a listen that it is. This is not to say that all the tracks, however, sound totally different. For example, 'Policy of Truth' sounded absolutely stunning, with new sounds I've never heard, and the sound effects look as crisp as a Pringle. But then, listen to 'World in my eyes', and you wouldn't really know it had been given treatment. On a pair of headphones, or on good quality speakers, it is 100% worth forking out a few extra pounds for this 2006 release.
It's easy to over-rate a band based on a short lived reputation, or for a few hit songs, but Depeche Mode prove here once again that they moved with the times. Violator is perhaps a reflection of how they made the most of electronic music, combined with other instruments, whether it be the combination of guitar and synths in 'Policy of Truth', or their successful attempt in creating up-beat tunes like 'Enjoy The Silence', this is not an album to be missed by Mode fans. And amazingly, like Black Celebration, it just gets better the more you listen to it. I can't think of many other albums which match the lustful lyrics and romantic sounds present here, as it was simply made for the might. And with its remastering, even buyers of the original 1990 release can make a few clicks and get this crisp, clean copy!

Ignore the nay-sayers - read the reviews from actual 'Mode' fans.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius. Absolute Genius, 17 Sep 2003
By 
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
This is probably my favourite album of all time. It might sound strange, coming from someone with tastes as diverse as myself, that I should choose such a popular album, but there is no denying it - every song on this album is absolutely perfect! I remember being blown away by it when I was a kid - 'Personal Jesus' and 'World In my Eyes' and, of course, the best song ever written, by man or beast, 'Enjoy the Silence' were all hugely successful singles when they were released, and although I was a pretty blinkered metal kid then I couldn't help but be overwhelmed by the sheer unadulterated catchiness of them.
Anyway, plenty of others were influenced by them, judging by the amount of cover versions of their songs floating around the net. The Deftones' Chino Moreno has often spoken of his love for the band, and their cover of 'To have And To Hold' is a masterpiece. Its easy to see why they were so influential on so many of today's musicians - the lush, beautiful arrangements of Martin Gore are amazing, and Dave Gahan's voice is utterly superb.
In reality, Depeche Mode haven't made a single bad record since this came out, they just seem to be tinkering with the formula a little on each new release. However, good though 'Songs Of Faith And Devotion', 'Ultra' and 'Exciter' are, they can't quite live up to this album.
It would be worth spending the money on it just for 'Enjoy the Silence' alone, but every track here is superb.
An absolute, timeless classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic, 22 Aug 2006
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
I remember when this album came out 16 years ago and we all went crazy for it then. The amazing thing is that it has not aged at all. Far from it, the last two years has seen quite a few bands doing covers of many of the tracks on the album and those will age well before Depeche Mode's beautiful originals.

The Mode were always best when they were dark, always most seductive when they were honest, hurt and open and here Martin Gore's pure but black laced heart is exposed for all to see. That is not to underestimate the rest of the band, because this type of genius is the result of a strict group ethic and superb production but Gore's innocence and fragility emenate throughout.

I dismissed this album as too commercial back in 1990 but it is now that I realise just what a great album it was and still is. Even the singles are as poignant today as they were then and other tracks like Clean and Halo add more depth and colour. It is the effortless ease which allows Depeche Mode to flow from dark, almost Goth rock to indie synth pop without compromising their credibility that makes them such a great act and makes Violator such a fantastic record.

Although this is probably their finest moment, their other masterpieces like Some Great Reward, Music for the Masses and Ultra should not be overlooked or unappreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark but beautiful classic, 25 Mar 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
"Violator" is one of those albums that has to be heard to be believed. My previous favourite DM album was "Music For The Masses", but this just blew me away. Dark and moody, but a very beautiful album, particularly my favourite tracks "Blue Dress", "Clean", and what was probably their best single release "Enjoy The Silence". I originally heard this album in 1990 when it was released, but never appreciated it at the time. Having rediscovered DM in the last few months, this album is a gem rediscovered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, sublime, 6 Oct 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
I suppose any artist/band will be disappointed to hear that a work they completed 15 years ago is still considered to be their best. If I was to recommend to just one DM album for the casual listener to anyone new to the band, then "Violator" would be that album. The album oozes quality from start to finish and has more hooks that a thing with lots and lots of hooks. The singles lifted from just this one album could fill over half a greatest hits for lesser talented bands. "World In My Eyes", "Policy Of Truth", "Personal Jesus" and the sublime "Enjoy The Silence" were all hits and derservedly slow. Martin Gore's songwriting has never been so perfect as on this album.
This is the album that made DM a global phenomenon and a force to be reckoned with. For too long they were labelled as a throwaway synth pop band. This album forced their critics to take them seriously.
Apart from the singles, the track that stands out for me is "Halo". A superb slab of electronica. As we await with baited breath for "Playing The Angel" to arrive, take time to explore "Violator". You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depeche at their very best., 10 Jan 2011
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Please note: This is a re-release of their collectors edition violator album and does not include the SACD/CD Hybrid disc as the original release and the outer plastic slip case.What you get is a standard cd and a DVD disc that includes the 5.1 DTS,5.1 dolby digital,a short film and six additional tracks,which does state collectors edition on the disc.
It looks like all they have done on this remastered edition is not to include the slip case and the replace the hybrid SACD disc with a standard CD. At less than 7 it still represents good value for money and is one of my favourite Depeche albums.
My other favourite album has to be Music for the Masses,but lucky for me I own the original SACD/Hybrid edition and wont need to buy this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute nugget., 15 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
I've played `Violator' to a lot of people and the reports back are pretty diverse. I get "beautiful", "creepy", "sleek", "gloomy"... I even got an "unctuous", but I never got anything less than "really good" except a "no thanks" from a metal-head with a skate chain and a dire need of anti-dandruff shampoo. Somehow this is a band loved by both dance music veterans and chalk-white goths. Typically it tends to straddle the line between tender and predatory. The verses of `World In My Eyes' might fit into a bog-standard ballad if it wasn't for the fact that they're sung by a narrator who has a chilling control over the person he's talking to. In fact, control seems to be a strong theme, be it in the form of drug addiction (`Sweetest Perfection' which sounds like "Nine Inch Nails: The Synthpop Years"), emotional dependance (`Personal Jesus') or guilt and shame (`Halo'). There are moments of untainted emotion though; `Enjoy The Silence' is a perfect saddened love song which sounds like it's coming from the last two people on earth. The music itself is Depeche Mode - and synth-pop itself - at its glorious peak; moody, atmospheric, emotional with great twisted, cavernous sounds here and there along with (gasp!) guitars, occasionally. You don't have to take my word for it in this case: at an in-store signing in Los Angeles, 20,000 fans turned up and several were injured being pushed up against the shop windows and I'm pretty sure they weren't screaming teenage girls; they were real music fans. This belongs in everyone's collection, no matter what you're into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply stunning!!!!!, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Violator (Audio CD)
It is quite difficult to put into words how this album made me feel when it was first released back in 1990. I had been a fan for a number of years but this album just simply blew me away. Every single track is so beautifully crafted by messrs Gore and Wilder. It is one of those rare albums that has no stand out track. each one is a masterpiece.

I had not listened to this album for some time and revisited it in my cars music system and it was a complete joy. It's proper shivers down your spine moments. Especially the heavy breathing in on "clean" and the beginning of "Halo".

If you ask any none fan about depeche Mode, they usually say "oh they are that 80's band that did just can't get enough"

This album could not be in more contrast to the 80's pop they brought out and it should be made law that every person in the UK that respects UK music should own this album. It will never be beaten. Thank you DM for bringing so much joy to me with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing is understating..., 7 Mar 2009
This review is from: Violator [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
All I can say is, if you like DM and you have a decent surround system, buy this, you won't regret it, the dts 5.1 version is especially good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Violator
Violator by Depeche Mode (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews