Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


169 of 174 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little flimsy but very light
I got this tripod because the one I already had is fine for normal but use but too heavy to travel with abroad. This tripod is very light and will be fine to travel with expecially with the various luggage weight restrictions that airlines are now applying. The tripod itself has extending legs that can be adjusted indepentently of each other by releasing a latch and then...
Published on 30 Dec 2007 by Gc Wilson

versus
76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too flimsy for me
Very lightweight and easily fits into my rucksack when I wouldn't normally even consider taking a tripod with me. However, when in use it really is a bit hit and miss, as it is extremely difficult to get level, and even with a light(ish) dslr, it did struggle to remain steady enough for a decent shot. I would only recommend this product is you're looking for a cheap,...
Published on 18 Feb 2010 by Frank


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

169 of 174 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little flimsy but very light, 30 Dec 2007
By 
Gc Wilson "scullsxx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
I got this tripod because the one I already had is fine for normal but use but too heavy to travel with abroad. This tripod is very light and will be fine to travel with expecially with the various luggage weight restrictions that airlines are now applying. The tripod itself has extending legs that can be adjusted indepentently of each other by releasing a latch and then tightening when the height you want is achieved. The central column and quick release head provide a reasonable amount of control over height and angles. The built in spirit level is good for landscapes.

When the legs are fully extended and with a DSLR camera onboard it does feel a little flimsy and not as sturdy as more expensive tripods. However, it does provide a stable mount for longer exposures and is better than hand supporting the camera. I have tried it with a digital SLR, compact digital and a video camera and it works well with al of them. Though a more expensive tripod would be stronger, the low weight and small size when closed makes it a good travel companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aluminium Tripod Review, 30 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
What can I say? This tripod has been the best purchase I have made for my own photography and video creations. The aluminium tripod legs and frame make it super light to carry around and you get a carry case with this one too which is another plus point and a greate tripod.

Use a counter weight for heavier cameras though, there is ample space underneath to do this as you can hang a heavy bag or something of equal weight to keep your tripod sturdy on a windy day outside or a nice and quiet day inside.

Most cameras fit this tripod....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tripod, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Pros:-
Cheap n chearful. Light weight. Folds up small and comes with a bag. If like me youre only going to use it a few times then it's a great deal.

Cons:-
Shame it doesnt extend higher because I would get fed up of bending my back to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too flimsy for me, 18 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Very lightweight and easily fits into my rucksack when I wouldn't normally even consider taking a tripod with me. However, when in use it really is a bit hit and miss, as it is extremely difficult to get level, and even with a light(ish) dslr, it did struggle to remain steady enough for a decent shot. I would only recommend this product is you're looking for a cheap, lightweight and easily carried tripod for use witha very light compact camera. Dslr users should avoid it and go for something better made, like the Hama 62/63.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hama Star 75, 24 Oct 2008
By 
H. Jedrzejak (Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
For users of the latest'compact' DSLR cameras this tripod is a true 'Star'.
It looks great,and is very lightweight- ideal for travelling.
Perhaps it's not the sturdiest pod on the market but then again just look
at the unbelievably low price.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Above average tripod, 31 May 2012
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Sometimes we have to admit that cheap products are poor quality compared to a much pricier one. This is also the case with the Hama Star 75. I had this tripod for a few years but I've only used it several times. This does not mean that I can't review the product because it was enough to realize the quality of the product. For the price you get a super basic tripod that can be used only by amateur photographers because when you try to go above the line with it, that's when the problems are starting. That's when you start to feel that you get what you paid for...

PROS:
+ Low price
+ Carry case

CONS:
- Feels and looks cheap
- You can't rely on it
- Limited use
- Head is unstable
- Vertical inclination is unstable

As a summary, it depends what you use it for, if you don't want much from a tripod it could be a good purchase, but if you want to rely on it all the time and get good results buy a tripod brand that is renowned for their quality products, like Manfrotto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant Tri-Pod, 27 May 2011
By 
Jared "Jared" (East Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
This Tri-Pod is an excellent buy! I've had it for about a year now and have never stopped using it. If you're a budding photographer, or filmographer, this will be perfect. It's cheap, light weight and comes with a free carry bag of high quality! It may not be professional standard, but this will allow a range of different heights and cameras! It is made from high quality metal and plastic clips. The metal has an almost purple finish. The top, has a removable clip piece that you screw into the base of your camera (Most cameras have a screw hole on the bottom for such purposes). This Tri-Pod even has a feature to flip your camera to portrait. Definietly worth the money. A MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hama tripod, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
This tripod in its carry case is easy to put up, very lightweight to carry around, couldnt be used on a windy mountain or with a very large camers/binoculars because it is so light. The built in spirit level helps to avoid those little stabilization accidents. All in all a nifty economic tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money. Camera tripod on a budget., 11 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
Good camera tripod for the money, sturdy, simple and strong (enough). Keeps videos and sills looking great with some practace with the unfortunate small handle to swivel the stand around on, very compact design and also comes with a free carry case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Starter Tripod, 30 July 2009
By 
Mr. J. Bowler (North West Leicestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case (Accessory)
This is a good tripod. I haven't given it 5 stars as its not ideal for the semi-pro but for a novice its brilliant. I had a Canon Eos 1000d and Sigma 70-300mm lens on it and it was very stable in light winds. I couldn't ask for anything better. Especially for the price. Delivered prompt too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa429a8)

This product

Hama Star 75 Tripod with Carry Case
14.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews