Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW -now this is what you call a box set
i ordered this boxset having bought, quite some time ago, a very limited leather bound complete book set of the Chronicles of Narnia direct from the U.S.A.for future appreciation (hopefully ??)
these were/are for my own children once they are old enough to appreciate the value of such items.
the whole point of telling you this is to relate my own personal...
Published on 4 April 2006 by R. Pievaitis

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin
Hollywood's constant striving to fit complex and major works of fiction into short cinema timescales has serious implications on the film's watchability. Too much of the story is cut and it leaps far ahead of itself in order to keep pace, this film just needs more time in it. The CGI is of course superb and generally it sticks to Lewis's intentions and morality, It'll...
Published on 9 April 2006 by Mr. J. J. Percival


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW -now this is what you call a box set, 4 April 2006
By 
R. Pievaitis "aka richard meadows, BleedTheField" (communing with the arcturians above new mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - DVD Ultimate Box Set [Limited Edition - Amazon.co.uk Worldwide Exclusive] (DVD)
i ordered this boxset having bought, quite some time ago, a very limited leather bound complete book set of the Chronicles of Narnia direct from the U.S.A.for future appreciation (hopefully ??)
these were/are for my own children once they are old enough to appreciate the value of such items.
the whole point of telling you this is to relate my own personal pleasure with the overall quality of the limited edition boxset on offer from amazon.
sometimes i am sure we have all ordered "limited editions/ boxsets " of our favourite author,singer,group or composer etc ,etc only to find that when the item arrives you are somewhat let down by the quality of the presentation.to be honest sometimes it can be cheap and downright tacky.
this is not the case here - from the moment the knock on the door (not by the postman ) leads to the open eyed amazement of the size of the protective postal packaging - you know you are in for a treat.
i will not bore you with any description of the film as i am sure you will have seen it already at the cinema ,i am just bowled over by the contents of the boxset.
the overall box contains all the goodies mentioned above in amazons opening precis,but its just such quality -even the blue box that contains the lamppost keyring is made to look of "a certain period ".
the cinematic book is also excellent and great for my kids to relate all the actors.if you start to add up the individual value of all the contents it must be quite a saving by buying the boxset.
in summary ,if you like quality limited edition products then this will not fail to please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Love..., 24 Dec 2006
By 
Frida Grönberg "*Hermy*" (Sweden,duh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Oh God,do I love this film or what?! Everything is just perfect,the acting,the brilliant story,and the visual effects.And no,I'm not just a fan of the movie who never touched one of the books.I read this book at the age of 7 or 8 maybe,and then continued with reading the other Chronicles of Narnia.Going deeper and deeper into a strong Harry Potter obsession,I sort of pushed Narnia aside for some years,but this movie brought me back to the magical land of Narnia once again.I haven't seen any of the other adaptaions of this classic (like the BBC one or the cartoon),but I dare say that this must be the best one ever.I'm totally amazed with the actors,who played their parts extremely well.Everything is just like I imagined from reading the book for the first time,that day 6 years ago.

So what more can I say? I am in love,and have been for almost a year now.This is the best film I have ever seen,and I do really recommend it to any Narnia fan or fantasy freak.

// Frida
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top package, 16 July 2006
This review is from: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - DVD Ultimate Box Set [Limited Edition - Amazon.co.uk Worldwide Exclusive] (DVD)
There have been critics of this movie, and to a certain extent they have a point - The large battle scenes will never rival those of the Lord of the Rings, however, this movie was aimed at a younger audience as were the excellent books. When viewed in context, this movie hits the spot. From the first moment the Pevensie children set foot in the land of Narnia through to their return through the wardrobe this movie delivers an exciting and magical adventure.

The movie started in an inspired way with the Luftwaffe air raid over London introducing the audience to the reason why Peter, Susan, Edmund and Lucy were staying with Professor Kirke in the first place, and then rolled on with a consistent and easy flow. The locations were magnificent, and the use of animatronics amazing - as were the CGI and CGI augmented creatures! A particularly nice touch was the way that Mr Tumnus shook away the snow from his hooves by stamping on the mat - his 'backwards' goat legs really looked the part. The witch was not as frightening as she could have been, but had I been six years old I'd have been terrified. Aslan was surprisingly lion like but managed to convey the majesty of the king.

I liked this movie and this limited edition box set will make an excellent present. I look forward to the coming of "Prince Caspian" in 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Through the wardrobe, 6 July 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - DVD Ultimate Box Set [Limited Edition - Amazon.co.uk Worldwide Exclusive] (DVD)
For several years, fantasy films were MIA, except the occasional hack job.

Then Peter Jackson's glorious "Lord of the Rings" came and went, leaving some pretty big shoes to fill, as far as fantasy films go. "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe" doesn't quite fit the shoes, but it comes a lot closer than any other movie has.

In Andrew Adamson's adaptation, C.S. Lewis's classic fantasy novel comes alive with remarkable fidelity, sparkling special effects, and some truly excellent acting by almost everyone concerned. If "Lord of the Rings" was stern older brother Peter, then this movie is Lucy -- bright, swift and thoroughly charming.

With WW II raging, the four Pevensie children are sent to the countryside, at an eccentric professor's mansion. But during a game of hide-and-seek, little Lucy (Georgie Henley) hides inside a wardrobe -- and stumbles into a wintry wilderness, with a faun she befriends. Alas, her brothers and sisters don't believe her -- but they don't know that Edmund (Skandar Keynes) has also gone through, and befriended a sinister, beautiful Witch (Tilda Swinton).

Eventually all four end up going through the wardrobe, but but they soon find that the Witch is hunting for them, in fear that they will fulfil an ancient prophecy. But Edmund has run off to join the Witch. And so the remaining three must join up with Aslan (Liam Neeson), the leonine god-king of Narnia. But the price for victory against the Witch may be too high.

Since "The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe" is labelled both a kids' book and a Christian fantasy, it's easy to get put off by the description of it. Don't be. Director Andrew Adamson ("Shrek" and "Shrek 2") has obviously given this his whole heart and soul, and it has the right mixture of majesty and humor that a film like this needed.

And Adamson does a spectacular job. The the taut race across a frozen river, the bombing of London, tea with the faun Tumnus, and even the cameo by Father Christmas (who gets a medieval makeover) -- all of these come to life with remarkable skill and grace, but with respect for its audience's intelligence. The make-or-break scene is Aslan stalking to the stone table, and the horrifying sacrifice scene that follows does justice to Lewis' novel.

But Adamson doesn't let it get overinflated on its own ego. When Edmund tells his horse, "Whoa, boy!" it retorts peevishly, "My NAME is Philip!"; elsewhere, the beavers snipe at each other like an old married couple. Those moments of lightness -- and giving Aslan a sense of humor -- keep the film from seeming self-conscious.

And of course, the special effects. WETA workship deserves an award (it's been nominated for a few) for the amazing CGI, ranging from goat-legged Tumnus to the lion Aslan, who looks almost real. They are especially good in battle scenes, which are startlingly savage and brutal, but filled with outstanding moments, such as a centaur leaping over the Witch and nearly beheading her.

Young Georgie Henley is probably the most capable actress here, conveying misery, awe, delight, childish glee and sorrow. All this from a small child, when a lot of adult actors can't manage that much. Skandar Keynes and Anna Popplewell turn in good performances as Edmund and Susan. Swinton and William Moseley (Peter) start off rather woodenly, but they both blossom when the four arrive in Narnia.

This deluxe edition includes a light-up keychain, movie companion book, a rewarding volume that shows you every step from concept to result. Interviews, concept art, casting information, and WETA workshop's creation of the otherworldly Narnia. It really adds a new dimension to your viewing experience to see this book in addition to the movie.

Though Lewis was reportedly against a live-action adaptation of the Chronicles, it's hard to imagine him having a problem with this rapid-fire, sparkling adaptation. (And stay for the credits for an extra surprise...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Box Set for Ultimate Fans!, 24 April 2006
This review is from: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - DVD Ultimate Box Set [Limited Edition - Amazon.co.uk Worldwide Exclusive] (DVD)
I have always loved the story of the Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe and it was the first book which I bought at the age of 8. Therefore I could not wait for the release of The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe at the cinema and had to buy this Ultimate box set when it went on release. The box set has so much to offer to a die-hard fan like myself, right from opening the "doors" into the set, to the piture of Lucy under the lampost inside. The 2 disc edition DVD is packed full of extras, as is the book, and the lovely etched crystal picture of the lampost is a truly wonderful bonus. I recommend this Box Set to any fan, who wants just a little bit more magic than the average DVD fan. Happy watching....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review about the box set Ultra Deluxe version not the movie, 10 April 2006
By 
Wilfried (Turnhout Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe - DVD Ultimate Box Set [Limited Edition - Amazon.co.uk Worldwide Exclusive] (DVD)
This review is about the box set (ultra deluxe) and not about the movie (which is great).
For anyone who likes luxurious DVD-box-sets you can be sure of this fact: This one is a "must-have"! not only for the fans from the movie but also for all whom loved the story about Narnia from C.S. Lewis. It looks lake the wardrobe from the movie inclusive two copper knobs which opens the box. Inside the box you'll find the DVD "The Chronicles of Narnia, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe S.E" along with a small blue rectangular shaped box which holds the key-ring. Behind (or below to be specific) there is thick book fully illustrated with all the behind the scenes and lots more.
The DVD:
This is the Special Edition version of the movie. One movie disc with extra feature: commentary. The second disc is the bonus disc with lots and lots of extra's. Faintly reminds me at the Extended Edition from "The Lords Of the Rings". The sound is for English is a 5.1 Dolby Surround from high quality.
The Key-Ring:
A must-have especially created for Amazon.co.uk. This high-quality item gives you a touch of magic. Made from glass and stainless steel holds a light which can be turned on simply by pressing a side-switch that has a form of a small knob. The light shines pure white which is visible in broad daylight too.
The movie companion book:
A massive thick book beautifully illustrated with photo's from the cast, crew, surroundings, creatures and concept art. Text: Story of how it turned from book to scrypt to making the movie The Chronicles of Narnia, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe. Interviews taken from the cast, director and producer. This book is how a movie companion book has to be, giving a lot of information about the movie without hardly any spoilers.
This set gives you real value for money especially when you realize there are limited to 2000 copy's. Even for the none-fans who likes fantasy movies this set is realy worth giving attention to!
About the reviewer:
A Belgium Narnia fan brought up with four languages, Flemish (sort of Dutch), English, French and German. I did read the Chronicles of Narnia (Dutch translation: "De Kronieken van Narnia: de Leeuw, de Heks en de Kleerkast.") a long time ago when I was twelve years old at a library of my school and in a way never letting it go from my mind. A few years later I bought the original English version, bought from Amazon.co.uk which was for me a kind of a revelation. Although it was a few years ago when I read the story for the first time, I felt that the original translation had more to offer which was and still is not a surprise to me at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thin, 9 April 2006
By 
Mr. J. J. Percival "sedgemoor" (Hungerford(ish), UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hollywood's constant striving to fit complex and major works of fiction into short cinema timescales has serious implications on the film's watchability. Too much of the story is cut and it leaps far ahead of itself in order to keep pace, this film just needs more time in it. The CGI is of course superb and generally it sticks to Lewis's intentions and morality, It'll keep the kids amused for a while but I'd rent before buying; especially as the marketing team managed to fit all of the best cinematography into the trailer, the rest of the film just seems to fall a bit flat. LOTR it isn't, if indeed it tries to be, but maybe it's worth looking at the BBC version again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but not very extended, 22 Nov 2006
By 
Melissa "xenutia" (Robertsbridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While the packaging is possibly the most exquisite to date and the bonus materials are very good value, I couldn't help but feel that this is more of a 'Special Edition' than an 'Extended Edition'. The film itself has next to no additional material - I haven't clocked it but I think it was about five minutes, none of which added to the story at all. Most of the additional material consisted of extended camera shots of landscapes and a small section during the Battle of Beruna. If you are interested in Collector's items and want all the Behind-the-Scenes magic, then this set is a good buy. However if you were only considering it for the extended movie, I don't think this set is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Jackson watch out !!!, 16 April 2006
Even as an adult watching this "family film" I was impressed by the story,acting and especially the special effects,which never failed to convince that these could be real animals (albeit the talking!).

Thoroughly recommend to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical adaptation of an even more magical story, 4 April 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
If you're going to bring a beloved classic to life, you had better do it right - and director Andrew Adamson did just that, largely because of his own special memories of reading the book as a child. The timing for this film was also right - not only because it follows in the wake of the masterful Lord of the Rings series (and there will always be comparisons between Narnia and LOTR, despite their vast differences) but, more importantly, because this film really could not have been made any earlier. I wasn't a big fan of CGI when the technology emerged; I thought it took away from the purity of the medium and, of course, it was oftentimes obviously not real in those early days. When you watch The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, though, you see the undeniable magic that CGI has now opened up. This film is heavy with computer animation, and its integration with real actors and sets is virtually seamless. Aslan, by way of example, may well be CGI's highest achievement to date. For one thing, he looks bloody real in every scene, but what is truly amazing is the depth of feeling and emotion that comes through in his face and gestures, particularly during the scene at the Stone Slab.
There's really far more to praise about this film than I have time or room for. I'll just say the cinematography and music are masterful, and the creation of the different creatures (be they computer-generated or wonders of costuming) are incredibly detailed and realistic. I just want to hurry up and talk about the children playing the Pevensie siblings. Do they give awards for best casting? If they don't, they certainly should, and this film would take that prize hands-down. They boys (William Moseley as Peter and Skandar Keynes as Edmund) are excellent, but the girls are nothing short of perfect. There's just something about Anna Popplewell (Susan) that I find blissfully charming. Her character is basically the smart and careful one of the bunch, and Popplewell just radiates nobility and a maturity beyond her years. Young Georgie Henley, though, takes the proverbial cake as little Lucy. I tend to think of this story as Lucy's for the most part. It is she who first takes us into Narnia, and we see that enchanted land primarily through her eyes. Aslan is the central character, but Lucy is really the audience's link to everything that happens. I think you can experience Narnia just by watching Lucy - the childish wonder, the joy of the land's magic, and the heart-breaking sadness of the White Witch's most evil deeds. If you listen to the children's commentary on the DVD, though, you'll be even more impressed with these kids. Georgie is the quintessential child, a fountain of unbridled energy and unabashed honesty, but she also asks the director some incredibly insightful questions about some of his directorial decisions. All of these kids are smart as a whip, but that Georgie truly is something special.
I'm assuming you already know the story here, so I won't go into plot details. What makes the story resonate so deeply is the myriad of interpretations you can take away from it. Clearly, there's a strong Christian allegory at work here, primarily in terms of Aslan, the rightful king of Narnia, but you don't have to view the story in that way at all - although the moral implications of this classic contest between good and evil are obvious and beneficial to all. Your interpretation, in fact, may very well change with each viewing. Children can just enjoy it as an adventure with talking animals, but as they come back to the film over time they will begin to pick up on the deeper meanings of the story. This is one of those rare films that gets better and better with each viewing.
You have to love the bonus features on the two-disc collector's edition. We're talking hours and hours of behind-the-scenes footage and insights into the whole Narnia experience (and a few bloopers). I really love the Kids and Director Commentary, and I would heartily encourage you to watch that. Filmmaker commentary (and there's one of those here, as well) tend to be rather boring. I got more out of the Kids Commentary than I would normally get out of ten filmmaker commentaries. You also have the option of watching the film with interesting facts about Narnia popping up from time to time. If you really want to know how in the world this incredible movie was brought to life, you'll relish Disc 2 and its hours of interviews and film prep featurettes on the casting, design, costuming, creature-making, etc. You can also find really nice information on the different creatures you'll meet in Narnia - and you can even explore Narnia's most important locations and hear a little more about what happens in Narnia after the story of The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe ends. The Special Two-Disc Collector's Edition of this movie is truly the complete package - and a must for Narnia fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews