Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-Men: Trilogy?
When I first saw X-Men I was pretty impressed and held off buying the DVD of it because I was aware a sequel would be made. The thing is thou I was always under the impression that X-Men wasn't a trilogy. It's true that the sequel were only made because the first film was a success right?

So if like me your fairly convinced that the box only says 'Trilogy' on...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by C. A. Meredith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars X Men DVD
The box was in good condition and came through within two weeks a good fast delivery but the second movie was damaged and was constantly skipping parts of the film. This became very annoying and effected the viewing of the film.
Published 6 months ago by Shannon White


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-Men: Trilogy?, 17 Sep 2007
This review is from: X-Men 1-3 Box Set (6 Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
When I first saw X-Men I was pretty impressed and held off buying the DVD of it because I was aware a sequel would be made. The thing is thou I was always under the impression that X-Men wasn't a trilogy. It's true that the sequel were only made because the first film was a success right?

So if like me your fairly convinced that the box only says 'Trilogy' on as a sort of vague marketing campaign, you might be pleased to find out that the movies are closer connected than previously thought (at least by me).

'SLIGHT SPOILERS'

For people who've enjoyed the first XMEN movie, its good to hear the DVD version included is an uncut version... well sort of. Actually the truth is you can watch the film with deleted scenes cut back in. This means that unlike famous re-cuts such as Apocalypse Now REDUX or Blade Runner, the film isn't a new version. Its the same, except frequently a short scene will play through. Needless to say it isn't seamless, the added clips often mean you'll have to watch parts of the film twice not a lot of the film, but its noticeable), also the new scenes are darker than the rest of the film and some special effects don't look quite up to standard.
This is all fine, you can still view the film without these scenes, but by doing to you find out so interesting stuff, that had it been left in, would have made the three films more of a Trilogy (!) rather than just a set of films. For example, in one deleted scene Rouge (a mutant character who can't touch other people's skin without harming them) asks if the professor can cure her. This scene is cut, however, it's interesting to keep in mind that Rouge does eventually opt to be cured in the 3rd film. Its a real shame that this scene and other examples like it aren't left in the film.

As special features go, its really the deleted scenes on all three DVDs that makes them. Each film comes with a 2nd disk (making 6 in total) telling you more about the film's production. I was fairly disappointed with the first features disk with XMEN, as I knew the film inside out from renting and seeing it on TV I was a little annoyed that the special features are pretty 'bear bones' mostly filmed on bog standard hand held cameras with not great sound, inter-cut with interviews with the actors that pop up again on part of the special features of XMEN2 and 3.

The features get hugely better with the 2nd film, telling you more about the comic book that the films are based on as well as deleted scenes and much more in-depth documentaries on production. There is a certain honesty about the interviews, but its not with out its shameless promotion: 'this movie is great'. The features don't offer much on the films other than how they were made. YES, these films are all widely well received, but its also well known that actress Hallie Berry and director of the first 2 movies Bryan Singer are not good friends. Their rocky relationship about the structure of Berry's character 'Storm' is undocumented, and you can see where the argument stems from as XMEN's (XMEN One) deleted scene are majority scene with Storm in.
Another character left on the floor in a large way is Cyclopes, whose relationship with Wolverine is much stronger when uncut.

But this is the big cribbed with XMEN, especially the third film, there are piles of characters, and the truth is you really need to be involved with the story by the time you get the 3rd, and to a lesser extent to 2nd, film.

CONCLUSION
This set is perfect for fans who've been holding off buying the DVDs until now, the films are great and the special features are above par for the most part excluding the rather dull first disk. However, and this is important! The audio commentary of XMEN3 has writers and director both mentioning an upcoming director's cut 'in five years'.

To be honest with you the manor this is mentioned in isn't entirely serious, and I wouldn't be surprised if I were a mean joke. But it is true that two more XMEN movies are planned, so if your a purest you may want to stay away. But for under £20 (or £12 at HMV >_>) its a bargain for any movie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended at all costs, 14 April 2007
The visuals on the first film are breath-taking. We first meet the famous Wolverine at a bar cage-fighting, being carefully watched by a teenage runaway, Rogue. Under the hard-core image of Wolverine, their appears to be a soft side to him when he is with Rogue. When the villan Magneto, who turns into an aly in the second film, kidnaps Rogue, Wolverine, Xavier and the team go out to look for her. If your a fan of Rogue or turn into one, at the end you get a scare. All-in-all, this movie is really good. With the movie's success the well-known actors, such as child-star Anna Paquin, Aussie Hugh Jackman, the beautiful Halle Berry and Star-Trek's Patrick Stuart, in this will have a long career ahead of them.

X Men United (X2)surpassed the first one. There are a lot of cool special effects, new characters, and the story line is very good. You should buy this movie. By the way, pay attention to Wolverine and Pyro. He has a serious attitude problem.

And now for Part 3, well it may be the Last Stand but apparently the spinoffs regarding Magneto,and Wolverine are still in the offing.Much maligned by critics but the expectations were high too. I personally loved it.
The extras are the best bit of the X Men DVDs and the character profiles save you from browsing the Net or looking for some dusty Marvel mag.Recommended at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Trilogy is a great set to add to your collection, 18 Sep 2014
By 
Christopher J. Cowen (glenville, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The X-Men Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
X-Men Trilogy is a great combo pack in a Blu-ray format. With this combo pack you get the original first three x-men movies ( X-Men, X2, and X-Men: The Last Stand). If you are not familiar with these films I have included a quick summary of each movie.

- X-Men is a 2000 Co-written and directed by Bryan Singer, the film stars Patrick Stewart, Hugh Jackman, Ian McKellen, Anna Paquin, Famke Janssen, Bruce Davison, James Marsden, Halle Berry, Rebecca Romijn, Ray Park and Tyler Mane. It depicts a world in which a small proportion of people are mutants, whose possession of superhuman powers makes them distrusted by normal humans. The film focuses on the mutants Wolverine and Rogue as they are brought into a conflict between two groups that have radically different approaches to bringing about the acceptance of mutantkind: Professor Xavier's X-Men, and the Brotherhood of Mutants, led by Magneto.

X2 is a 2003 American superhero film, based on the fictional characters the X-Men. Directed by Bryan Singer, and stars Patrick Stewart, Hugh Jackman, Ian McKellen, Alan Cumming, Famke Janssen, Anna Paquin, Shawn Ashmore, Aaron Stanford, Brian Cox, Rebecca Romijn-Stamos, James Marsden, Halle Berry and Kelly Hu. The plot, inspired by the graphic novel God Loves, Man Kills, pits the X-Men and their enemies, the Brotherhood, against the genocidal Colonel William Stryker (Brian Cox). He leads an assault on Professor Xavier's school to build his own version of Xavier's mutant-tracking computer Cerebro, in order to destroy every mutant on Earth.

X-Men: The Last Stand is a 2006 American superhero film that was directed by Brett Ratner and stars Hugh Jackman and Halle Berry. The film's script is loosely based on two X-Men comic book story arcs, "The Dark Phoenix Saga" by writer Chris Claremont and artist John Byrne, and "Gifted" by writer Joss Whedon and artist John Cassaday, with a plot that revolves around a "mutant cure" that causes serious repercussions among mutants and humans, and on the resurrection of Jean Grey.

Here are the additional features included in this combo set:

DISC 1- X-Men = (2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation, Deleted Scenes, Charlie Rose Interview, Mutant Watch featurette, -Hugh Jackman Screen Test, Storyboards, Art Gallery, Animatics, Trailer).

DISC 2- X2: X-Men United = (2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation, Commentary by Director and Cinematographer, -Commentary by Producers and Writers).

DISC 3- X-Men: The Last Stand = (2.35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen presentation, Commentary by Director and Writers, -Commentary by Producers, Deleted Scenes with optional Director Commentary, Alternate Endings with optional Director, Commentary).

Thank you for reading my review, if you have any questions feel free to email me, I would be happy to help you with any questions you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great transfers, two great films and a good one, 28 May 2009
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Congratulations Amazon for deleting the 1 star review from someone who seemed to have bought a pirate copy on a Chinese market stall before the official release! The films all have superb picture quality, especially X-Men 2. And the sound quality is superb across the range with the last film even stretching to a 6.1 HD soundtrack. It would be nice to see more releases in 7.1 HD formats, but I appreciate the effort to improve beyond 5.1 at least.

My favourite film will always be the first, the best plotted, with the firmest grip on tempo and plot. The last film is a little diffuse although not without its good moments, but at times it seems to try and pack too much in, at times it lumbers along somewhat. X-Men 2 is literally in the middle, much better plotted than "The Last Stand" but maybe a little overlong.

The film also has great extras. It's a shame to hear that some customers have had compatability problems, because a lot of the best stuff is Profile 1.1 and shouldn't overtax many players. The picture in picture options are great where you can, for example, watch a mini-docu about the making-of while watching the scene in question. Great value, great BD quality, and two pretty great films. "The Last Stand" suffers from the curse of the second sequel felt by so many recent film series. It happened to Spiderman, it happened to Pirates of the Caribbean"; our prayers are with Christopher Nolan....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Trilogy, 20 April 2009
By 
John Corbett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Firstly, the films. The first X-Men has often been credited with reviving the superhero genre which hadn't been seen properly since the 80s and early 90s, courtesy of the Richard Donner/Richard Lester 'Superman' films and Tim Burton's 'Batman' films. Some say Blade is the reason we now see at least one superhero film released each year, but really Blade wasn't mainstream enough due to its higher rating (despite being an extremely entertaining film). No, if you trace it back, the first of the mainstream superhero films of this generation was probably X-Men. And it's definitely a quality film, focusing largely on character and setting up the motivations, relationships and tensions of the main characters, with a decent (but not great) collection of action sequences. As a story it works very well, and as an intro to the series it's one of the better ones around, but you get the distinct feeling something more is coming.

X-Men 2 (or X2 as it was marketed) delivers on the promise of the original. Without sacrificing story or character development, it adds stunning action and some great twists into what was at the time one of the best superhero films ever made. In fact, until The Dark Knight was released, it was difficult for me to decide which was the best superhero film: Spider-Man 2 or X-Men 2. Really, this film does have it all.

X-Men: The Last Stand is generally regarded as disappointing by many of the fans, but I think the criticism is a bit exaggerated. I agree, it's certainly not as good as what came before it. However, there's enough action and comedy on show to engage, even if The Dark Phoenix Saga isn't given enough time to be developed properly. That really is the main problem with the film; action is successful at the expense of the story. What you get is a genuinely entertaining film, but by comparison with the first two it's simply not as rewarding an experience.

Now the Blu-ray treatment. First, I watch my blu-ray films on a 42" Sony Bravia full HD 1080p TV, and use an extremely hefty surround sound kit. Both get a good workout from these films! The video quality is stunning (despite what the releases from other regions might look like), and the sound is just amazing, particularly in the sequence in X2 with Storm vs. the jet fighters.

Also, unlike some other hi-def releases, the extras aren't just direct copies from the old special edition dvds. Even though the extras on the previous 6-disc special edition box set were impressive, these go a step further by containing a good load of blu-ray exclusive special features, such as picture-in-picture features, which are particularly entertaining.

If you don't own the films at all, this is definitely the version to buy. If you own them on DVD as I did, this is definitely worth the upgrade. At £34.99 from most retailers and probably cheaper if you shop around, it's one of the best blu-ray deals around in terms of value for money.

Great entertainment in great quality. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winner, 29 April 2009
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought the X-Men trilogy on Blu-Ray after reading a review which gave it one star. The reviewer stated that a good upscaled DVD would be about the same quality. Not true. I also have the trilogy on DVD.
I have watched all three films and the transfers are nothing short of X-cellent (forgive me ;-). The pictures are pin sharp and the DTS Master Audio soundtrack is top notch.
My favourite of the three films is X-Men 2. The opening action scene looks the business, the best of all of the super hero genre of films in my humble opinion.
I have yet to watch the bonus features discs. The box set i purchased has 3 of them.
I consider this box set to be great value for money and a must for all action hero fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "X-Men: Trilogy Pack" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 19 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The first 3 films to this never-ending saga are still great watches and "X-Men: Trilogy Pack" is an obvious BLU RAY purchase as a stand-alone. But British fans should note the following…

"X-Men", “X-Men 2: United", "X-Men: The Last Stand" and "X-Men: First Class" - and even this the "Trilogy Pack" are all REGION A LOCKED BLU RAYS on their ‘American’ 20th Century Fox issues - so they won't play on our machines no matter how enticingly cheap they may be.

Best bet and value is the British (Region B) Box Set release of "X-Men And The Wolverine Adamantium Collection" which gathers up all 6 movies with of course copious amounts of extras and no playback problems...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two good films, 4 Dec 2013
By 
Rory HJ (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The X-Men Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
As you quite possibly know already, the first two films by Brian Singer are considered very good, because they are. The third film, not by Brian Singer, isn't, because it isn't really that good, but has a quite good fight scene at the end. The first two films are worth the price, the third is a "bonus".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio track in castilian spanish too, 1 May 2009
This review is from: X-Men Trilogy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This Blu Ray trilogy has the audio track in castilian spanish too in 5.1 Dolby. Also all the extras have subtitles in spanish. The three films have a German audio track in 5.1 Dolby, and a tru HD english audio track.

About the story: The first film is fantastic, the second one isnot as good as the first but it's also a good film, and the third film is great. The story is like the classic comic books of the X-Men. A very interesting title to enjoy the full High Definition. This box set collection have a lot of extra features. It's a six Blu Ray collection (3 for the films and extras, and another3 Blu Rays for more extras of each film).

Amazing special effects. Highly recomended for a full HD television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does it have repeatable charm?, 9 April 2009
By 
E. Coolican "karajan lover" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes it does, I'm no great fan of owning sci fi movies, they generally pall after awhile, but no so with these three-the casting is nigh on perfect, and, you know, you can watch 'em over and over, with lovely dollops of sly humour which gives it an extra dimension, and I'm a massive fan of wolverine and the shakespearian lads.Only 4 stars because I like the actors and some of you may not, and the third film, while good, is a little too insistent on special effects, and I don't like Jean turning into a mass murderer. Your not going to regret the purchase price however, as the films move around nicely, with great cinematography.And they are the first sci fi films I have brought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men 1-3 Box Set (6 Disc) [DVD]
X-Men 1-3 Box Set (6 Disc) [DVD] by Hugh Jackman (DVD - 2006)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews