Customer Reviews


254 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW -now this is what you call a box set
i ordered this boxset having bought, quite some time ago, a very limited leather bound complete book set of the Chronicles of Narnia direct from the U.S.A.for future appreciation (hopefully ??)
these were/are for my own children once they are old enough to appreciate the value of such items.
the whole point of telling you this is to relate my own personal...
Published on 4 April 2006 by R. Pievaitis

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin
Hollywood's constant striving to fit complex and major works of fiction into short cinema timescales has serious implications on the film's watchability. Too much of the story is cut and it leaps far ahead of itself in order to keep pace, this film just needs more time in it. The CGI is of course superb and generally it sticks to Lewis's intentions and morality, It'll...
Published on 9 April 2006 by Mr. J. J. Percival


‹ Previous | 117 18 1926 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
quick service, dvds good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brings the book to life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant fantasy film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family film of 2005, 23 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
I liked the look of this movie because of its Lord of the Rings esque visuals.
The acting isn't the best though and there is a certain rushed feeling towards the end. Some of the movie even looks cheap in comparison to Lord of the rings but maybe I was expecting too much. I was disappointed to learn that the Weta workshop made the props as they have done such an astounding job on certain movies before. They must have been rushed as well. You can't really blame Disney though as the film had to be released in winter for full effect (its not a summer film) It could really have benefited from more post-production time..
Looking back though I wish I had have seen this with a less critical eye and instead enjoyed it for what it is. A great family film. The kids really enjoyed it which is what matters and I look forward to getting them this limited edition of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FIRST CLASS SERVICE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
correct and prompt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could be better., 12 Aug. 2006
This review is from: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (Special Two-Disc Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Like many, I loved the book and waited with eager anticipation for this film to be released. Although it is difficult to put as much detail into a film when adapting it from a novel, I do feel that this could have offered so much more. I found the children's characters two-dimensional, the plot lingering in places and hurried in others and the CGI typically overdone. On the positive; the beavers are hilarious, the snow queen is icy and the part where Aslan sacrifices himself is moving. There are flaws but for the main target audience I'm sure these will be overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Story All Children Should Be Familiar With, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
Movie Lover (Carlow, Ireland) - See all my reviews
A classic story brought vividly to the screen with wonderful costumes and settings...much better than the majority of the high-tech disney and pixar nonsense currently dominating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
family loved this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
S. Green (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 117 18 1926 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews