Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best bemani game since Samba De Amigo!, 27 Feb 2006
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
Guitar Hero... well... rocks! (sorry)
The game follows the bemani genre basics quite closely in that you have to hit the correct 'note' at the right time. Much like Sega's classic 'Samba De Amigo', this is not done with the standard dualshock controller but instead a dedicated one. (Guitar Hero can be played with the dualshock, but I wouldn't reccomend it. It's nowhere near as much fun)
Your guitar controller is a plastic Gibson SG (hopefully they'll release the red one over here as well for those that want to be Angus Young) which is roughly two-thirds the size of the real thing. Instead of strings, you have five coloured 'notes' at the top of the neck, and a 'strum bar' and tremelo arm on the body.
All you need to do is hit the matching note you see on screen on the guitar. sounds simple, and it is, until the difficulty level gets ramped up (which it does)
As for the songs, I'm hoping that some changes are made from the US version, as (unsurprisingly) there's too much lame indie tripe, as well as some shocking omissions: AC/DC? Iron Maiden? Kiss? still... when the (coverband) setlist includes Sabbath, Cream, Hendrix, Deep Purple, Ramones, Motorhead, Queens Of The Stone Age, The Donnas, Megadeth, Ozzy, Queen & Pantera, I guess this is a minor gripe. (roll on GH2!)
Yes, the songs you hear are not the originals, but rather a cover. Which actually works, seeing as your character (choice of six, with two unlockable) is in a cover band, but there are 'unlockable' songs which are played by the original artists, but as most of these have members of the 'Harmonix' team in them, they're not that good. Thankfully there's at least two tracks that are worth bothering about, namely Black Label Society's 'Fire It Up' and Graveyard BBQ's 'Cheat On The Church'.
I'm hoping that Red Octane are sensible enough to release the second controller over here as well, as although the two-player is just a straight competition (high score wins) it's even more fun than the actual game.
The unlockables in the game are behind the scenes videos, characters, guitars, guitar skins and songs. All of these are bought using the money you've been paid for a successful song. Obviously, the better you do (higher score, higher percentage of notes hit, longer note 'streaks') the more money you earn, allowing you to unlock more. The drawback with this is you don't get any money in 'easy', but the stuff you've unlocked in 'medium' isn't available in 'hard' and you've got to go through all that again...
These minor gripes do not detract from a game that shows more flair and originality than most, as well as being one that is actually fun to play, even if you're not that good at it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am a girly guitar hero!, 1 May 2006
By 
Ms. N. K. Wright (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
You know those dancing games where you just jump up and down like a 2 year old at nursery, rather than actually doing any kind of proper 'dance' move?

Well, discard any notions you may have of this game being on a similar level. Guitar Hero is brilliant - you actually end up getting into it far too much - I found myself playing The Ace Of Spades with one booted foot up on the coffee table (to the bemused looks from the neighbours across the road).

I'm not really a gaming girl, but if you play too much air guitar and love your rock, then this is definitely for you. It seems expensive at first, but it's worth every penny as it is highly addictive.

And on that note; parents - don't even THINK of buying this for the kids until they've got their exams out of the way. Trust me - revision will go out of the window completely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever!, 19 May 2006
By 
J. F. J. Larner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
Simply put, this is the most fun game I've ever played, and I play a lot of games! As near to perfect as a game can get, Guitar Hero is extremely addictive and enjoyable. Being a fan of guitar music helps of course, but even people who prefer stuff like RnB or dance music should have a lot of fun playing, and who knows, maybe improve their taste in music at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun, 14 April 2006
By 
Mr. Shane Porter "shaneporter66" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the game that I was waiting for my entire life. Well, I didn't know I was waiting for it, but when it came along, I felt that it was made for me!

The other reviews on here go into the details - I'm just going to say that this game really is fantastic fun. Even my wife (someone who normally dislikes games) is really into it, and we've spent the last couple of nights playing it together.

As someone who's been playing 'video' games for over 20 years, this is one that I'll always remember with very fond memories for its uniqueness and sheer pleasure. It's quite simply one of the best games I've ever played.

Rock on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock on!, 17 Mar 2006
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
I think I've hit one of the must-have games for any PS2 owner that enjoys rock music. You get a physical "guitar" controller with this game, and it's amazingly fun!
You hold the controller just like a real guitar, and it's switchable for left handed players. The neck of the guitar has 5 buttons on it that you play with your left hand. In the center of the guitar is a "strum" button that you hit to play the notes. There's even a metal bar to wiggle, to cause the notes to "bend" to give an extra crowd boost.
If you're not a big hard rock / metal fan, there's only a few songs to choose from. You get Ziggy Stardust, Crossroads, Killer Queen, Sharp Dressed Man, More than a Feeling and a few more. Those who like harder rock will be quite thrilled, though. There's Iron Man, I Wanna Be Sedated, Symphony of Destruction, You've Got Another Thing Comin' and much more.
There are four difficulty levels. You start with easy of course, where it's great fun to play along with your favorite songs and just have fun. When you crank up to the higher levels - moving through various venues and unlocking different characters and guitars - the keys get VERY difficult. Still, it's a blast hammering away at the notes, waving your guitar around in the air and having fun.
The sound is quite good, and you get a real boost from hearing the crowd cheer and yell for you. The visuals are reasonable - but really, this isn't a game about visuals. You just watch for the buttons to press, and press them. It's really about the music.
Now, I do have to mention some complaints. The first is the song list. I wish they'd offered more of a wide selection of song types. I suppose that new games will come out soon with more song options, which I'll look forward to.
Next is the key layout. I really love the strum bar. But the buttons up on the neck of the guitar are AWFUL. They have 5 wide buttons all in a straight line. The buttons have to be pressed straight in to work well. Human fingers simply don't work that way. They should have put the buttons at an angle - both angled a bit diagonally the way a hand holds a guitar neck, and also angled up-down so that your fingers press into them at an angle. As it is now, the buttons tend to stick and jam. When you fail at a really complex song because the keys have stuck, it's very frustrating.
That being said, you can usually get through an hour or two before your fingers really start to kill you. If you play with a group of friends, passing the guitar around between songs, that means an afternoon can go by before all of you end up with finger pain. I suppose it's a built in way to ensure that you don't play video games all day long :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even non musical girls can play, 3 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is great. At first I was a little disappointed because some of the well known songs are locked in the career mode, but actually the ones I didn't know are more fun to play. If your partner finds sharing hard, it might be an idea to get a second guitar when they are availible. This will be even better for parties becasue you can go head to head.

Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing fun!!!, 28 April 2006
By 
M. Drew "mrd04" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
The first time I played this game was just as much fun as the 100th time I played it! Obviously, it's not going to be as much fun for those who aren't into their rock music - but for those of you who are I definitely recommend the game! You don't need any experience of a real guitar (in fact, it seems people who can play guitar aren't as good at Guitar Hero as those that can't play a real one!). It's a brilliant game to play in a group of people - the songs are good, the graphics are cool, and seeing your mates strumming along to Killer Queen while they dance around your living room is priceless!

The only down side to the game is that there aren't as many songs to choose from as I would have liked, but it's only a small complaint.

Great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply breath taking, 8 April 2006
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
The title really sums up this game but that isn't enough for a review.
Guitar Hero is the best game realesed so far this year, don't let the price put you off, it is deffinately worth it.

The game comes with a Gibson SG replica controller, which is incredibly fun to play with. It has five different coloured fret buttons, a whammy bar and a srum bar.
The guitar also comes with stickers so u can customise your guitar a bit.
Also don't worry if your left handed, as you can change the settings to lefty in the options menu.

The game comes with over 50 songs, some of these songs are- fat lip by sum41, killer queen by queen, ace of spades by motorhead and ziggy stardust by david bowie. So basically it has a mix from new songs to old.

The game has four difficultys- easy, medium, hard, and expert. Easy is perfect for begginers, you only use three of the five fret buttons and the notes are pretty slow andspaced out.
Expert is extremely difficult but practise makes perfect and eventually you will get the hang of it.

There are four game modes- tutorial, multiplayer, quick play and career.
Tutorial teaches you the basics of guitar hero and really helps you get used to the guitar controller.
Multiplayer lets you play against a friend and is enormous fun espicially if you both hav a guitar controller, don't worry if you don't, you can always just use a normal ps2 controller.
Quick play allows you to play any song you hav unlocked. this helps you practise for the career mode.
Carrer mode- this is basically story mode, you have to play to please the crowd and earn money. With the money you can go to the unlock shop, where you buy skins for your guitar, new songs, new guitars, videos, and new characters such as the grim ripper (which is basically the grim reaper but with a guitar)

The game is amazing and is a must buy, especially if you like rock songs.
The only down sides to this game is if you don't like rock music then there is probably not much point of buying this as all the songs are rock music, this was not a problem for me because i love rock music.
Another down side to this game is that it can get very very frustrating, especially on the harder difficultys.

I have been playin this game none stop sinse i brought it and my wrist is killin me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 28 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
Bought this one Saturday afternoon, took it home...Promptly went out and bought a bottle of Jack in true rock star stylie! Had the most fun ever. Brilliant game. Would recommend this to anybody who doesn't take life too seriously and wants some fun. God knows what our neighbours thought, two twenty-somethings prancing around the living room with a plastic guitar and whooping with delight every time a difficult solo was nailed. You will get addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wa Wa twannnng :D ooo thats good, 1 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Guitar Hero (PS2) (Video Game)
firstly can i just say, that no words that i can say in this review, or any other review, can describe the feeling this game gives you.

If you have ever been on a dance machine at the arcade, and youre pretty good at it, you will know what i mean when i say it gives you an indescribable kind of pleasure when you go through a really tough solo (or particularly difficult set of dance moves) perfectly on hard difficulty, that few moments, where you dont even think about it, your mond just switches off, and your subconcious controls what you do. It gives you a rather amazing shudder of pleasure.

And until guitar hero arrived, i thought i would only be able to feel that feeling every month or so when i went bowling, and it would cost me a pound a go, but no! guitar hero gives you that same feeling, and in the comfort of your own home.

Other pros- a wide variety of music, from nu metal, to punk to classic rock to classic metal! theres something for everyone, and you just might find a few tracks that you like so much you go out and actually buy the CDs, because i certainly did!

Great lifespan, 4 dificulties, 47 tracks, easy to learn, incredibly difficult to master. (especially on the hard and expert stages)

Whammy bar - bend long notes and make you sound and feel like a legend.

An actual storyline - build you rep, earn money, and play at bigger venues by performing like a true guitar hero.

buy new stuff! bonus tracks, new guitars, guitar skins, characters, bonus tracks, behind the scenes and more!

Brilliant potential to be just like singstar (where they realease more games as a solus, that has more tracks and new features)

Cons- Graphics are functunal, not amazing, bu then again who cares?

Some absolute classics missed (no guns n roses, iron maiden, nirvana ect.)

Some people will get frustrated when they get to hard and just give up

summary - ok, it may cost an extra 20 quid, but you will never experience ANYTHING like this unless youve got a bug danse machine in your basement, which would cost u an extra few grand.

YOU NEED THIS GAME IN YOUR LIFE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guitar Hero (PS2)
Guitar Hero (PS2) (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews