Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top marks, 8 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
Seu Jorge's versions of Bowie staples deserve to be classics in their own right The spare production creates an intimate atmosphere while Seu Jorge's vocals are deceptively simple. Some would be intimidated by the material, but his lyricism uncovers emotion in the songs which comes as an unexpected pleasure. For me, 'Rebel Rebel', 'Changes' and 'Five Years' are standout tracks, but the whole album has a wonderful off-beat charm. Perfect listening for long summer evenings. Or just about any other time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bowie gets the Brasilian treatment, 26 July 2006
By 
Matthew Richardson "raferjanders" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
This is a remarkable record. Cool, laconic Brasilian Seu Jorge takes early Bowie songs and makes them his own. He draws out the sadness of "Quicksand", "Life on Mars" etc with just his voice and a classical guitar; picking out the nuances of Bowie's songs with ease.

Portuguese is a lovely language with which to evoke sadness and melancholy without it ever sounding mawkish.

This is great to listen to alone in the car or to have in the background at home. Treat yourself and envelope yourself in this record whether you're a fan of Bowie or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive Brasilian Bowie covers, 11 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
I thought I would write this review as I do understand Portuguese and this makes the songs even better. The lyrics are beautiful, capturing the emotions expressed in the original songs or expressing new ones, but all in the unique Brasilian spirit. This is one of those CDs you start playing again immediately after the first time you hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 15 Nov 2006
By 
J. Buggle (Dublin , Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
Imagine you are on a tropical beach, lounging under a palm tree, sun and breeze on your body, David Bowie songs being sung and strummed nearby in a beautiful exotic language. That's sort of sums up the mood and flavour of this treat of a CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, Subdued, Sweet, Alliteration ceasing Stuff., 28 April 2006
By 
Ben Johnson "Don't Drag the Coats" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
Any soundtrack that accompanies a Wes Anderson is going to be a goodie, and this collection of David Bowie songs performed and sung by Brazilian musician, Seu George is no disappointment, in fact it's the best album I have purchased in a good few haircuts.

I work in an off licence that pretends to be something other than an off licence, i.e. a kind of quirky, bohemian, oasis hidden away in an ostensible entropy. Needless to say, this album gets a few plays on my shift and Seu George's music fits suitably within the walls it fills. Maybe it's the smell of stale beer and the expectation of imminent alcohol that excites the customers, but the album gets nothing but a lot of inquisitive interest, of which most I assume, is positive. Ultimately, to coin a phrase, it's just something that little bit different.

The Portuguese translation takes nothing away from Bowie's songs, if anything the language (alien to me), heightens the minor key mood of the acoustic guitar, inspiring contemplative meanderings of the mysteries of the self. Rather than "lawman fighting on the dance floor", (and I hope David takes no offence), I found you can choose the lyrics to fit in with whatever mood your consciousness wishes to take you. It could be the stuff of 3am/ just broke up with girlfriend/ sitting alone in an ambiguous bar surrounded by ambiguous people embracing the oh-so fitting canorous melodies coming from the guy with the guitar in his hands, singing something, in an endearingly limited whisper, of late night drinking an introspection, his subdued finger picking spinning out notes like aural minnows swimming underneath a gibbous moon... Or, it's playing as you submerge yourself in the bath, making faces you dare not make when you walk out the front door... Or it's keeping you jovial in 17:53 hour traffic. Whatever it is, it is beautiful and I am ever so happy that, whoever decided to finally release it, finally decided to release it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me feel like a young bohemian travelling through Portugal without a care, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You can hum along to this as you already know the tunes but you feel so cultured like "yes i know all these portuguese songs - I used to sit on the handlebars of my portugese boyfriend's bicycle as we rode to the local markets and he would sing them in my ear. My hair and cheesecloth dress fluttering around us as we'd travel down the hilled streets. Then we'd sit under an orange tree eating the fresh bread we just bought and he'd sing to me again as i picked flowers around him and platted them into my hair"

just me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of melody, 24 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
Whilst watching the great film Life Aquatic (starring the brilliant Bill Murray) i was enthralled by the toons Seu Jorge was playing throughout the film, almost teasing me as i'm not a Bowie fan. But his interruptations are brilliant. Just him and an acoustic guitar, singing the songs that i recognise from yesteryear but in portuguese??

As i looked for a copy of the film's soundtrack, I struck upon this nugget of gold in the sand and immediately bought it. My daughter of only 9 years was dumb struck by Life on Mars, she now listens to it just as intently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie Goes To Brazil, 22 Sep 2007
By 
Nicolai Würtz Knudsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
Film director Wes Anderson has a sixth sense for the quirky and magical. So it's no surprise, that he included Seu Jorge and his portuguese versions of David Bowie-classics in the movie "Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou".

This CD is all the tracks from the movie and more. With his acoustic guitar and soothing voice Seu Jorge makes all the well known Bowie hits a joyful revisit. So if you like Bowie - even just a little bit - this will be a CD, that will stay in your CD-player for weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack, 14 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions (Audio CD)
The Life Aquatic is a great film and this is a great soundtrack.
It simply comes down to this. If you enjoyed the film and like the parts where Seu Jorge performs David Bowie tracks then this is for you. I'd advise that you watch the film first as Seu Jorge performs his songs in Portuguese (dont let this put you off They really do sound amazing).

A great chill out CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant music!, 3 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Aquatic Sessions (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic. From hearing tracks during the film I tracked this down and have to say Seu Jorge is a genius!
His reworkings of Bowie classics are timeless, even more so than the originals. Not even Bowie knew they could sound this good!
If you understand Portuguese or not buy it and listen. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions
The Life Aquatic Studio Sessions by Seu Jorge (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews