Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
When I started watching this movie I was really concerned that it would be pretty mediocre, unimaginative and dull, having lost my confidence in teen movies with the disintegrating ending to American Pie 2. But this is great and I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to fuss around with movies and wants to watch a winningly no-excuses, riotous and unapologetically...
Published on 26 Oct 2003 by andythehitsbag

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes! Yes! Another Teen Movie
Excellent film, very funny at times even if the humour is obvious. Its plain and to the point.

This film is for any viewers who have watched all the classic teen/student movies, ranging from: Unbreakable, Save the Last Dance, The Breakfast Club, American Pie, Cruel Intentions and Varsity Blues. If you haven't seen these films or a multitude of other teen...
Published on 13 Feb 2008 by Mr. Andrew G. Kenworthy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 26 Oct 2003
When I started watching this movie I was really concerned that it would be pretty mediocre, unimaginative and dull, having lost my confidence in teen movies with the disintegrating ending to American Pie 2. But this is great and I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't want to fuss around with movies and wants to watch a winningly no-excuses, riotous and unapologetically immature American comedy. The storyline is pretty formulaic (a teenage rollercoaster term at a high school in nowheresville America ending in the climax of the national institution of the prom), but you don't really notice it with another clever gag always around the corner. With American teen stereotypes to the fore, it bluntly sends each and every one of them up without nerve; the demonic geek; the issues-heavy cheerleader; the over-confident jock; and my personal facourite, the ethnic stereotypes - the black character's role a cheeky pop at colour-conscious America. Its winning element though, is its insistence to be unapologetically sick and vulgar with its humour, especially a particularly disgusting collapsing toilet scene, and the blatant incest gags, and there's also a strong element of very un-American irony throughout the film - the quirky spoofs of Grease's most cringeworthy moments, and even in the title.
One of the best films ever to switch your brain off for - and I mean that in a nice way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good if you know your teen movies, 14 Sep 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Speaking as a long-time fan of teen movies, I was quite impressed by the scope and quality of this motion picture. I don't generally go for gross-out humor, but this film takes a slightly higher road than, say, Scary Movie, actually striving to encapsulate all of the bits and pieces of years of other movies into a coherent plot. Sure, there are a few aspects of real raunchiness included here, with two scenes in particular being pretty disgusting, but the movie never sunk to the level of becoming distasteful to my eyes. I also have to admire the verve with which the filmmakers went about their tasks; if you are going to do a full-fledged parody, I say don't hold back, and Not Another Teen Movie does not hold back at all, especially in terms of the language. This movie is brash and unafraid, and that is a real factor in its success.
I was amazed by the vast number of movies that found themselves ridiculed and incorporated into this film; I was expecting send-ups of teen comedies from the past ten years, but this movie draws heavily from a number of classic 80s films and even snatches a few things from 1970 classics such as Grease. Even a number of films I wouldn't consider teen movies (but which do feature teens) are pulled into this satirical universe – e.g., American Beauty. This could almost be a weakness because today's teens may be unfamiliar with a lot of the parodies involved in this production; having come of age in the 80s, I easily spotted the references to classics such as Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, etc., but I wonder how many of today's teens pick up on little things such as the name of the high school (John Hughes High), understand the origins of a character such as Ricky, or see the significance of the prom dress Janey Briggs wears. Of course, the most obvious nod to 80s teen movies comes in the form of Molly Ringwald's unusual cameo appearance and the impressive homage to The Breakfast Club, which I admit left me feeling a little older than I would like to be. I think it is safe to say that those unfamiliar with teen movies of the last twenty years will get little enjoyment out of Not Another Teen Movie; you have to know the source of the parodies in order to really "get" them, and the mere task of trying to count the number of different movie reference can be a source of amusement in and of itself.
The DVD comes loaded with extras. If you have only a limited knowledge of teen movies, you may want to start by taking the Teen Movie I.Q. Quiz; if you score less than 50% on the quiz, you would do well to bone up on your teen movie knowledge before taking the step of actually watching Not Another Teen Movie. The list of additional special features, I must say, is legion: commentaries by both filmmakers and cast, 18 deleted scenes including the original ending, three behind-the-scenes featurettes, cast promos, an illuminating yearbook montage featuring the class of John Hughes High, a collection of cast member auditions, movie trailers, Meet the Cast promos, and a track of teen movie factoids. But wait, there's even more. First-time feature film director Joel Gallen's first short film is thrown into the mix, alongside a Behind the Video look at the unrated version of Marilyn Manson's Tainted Love video. If you think the likes of Mia Kirshner, Chyler Leigh, and Jaime Pressly are hot in the movie (and I don't know how you could think otherwise), you really want to see this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the funniest film like ever!, 12 Dec 2002
I can honestly say that I've never laughed so much in my life! It had me crying tears of laughter from beginning to end, especially the spoof 'Bring It On' scene & it had me squirming in my seat at the gross 'Cruel Intentions' kissing scene! If you loved the 'Scary Movie' films, & love gross-out movies then this is definately for you! In my opinion it's better than Scary Movie, because the Scream slasher film is just so over-done. You'll love picking out different parts of the film from other teen movies, eg. She's All That, Never Been Kissed, 10 Things I hate About You, just to name a few. The plot is mainly based on She's All That, but with loads of extra gross-out scenes & cheesy lines! Definately a film you can watch over & over & it'll get funnier each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars split down the middle, 25 Feb 2003
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
"No, not Janey Briggs! She's got glasses! And a ponytail! And she's wearing paint-covered overalls! Ugh! "
- jock Jake, on the "ugly pretty girl".
"Not Another Teen Movie " is a deeply split film. And that is reflected by the reviews. Some hate it, some love it. Me, I quite like it, oddly.
I actually found it interesting enough to listen to both of two commentary tracks, one from producer/director, and one from the cast. And this revealed what causes the twin personality of the film. Apparently when the director got offered the original script, he did not like it at all, because it was all one big gross-out joke with no story. So he turned it down. But they really wanted him, and so he asked them that a writer he knows could work over the script.
And it got worked over so thoroughly that the finished film apparently basically only has one scene that was in the original script. And it happens that this scene is also the one that clearly is the big gratuitous gross-out scene in the film. It is doubtlessly a scene that many modern teens will find hilarious. And very tellingly, it is also a scene that neither director/producor or the cast like at all! They would clearly rather have been without it at all, but kept it for box-office reasons. (What scene it is? Let us just say that it involves a toilet and hundreds of liters of chocolate sirup!)
Also interestingly, the original script only had parody of films from the nineties. But the producers wanted to give it more breadth and more heart, and to include lots of story from famous eighties teen movies, like Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, etc. (They even have Molly Ringwald appear in the end.)
One of the best things it has is female lead Chyler Leigh. Here is a prediction: she is going to be big, you read it here first. Chyler is very pretty indeed, and she is an excellent actor, and even an excellent dancer, as can be seen on the DVD extras. She has a gorgeous smile, and she can also be very funny, as is seen for instance in the opening scene where she is caught by her family with a vibrator in her bed. The faces she pull trying to tone down her ecstasy are priceless.
Another good thing is of course the "object of lust" as she herself puts it, the "generic foreign exchange student", Areola, who is never dressed. She is unfortunately only in the film a couple of times, and briefly. I guess because the nudity is "gratuitous". Can somebody tell me why, when you put nice landscapes in a film (example: the beautiful Straight Story by David Lynch) it is not gratuitous, but if you put a beautiful nude person in, it is?
They all clearly worked very hard on this film, and I think it does show. It is often crude, but it is also sometimes very funny indeed. And it has some very nice girls. I would quite like to have seen the film as it would have been if they had not needed the contemporary teen audience for box office. But even so, if you are not adverse to a teen comedy, I recommend it.
Favorite quote:
"Do you think I sleep with every guy who writes me a letter? No! I give them hand jobs." - Amanda Becker, the Unattainable Dream Girl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So not another teen movie!, 26 Jan 2003
This was such a great film! i watched it with my mate and we were literally screaming with laughter! The film takes the mick of all your fave teen flicks, from American Pie to Pretty in Pink. The gross out scenes make the film even more hilarious! The deleted scenes are a great addition (some arent that good, but must of them are wicked!) The Marylin Manson version of Tainted Love is a fab sound track that makes it rock even more! Well worth watching! Bring on a sequel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, 17 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This movie is so so funny. Its quite rude, so not really one to watch with parents as "bonding time", more of a sleepova flick!
Its basically taking the mick outta other movies such as Shes All That, and 10 Things I Hate About You.
Its a film Id recommend to any teen, but no-one younger, as there is nudity, and lots of bad language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. S. Youngson (Longtown,Nr Carlisle,Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Extended Cut) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
First viewed this on Sky and thought it was a very clever film, and the cameo by the one and only Mr T just added to the greatness of this film.
I thought it could not be improved but i was so wrong as this version with the extended scenes enlivens the story and it makes the the film make more sense.
All in all a great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spoof of the Teen genre, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Extended Cut) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Imagine my surprise when I found myself enjoying this spoof of the Teen genre, it's crude, lude and often a little dull but somehow Not Another Teen Movie remains funny and even kind of fresh.
Newbie director Joel Gallen peppers his movie with homages and gags based on nearly every Teen movie ever made, indeed this particular reviewer struggled to think of a film that wasn't referenced during the movies runtime. A fair few of the Gags don't work and quite a few are predictable but the majority of jokes end up as laugh out loud moments and having such a good looking cast only makes the film easier on the eyes.
The extended cut DVD is actually a lesser DVD release than the previous one containing all the same extras but actaully having a few cut out. Still it reamins a decent package for a surprisingly decent movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes! Yes! Another Teen Movie, 13 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. Andrew G. Kenworthy "Andy K" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Extended Cut) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Excellent film, very funny at times even if the humour is obvious. Its plain and to the point.

This film is for any viewers who have watched all the classic teen/student movies, ranging from: Unbreakable, Save the Last Dance, The Breakfast Club, American Pie, Cruel Intentions and Varsity Blues. If you haven't seen these films or a multitude of other teen films, then this film is not for you. The jokes will seem vulgar, pointless and just down right boring. For me however, this is not the case. The characters are obvious but played with a beautiful parodies of the other films.

Another thing I like about this film, there are plenty of little things in the background to spot on second viewing, also little references to other movies are subtle but humourous when spotted.

All in all, great film, but only if you like Teen/Student movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good spoof, 31 May 2009
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Extended Cut) [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
These Hollywood spoof movies get churned out on a production line it seems these days, and most of them are dreadful. I won't name any here, but this one Not Another Teen Movie, actually looks like someone wrote the script (yes script!) before the idea was pitched to the studio.
There are some extremely funny gags in this film and it also has a good cast. Unlike many of the other spoof movies it doesn't rely on shameless product placement for half the jokes. Someone has taken the time to make a funny film rather than one that will make profit from it's sponsors alone.
Chris Evans shows he has great comic timing. Randy Quaid is as funny as ever and there's even a cameo from Mr T.
Best spoof movie I've seen in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Another Teen Movie (Extended Cut) [DVD] [2006]
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews