Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2006
OK, you could say this is a notch below "Mott." Still, that is high praise indeed, as "Mott" is one of the greatest rock'n'roll albums ever. With "The Hoople," we get more of the same, but on a slightly different wavelength. With the departure of Mick Ralphs, the guitar situation was somewhat confused, leaving more room for Ian Hunter's keyboards in the mix. That isn't to say that "The Hoople" doesn't rock - it does, and like a madman. "The Golden Age of Rock'n'Roll," "Born Late '58" (with Overend Watts on vocals), and "Crash Street Kidds" are first rate proto-punk rockers with Hunter's pounding piano adding to the wonderful noise. "Roll Away the Stone" simply soars, and the psychodrama of "Marionette" is funny and frightening. Two highlights are "Alice" and "Pearl'n'Roy (England)" - loping music hall numbers driven by Hunter's pseudo-barrelhouse piano and gutter poetry. Yeah, this may be a notch below "Mott," but that just means that "Mott" rates a 10 and "The Hoople" is a 9.9 - still sheer brilliance in my book.
The bonus tracks on this remastered version actually add substantial value to the package, a few b-sides/outtakes, stomping, storming live tracks, and Hunter's wonderful farewell "Saturday Gigs."
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2006
OK, you could say this is a notch below "Mott." Still, that is high praise indeed, as "Mott" is one of the greatest rock'n'roll albums ever. With "The Hoople," we get more of the same, but on a slightly different wavelength. With the departure of Mick Ralphs, the guitar situation was somewhat confused, leaving more room for Ian Hunter's keyboards in the mix. That isn't to say that "The Hoople" doesn't rock - it does, and like a madman. "The Golden Age of Rock'n'Roll," "Born Late '58" (with Overend Watts on vocals), and "Crash Street Kidds" are first rate proto-punk rockers with Hunter's pounding piano adding to the wonderful noise. "Roll Away the Stone" simply soars, and the psychodrama of "Marionette" is funny and frightening. Two highlights are "Alice" and "Pearl'n'Roy (England)" - loping music hall numbers driven by Hunter's pseudo-barrelhouse piano and gutter poetry. Yeah, this may be a notch below "Mott," but that just means that "Mott" rates a 10 and "The Hoople" is a 9.9 - still sheer brilliance in my book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2011
Mott The Hoople was in 1972 one of the oldest new rockbands around. Well known for their live performances but without the attention of the great audiance.
Worn out after 4 failed albums, the band were to split, when an for the time almost unknown singasong writer David Bowie, persuaded them to make the final push. The (33 years old) Ian Hunter, frontman of Mott The Hoople, was not thrilled by the offered Bowie song Suffragette City and asked for a better. Bowie took out his guitar, sat on the office floor and performed a song, which I call The anthem of the 70ies "All The Young Dudes". The Hooples loved it and made a version which still today and in the future will be regarded as one of the biggest rocksongs.
The album "The Hoople" is the last the band ever recorded, and in the Mott The Hoople way, starting with chaos, as the brilliant leadguitarist Mick Ralphs announced his split from the band at the same time. The reduced band made an album with all kinds of moods, sounds and style, with Hunters "lean-back", ironic and sarkastic comments on topics of the day, included himself "Looking Through The Looking Glass"
Their are refrences to Lou Reed (Walk On The Wild Side) in the song "Alice", but funny, elegant and well-written. "Marionette" is a political remark of the cruel ways the society handles common people (and still do).
On the silly lovesong "Trudi`s Song", Hunter makes a joke of a loveaffair gone bad or....?
"The Golden Age Of Rock'n'Roll" recorded in a funny traditionell rock'n'roll voice over introduktion from Ian Hunter with a strong piano rockabilly of the 50ies. But the sound is fantastic, you'll think it was recorded just yesterday - brilliant, smooth and beautiful, the rhythm and use of instruments flowing in and out are incredible.
The album "The Hoople" has been in my record collection since autumm 1974, but still fascinates me today, as one of the finest fingerprints made by rockartists.
I have dearly missed Mott The Hoople since they finally split in 1974. "What if they had the time to make a couple more great albums?" But you can hear lots of Mott The Hoople in every rock band coming out of UK and USA ever since the golden age of rock'n`roll.
"The Hoople" is one of the 100 rockalbums in any CD or Ipod collection.
Michael Mørch, Denmark.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
'The Hoople' was the follow-up album to the highly regarded 'Mott' released the year before. This album features new guitarist Ariel Bender and pianist Morgan Fisher, who bring a new sound to the band. The album involves sax and keybords further than the last album. Features 'Roll Away The Stone', 'Born Late 58' and 'The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll'. The songs are played and arranged perfectly. The album includes three bonus tracks, one of which is the single 'Foxy Foxy'. A great album with bonus tracks! What more could you ask for? BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2006
From start to finish this album is full of fantastic music, which shows that behind the sparkle, and platform boots there was some real quality in the glam era. Unlike the previous review, i beleive 'The Hoople'is a better album than 'Mott', in fact their very best. The songs are varied, but seem to fit together to make a very strong album.If you like Mott the Hoople and dont have this buy it now.If you have never heard them, go on give this a try, its a classic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
After four albums on Island between 1969 and 1971 that saw little chart action ("Mott The Hoople", "Mad Shadows", "Wildlife" and "Brain Capers") - then the David Bowie assisted breakthrough of "All The Young Dudes" in 1972 with its equally successful follow-up "Mott" in 1973 - the pressure was on to produce another winner. And Mott The Hoople's 7th LP "The Hoople" featuring Ian Hunter delivered what was needed.

UK released April 2006 – "The Hoople" by MOTT THE HOOPLE on Sony/Legacy 82796 978732 (Barcode 827969787328) is an 'Expanded Edition' CD Remaster and plays out as follows (69:06 minutes):

1. The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll
2. Marionette
3. Alice
4. Crash Street Kidds
5. Born Late 1958 [Side 2]
6. Trudi's Song
7. Pearl 'N' Roy (England)
8. Through The Looking Glass
9. Roll Away The Stone
Tracks 1 to 9 are their seventh studio album "The Hoople" - released in the UK in July 1974 on CBS Records S 69064 and Columbia PC 32871

BONUS TRACKS:
10. Where Do They All Come From
Non-album B-side of the November 1973 UK 7" single "Roll Away The Stone" on CBS Records S CBS 1895
11. Rest In Peace
Non-album B-side of the March 1974 UK 7" single "The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll" on CBS Records S CBS 2177
12. Foxy, Foxy
Non-album A-side of a June 1974 UK 7" single on CBS Records S CBS 2439
13. (Do You Remember The) Saturday Gigs
Non-album A-side of a September 1974 UK 7" single on CBS Records S CBS 2754 (credited as "Saturday Gig" on the label)
14. The Saturday Kids (Work In Progress Mixes)
15. Lounge Lizard (Aborted B-side)
16. American Pie/The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll (Live From Broadway)

The 12-page booklet is pleasantly festooned with foreign picture sleeves and affectionate/knowledgeable liner notes by Campbell Devine - author of "All The Young Dudes: The Official Autobiography Of Mott The Hoople".

But the best news for fans is a fantastic new remaster by tape wizard VIC ANESINI whose credits include Simon & Garfunkel, Stevie Ray Vaughan, The Jayhawks, Elvis Presley, Carole King, Hall & Oates and Santana to name but a few. The muscle on the rockers like "Marionette" and the Overend Watts track "Born Late '58" (the only Mott song to feature a non Ian Hunter vocal) is properly great. The singles too "The Golden Age Of Rock 'n' Roll" and "Roll Away The Stone" still thrill in that T.Rex glam kind of way (Lynsey De Paul contributes vocals to "Roll Away The Stone"). But for me the bees-knees is the gorgeous ballad to his Hunter's wife "Trudi's Song" (lyrics above) - the kind of Seventies tune that reduces me to mush for some reason.

This is also one of those reissues where the Bonus Tracks actually up the ante rather than just acting as filler. The previously unreleased mix of "The Saturday Kids" rocks and the aborted single B-side "Lounge Lizard" is a guitar-driven find - fabulous stuff. And those great single sides like "Saturday Gig" remind me of the buzz I got just finding their stuff in record stores and in secondhand shops. It does seem odd though that the "Saturday Gig" non-album B-side Medley of "Jerkin' Crocus, Sucker and Violence" isn't here too when there was room. But overall - a very tasty package indeed.

In 2016 – a Remastered "The Hoople" CD is cheaper than a pair of cheap sunglasses at a market stall. And I'm down with that. Get this little audio nugget into your shady home right away...

PS: Inspired by the ballad that turned me into a big girl's blouse this afternoon - I formed the following 70's FEST CD compilation list for geysers between 50 and 75 (and that's just the waistline). I've called it "Songs To Make A Grown Man Cry" and it just about fits onto an 80-minute CD-R. Here goes...

1. That's The Way - LED ZEPPELIN (October 1970 on "Led Zeppelin III" LP)
2. Home Again - CAROLE KING (March 1971 on "Tapestry" LP)
3. If I Laugh - CAT STEVENS (September 1971 on "Teaser And The Firecat" LP)
4. Debris - FACES (November 1971 on "A Nod's As Good As A Wink...To A Blind Horse" LP)
5. Old Man - NEIL YOUNG (February 1972 on "Harvest" LP)
6. Watch Me - LABI SIFFRE (July 1972 UK 7" single-only on Pye International)
7. Journey - DUNCAN BROWNE (August 1972 UK 7" single-only on Rak)
8. My Friend The Sun - FAMILY (September 1972 on "Bandstand" LP)
9. You Turn Me On, I'm A Radio - JONI MITCHELL (December 1972 on "For The Roses" LP)
10. The Right Thing To Do - CARLY SIMON (January 1973 on "No Secrets" LP)
11. The Kiss - JUDEE SILL (April 1973 on "Heart Food" LP)
12. I'm In Love With A Girl - BIG STAR (January 1974 on "Radio City" LP)
13. Trudi's Song by MOTT THE HOOPLE (March 1974 on "The Hoople" LP)
14. Roll On Babe - RONNIE LANE & SLIM CHANCE (August 1974 on "Anymore For Anymore" LP)
15. You're A Big Girl Now - BOB DYLAN (February 1975 on "Blood On The Tracks" LP)
16. Misty - RAY STEVENS (August 1975 on "Misty" LP)
17. Stay Young - GALLAGHER & LYLE (January 1976 on "Breakaway" LP)
18. On And On - STEPHEN BISHOP (December 1976 on "Careless" LP)
19. Alison - ELVIS COSTELLO (July 1977 on "My Aim Is True" LP)
20. River Song - DENNIS WILSON (September 1977 on "Pacific Ocean Blue" LP)
21. She's Always A Woman - BILLY JOEL (December 1977 on "The Stranger" LP)
22. English Rose - THE JAM (November 1978 on "All Mod Cons" LP)

Further suggestions/slagging in the 'comment' postcard section please...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
One of Motts best and Ian Hunter at his peak. Get transported back to those heady Glam Rock years not only with some classic singles but some very worthy album tracks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Ah...this is an album that I love to listen to. Brings back memories. Classic Mott! Bought more for nostalgic reasons than anything else!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
recently watched a programme about Mott the hoople and the bands history and thought I should replace some lost music
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
As a teenager I purchased the original LP and bought this on a whim but expected it to be dated. Obviously my taste in music has not altered as much as I thought as I still love it! Favourite tracks include Alice and the Golden Age of Rock 'n' Roll, but to my mind the best track of all is Marionette. Ian Hunter should publish a book of his lyrics as they are evocative and stand the test of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£7.68

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)